Skip to content.

Some features of this website require Javascript to be enabled for best usibility. Please enable Javascript to run.

Français

Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs

Contact Us

Cropportunities Feedback:

We welcome feedback on this resource.  If you would like to suggest a crop, research project or other change to Specialty Cropportunities, or to report broken links or other problems with this resource’s functionality, please contact one of the project leads. The following OMAFRA specialty crop staff can answer your questions related to any of the crops included in this module. If we cannot answer your question directly, we can direct you to appropriate crop staff listed in the Additional Contacts section.

The following OMAFRA specialty crop staff can answer your questions related to any of the crops included in this module. If we cannot answer your question directly, we can direct you to appropriate crop staff listed in the Additional Contacts section.

  • Herbs (excluding hops)
    Sean Westerveld
    Ginseng and Herbs Specialist
    Simcoe Resource Centre
    1283 Blueline Road, Box 587
    Simcoe, ON N3Y 4N5
    Phone: 519-426-4323
    E-mail: sean.westerveld@ontario.ca
  • Specialty Fruit, Specialty Vegetables, Hops, Field and Grain Crops
    Evan Elford
    New Crop Development Specialist
    Simcoe Resource Centre
    1283 Blueline Road, Box 587
    Simcoe, ON N3Y 4N5
    Phone: 519-426-4509
    E-mail: evan.elford@ontario.ca
  • Tree Nuts
    Todd Leuty
    Agroforestry Specialist
    1 Stone Rd. West, Guelph ON  N1G 4Y2
    Phone:  519-826-3215
    E-mail: todd.leuty@ontario.ca

 

Sweet Potatoes, Pests of Specialty Crops
Melanie Filotas
Horticulture IPM Specialist
Simcoe Resource Centre
1283 Blueline Road, Box 587
Simcoe, ON N3Y 4N5
Phone: 519-426-4434
E-mail: melanie.filotas@ontario.ca
  • Industrial Crops
    Jim Todd
    Industrial Crops Specialist
    Simcoe Resource Centre
    1283 Blueline Road, Box 587
    Simcoe, ON N3Y 4N5
    Phone: 519-426-3823
    E-mail: jim.todd@ontario.ca
Hemp, Bioproducts
Mahendra Thimmanagari
Bio-Products Specialist
Guelph
Phone: 519-826-4593
E-mail: mahendra.thimmanagari@ontario.ca
  • Emerging Crops
    Scott Banks
    Cropping Systems Specialist
    Kemptville

    Phone: 613-258-8359
    E-mail: scott.banks@ontario.ca