Feeding Our Curiosity - Agri-Food Asset Map

An analysis of Ontario's R&D excellence and commercialization capacity in food processing

Introduction

With competitive costs, an innovative research climate, and easy access to ingredients and global markets Ontario's agri-food industry has emerged as a leading North American hub for world-class business in food processing.

The Agri-Food Asset Map highlights Ontario's agri-food strengths and provides an overview of the cutting-edge research, industry research collaborations, food and agriculture resources, unique commercialization facilities and government supports in place to drive the growth of food processing, and to ensure Ontario's continued competitive advantage in this key sector.

A family buying groceries in a supermarket

Executive Summary

Various factors converge to give Ontario its competitive advantage in the agri-food sector. The province boasts rich agricultural lands that produce more than 200 agricultural commodities - a diversity unmatched in most parts of the world. Ontario's extensive transportation networks help speed just-in-time deliveries and connect the province with markets in North America and around the globe. Innovation costs and business taxes are low, and the province is home to an exceptional workforce that is well-educated, skilled and ethnically diverse.

With manufacturing revenue totaling $34 billion annually, Ontario's food and beverage processing sector is one of North America's largest and most significant. Approximately 3,200 food and beverage businesses are registered in Ontario, including multinationals, home-grown giants and successful niche-driven businesses that have recognized the tremendous advantages of doing business here.

Ontario food and beverage suppliers have an excellent reputation for flexibility and customer-focused service, and have proven experience with custom production runs. The ability to serve specialty markets, combined with the province's agricultural and multicultural diversity, has positioned Ontario for success in key growth food processing markets, such as private label brands and healthy and ethnic foods.

International buyers continually choose to source products from Ontario suppliers, who are known for being ahead of the curve with food trends. Ontario agriculture and research are also innovative in supporting alternative crops, such as ginseng, and new products, such as omega-3 eggs, for emerging and growing markets.

Ontario's world-leading and extensive network of universities and colleges provides state-of-the-art food and nutrition research programs. Scientists here are undertaking groundbreaking research into food science and nutritional sciences, and exploring topics such as food nanostructure, functional foods and food safety, to name just a few.

Ontario also possesses unique commercialization facilities and industry networks that assist researchers and food and beverage manufacturers in bringing innovative agri-food products to market.

Ontario is eager to have food processing companies invest here. The Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA) can help grow your business investment (web page or email).

Capitalizing on the Ontario Advantage

The Ontario Ministry of Research and Innovation exists to build and sustain a culture of innovation in the province. Why innovate in Ontario?

  • World-leading research
  • Highly competitive R&D cost reductions through programs and tax incentives
  • A diverse and highly educated workforce
  • Access to a massive North American supply chain and market
  • A commitment to innovation

Recommended for you

 


For more information:
E-mail: research.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Barb Dillingham, Research Analyst/RIB
Creation Date: 17 February 2011
Last Reviewed: 7 February 2015

Carrefour Mondial de la Transformation des Aliments: Agri-food Asset Map

Analyse de l' excellence en recherche et développement et de la capacité de commercialisation en transformation des aliments en Ontario

Du fait des ses coûts concurrentiels, de son climat de recherche novatrice et de la facilité de son accès aux ingrédients et aux marchés mondiaux, l'industrie agroalimentaire de l'Ontario est un grand carrefour nord-américain de classe mondiale en matière de transformation des aliments.

L'Agri-Food Asset Map fait ressortir les points forts de l'industrie agroalimentaire de l'Ontario et donne un aperçu de la recherche de pointe, de la collaboration de l'industrie en fait de recherche, des ressources de l'alimentation et de l'agriculture, des installations de commercialisation uniques en leur genre et des appuis gouvernementaux en place, éléments qui propulsent la croissance de la transformation des aliments et assurent le maintien de la compétitivité de l'Ontario dans ce secteur clé.

 une famille fait les courses dans le supermarché

Résumé

Divers facteurs concourent à donner à l'Ontario son avantage de compétitivité dans le secteur agroalimentaire. La province possède de riches terres agricoles qui produisent plus de 200 denrées, ce qui représente une diversité inégalée dans la plupart des régions du monde. Les vastes réseaux de transport de l'Ontario contribuent à accélérer les livraisons juste à temps et relient la province aux marchés d'Amérique du Nord et du monde entier. Les frais d'innovation et les taxes d'affaires sont bas et la province dispose d'une population active exceptionnelle, instruite, qualifiée et diversifiée sur le plan ethnique.

Avec des revenues de fabrication s'élevant au total à 34 milliards de dollars par an, le secteur ontarien de traitement des aliments et des boissons est un des plus grands et des plus importants d'Amérique du Nord. Quelque 3200 entreprises d'aliments et de boissons sont enregistrées en Ontario, dont des multinationales, des géants de chez nous et des compagnies fructueuses axées sur des créneaux qui ont reconnu les énormes avantages de faire des affaires ici.

Les fournisseurs ontariens d'aliments et de boissons bénéficient d'une excellente réputation de souplesse et de service axé sur la clientèle et possèdent une expérience manifeste en fait de cycles de production à façon. L'aptitude à répondre aux besoins de marchés de spécialité, alliée à la diversité agricole et multiculturelle de la province, vaut à l'Ontario d'être bien placé pour connaître le succès dans les marchés clés de transformation des aliments, à forte croissance, comme ceux des marques maison et des aliments sains et ethniques.

Les acheteurs internationaux continuent de s'approvisionner chez des fournisseurs de l'Ontario, connus pour leur position avant-gardiste en fait d'aliments. L'agriculture et la recherche de l'Ontario innovent dans l'appui des cultures parallèles, comme celle du ginseng, et des nouveaux produits, comme les œufs riches en oméga-3, pour les marchés émergents ou en expansion.

En tête du monde, le vaste réseau ontarien d'universités et de collèges offre des programmes perfectionnés de recherche sur l'alimentation et la nutrition. Les scientifiques d'ici entreprennent des recherches révolutionnaires en science alimentaire et en sciences de la nutrition et explorent des sujets comme la nanostructure des aliments, les aliments fonctionnels et la sécurité alimentaire, et bien d'autres encore.

L'Ontario possède aussi des installations de commercialisation et des réseaux industriels uniques en leur genre, qui aident les chercheurs et les fabricants d'aliments et de boissons à commercialiser des produits agroalimentaires innovateurs.

L'Ontario accueille avec empressement les investissements des compagnies de transformation des aliments. Le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario (MAAO et MAR) peut aider à accroître les investissements de votre entreprise (adresse web - cliquer sur Secteurs de l'Ontario, Transformation des aliments or courriel).

Exploitation de l'Avantage de l'Ontario

Le ministère de la recherche et de l'innovation de l'Ontario existe pour établir et entretenir une culture d'innovation dans la province.

Pour quoi innover en Ontario?

  • Recherche de calibre mondial
  • Réductions des coûts de recherche et de développement, très concurrentiels, au moyen de programmes et d'incitatifs fiscaux
  • Population active diversifiée et très instruite
  • Accès à un marché et à une chaîne d'approvisionnement de masse en Amérique du Nord
  • Engagement vis-à-vis de l'innovation

Plus de renseignements

synthesis- agri-food consultingOntario Canada

 


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877-424-1300
Courriel : KTT-OMAFRA@ontario.ca

Auteur : Barbara Dillingham, analyste recherchiste/DRI
Date de création : 17 fevrier 2011
Dernière révision : 20 novembre 2013