Agricultural and Horticultural Organizations

Annual Reporting Requirements

Under the Agricultural and Horticultural Organizations Act of Ontario, agricultural organizations, agricultural societies and horticultural societies, which are incorporated under the Act, must provide the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA) with an annual return.

Agricultural Associations completing the Annual Return

Agricultural associations must submit an annual return within 90 days of their annual general meeting to the ministry.

Agricultural associations should receive an email notification from OMAFRA one month before their scheduled next annual general meeting date. A link to upload the annual return will be provided. Alternatively, associations can email their Annual Return package to ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca.

The annual return must include the following requirements to maintain your association's legal status as a non-profit organization and remain in good standing:

  1. copy of the audited financial statement
  2. statement of the number of current members
  3. list of the directors and officers of the organization including address, telephone and email
  4. copy of the annual report submitted at the annual meeting

Acceptable financial reports:

A "Notice to Reader" report from accountants is not acceptable.

How to meet the guidelines if your organization has a Notice to Reader prepared by their accountant

If your organization receives a Notice to Reader, an additional review of the financial records will be required. This can take the form of a signed Financial Review Certificate. This means that after the financial reports are prepared, the organization will appoint two people to review the financial records of the organization. These two individuals should:

  1. not be on the board,
  2. not be related to the Treasurer, and
  3. not be related to each other.

There are no other requirements, although we would encourage you to secure people who are familiar with financial matters. The reviewers can be volunteers, either associated or not with your organization. This process will increase the level of assurance that your organization has with the financial statements.

Agricultural and Horticultural Societies completing the Annual Return

The deadline to submit your 2021 Annual Return is October 31, 2022.

Completing the Annual Return

Societies are now able to submit a completed Annual Return using a new and improved submission process through TPON (Transfer Payment Ontario). Please ensure your society is registered on TPON.

The guide and supporting documents are also located on TPON.

Annual General Meetings

Societies are required to hold an annual general meeting. Please ensure supporting documents are ready to submit with your return - Financial statements, Review Certificate (signed prior to AGM) and a list of incoming Executives and Directors.

If your society cannot hold their annual meeting within the 15 months of their last meeting due to unusual and extenuating circumstances, societies can send an email to the OMAFRA Director at AHOA.admin@ontario.ca to request an extension with a proposed new date (month/year) and provide reason for the AGM delay. The ministry will approve extensions and notify societies via email. Click here to view the Agricultural and Horticultural Organizations Act.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Organisations agricoles et horticoles

Exigences relatives aux rapports annuels

Comme le prévoit la Loi sur les organisations agricoles et horticoles de l'Ontario, les organisations agricoles, les sociétés agricoles et les sociétés horticoles qui sont constituées en personne morale en vertu de la Loi doivent remettre au ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales (MAAARO) un rapport annuel.

Associations agricoles devant produire un rapport annuel

Les associations agricoles doivent soumettre un rapport annuel au ministère dans les 90 jours qui suivent leur assemblée générale annuelle.

Les associations agricoles devraient recevoir un avis du MAAARO par courriel un mois avant la date prévue de leur assemblée générale annuelle. Le courriel contiendra un hyperlien permettant de télécharger le rapport annuel. Les associations peuvent également envoyer leur rapport annuel à ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca.

Le rapport annuel doit respecter les exigences suivantes afin que l'association conserve son statut légal d'organisation à but non lucratif et demeure en règle :

  1. une copie de ses états financiers vérifiés
  2. une déclaration relative au nombre de membres en règle
  3. une liste des administrateurs et dirigeants de l'organisation, avec leur adresse, leur numéro de téléphone et leur adresse de courriel
  4. un exemplaire du rapport annuel présenté à l'assemblée annuelle

États financiers acceptables :

Un « Avis au lecteur » produit par un comptable n'est pas acceptable.

Comment respecter les exigences si votre organisation a un avis au lecteur préparé par un comptable

Si votre organisation a un avis au lecteur, vous devrez procéder à un examen supplémentaire de vos documents financiers, lequel peut prendre la forme d'un Certificat d'examen financier signé. Pour ce faire, l'organisation devra, une fois que ses états financiers seront prêts, nommer deux personnes pour examiner ses documents financiers. Ces deux personnes :

  1. ne doivent pas être membres du conseil d'administration,
  2. ne doivent pas être apparentées au trésorier, et
  3. ne doivent pas être elles-mêmes apparentées.

Il n'y a pas d'autres exigences à respecter, mais nous vous encourageons à nommer des personnes qui sont familières avec les questions financières. Les personnes qui réalisent l'examen peuvent le faire bénévolement et il n'est pas nécessaire qu'elles soient liées à votre organisation. Ce processus augmentera le degré d'assurance pour les états financiers de votre organisation.

Sociétés agricoles et horticoles devant produire un rapport annuel

La date limite pour soumettre votre rapport annuel 2021 est le 31 octobre 2022.

Préparer le rapport annuel

Les sociétés doivent soumettre leur rapport annuel au moyen de la plate-forme PTO (Paiements de transfert Ontario). Veuillez vous assurer que votre société est inscrite à PTO.

Le guide et les documents à l'appui sont également disponibles dans PTO.


Assemblée générale annuelle

Les sociétés doivent tenir une assemblée générale annuelle. Veuillez vous assurer que les documents justificatifs sont prêts à être soumis avec votre rapport annuel - états financiers, certificat d'examen (signé avant l'AGA) et liste des nouveaux administrateurs et dirigeants.

Si votre société ne peut tenir son assemblée générale annuelle dans les 15 mois qui suivent sa dernière AGA pour des raisons exceptionnelles, veuillez envoyer un courriel au directeur du MAAARO, à AHOA.admin@ontario.ca, et demander une prorogation en proposant une date (mois/année) et en indiquant pourquoi l'AGA ne peut avoir lieu dans les délais requis. Le ministère approuvera la prorogation et vous en avisera par courriel. Cliquer ici pour lire la Loi sur les organisations agricoles et horticoles.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca