Premier's Award for Agri-Food Innovation Excellence

2017 / 2016 / 2015 / 2014 / 2012-13 / 2011 / 2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007 / 2006

 

 

Jerseyville - October 25, 2013

Showcasing Local Agri-Food Innovators

Ontario's agri-food industry is leading the way with innovative products and ideas that are creating local jobs and bringing more locally grown food to the dinner table.

(double click on photo for high resolution)

Front Row from Left to Right: Marisa Crispino, Mary Jakeman, Tanya Folkema, Erin St. John, Carolyn Koprich, Lori Davey, Heather Pond-Manorome and Cathy Gilvesy Middle Row from Left to Right: Len Crispino, Robert Jakeman, Devin Jakeman, Martin Folkema, Mike Lishman, Patricia Kozowyk, Robert Koprich, Greg Magda, James Grant and Bryan Gilvesy Back Row from Left to Right: Jim Judge, Todd Boughner, Chad Jakeman, Kevin Veurink, Klaus Reif and Wade Ruddle

Front Row from Left to Right: Marisa Crispino, Mary Jakeman, Tanya Folkema, Erin St. John, Carolyn Koprich, Lori Davey, Heather Pond-Manorome and Cathy Gilvesy

Middle Row from Left to Right: Len Crispino, Robert Jakeman, Devin Jakeman, Martin Folkema, Mike Lishman, Patricia Kozowyk, Robert Koprich, Greg Magda, James Grant and Bryan Gilvesy

Back Row from Left to Right: Jim Judge, Todd Boughner, Chad Jakeman, Kevin Veurink, Klaus Reif and Wade Ruddle

 

2012-13 Regional Award Winners

 

Arlington Farms-Haldimand County

(double click on photo for high resolution)

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Erin St. John and Mike Lishman

Brent Kennedy, OMAFRA, Erin St. John and Mike Lishman

When more and more of Mike Lishman's neighbours got out of the livestock business, he faced a problem… how to fertilize his cash crops without a nearby source of manure. The solution he discovered, were found in cities. Lishman turned to the green bin waste that urbanites put out at the curbside each week. As his extensive trials proved, using the composted organic material produces healthy plants, increases crop yield, improves soil quality and enhances moisture retention. An OMAF and MRA Nutrient Management Specialist helped him determine the optimal application rate. Today, Lishman uses virtually no commercial fertilizers relying almost entirely on the composted organic waste to supply the nitrogen, phosphorus, potassium, calcium and various micronutrients he needs. For farmers like him, green bin waste is pure gold.

 

Auvergne Farms Ltd dba Jakeman's Maple Products-Oxford County

(double click on photo for high resolution)

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Mary, Robert, Devin and Chad Jakeman

Brent Kennedy, OMAFRA, Mary, Robert, Devin and Chad Jakeman

Around the world, more and more winemakers are choosing to box their wine rather than bottle it. Now, Robert and Mary Jakeman and their family are using the same cost-effective, easy-to-store, bag-in-box packaging for maple syrup. For these producers, the heavy-duty bag encased in cardboard makes all kinds of sense. Its low weight keeps shipping costs down. There's no risk of breakage, unlike glass bottles. The packaging is fully recyclable. Most importantly, because the plastic spout prevents air from getting in, the syrup stays fresher longer, even after the package has been opened. No dried-out syrup and no crystals forming at the bottom. The innovative packaging has opened up a new market for the Jakemans in Australia and created the potential for more export markets in years to come.

 

Baba Link Organic Farm-Hamilton Region

(double click on photo for high resolution)

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA and Patricia Kozowyk

Brent Kennedy, OMAFRA and Patricia Kozowyk

Apples and pears aren't the only things growing in Patricia Kozowyk's orchard. Look underneath the trees and you'll discover raspberries, roses, violets, currants and a variety of herbs. As well as selling fruit, Kozowyk does a brisk business in violet jelly, rose petal jam, edible petals for salads and garnishes, and more. The mix of crops ensures she always has something to harvest. Last year, for example, when an early spring followed by heavy frost wiped out her apple crop, her flowers, berries and herbs brought in vital income. Kozowyk also grows clover and grasses between her trees to attract bees and other beneficial insects and cut down on the need for irrigation. For this organic grower, diversity is the key to success.

 

J&S Judge Farms Ltd.-Norfolk County

(double click on photo for high resolution)

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Jim Judge and Todd Boughner

Brent Kennedy, OMAFRA, Jim Judge and Todd Boughner

A few years back, heat waves and drought spelled crop failure for field corn at J&S Judge Farms. Not these days. The livestock and cash crop producer went to the root of the problem, installing subsurface drip irrigation on 75 acres of sand plain fields. By limiting moisture stress, the wirelessly controlled irrigation system will increase productivity, improve crop quality and put underutilized land to good use. At the same time, it will conserve water. Compare the numbers: the same volume of water required to supply 50 acres via overhead irrigation can supply 200 acres via subsurface drip irrigation. Now in the early stages of commercialization, the system holds plenty of promise for tobacco, orchard and vegetable operations.

 

Purple Daze Lavender-Norfolk County

(double click on photo for high resolution)

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Carolyn and Robert Koprich

Brent Kennedy, OMAFRA, Carolyn and Robert Koprich

It typically takes three people four hours to harvest an acre of lavender, plus another hour to rack and dry the flowers. Not, however, at Purple Daze. Owner Robert Koprich has developed a harvesting machine that can do it all in just 30 minutes. Koprich spent many years developing and refining the machine, which hooks up to the kind of small tractor that many growers own. Not only does the machine reduce hand labour, saving roughly $20,000 a year, it makes it easy to keep on top of the crop during peak flowering times. Once Koprich secures a patent for his harvester, he plans to sell it to growers across the country.

 

Reif Naturals by Reif Estate Winery-Niagara Region

(double click on photo for high resolution)

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Klaus Reif and Wade Ruddle

Brent Kennedy, OMAFRA, Klaus Reif and Wade Ruddle

Thanks to Klaus Reif, locavores can now add Ontario raisins to their grocery list. In 2009, Reif retrofitted two tobacco kilns to dry food products and bought a tonne of excess Sovereign Coronation grapes that didn't pass wineries' stringent quality standards. The resulting raisins garnered positive reviews from food magazines and chefs happy to have another local option to offer diners. The new use for the grape variety gives growers another market for their product and reduces the amount of wasted fruit each year. And since raisin production occurs before wine production, seasonal workers can be employed for a longer period. Reif has steadily increased production to seven tonnes of grapes in 2012. For even more wow, the company is now offering chocolate-covered versions.

 

RentThisLand.com-Haldimand County

(double click on photo for high resolution)

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Kevin and Shannon Veurink

Brent Kennedy, OMAFRA, Kevin and Shannon Veurink

Meet Louise. She wants to expand her beet operation but she can't afford to buy new land. Now meet John. He's getting on in years and wants to downsize by renting out some of his farm. Connecting people like John and Louise is the raison d'être of RentThisLand.com. Launched in February 2013, the Canada-wide site provides a simple, effective matchmaking service for landowners and farm operators. Would-be renters can browse property listings for free and refine their search based on location, size and even criteria like soil type, drainage and environmental history. Meanwhile, basic listings are also free for landowners. For each successful match, the website operators collect a fee from the renter. With RentThisLand.com, it's never been easier to find your farm land rental match.

 

Sedum Master Inc.-Oxford County

(double click on photo for high resolution)

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Lori Davey and Greg Magda

Brent Kennedy, OMAFRA, Lori Davey and Greg Magda

Business is looking up for Sedum Master-quite literally. For the past eight years, the family-run company has specialized in creating green roof systems made up of flexible, lightweight mats covered in hardy sedum plants. The benefits go beyond attractive rooftops. Installing a green roof or wall also reduces energy loss in the winter and summer, provides sound insulation, reduces stormwater runoff and improves air quality. Sedum Master also offers green walls, creating space to grow everything from strawberries to eggplant year-round. Demand is booming. The City of Toronto, for example, now encourages green roofs on any building over 2,000 square metres. That means more jobs for cutting-edge companies like Sedum Master and a healthier environment for everyone.

 

Superior Mat & Comfort Inc.-Oxford County

(double click on photo for high resolution)

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Tanya and Martin Folkema

Brent Kennedy, OMAFRA, Tanya and Martin Folkema

For dairy farmers across the province, protecting their feed from the elements just got a little easier. Goodbye cumbersome plastic sheets and old car tires. Superior Mat & Comfort has developed a fully automated, reusable vinyl cover that can be rolled and unrolled over feed bunkers with the click of a hand-held remote. The hydraulically driven, self-winding Sysilco system can be mounted either on a wall or on the ground. Liquid-filled lines that run along the cover ensure it hugs the feed closely and creates a tight seal at the edges. Once it's in place, the heavy-duty cover protects feed from sun, rain, oxygen and pests. Not only does that eliminate dry matter loss, it also prevents run-off and greenhouse gas emissions.

 

The Blue Elephant Craft Brew House-Norfolk County

(double click on photo for high resolution)

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Heather Pond-Manorome and James Grant

Brent Kennedy, OMAFRA, Heather Pond-Manorome and James Grant

Barley, hops, wheat … and sweet potatoes? It may not be your typical beer recipe, but then again, Heather Pond-Manorome isn't your typical brewmaster. The Blue Elephant Craft Brew House serves up additive-free beer made from local, in-season ingredients and is brewed in small batches for maximum quality. Pop in for a pint in October and enjoy their Sweet 'P' autumn ale made from locally grown pumpkins and sweet potatoes. Or quench your thirst in the summer with their Harmony Hive Honey Ale and support local beekeepers while you're at it. With sales booming and more and more restaurants lining up to carry the seasonal suds, Pond-Manorome plans on expanding the microbrewery in 2013 and adding a retail store to the operations.

 

The Foreign Affair Winery-Niagara Region

(double click on photo for high resolution)

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Marisa and Len Crispino

Brent Kennedy, OMAFRA, Marisa and Len Crispino

As a Canadian living in Italy, Len Crispino fell in love with the appassimento wines that are a specialty of northern Italy, made by drying the grapes before pressing them. He and his wife, Marisa, turned that passion into The Foreign Affair Winery. Despite differences in soil, growing seasons and grape varieties, after many years of experimenting, they have successfully applied appassimento techniques to Ontario grown grapes on their 40-acre Niagara vineyard. To overcome the challenge of mould, they re-engineered air flow in the vineyard and production process. Today The Foreign Affair Winery produces 14 different wines. Here's to the fruits of passion and perseverance!

 

Y U Ranch-Norfolk County/Bryan and Cathy Gilvesy

(double click on photo for high resolution)

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Cathy and Bryan Gilvesy

Brent Kennedy, OMAFRA, Cathy and Bryan Gilvesy

When Y U Ranch delivers its grass-fed beef to hungry customers, it's making North American history. That's because the customized delivery van is the first hybrid gas/electric refrigerated minivan on the continent. Y U's owners, Bryan and Cathy Gilvesy, call it the "Farmers' Market Express." Small enough that anyone with an ordinary class G licence can drive it, the van is easy to manoeuvre in crowded urban settings. At just 8 litres per hundred kilometres, its fuel efficiency exceeds every other model on the market. Not only that, the electric-powered cooler and freezer units can run when the engine is switched off, eliminating the need to idle. The Farmers' Market Express puts refrigerated delivery within affordable reach for small producers.

 


Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 05 May 2014
Last Reviewed: 05 May 2014

Prix ministériel pour l'excellence en innovation agroalimentaire

2017 / 2016 / 2015 / 2014 / 2012-13 / 2011 / 2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007 / 2006

 

Jerseyville - le 25 octobre 2013

Le secteur agroalimentaire de l'Ontario trace la voie grâce à des idées originales et à des produits novateurs qui créent des emplois locaux et apportent à nos tables encore plus de produits d'ici.

(double-cliquez sur la photo pour la haute résolution)

Rangée avant, de gauche à droite: Marisa Crispino, Mary Jakeman, Tanya Folkema, Erin St. John, Carolyn Koprich, Lori Davey, Heather Pond-Manorome et Cathy Gilvesy Rangée du milieu de la gauche vers la droite: Len Crispino, Robert Jakeman, Devin Jakeman, Martin Folkema, Mike Lishman, Patricia Kozowyk, Robert Koprich, Greg Magda, James Grant et Bryan Gilvesy Rangée arrière, de gauche à droite: Jim Judge, Todd Boughner, Chad Jakeman, Kevin Veurink, Klaus Reif et Wade Ruddle

Rangée avant, de gauche à droite: Marisa Crispino, Mary Jakeman, Tanya Folkema, Erin St. John, Carolyn Koprich, Lori Davey, Heather Pond-Manorome et Cathy Gilvesy

Rangée du milieu de la gauche vers la droite: Len Crispino, Robert Jakeman, Devin Jakeman, Martin Folkema, Mike Lishman, Patricia Kozowyk, Robert Koprich, Greg Magda, James Grant et Bryan Gilvesy

Rangée arrière, de gauche à droite: Jim Judge, Todd Boughner, Chad Jakeman, Kevin Veurink, Klaus Reif et Wade Ruddle

Lauréats des prix

Arlington Farms - Jarvis, comté de Haldimand

(double-cliquez sur la photo pour la haute résolution)

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Erin St. John et Mike Lishman

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Erin St. John et Mike Lishman

Alors que de plus en plus de voisins de Mike Lishman se sont retirés du commerce du bétail, ce dernier a été confronté à un problème… comment fertiliser ses cultures commerciales sans avoir une source de fumier à proximité? La solution qu'il a découverte provenait des villes. M. Lishman s'est tourné vers les déchets verts que les citadins mettent sur le trottoir chaque semaine. Comme l'ont démontré ses essais intensifs, l'utilisation des matières biologiques compostées produit des plants sains, augmente le rendement des cultures, améliore la qualité du sol et augmente la rétention d'humidité. Un spécialiste en gestion des éléments nutritifs du MAAO et du MAR l'a aidé à déterminer le taux d'application optimal. Aujourd'hui, M. Lishman n'utilise virtuellement aucun engrais commercial et se fie presque entièrement aux déchets biologiques compostés pour fournir l'azote, le phosphore, le potassium, le calcium et les différents micronutriments dont il a besoin. Pour les agriculteurs comme lui, les déchets verts sont de l'or pur.

Auvergne Farms Ltd dba produits de l'érable Jakeman's - Beachville, Oxford County

(double-cliquez sur la photo pour la haute résolution)

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Mary, Robert, Devin et Chad Jakeman

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Mary, Robert, Devin et Chad Jakeman

Partout dans le monde, de plus en plus de vinificateurs choisissent de mettre leur vin en boîte plutôt qu'en bouteille. Robert et Mary Jakeman et leur famille utilisent maintenant les mêmes caisses-outres économiques et faciles à entreposer pour le sirop d'érable. Pour ces producteurs, ces sacs robustes placés dans un étui en carton sont tout à fait logiques. Leur faible poids garde les coûts d'expédition bas. Il n'y a aucun risque de bris, contrairement aux bouteilles de verre. L'emballage est totalement recyclable. Plus important encore, parce que le bec verseur en plastique empêche l'air d'entrer, le sirop reste plus frais plus longtemps, même après l'ouverture de l'emballage. Il n'y a donc pas de sirop séché ou de cristaux qui se forment dans le fond. L'emballage innovateur a ouvert un nouveau marché pour les produits Jakeman's en Australie et créé la possibilité d'un plus grand nombre de marchés d'exportation pour les années à venir.

Ferme biologique Baba Link - ville de Hamilton

(double-cliquez sur la photo pour la haute résolution)

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA et Patricia Kozowyk

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA et Patricia Kozowyk

Les pommes et les poires ne sont pas les seules choses qui poussent dans le verger de Patricia Kozowyk. Jetez un coup d'œil sous les arbres et vous découvrirez des framboises, des roses, des violettes, des raisins de Corinthe et une variété de fines herbes. En plus de vendre des fruits, Mme Kozowyk a aussi mis sur pied une entreprise dynamique dans le cadre de laquelle elle vend de la gelée de violettes, de la confiture de pétales de rose, des pétales comestibles pour les salades et les garnitures, etc. Grâce à ce mélange de cultures, elle a toujours quelque chose à récolter. L'an dernier, par exemple, après la destruction de sa récolte de pommes à la suite d'un printemps hâtif suivi d'un gel intense, ses fleurs, baies et fines herbes se sont transformées en un revenu essentiel. Mme Kozowyk fait également pousser du trèfle et des graminées entre ses arbres afin d'attirer des abeilles et d'autres insectes bénéfiques et de réduire le besoin d'irrigation. Pour cette cultivatrice biologique, la diversité est la clé du succès.

J&S Judge Farms Ltd. - Simcoe, comté de Norfolk

(double-cliquez sur la photo pour la haute résolution)

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Jim Judge et Todd Boughner

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Jim Judge et Todd Boughner

Il y a de cela quelques années, les vagues de chaleur et la sécheresse entraînaient des pertes de cultures pour les J&S Judge Farms. Ce n'est plus le cas. L'éleveur de bétail et producteur de cultures commerciales s'est attaqué à la racine du problème, en installant un système d'irrigation au goutte-à-goutte souterrain sur 75 acres de champs de sable lisse. En limitant la tension hydrique, le système d'irrigation sans fil augmentera la productivité, améliorera la qualité des cultures et fera bon usage d'un terrain sous-utilisé. De plus, il conserve l'eau. Comparez les chiffres : le même volume d'eau nécessaire pour approvisionner 50 acres par une irrigation sur frondaison peut approvisionner 200 acres par une irrigation au goutte-à-goutte souterraine. Maintenant aux premières étapes de la commercialisation, le système semble prometteur pour les exploitations de tabac, de vergers et de légumes.

Purple Daze Lavender - St. Williams, comté de Norfolk

(double-cliquez sur la photo pour la haute résolution)

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Carolyn et Robert Koprich

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Carolyn et Robert Koprich

Il faut généralement quatre heures à trois personnes pour récolter une acre de lavande, plus une heure pour trier et sécher les fleurs. Ce n'est cependant pas le cas chez Purple Daze. Le propriétaire Robert Koprich a créé une récolteuse qui peut faire la même chose en seulement 30 minutes. M. Koprich a passé plusieurs années à concevoir et à parfaire sa machine, laquelle s'accroche au genre de petit tracteur que plusieurs cultivateurs possèdent. En plus de réduire le travail manuel, ce qui permet d'économiser environ 20 000 $ par an, la machine permet plus facilement de suivre le rythme de la récolte durant les périodes de pointe pour la fleuraison. Lorsque M. Koprich aura obtenu un brevet pour sa récolteuse, il compte la vendre à des cultivateurs de partout au pays.

Reif Naturals de la Reif Estate Winery - Niagara-on-the-Lake, région de Niagara

(double-cliquez sur la photo pour la haute résolution)

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Klaus Reif et Wade Ruddle

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Klaus Reif et Wade Ruddle

Grâce à Klaus Reif, les locavores peuvent maintenant ajouter les raisins de l'Ontario à leur liste d'épicerie. En 2009, M. Reif a récupéré deux séchoirs à tabac pour faire sécher des aliments et a acheté une tonne de raisins Sovereign Coronation qui ne satisfaisaient pas aux normes strictes de qualité des vineries. Les raisins obtenus ont obtenu des commentaires positifs de revues alimentaires et de chefs heureux d'avoir une autre option locale à offrir à leurs convives. La nouvelle utilisation pour la variété de raisins ouvre aux cultivateurs un autre marché pour leur produit en plus de réduire la quantité de fruits perdus chaque année. Et puisque la production de raisins survient avant la production de vin, les travailleurs saisonniers peuvent avoir du travail durant une plus longue période. M. Reif a constamment augmenté la production jusqu'à atteindre sept tonnes de raisins en 2012. L'entreprise offre maintenant des versions enrobées de chocolat.

RentThisLand.com - Hagersville, comté de Haldimand

(double-cliquez sur la photo pour la haute résolution)

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Kevin et Shannon Veurink

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Kevin et Shannon Veurink

Voici Louise. Elle souhaite agrandir son exploitation de betterave, mais elle n'a pas les moyens d'acheter une nouvelle terre. Faites maintenant la connaissance de John. Il sait qu'il prend de l'âge et veut réduire la taille de son entreprise en louant certaines terres de son exploitation agricole. Réunir des personnes comme John et Louise est la raison d'être de RentThisLand.com. Lancé en février 2013, ce site qui fonctionne à l'échelle du Canada fournit un service de liaison simple et efficace pour les propriétaires fonciers et les exploitants agricoles. Les locataires potentiels peuvent explorer gratuitement les propriétés inscrites et raffiner leur recherche en fonction du lieu, de la taille et même de certains critères comme le type de sol, le drainage et les antécédents environnementaux. Par ailleurs, les inscriptions de base sont également gratuites pour les propriétaires fonciers. Pour chaque jumelage réussi, les exploitants du site Web demandent au locataire de défrayer un frais. Avec RentThisLand.com, il n'aura jamais été aussi facile de trouver vos fermes et terres à louer.

 

Sedum Master Inc.-Princeton, comté d'Oxford

(double-cliquez sur la photo pour la haute résolution)

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Lori Davey et Greg Magda

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Lori Davey et Greg Magda

Les affaires vont vraiment bien pour Sedum Master. Au cours des huit dernières années, l'entreprise familiale s'est spécialisée dans la création de systèmes de toit vert fabriqués de matériaux flexibles et légers couverts de plants d'orpin rustique. Les avantages dépassent celui d'une toiture-jardin attrayante. L'installation d'un toit vert ou d'un mur végétalisé réduit également la perte énergétique durant l'hiver et l'été, fournit une isolation acoustique, réduit l'écoulement des eaux de ruissellement et améliorer la qualité de l'air. Sedum Master offre également des murs végétalisés, ce qui crée de l'espace pour faire pousser toute sorte de choses, allant de fraises à des aubergines, à longueur d'année. La demande explose. La ville de Toronto, par exemple, favorise maintenant les toits verts sur tous les bâtiments de plus de 2 000 mètres carrés. Cela veut dire un plus grand nombre d'emplois pour des entreprises à la fine pointe comme Sedum Master et un environnement plus sain pour chacun de nous.

Superior Mat & Comfort Inc.-Salford, comté d'Oxford

(double-cliquez sur la photo pour la haute résolution)

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Tanya et Martin Folkema

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Tanya et Martin Folkema

Pour les exploitants de fermes laitières de partout dans la province, protéger leurs aliments pour animaux est devenu un peu plus facile. Adieu feuilles de plastique encombrantes et vieux pneus de voiture. Superior Mat & Comfort a élaboré une couverture totalement automatisée et réutilisable qui peut être roulée et déroulée au-dessus de leurs silos-couloirs à aliments. Le système Sysilco hydraulique à remontage automatique peut être monté sur un mur ou sur le sol. Des conduites à dilatation liquide qui se trouvent le long de la couverture garantissent qu'elle ceinture étroitement les aliments et crée une fermeture hermétique sur les bords. Une fois en place, la couverture robuste protège les aliments pour animaux du soleil, de la pluie, de l'oxygène et des ravageurs. En plus d'éliminer la perte de matière sèche, cela empêche également l'écoulement et les émissions de gaz à effet de serre.

The Blue Elephant Craft Brew House - Simcoe, comté de Norfolk

(double-cliquez sur la photo pour la haute résolution)

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Heather Pond-Manorome et James Grant

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Heather Pond-Manorome et James Grant

Orge, houblon, blé …et patates douces? Cela n'est peut-être pas une recette de bière habituelle, mais Heather Pond-Manorome n'est pas non plus une maître-brasseuse habituelle. La Blue Elephant Craft Brew House sert une bière sans additif faite d'ingrédients locaux et de saison, brassée en petites quantités pour un maximum de qualité. Venez prendre une pinte en octobre et savourez leur ale d'automne, la Sweet « P », fabriquée à partir de citrouilles et de patates douces cultivées localement. Durant l'été, vous pouvez aussi étancher votre soif avec la Harmony Hive Honey Ale, en plus d'appuyer les apiculteurs locaux. Alors que les ventes explosent et que de plus en plus de restaurants font la file pour obtenir les bières saisonnières, Mme Pond-Manorome planifie l'agrandissement de sa microbrasserie en 2013 et l'ajout d'un magasin de détail à son exploitation.

The Foreign Affair Winery - Vineland, région de Niagara

(double-cliquez sur la photo pour la haute résolution)

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Marisa et Len Crispino

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Marisa et Len Crispino

Comme Canadien vivant en Italie, Len Crispino est tombé en amour avec les vins passerillés qui sont une spécialité du nord de l'Italie, fabriqué en faisant sécher les raisins avant de les presser. En compagnie de son épouse, Marisa, il a transformé cette passion en une entreprise, The Foreign Affair Winery. Malgré des différences dans le sol, les saisons de croissance et les variétés de raisin, ils ont réussi, après plusieurs années d'expérimentation, à appliquer avec succès les techniques de passerillage aux raisins cultivés en Ontario dans leur vignoble de Niagara d'une superficie de 40 acres. Pour pallier le problème de la moisissure, ils ont restructuré la circulation d'air dans le vignoble et le processus de production. Aujourd'hui, The Foreign Affair Winery produit 14 vins différents. À la santé de la passion et de la persévérance! Les Crispino ont également reçu le Prix ministériel pour leur innovation.

Y U Ranch/Bryan et Cathy Gilvesy, Tillsonburg, comté de Norfolk

(double-cliquez sur la photo pour la haute résolution)

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Cathy et Bryan Gilvesy

Brent Kennedy, OMAF-MRA, Cathy et Bryan Gilvesy

Lorsque le ranch Y U livre son bœuf engraissé à l'herbe à ses clients affamés, il marque l'histoire de l'Amérique du Nord. La raison? Son véhicule de livraison sur mesure est la première minifourgonnette hybride réfrigérée sur le continent. Les propriétaires de Y U, Bryan et Cathy Gilvesy, l'appellent « Farmers' Market Express ». Suffisamment petite pour que toute personne détenant un permis de catégorie « G » puisse la conduire, la fourgonnette est facile à manœuvrer en milieu urbain engorgé. Consommant 8 litres par cent kilomètres, son rendement du carburant dépasse tous les autres modèles sur le marché. De plus, ses unités de refroidissement et de congélation à alimentation électrique peuvent fonctionner même lorsque le moteur est éteint, ce qui élimine la nécessité de faire tourner le moteur au ralenti. Le véhicule « Farmers' Market Express » rend la livraison de biens réfrigérés abordable pour les petits producteurs. Bryan et Cathy Gilvesy ont également reçu un Prix du chef de file en innovation.

 



Auteur :
Date de création :
Dernière révision :