CIRRO Resources

CIRRO Guidebook

To get the following resources, fill out the CIRRO Information Request Form:

CIRRO Guidebook

This Guidebook offers strategies and best practices that can help rural communities to attract and retain newcomers.

It approaches newcomer attraction and retention from a community economic development perspective. It does not fully address other aspects of attracting and retaining newcomers, such as social inclusion or employer awareness, though these are also important elements in successful human capital strategies. A number of resources are available and referenced throughout this guidebook that can help your community plan these other components of attracting and retaining newcomers.

Community Attractiveness Indicators for Newcomers Tool

The Community Attractiveness Indicators for Newcomers is an analytical tool that provides information to help communities assess their ability to attract and retain sufficient human capital for economic development. This tool is a new component of the Community Immigrant Retention in Rural Ontario (CIRRO) program and it provides indicators based on national and provincial statistics that have been classified into eight socio-economic themes:

  • Health
  • Housing
  • Innovation
  • Society
  • Amenities
  • Economy
  • Education
  • Overall newcomer attractiveness measure

This tool provides communities of all sizes with factual comparative data to support planning efforts, decision making and strategies for attracting newcomers. As a result, communities can understand how to build on their strengths and overcome barriers to successfully recruit and retain skilled and entrepreneurial newcomers, thereby increasing innovation and productivity in the local economy.

Thirteen communities from across the province participated in the tool's pilot project and provided positive feedback. Many participants expressed that the tool gave them a new depth of analysis and understanding to support the development of a successful plan for their community's economic future. The Community Attractiveness Indicators for Newcomers tool provides insight to rural communities looking to strengthen their long-term viability and capacity.

 


Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 09 May 2011
Last Reviewed: 7 March 2012

Ressources du MICRO

Guide du MICRO

Pour accéder aux ressources ci-dessous, veuillez remplir la demande de renseignements au sujet de l’initiative MICRO :

Guide du MICRO

Cette trousse d'information présente des stratégies et des pratiques exemplaires qui peuvent aider les communautés rurales à attirer et à retenir de nouveaux arrivants.

Les auteurs de la trousse d'information ont décidé de mettre l'accent sur les efforts pour attirer et retenir de nouveaux arrivants dans un contexte de développement économique communautaire. Ainsi donc, le document fait peu mention d'autres aspects des mesures prises pour attirer et retenir de nouveaux arrivants, comme l'inclusion sociale et la sensibilisation des employeurs, même si ces facteurs constituent également des éléments clés de stratégies de capital humain efficaces. Par contre, il existe nombre de ressources qui peuvent aider votre communauté à intégrer ces autres composantes à sa planification et on y fait souvent référence dans le document.

Indicateurs d'attractivité des collectivités pour les nouveaux arrivants

Un nouvel outil d'analyse, les indicateurs d'attractivité des collectivités pour les nouveaux arrivants, permet aux communautés rurales d'avoir accès à l'information avec laquelle elles pourront mieux évaluer leur capacité d'attirer et de retenir le capital humain nécessaire pour assurer leur développement économique. C'est une nouvelle composante de l'initiative de Maintien des immigrants dans les communautés rurales de l'Ontario (MICRO); il définit des indicateurs tirés des statistiques provinciales et nationales, qu'il regroupe sous huit thèmes socio-économiques :

  • santé;
  • logement;
  • innovation;
  • société;
  • attraits;
  • économie;
  • éducation;
  • mesure globale d'attractivité pour les nouveaux arrivants.

L'outil fournit à des collectivités d'importances variées des données comparatives factuelles à l'appui de leurs efforts de planification, de leurs prises de décisions et de leurs stratégies pour attirer de nouveaux arrivants. Les communautés peuvent ainsi mieux comprendre comment capitaliser sur leurs atouts et aplanir les obstacles en vue d'attirer et de retenir de nouveaux arrivants, surtout des entrepreneurs ou de la main-d'œuvre qualifiée, afin de stimuler l'innovation et la productivité dans l'économie locale.

Treize communautés de toute la province ont évalué cet outil dans le cadre d'un projet pilote et elles y ont réagi positivement. De nombreux participants ont indiqué que cet outil leur avait offert de nouvelles perspectives d'analyse et de compréhension venant enrichir l'élaboration des plans pour renforcer le devenir économique des collectivités. Les indicateurs d'attractivité des collectivités pour les nouveaux arrivants fournissent une connaissance plus approfondie des collectivités rurales qui souhaitent améliorer leur viabilité et leur capacité commerciale à long terme.

 



Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 09 mai 2011
Dernière révision : 7 mars 2012