Research Priorities - OMAFRA Research Advisory Network (ORAN)

OMAFRA Research Advisory Network (ORAN) is a defined and flexible approach to research priority setting, and allows participation and input from a broad array of stakeholders and institutions. ORAN reflects OMAFRA's commitment to ensuring that information flows among all partners in the agri-food research system.

On this page

Definition

The OMAFRA Research Advisory Network (ORAN) is a network of advisory bodies that provide long-term, strategic guidance for research program development as well as identification of short-term and emerging research priorities in seven research theme areas:

  • Agricultural Policy and Rural Development
  • Bioeconomy - Industrial Uses
  • Emergency Management
  • Environmental Sustainability
  • Food for Health
  • Product Development and Enhancement Through Value Chain Collaborations
  • Production Systems (Animals and Plants)

The seven research themes build on traditional strengths and expand research focus into areas of opportunity for industry and enhancement of the public good. Research priorities established under ORAN inform calls for proposals for research programs funded under the OMAFRA - University of Guelph Partnership as well as other open, competitive research programs.

ORAN publications

  • OMAFRA Strategic Research Themes for 2008-2012. This document describes OMAFRA's seven research themes and defines key research areas (contact research.omafra@ontario.ca for more information).
  • "Updated Priorities and Emerging Issues" document (english only) describes short term priorities and emerging issues for the seven theme areas. This document is produced yearly.

Key Components of ORAN

OMAFRA Research Advisory Network (ORAN)

Figure 1. OMAFRA Research Advisory Network

The Agricultural Research Institute of Ontario (ARIO)

ARIO is a government agency reporting directly to the Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs. Its membership broadly represents the agri-food industry in Ontario. ARIO advises the Minister about strategic directions for OMAFRA funded research.

Expert Panels

Expert Panels meet at longer intervals (every 5 years or more) to develop strategic, long-term priorities for ministries' funded research and identify long term trends, issues and barriers in the seven research theme areas. Expert Panels were convened last in 2008.

Theme Advisory Groups

Theme Advisory Groups (TAG) are a group of ministry and external individuals with broad knowledge of the research theme areas. They meet yearly to evaluate ministry and stakeholder input and identify emerging research issues. TAGs monitor research progress and advise on research priorities for annual calls for proposals for OMAFRA-funded research programs. Key individuals in the Theme Advisory Groups include:

  • OMAFRA Director Champions are ministry directors whose program areas benefit from research. Director Champions chair the TAG meetings and provide overall direction in the research theme areas.
  • Research Program Directors (RPDs) - University of Guelph are faculty who administer the theme-based research programs under the OMAFRA-University of Guelph Agreement. Priorities developed under ORAN are communicated in yearly calls for proposals issued under the Agreement.
  • Research Analysts are OMAFRA staff with responsibility for research program coordination and knowledge translation and transfer that play a key role in coordinating ORAN and engaging stakeholders

Stakeholders

A broad range of stakeholders provide valuable input to the priority setting process. Stakeholders contribute to the priority setting process by:

  1. Participating on ARIO, the Expert Panels and/or the Theme Advisory Groups
  2. Identifying research needs and providing input into ORAN through:
    • Participation in commodity based or theme-based meetings and Research Days
    • Providing stakeholder documents
    • Responding to surveys
    • Engaging informally with OMAFRA staff

Researchers

Researchers from government and academic institutions contribute to the priority setting process as described above, but are also key in responding to calls for research proposals and ensuring that research is conducted that meets government and sector needs.

Recommended for you


For more information:
E-mail: research.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Daphne Tot, Research Analyst - Corporate Projects/RIB
Creation Date: 11 May 2010
Last Reviewed: 09 November 2016

Les priorités en matière de recherche - Réseau consultatif pour la recherche du MAAARO

Le Réseau consultatif pour la recherche du MAAARO (RCRM) est une approche précise et souple en matière d'établissement de domaines de recherche prioritaires qui permet la participation et accueille les commentaires d'une panoplie d'intervenants et d'institutions. Le RCRM rend compte de l'engagement pris par le MAAARO de veiller à ce que l'information circule facilement entre tous les partenaires du système de recherche agroalimentaire.

Dans cette page

Définition

Le réseau consultatif pour la recherche du Ministère de L'agriculture, de l'alimentation et des Affaires Rurales (RCRM) offre des conseils stratégiques à long terme sur l'élaboration des programmes de recherche, en plus de cerner les enjeux à court terme et les nouvelles priorités de recherche pour sept thèmes de recherche :

  • Agriculture politique et le développement rural
  • Bioéconomie - usages industriels
  • Gestion des situations d'urgence
  • Durabilité de l'environnement
  • Santé par l'alimentation
  • Développement et amélioration de produits grâce aux chaînes de valeur à des collaborations
  • Systèmes de production (animale et végétale)

Les sept thèmes de recherche reposent sur les forces traditionnelles et élargissent la portée de la recherche dans les domaines prometteurs pour l'industrie et favorisent l'intérêt public. Les priorités de recherche établies en vertu du RCRM servent de base aux appels de propositions pour les programmes de recherche financés par le partenariat du MAAARO et de l'Université de Guelph ainsi que d'autres programmes de recherche concurrentiels ouverts.

Publications du RCRM

  • Thèmes de recherche stratégiques du MAARAO. Ce document décrit les sept thèmes de recherche du MAAARO et définit les principaux domaines de recherche (Pour plus de renseignements, courriel : research.omafra@ontario.ca).
  • Le document « Updated Priorities and Emerging Issues »(en anglais seulement) décrit les priorités à court terme et les nouveaux enjeux relatifs aux sept domaines thématiques. Ce document est préparé annuellement.

Principaux volets du RCRM

Réseau consultatif pour la recherche du MAAARO

Image 1. Réseau consultatif pour la recherche du MAAARO

L'Institut de recherche agricole de l'Ontario (IRAO)

L'IRAO est un organisme gouvernemental qui se rapporte directement au ministre de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales. Ses membres représentent l'ensemble de l'industrie agroalimentaire en Ontario. L'IRAO conseille le ministre sur les grandes orientations en matière de recherche financée par le MAAARO.

Comités d'experts

Les comités d'experts se réunissent tous les cinq ans pour élaborer des priorités stratégiques à long terme pour la recherche financée par le ministère et pour identifier les tendances, les enjeux et les obstacles à long terme relatifs aux sept thèmes de recherche en question. Les comités d'experts se sont réunis en 2008.

Les groupes consultatifs pour le thème de recherche

Les groupes consultatifs pour le thème de recherche (GCTR) sont composés de membres du ministère et de membres externes possédant des connaissances approfondies sur les thèmes de recherche. Ils se rencontrent annuellement pour évaluer le ministère et les commentaires des intervenants et pour déterminer les nouveaux enjeux en matière de recherche. Les GCTR suivent le progrès et formulent des conseils sur les priorités des appels de propositions annuels des programmes de recherche financés par le MAAARO. On retrouve parmi les principaux membres des groupes consultatifs pour le thème de recherche :

  • Les champions de la direction du MAAARO : Les directeurs du ministère dont les domaines de programmes tirent profit de la recherche. Les champions de la direction président les réunions des GCTR et offrent une direction globale en matière de thèmes de recherche.
  • Research Program Directors (RPDs) - University of Guelph (en anglais) : Les directeurs du programme de recherche sont un corps professoral qui gère les programmes de recherche thématique en vertu du partenariat MAAARO - Université de Guelph. Les priorités élaborées par le RCRM sont communiquées annuellement dans le cadre des appels de propositions annuels émis en vertu de l'entente.
  • Analystes-recherchistes : Il s'agit de membres du personnel du MAAARO responsables de la coordination et de l'application et du transfert de connaissances des programmes de recherche qui jouent un rôle essentiel pour la coordination du RCRM et la participation des intervenants.

Intervenants

Une gamme d'intervenants procure des commentaires inestimables durant le processus d'établissement de priorités. Les intervenants contribuent comme suit :

  1. Participation à l'IRAO, aux comités d'experts ou aux groupes consultatifs pour le thème de recherche
  2. Détermination des besoins en matière de recherche et soumission des commentaires au RCRM par l'entremise :
    • de leur participation aux réunions sur un thème ou sur un produit de base et aux journées de la recherche;
    • de la soumission de documents d'intervenants;
    • de leur participation aux sondages;
    • des discussions informelles avec les membres du personnel du MAAARO.

Chercheurs

Les chercheurs du gouvernement et des établissements d'enseignement contribuent au processus d'établissement de priorités comme mentionné plus haut, mais jouent également un rôle essentiel en répondant aux appels de propositions et en s'assurant que la recherche est menée de façon à satisfaire aux besoins du gouvernement et de l'industrie.

Autres sujets d'intérêt


Pour plus de renseignements :
Courriel : research.omafra@ontario.ca

Auteur : Daphne Tot
Date de création : 30 juin 2009
Dernière révision : 09 novembre 2016