Pollinator health information for beekeepers

Pollinator health information for beekeepers

Honey Bee Health in Ontario

Ontario has long been supporting the health of managed pollinators through the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affair's (OMAFRA) Apiary Inspection Program. The Ontario Bees Act is the legislation that regulates honey bees and beekeeping in Ontario. Its main purpose is to protect the health of honey bees, particularly from pests and diseases. The act requires that anyone who owns or is in possession of honey bees must register with the Apiary Inspection Program.

OMAFRA's Apiary Inspection Program provides field inspections for the presence of honey bee diseases and pests and issues permits to beekeepers. In addition, the apiary program is actively engaged in monitoring honey bee health across Ontario, and conducting surveys of beekeeper management practices, overwinter losses and the tracking of reported honey bee health concerns.

Apiary Inspection Program Quick Links:

To see additional resources and services available from the Apiary Inspection Program, including treatment recommendations and best management practices for biosecurity, high risk pests, diseases and overwintering, please visit ontario.ca/beekeeping.

Government programs and resources

A bee health production insurance plan helps to protect farmers in Ontario from losses caused by factors beyond their control, and covers colony losses caused by insured perils that occur during the overwinter period. For eligibility requirements and more information on the bee health plan, visit Agricorp's website.

Beekeepers can also access AgriStability, AgriInvest and the Self-Directed Risk Management Program. To explore your options, contact Agricorp.

Learn more

For resources and services available from the Apiary Inspection Program visit ontario.ca/beekeeping.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Renseignements sur la santé des pollinisateurs destinés aux apiculteurs

Renseignements sur la santé des pollinisateurs destinés aux apiculteurs

Santé des abeilles mellifères en Ontario

L’Ontario soutient depuis longtemps la santé des pollinisateurs d’élevage par le truchement du Programme d’apiculture du ministère de l’Agriculture, de l’Alimentation et des Affaires rurales (MAAARO). En Ontario, c’est la Loi sur l’apiculture qui régit les abeilles mellifères et l’apiculture. Son objectif principal est de protéger la santé des abeilles mellifères, particulièrement contre les ravageurs et les maladies. La loi exige que quiconque détient des abeilles mellifères ou est en possession d’abeilles mellifères doive s’inscrire auprès du Programme d’apiculture.

Le Programme d’apiculture du MAAARO prévoit des inspections sur le terrain pour déceler la présence de maladies et de ravageurs des abeilles mellifères, et délivre des permis aux apiculteurs. De plus, le Programme d’apiculture participe activement à la surveillance de la santé des abeilles mellifères à l’échelle de l’Ontario et réalise des enquêtes sur les pratiques de gestion des apiculteurs, les pertes durant l’hiver et le suivi des préoccupations signalées sur la santé des abeilles.

Liens rapides relatifs au Programme d’apiculture :

Pour connaître les ressources et les services offerts par le Programme d’apiculture, notamment des recommandations de traitement et les pratiques de gestion optimales pour la biosécurité, les ravageurs présentant un risque élevé, les maladies et l’hivernage, consultez ontario.ca/apiculture.

Programmes et ressources du gouvernement

Un nouveau régime d’Assurance-production contre la mortalité des abeilles aide à protéger les agriculteurs en Ontario des pertes entraînées par des facteurs hors de leur contrôle, et couvre les pertes de colonies causées par des périls assurés qui surviennent durant la période hivernale. Pour des renseignements concernant les critères d’admissibilité et le régime contre la mortalité des abeilles, consultez le site Web d’AgriCorp.

Les apiculteurs peuvent avoir recours aux programmes Agri-stabilité, Agri-investissement et au Programme d’autogestion des risques. Pour explorer les options qui s’offrent à vous, communiquez avec AgriCorp.  

Pour en savoir davantage


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Firstname SPACE Lastname SPACE HYPHEN SPACE Title/Affiliation
(eg. John Doe - Crop Specialist/University of Guelph)
Use a SEMI COLON to separate multiple entries:
(eg. John Doe - Crop Specialist/University of Guelph; Jane Doe - Crop Specialist/OMAFRA)
Date de création : dd SPACE fullmonth SPACE yyyy
Dernière révision : dd SPACE fullmonth SPACE yyyy