World Foods

Bring Home the World - Improving Access to Ontario's World Foods

Ontario is a strong supporter of local food production and sales. Since 2003, the government has invested more than $180 million in initiatives and projects that help promote and celebrate the good things that are grown, harvested and made in Ontario.

Recognizing the diversity of Ontarians and their contributions to growing the agri-food sector, the Ontario government has launched Bring Home the World. This initiative is designed to promote World Foods as part of Ontario's Local Food Strategy.

World Foods are those which can be produced, harvested or processed in Ontario that reflect the diversity of the province's population.

Examples of Ontario world foods may include:

  • Fruits and vegetables - fuzzy melon, bok choy, specialty eggplant
  • Proteins - goat meat, shrimp, edamame;
  • Dairy - goat or sheep milk, lassi (yogurt-based drink), labneh (cream cheese);
  • Grains - quinoa

World foods can also be part of an internationally inspired recipe using locally-sourced ingredients, or as part of a culturally important or religiously required diet, such as Halal processed foods.

Engaging Ontarians

The Ontario government is engaging Ontarians to better understand where demand currently exists for World Foods and learn where there are opportunities to grow the market in the province. Improving access to World Foods will boost both convenience and choice and help support economic growth and job creation across the province.

This is a chance for Ontarians to share their views on what World Foods means to them and help the government better understand the demand for these globally-inspired, locally-grown-and-made foods.

As a key partner in the Local Food Strategy, Ontario's agri-food sector can also play a role in improving access to World Foods for Ontarians. A targeted set of questions have been prepared for growers, processors and agri-food organizations to assess barriers to entering the World Foods market.

How You Can Get Involved

Whether you are a consumer or an agri-food partner, we want to hear from you.

We encourage you to read the World Foods discussion paper. To provide feedback, please complete the World Foods survey; or email us at ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca. We are collecting feedback up to November 3, 2017.

We will collect all the feedback received and use it to help improve access and availability to World Foods so everyday Ontarians can Bring Home the World.

OMAFRA World Foods Supports

OMAFRA has resources and initiatives already in place that support World Foods in Ontario.

Foodland Ontario
  • Ontario-grown World Foods are promoted in over 600 food and lifestyle media outlets through recipe releases and television appearances. World crops and their use in international recipes have been promoted through Foodland Ontario's social and digital media channels (e.g. Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, and the website) and in 2017, the Foodland Ontario calendar features 'Deliciously inspired international recipes featuring local ingredients'. Over 500,000 have been distributed, predominately through Ontario grocery stores. Ontario retailers also use Foodland Ontario point-of-sale materials, such as commodity cards or international recipe cards to promote World Foods grown in Ontario. Recently, Foodland Ontario partnered with T&T Supermarkets to create an Asian greens banner promoting grown in Ontario - across eight stores in Ontario.
Speciality Cropportunities
  • A resource available to assist growers to transition to specialty crops, including information on crop research and trials.
Agriculture Business Management - Website
  • A website filled with resources for farming businesses to help manage production and marketing information, farm business diversification, budgeting, workshops, events, and newsletters.
Starting a Farm in Ontario: Business Information Bundle for New Farmers
  • Resources for potential new farmers and newcomer farmers with information on crops, expansion, and early market decisions, including world crops. In addition, OMAFRA collaborates with organizations like Farm Management Canada to build capacity-building resources for potential and new farm entrants.

For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Jeff O'Donnell - Policy Advisor/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 5 June 2017
Last Reviewed: 5 June 2017

Aliments du monde

Le monde entier à nos tables - améliorer l'accès aux aliments du monde produits en Ontario

L'Ontario est un fervent partisan de la production et des ventes de produits alimentaires locaux. Depuis 2003, le gouvernement a investi plus de 180 millions de dollars dans des initiatives et des projets qui aident à promouvoir et à célébrer les bonnes choses qui sont cultivées, récoltées et fabriquées en Ontario.

En reconnaissance de la diversité de la population ontarienne et de ses contributions à la croissance du secteur agroalimentaire, le gouvernement a lancé Le monde entier à nos tables. Cette initiative est conçue pour promouvoir les aliments du monde dans le cadre de la Stratégie ontarienne de promotion des produits alimentaires locaux.

Les aliments du monde sont les aliments qui peuvent être produits, récoltés ou transformés en Ontario et qui reflètent la diversité de la population de la province.

Voici certains exemples d'aliments du monde de l'Ontario :

  • fruits et légumes - melon velu, bok choy, aubergine de spécialité;
  • protéines - viande de chèvre, crevette, edamame;
  • produits laitiers - lait de chèvre ou de brebis, lassi (boisson à base de yogourt), labneh (fromage à la crème);
  • céréales - quinoa.

Les aliments du monde peuvent aussi faire partie d'une recette d'inspiration internationale utilisant des ingrédients locaux, ou d'un régime alimentaire culturellement important ou imposé par la religion, comme des aliments halals transformés.

Mobiliser la population ontarienne

Le gouvernement de l'Ontario mobilise la population ontarienne afin de mieux comprendre les segments de marché où la demande existe déjà pour des aliments du monde et pour découvrir les segments de marché présentant des possibilités de croissance dans la province. Améliorer l'accès aux aliments du monde augmentera la facilité d'accès et le choix et aidera à favoriser la croissance économique et la création d'emplois dans la province.

C'est une chance pour les Ontariennes et les Ontariens de partager leurs points de vue sur ce que signifient pour eux des aliments du monde et d'aider le gouvernement à mieux comprendre la demande pour ces aliments inspirés par le monde, cultivés et fabriqués localement.

À titre de partenaire clé de la Stratégie de promotion des produits alimentaires locaux, le secteur agroalimentaire de l'Ontario peut aussi jouer un rôle en améliorant l'accès des aliments du monde pour la population ontarienne. Une série de questions ciblées a été préparée pour les producteurs, les entreprises de transformation et les organismes agroalimentaires afin d'évaluer les obstacles à l'accès au marché des aliments du monde.

Manière dont vous pouvez participer

Que vous soyez un consommateur ou un partenaire agroalimentaire, nous voulons entendre vos commentaires.

Nous vous encourageons à lire le document de travail sur les aliments du monde. Pour nous faire parvenir vos observations, veuillez répondre au sondage sur les aliments du monde; ou faites-nous parvenir un courriel à ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca. Vous avez jusqu'au 23 septembre 2017 pour nous faire parvenir vos observations.

Nous recueillerons toutes les observations reçues et les utiliserons pour aider à améliorer l'accès et la disponibilité des aliments du monde afin que la population ontarienne puisse chaque jour amener Le monde entier à nos tables.

Soutiens du MAAARO accordés aux aliments du monde

Le MAAARO possède des ressources et des initiatives conçues pour soutenir les aliments du monde en Ontario.

Ontario, terre nourricière
  • Les aliments du monde cultivés en Ontario sont en promotion dans plus de 600 médias sur l'alimentation et le style de vie grâce à des publications de recettes, des apparitions à la télévision. Ontario, terre nourricière a fait la promotion des cultures mondiales et de leur utilisation dans les recettes internationales grâce à ses médias sociaux et numériques (p. ex., Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest et le site Web) et en 2017, le calendrier d'Ontario, terre nourricière mettait en vedette de « De délicieuses recettes étrangères mettant à l'honneur des ingrédients locaux ». Plus de 500 000 exemplaires ont été distribués, principalement dans les épiceries de l'Ontario. Les détaillants de l'Ontario utilisent également les documents sur les lieux de vente d'Ontario, terre nourricière, comme les fiches de produits ou les cartes de recettes internationales pour promouvoir les aliments du monde cultivés en Ontario. Récemment, Ontario, terre nourricière s'est allié aux supermarchés T&T pour créer une bannière faisant la promotion des légumes verts asiatiques cultivés en Ontario - dans l'ensemble des huit magasins de la chaîne en Ontario.
Promo-cultures
  • Une ressource disponible pour aider les producteurs à effectuer le passage vers des cultures spéciales, notamment des renseignements sur la recherche et les essais relatifs aux cultures.
Gestion des entreprises agricoles - site Web
  • Un site Web contenant des ressources pour les entreprises agricoles afin d'aider à gérer les renseignements relatifs à la production et à la commercialisation, à la diversification des entreprises agricoles, à la budgétisation, aux ateliers, aux événements et aux bulletins.
Démarrer une ferme en Ontario - Trousse d'information à l'intention du nouvel agriculteur
  • Ressources pour les nouveaux agriculteurs potentiels et les nouveaux agriculteurs dont des renseignements sur les cultures, l'expansion et les décisions commerciales rapides, incluant les cultures du monde. De plus, le MAAARO collabore avec des organismes comme Gestion Agricole Canada pour créer des ressources en renforcement de la capacité pour les agriculteurs potentiels et les nouveaux agriculteurs.

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Jeff O'Donnell - Policy Advisor/OMAFRA
Date de création : 05 juin 2017
Dernière révision : 05 juin 2017