Horticultural and Livestock Research and Innovation Centres

On this Page

Purpose for the Centres

  1. Focus research and innovation priorities on industry needs working across the value chain.
  2. Drive innovation, creating new value-added products with economic and social benefits.
  3. Maximize return on investment with state-of-the-art research infrastructure that enables scientific excellence, knowledge dissemination and industry adoption.

The centres work collaboratively with agri-food partners to develop and implement research and innovation strategies and priorities, leading to industry competitiveness.

Livestock Research and Innovation Centre at Elora

As part of a major reinvestment at the Elora research station, the Livestock Research and Innovation Centre is envisioned as an integrated, multi-disciplinary livestock research centre. A new dairy facility will come on stream in 2015 with additional building projects for other commodities anticipated in future years.

Development of these new facilities stems from a collaboration between the University of Guelph, the Agricultural Research Institute of Ontario (ARIO), the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs, the Livestock Research Innovation Corporation and the Ontario livestock sector. The University of Guelph manages the facilities at the Livestock Research and Innovation Centre.

Livestock Research Innovation Corporation

The Livestock Research Innovation Corporation (LRIC) is a not-for-profit corporation established to provide a coordinated industry voice for livestock and poultry research in Ontario. The members of LRIC are major Ontario livestock commodity organizations including Dairy Farmers of Ontario, Beef Farmers of Ontario, Ontario Pork and the Poultry Industry Council. The Corporation facilitates collaborative research and coordinates research strategies and priorities across the livestock and poultry value-chain. LRIC also works to make sure that research knowledge coming from investments made by the livestock sector is effectively transferred to the industry.

Vineland Research and Innovation Centre

Vineland Research and Innovation Centre

Vineland Research and Innovation Centre (VRIC) ocuses on horticultural science and innovation for Ontario and Canada. Located in the Niagara region, Vineland facilitates coordinates and delivers applied research, innovation and commercialization activities that:

  • focus on the needs of Ontario's horticulture industry
  • support competitiveness of the industry
  • meet consumer demands for innovative products

Vineland's main activities are:

  • coordinating and conducting applied research projects
  • use of knowledge translation and transfer methods to communicate their research results
  • supporting commercialization opportunities that bring new products and technologies to the marketplace
  • facilitating partnerships and collaboration among industry, academic and government organizations.

Success Stories

  1. Introduction of World Crops to Ontario

Photograph of locally grown world crops such as egg plant and ochra.

Photo 1. Production of World Crop: we've been very impressed with the work that Vineland is doing to help develop the market for locally-grown world crops" Bruno Bertucci, produce buyer, Longo's.

Vineland's World Crops project has created extensive interest in the production of new crops for Ontario. Fruits and vegetables native to Caribbean, African and Asian countries would have strong markets in the multi-cultural cities of Canada. By 2031, over 60% of Toronto's population will be from ethnic backgrounds.

OMAFRA, Vineland and others collaborated on research to determine best production practices for these world crops under Ontario growing conditions. They transferred knowledge gained from the research to Ontario farmers to encourage development of local sources of specialty produce that could replace imports.

Vineland also worked with retail and food service partners to help expand the market pull for world crops produced in Ontario. The result - increased acreages of these crops in Ontario and receptive local consumers.

  1. Robotics for Repetitive Tasks in Horticulture

Photo of a robot designed to recognize and plant bulbs in containers for the nursery package potted plants for the nursery industry.

Photo 2: The floriculture greenhouse sector may be able to use robotics to do highly repetitive tasks like packing potted plants or planting bulbs as pictured here.

Vineland, in collaboration with the horticultural industry, has initiated research and development for the use of robotics to automate certain tasks. They searched the world for available technologies that could be applied under Ontario conditions.

The result - robots designed to automate the packaging of potted plants which would significantly reduce labour costs for producers. Vineland is now working with industry to promote the technology in commercial operations in the province.

Recommended for you


For more information:
E-mail: research.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Stuart Budd, Senior Research Advisor/RIB
Creation Date: 17 March 2014
Last Reviewed: 18 February 2015

Centres de recherche et d'innovation

Dans cette page

But des centres

Les investissements dans les centres de recherche et d'innovation aideront le secteur de l'agroalimentaire :

  1. à centrer les priorités en matière de recherche et d'innovation sur les besoins de l'industrie en travaillant avec l'ensemble de la chaîne de valeur;
  2. à stimuler l'innovation par la création de nouveaux produits à valeur ajoutée ayant des avantages économiques et sociaux;
  3. à maximiser le rendement du capital investi avec une infrastructure de recherche à la fine pointe permettant l'atteinte de l'excellence scientifique, la diffusion des connaissances et l'adoption de celles-ci par l'industrie.

Les centres collaborent avec des partenaires de l'agroalimentaire pour élaborer et mettre en œuvre des stratégies et des priorités en matière de recherche et d'innovation qui permettront à l'industrie agroalimentaire d'être concurrentielle.

Centre de recherche et d'innovation sur le bétail d'Elora

L'important réinvestissement effectué à la station de recherche d'Elora vise notamment à faire du Centre de recherche et d'innovation sur le bétail un centre de recherche multidisciplinaire et intégré. Une nouvelle installation laitière (site Web en anglais seulement) sera disponible en 2015, et des projets de construction supplémentaires seront réalisés pour les autres secteurs de production dans les années à venir.

L'aménagement de ces nouvelles installations découle d'une collaboration entre l'Université de Guelph, l'Institut de recherche agricole de l'Ontario (IRAO), le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario, la Livestock Research Innovation Corporation et les secteurs de l'élevage de l'Ontario. L'Université de Guelph gère les installations du Centre de recherche et d'innovation sur le bétail.

logo de la Livestock Research Innovation Corporation

La Livestock Research Innovation Corporation (LRIC) (site Web en anglais seulement) est une société à but non lucratif créée pour permettre à l'industrie de la recherche sur le bétail et la volaille de l'Ontario de s'exprimer d'une même voix. Les membres de la LRIC sont des organismes qui jouent un rôle important dans le secteur de l'élevage de l'Ontario, dont Dairy Farmers of Ontario, Beef Farmers of Ontario, Ontario Pork et le Poultry Industry Council. La LRIC facilite la recherche en collaboration et coordonne les stratégies et les priorités de recherche dans l'ensemble de la chaîne de valeur du bétail et de la volaille. Elle travaille également à faire en sorte que les connaissances découlant de la recherche associée aux investissements réalisés par le secteur du bétail soient effectivement transférées à l'industrie.

Centre de recherche et d'innovation de Vineland

Le Centre de recherche et d'innovation de Vineland met l'accent sur la recherche et l'innovation en horticulture pour l'Ontario et le Canada. Situé dans la région de Niagara, le Centre de recherche et d'innovation de Vineland facilite, coordonne et exécute des activités en lien avec la recherche appliquée, l'innovation et la commercialisation qui :

  • mettent l'accent sur les besoins de l'industrie horticole de l'Ontario;
  • soutiennent la compétitivité de l'industrie;
  • répondent à la demande des consommateurs pour des produits novateurs.

Les principales activités menées à Vineland sont :

  • la coordination et l'exécution de projets de recherche appliquée;
  • l'utilisation de méthodes d'application et de transfert des connaissances pour communiquer les résultats de recherche;
  • le soutien aux possibilités de commercialisation qui introduisent de nouveaux produits et de nouvelles technologies sur les marchés;
  • la facilitation des partenariats et la collaboration entre les organismes sectoriels, universitaires et gouvernementaux.

Réussites

  1. Introduction de cultures exotiques en Ontario

Photographie de cultures exotiques produites localement, comme l'aubergine et le gombo.

Photo 1: Production de cultures exotiques : Nous avons été très impressionnés par le travail effectué par le Centre de Vineland pour aider à développer des marchés pour des cultures exotiques produites localement - Bruno Bertucci, acheteur de denrées, Longo's.

Le projet sur les cultures exotiques du Centre de Vineland a suscité un vif intérêt à l'égard de la production de nouvelles cultures en Ontario. Les fruits et les légumes des Caraïbes, de l'Afrique et de l'Asie auraient des débouchés solides dans les villes multiethniques du Canada. D'ici 2031, plus de 60 % de la population de Toronto appartiendra à des groupes ethniques étrangers.

Le MAAARO, le Centre de Vineland et d'autres intervenants ont mené des recherches en collaboration pour établir quelles étaient les pratiques optimales de production pour ces cultures exotiques dans les conditions de croissance de l'Ontario. Ils ont transféré les connaissances acquises grâce à la recherche aux agriculteurs de l'Ontario afin de favoriser le développement de sources locales de produits spécialisés qui pourraient remplacer les importations.

Vineland a également travaillé avec des partenaires de la vente au détail et des services alimentaires afin de développer les marchés pour les cultures exotiques produites en Ontario. Il a découlé de ces efforts une augmentation des superficies consacrées à ces cultures en Ontario et de la réceptivité des consommateurs locaux.

  1. Robotique pour les tâches répétitives en horticulture

Photo d'un robot conçu pour la préparation de plants en pot pour le secteur des pépinières.

Photo 2: Le secteur de la floriculture en serre pourrait utiliser la robotique pour effectuer des tâches très répétitives telles que la préparation des plants en pot ou la plantation de bulbes, comme l'illustre la photo.

Le Centre de Vineland, en collaboration avec l'industrie horticole, a amorcé des travaux de recherche et développement sur l'utilisation de la robotique pour automatiser certaines tâches. Ils ont recherché les technologies qui sont utilisées ailleurs dans le monde et qui pourraient être appliquées aux conditions rencontrées en Ontario.
De ces efforts sont nés des robots conçus pour automatiser la préparation des plants en pot, ce qui pourrait réduire grandement les coûts de main-d'œuvre pour les producteurs. Le Centre de Vineland travaille actuellement avec l'industrie pour promouvoir la technologie auprès d'entreprises commerciales ontariennes.

Autres sujets d'intérêt


Pour plus de renseignements :
Courriel : research.omafra@ontario.ca

Auteur : Stuart Budd, analyste recherchiste/DRI
Date de création : 24 mars 2014
Dernière révision : 24 février 2015