Innovation through Scholarships and Knowledge Translation and Transfer

Photo of a group of university students

OMAFRA recognizes that support of young people who are the future generations of researchers, policymakers and innovators in agriculture and agri-food is one of the most effective ways of moving research results into practice. That is why the Ministry contributes over $1 million annually to the Partnership's Knowledge Translation and Transfer Programs and Highly Qualified Personnel (HQP) Scholarship Programs.

On this Page

Why Invest in young People and Knowledge Transfer?

The Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA) - University of Guelph (UofG) Partnership Agreement is the cornerstone of Ministry-supported research and innovation because of the unique capacity the university offers in specialized expertise and research facilities. U of G researchers collaborate with others in Canada and around the world to solve the complex and multi-disciplinary challenges of safe, efficient food and agri-products production.

But research is only the beginning. The next step - mobilizing those research results - is key to innovation in Ontario's agri-food industry. It's a priority for OMAFRA and the 'Knowledge Translation and Transfer' program ensures that research outcomes reach stakeholders who can make use of the new information.

Knowledge translation and transfer (KTT) programs

OMAFRA provide funding for the transfer of research knowledge to participants in agriculture, agri-business, agri-food industry and rural sectors. OMAFRA research funding programs, include funds for KTT activities.

Funding for KTT is provided in two streams at the University of Guelph. One stream provides funds for KTT activities in projects that are funded through the Partnership research program.

The other stream is the Agri-Food and Rural Link KTT program that provides funding for projects that focus on KTT alone. The program accelerates the transfer of research knowledge into use i.e. gets the 'science off the shelf' and into the hands of those who need it.

Agri-Food and Rural Link KTT program success story

Photo: The Soybean Aphid Advisor mobile application.

Photo: The Soybean Aphid Advisor mobile application.

The Agri-Food and Rural Link KTT program funded a project in 2011 whose goal was to create a mobile application to help producers control soybean aphids in their crops. The research was conducted by Dr. Rebecca Hallett in the School of Environmental Sciences at the University of Guelph. Her project's goal was to develop a dynamic action threshold calculator (DAT) that could aid growers and crop consultants in decision-making about the need to treat soybeans against soybean aphids.

End result: The "Aphid Advisor", a pilot decision-making cell phone application which helps producers and crop consultants determine whether or not they need to treat their crops for Soybean Aphids. The application can be used by iPhones or Blackberries.

Highly Qualified Personnel (HQP) Scholarship program

Graduate student working in a lab

Young people are our future researchers, policy makers and innovators in agriculture, agri-businesses, agri-food industry and rural sectors. Programs that support these young people are an effective way of moving research results into practice.

The Highly Qualified Personnel Program provides scholarships for Masters and Doctoral students working in program areas that relate to OMAFRA research themes and priorities.

The program offers a new course for students entitled 'The Integration of Science and Business in Agri-Food Systems' that will teach students about business, commercialization and societal interactions within the agri-food system. HQP students will also complete a work semester with a government, industry or community partner that connects well with the student's research interests and future career goals.

Recommended for you


For more information:
E-mail: research.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Stuart Budd, Senior Research AdvisorRIB
Creation Date: 17 March 2014
Last Reviewed: 18 February 2015

Innovation par l'entremise de bourses d'études ainsi que le transfert et l'application des connaissances

Photo d'un groupe d'étudiants

Le MAAARO reconnaît que le soutien des jeunes, qui sont les générations futures de chercheurs, de décideurs et d'innovateurs en agriculture et en agroalimentaire, est l'un des moyens les plus efficaces pour mettre en pratique les résultats de la recherche. C'est pourquoi le Ministère accorde plus de 1 million de dollars par année aux programmes de transfert et d'application des connaissances en partenariat et aux programmes de bourses d'études à l'intention du personnel hautement qualifié (PHQ).

Dans cette page

Pourquoi investir dans les jeunes ainsi que dans l'application et le transfert des connaissances?

L'entente de partenariat entre le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario (MAAARO) et l'Université de Guelph est la pierre angulaire de l'innovation et de la recherche soutenue par le Ministère en raison des ressources uniques qu'offre l'Université de Guelph en matière d'expertise et d'installations de recherche. Les chercheurs de l'Université de Guelph collaborent avec des collègues d'ailleurs au Canada et de partout dans le monde pour résoudre les enjeux complexes et multidisciplinaires que présente la production sécuritaire et efficace d'aliments et de produits agricoles.

Mais la recherche n'est que le début. L'étape suivante - mobiliser les résultats de la recherche - est essentielle à l'innovation au sein de l'industrie agroalimentaire de l'Ontario. Il s'agit d'une priorité pour le MAAARO, et les programmes de transfert et d'application des connaissances soutiennent les activités qui permettent aux intervenants qui sont en mesure d'utiliser les résultats de ces recherches d'y avoir accès.

Programmes de transfert et d'application des connaissances (TAC)

Le MAAARO octroie un financement pour le transfert des connaissances issues de la recherche à des intervenants des domaines de l'agriculture, de l'agro-industrie et de l'agroalimentaire et des secteurs ruraux. Les programmes de financement de la recherche du MAAARO comprennent des fonds pour les activités de TAC.

Le financement du TAC à l'Université de Guelph emprunte deux canaux.

Le financement du TAC a assuré par le programme de transfert et d'application des connaissances Agri-Food and Rural Link (site web en anglais su) qui offre un financement pour des projets qui mettent l'accent sur le TAC, sur la mise en œuvre d'activités de TAC ou sur des recherches qui nous en apprendront davantage sur les processus de TAC. Le programme est axé sur l'accélération du transfert et de l'application des connaissances issues de la recherche, c'est-à-dire mettre la science entre les mains de ceux qui en ont besoin.

Réussite du programme Agri-Food and Rural Link KTT

L'application mobile Soybean Aphid Advisor.

Photo: L'application mobile Soybean Aphid Advisor.

Le programme Agri-Food and Rural Link KTT (site Web en anglais seulement) a financé un projet en 2011 dont le but était de créer une application mobile pour aider les producteurs à lutter contre le puceron du soya dans leurs champs. Les travaux de recherche ont été réalisés par Rebecca Hallett, Ph. D, de la School of Environmental Sciences de l'Université de Guelph. Le but de son projet était de développer un calculateur de seuil d'intervention dynamique qui pourrait aider les producteurs et les consultants en cultures à prendre des décisions quant à la nécessité de traiter leurs cultures contre le puceron du soya.

Résultat : le « Aphid Advisor », une application mobile pilote d'aide à la décision qui aide les producteurs et les consultants en cultures à déterminer s'il faut traiter les cultures contre le puceron du soya. L'application peut être utilisée sur un iPhone ou un BlackBerry.

Programme de bourses d'études pour le personnel hautement qualifié (PHQ)

Étudiante au doctorat travaillant dans un laboratoire

Les jeunes sont les chercheurs, les décideurs et les innovateurs de demain dans les domaines de l'agriculture, de l'agro-industrie, de l'agroalimentaire et dans les secteurs ruraux. Les programmes qui soutiennent ces jeunes sont un moyen efficace de mettre en pratique les résultats de la recherche.

Le programme Highly Qualified Personnel (site Web en anglais seulement) offre des bourses aux étudiants à la maîtrise et au doctorat qui travaillent dans des domaines de programmes qui sont en lien avec les priorités et les thèmes de recherche du MAAARO.

Le programme propose un nouveau cours aux étudiants (The Integration of Science and Business in Agri-Food Systems) qui leur permettra d'étudier les interactions entre les entreprises, la commercialisation et la société au sein du système agroalimentaire. Les étudiants inscrits au programme PHQ passeront aussi un semestre à travailler avec un partenaire du gouvernement, de l'industrie ou du milieu communautaire dont les intérêts cadrent avec ceux de l'étudiant et ses objectifs de carrière.

Autres sujets d'intérêt


Pour plus de renseignements :
Courriel : research.omafra@ontario.ca

Auteur : Elin Gwyn, analyste recherchiste/DRI
Date de création : 24 mars 2014
Dernière révision : 18 février 2015