Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Appeal Tribunal (Tribunal)

Back to view all 35 Rules of Procedure

Rule 33 - Appeals Under the Farm Products Marketing Act, The Milk Act and Licensing Appeals

Method of commencement

33.01 Unless otherwise provided in these rules or in a statute an appeal shall be commenced by notice addressed to the secretary of the Tribunal at 1 Stone Road West, Guelph, Ontario, N1G 4Y2.

33.02 A notice of appeal shall contain a statement of the matter being appealed and the name, mailing address, including postal code, and telephone number of each appellant.

Appeals under Section 16 of the Ministry of Agriculture and Food Act

33.03 The Tribunal shall refuse to hear an appeal unless the appellant provides evidence of compliance with subsection 16(5) of the Ministry of Agriculture and Food Act.

33.04 The Tribunal may refuse to hear an appeal or, after a hearing has commenced, refuse to continue the hearing or make a decision if it relates to any order, direction, policy, decision or regulation of which the appellant has had knowledge for more than one year before the notice of appeal is filed under section 16 of the Ministry of Agriculture and Food Act or, if in the Tribunal's opinion,

  1. the subject matter of the appeal is trivial;
  2. the appeal is frivolous or vexatious or is not made in good faith; or
  3. the appellant does not have a sufficient interest in the subject matter of the appeal.

Notification of appeal

33.05 Upon receipt of a notice of appeal under subsection 16(1) or (2) of the Ministry of Agriculture and Food Act the Tribunal shall forthwith notify the Farm Products Marketing Commission, the local board, the marketing board or the Director under the Milk Act where any such body or the Director, as the case may be, has an interest in the subject matter of the appeal.

Notice of hearing

33.06 In an appeal under subsection 16(1) or (2) of the Ministry of Agriculture and Food Act the Tribunal shall within ten calendar days after the receipt of a notice of appeal serve a notice of hearing on the appellant or appellants and the body which made the order, direction, policy, decision or regulation which gave rise to the grievance setting out the date, time and place at which the appeal will be heard.

Stay

33.07 Unless otherwise specified in the Act governing the matter under appeal, an appeal to the Tribunal operates as a stay in the matter under appeal subject to the right of the Tribunal to limit or define the scope of the stay.

Parties to appeal

33.08 In an appeal under subsection 16(1) or (2) of the Ministry of Agriculture and Food Act any person entitled to receive notice of a hearing and any person having a sufficient interest in the subject matter of the appeal may be a party to the appeal.

Completion of hearing

33.09 In an appeal under subsection 16(1) or (2) of the Ministry of Agriculture and Food Act the Tribunal shall complete the hearing within forty-five calendar days after the date set for the hearing.

Notice of Decision

33.10 In an appeal under subsection 16(1) or (2) of the Ministry of Agriculture and Food Act the Tribunal shall send notice of its decision and reasons, if any, to all parties to the appeal and to the Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs within twenty calendar days after the hearing is completed.

When decision becomes final

33.11 A decision of the Tribunal in an appeal under subsection 16(1) or (2) of the Ministry of Agriculture and Food Act becomes final thirty days after it is received by the Minister or at the expiration of such longer period as the Minister may determine during such thirty day period unless the Minister varies or rescinds the decision or a decision is substituted for the decision of the Tribunal or the Minister requires the Tribunal to hold a new hearing.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-888-466-2372 ext. 519-826-3433
Local: 519-826-3433
E-mail: AFRAAT@ontario.ca
Author:
Creation Date: 22 November 2010
Last Reviewed: 22 November 2010

Tribunal d'appel de l'agriculture, de l'alimentation et des affaires rurales (le Tribunal)

Retournez pour voir toutes les 35 Règles de Procédure

Règle 33- Appels interjetés en vertu de la Loi sur la commercialisation des produits agricoles, de la Loi sur le lait et appels relatifs aux permis

Mode d'introduction

33.01 Sauf disposition contraire énoncée dans les présentes règles ou dans une mesure législative, un appel est introduit par un avis adressé à la/au secrétaire du Tribunal, au 1, chemin Stone Ouest, Guelph, Ontario, N1G 4Y2.

33.02 L'avis d'appel doit comprendre un exposé de la question portée en appel ainsi que le nom, l'adresse postale, y compris le code postal, et le numéro de téléphone de chaque partie appelante.

Appels interjetés en vertu de l'article 16 de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture et de l'Alimentation

33.03 Le Tribunal refuse d'entendre un appel si la partie appelante ne peut lui fournir la preuve qu'elle a satisfait aux conditions énoncées au paragraphe 16 (5) de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture et de l'Alimentation.

33.04 Le Tribunal peut refuser d'entendre l'appel ou, après que l'audience a commencé, refuser de la poursuivre ou de rendre une décision, si l'appel se rapporte à une ordonnance, une directive, une politique, une décision ou un règlement dont la partie appelante a connaissance depuis plus d'un an avant le dépôt de l'avis prévu à l'article 16 de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture et de l'Alimentation ou si le Tribunal est d'avis, selon le cas :

  1. que l'objet de l'appel est sans importance;
  2. que l'appel est frivole ou vexatoire ou n'est pas interjeté de bonne foi;
  3. que l'intérêt personnel de la partie appelante dans l'objet de l'appel n'est pas suffisant.

Avis d'appel

33.05 Dès réception de l'avis envoyé en vertu des paragraphes 16 (1) ou 16 (2) de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture et de l'Alimentation, le Tribunal en avise sans délai la Commission de commercialisation des produits agricoles, la commission locale, la commission de commercialisation ou la directrice/le directeur nommé en vertu de la Loi sur le lait, si l'un de ces organismes ou la directrice/le directeur, selon le cas, ont un intérêt dans la question qui fait l'objet de l'appel.

Avis d'audience

33.06 Lorsqu'un appel est interjeté en vertu des paragraphes 16 (1) ou 16 (2) de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture et de l'Alimentation, le Tribunal, dans les dix jours civils qui suivent la réception de l'avis d'appel, signifie aux parties appelantes et à l'organisme de qui relève l'ordonnance, la directive, la politique, la décision ou le règlement qui fait l'objet de l'appel, un avis d'audience indiquant la date, l'heure et le lieu de l'audience.

Sursis

33.07 Sauf disposition contraire énoncée dans la loi régissant l'objet de l'appel, un appel interjeté auprès du Tribunal a pour effet de surseoir à la question qui fait l'objet de l'appel, sous réserve du droit du Tribunal de limiter ou de définir la portée du sursis.

Parties à l'appel

33.08 Dans un appel interjeté en vertu des paragraphes 16 (1) ou 16 (2) de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture et de l'Alimentation, toute personne ayant droit à un avis d'audience et toute personne ayant un intérêt suffisant dans l'objet de l'appel peuvent être parties à un appel.

Achèvement de l'audience

33.09 Dans un appel interjeté en vertu des paragraphes 16 (1) ou 16 (2) de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture et de l'Alimentation, le Tribunal doit conclure l'audience dans les quarante-cinq jours civils suivant la date fixée pour l'audience.

Avis de décision

33.10 Dans un appel interjeté en vertu des paragraphes 16 (1) ou 16 (2) de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture et de l'Alimentation, le Tribunal fait parvenir un avis de sa décision et de ses motifs, le cas échéant, aux parties à l'appel et à la/au ministre de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales dans les vingt jours civils qui suivent la conclusion de l'audience.

Moment où la décision devient définitive

33.11 Une décision rendue par le Tribunal dans un appel interjeté en vertu des paragraphes 16 (1) ou 16 (2) de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture et de l'Alimentation devient définitive trente jours après la date à laquelle la/le ministre reçoit la décision, ou à l'expiration d'un délai prorogé que la/le ministre peut déterminer durant cette période de trente jours, à moins que la/le ministre n'annule ou ne modifie la décision, ou qu'une autre décision ne soit substituée à celle du Tribunal, ou que la/le ministre n'exige que le Tribunal tienne une nouvelle audience.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 888 466-2372 poste 519 826-3433
Local : 519 826-3433
Courriel : AFRAAT@ontario.ca
Auteur :
Date de création : 24 janvier 2011
Dernière révision : 24 janvier 2011