2005 Sampling and Analysis Protocol for Ontario Regulation 267/03 Made under the Nutrient Management Act, 2002

Part 1 - Introduction

Table of Contents

  1. Background to Act and Regulations
  2. Health and Safety
  3. Sampling Frequencies
  4. Averaging of Results
  5. Sampling Locations

Proper sampling and analytical techniques are critical to accurately determine the nutrient content and other properties of materials. This has always been important, but has now become a legal requirement under the Nutrient Management Act, 2002. The techniques described in this document are intended to meet the requirements of the regulations under the Act. They can also provide guidance for other sampling and analysis requirements with similar goals.

1.1 Background to Act and Regulations

A key component of the regulations is the requirement for a nutrient management plan. To complete a meaningful nutrient management plan, it may be necessary to know the concentrations of nutrients and contaminants in both the soil and the materials that may be applied to land.

The Regulation lays out what materials need to be sampled and analyzed, how frequently they need to be sampled, and which parameters need to be measured. These are minimum requirements. It may be desirable to sample more frequently, or to analyze for additional parameters, to optimize the management of land applied materials.

1.2 Health and Safety

There may be hazards associated with the physical act of sampling or with handling materials that could contain toxic material or E. coli. It is the responsibility of the sampler to have taken all necessary precautions and to act according to any applicable health and safety regulations.

1.3 Sampling Frequencies

1.3.1 Soils

Soils may be sampled for two different purposes: to assess the initial nutrient levels in the soil, which will guide the application of nutrient containing materials for agronomic and environmental purposes, and to determine the acceptability of the site for receiving the particular material.

Soils Receiving Nutrients

Persons applying nutrients to fields on farm units where a nutrient management plan is required, must collect a representative soil sample from each field as part of developing the initial nutrient management plan, and then at least once during each five-year period for subsequent plans. The results from analyzing these samples are entered into the nutrient management plan.

Where nutrient levels fluctuate widely within the five year interval it may be appropriate to sample a field more frequently than is required. This situation can occur on sandy soils where crops that are removing large amounts of nutrients are grown. Silage corn, forages and processing tomatoes all remove large quantities of potassium from the soil; therefore, soil test levels can decline quickly to the point where yields are reduced.

Soils must be analyzed for soil pH and, if the soil has a pH below 6.0, for buffer pH. They must also be analyzed for available phosphorus (using the sodium bicarbonate extractant) and available potassium (using the ammonium acetate extractant). In addition, the sample may be analyzed for available magnesium, nitrate nitrogen, or the manganese and zinc availability indices.

It is necessary to know the available phosphorus concentration of a soil prior to applying nutrients so that application rates and setback distances can be properly determined. The soil must have been tested for sodium bicarbonate extractable phosphorus content within the five years immediately prior to applying the nutrients to land.

Soils Receiving Non-Agricultural Source Materials

Persons applying non-agricultural source materials must, in addition to the nutrient analyses, have representative samples analyzed for the total content of each of the eleven regulated metals (Table 1.1 and Table 1.2). These samples must have been collected within five years prior to the application of non-agricultural source materials, as part of the preparation of the initial and subsequent nutrient management plans.

In the Regulation, the maximum allowable metal concentrations in soils receiving sewage biosolids, are based on the "mean metal content of uncontaminated Ontario soils". In many soils, metal concentrations will be higher than the mean. For some soils, one or more metal concentrations may already exceed the maximum allowed in the regulations. It is therefore necessary that soil testing be conducted prior to the first application of sewage biosolids or other wastes to determine the suitability of the soil. Samples collected as per Section 2.1 of this document shall be analyzed for the eleven metals listed in the regulations. The sampling and testing for pH, sodium bicarbonate extractable phosphorus, and the eleven regulated metals must have been undertaken within the five years preceding application of a non-agricultural source material to land.

Summaries of acceptable analytical methods are presented in Section 4.

Table 1.1 Standards for Regulated Metals for Sewage Biosolids
Regulated Metals Maximum metal concentration in material to be applied up to 22 tonnes per ha per 5 years
(mg / Kg of TS1 dw2)
Maximum metal concentration in material to be applied up to 8 tonnes per ha per 5 years
(mg / Kg of TS1 dw2)
Maximum permissible metal addition to soil receiving non-agricultural source materials
(Kg / Ha / 5 Years)
Maximum metal concentration in soils receiving non-agricultural source materials
(mg / Kg of Soil, dw)
Arsenic 75 170 1.40 14
Cadmium 20 34 0.27 1.6
Cobalt 150 340 2.70 20
Chromium 1060 2800 23.30 120
Copper 760 1700 13.60 100
Mercury 5 11 0.09 0.5
Molybdenum 20 94 0.80 4
Nickel 180 420 3.56 32
Lead 500 1100 9.00 60
Selenium 14 34 0.27 1.6
Zinc 1850 4200 33.00 220

1 TS means total solids.

2 dw means dry weight.

Table 1.2 Standards for Regulated Metals for Land Applied Materials Other than Sewage Biosolids
Regulated Metals Maximum metal concentration in materials that contain total solids of less than 10,000 mg of material per litre
(mg of material/ L)
Maximum metal concentration in materials that contain total solids equal to or greater than 10,000 mg of material per litre
(mg / Kg of TS1 dw2)
Maximum permissible metal addition to soil receiving non-agricultural source materials
(Kg / Ha / 5 Years)
Maximum metal concentration in soils receiving non-agricultural source materials
(mg / Kg of Soil, dw)
Arsenic 1.70 170 1.40 14
Cadmium 0.34 34 0.27 1.6
Cobalt 3.40 340 2.70 20
Chromium 28 2800 23.30 120
Copper 17 1700 13.60 100
Mercury 0.11 11 0.09 0.5
Molybdenum 0.94 94 0.80 4
Nickel 4.20 420 3.56 32
Lead 11 1100 9.00 60
Selenium 0.34 34 0.27 1.6
Zinc 42 4200 33.00 220

1 TS means total solids.

2 dw means dry weight.

1.3.2 Non-Agricultural Source Materials

Non-agricultural source materials are required to be sampled and analyzed at least as frequently as specified in the following tables. The sampling requirements in Table 1-3 apply to all non-agricultural source materials. The requirements to sample for E. coli analysis apply only to Sewage Biosolids.

Table 1-3. Sampling frequencies for regulated metals1, E. coli, total Kjeldahl nitrogen, ammonium nitrogen, nitrate nitrogen, total solids, volatile solids2 and total phosphorus.

Size of Generators Sampling Frequencies
Generators of sewage biosolids and with an approved design capacity not greater than 45,400 m3/ day, or Generators of other non-agricultural source materials that generate not more than 2,500 tonnes/year, dry weight basis. Two samples within 30 days prior to actual land application and 2 additional samples within 90 days prior to land application with sample taken a minimum of 2 days apart.
Generators of sewage biosolids, with an approved design capacity greater than 45,400 m3/day, or Generators of other non-agricultural source materials that generate more than 2,500 tonnes/year, dry weight basis. 2 samples per month, with samples taken a minimum of two days apart.

1See Table 1.1 for the list of regulated metals.

2For the purpose of this regulation, volatile solids shall be taken as equivalent to organic matter.

For all situations, results must be available for at least one sample collected within 30 days prior to (and including) the day of land application and two additional samples collected within 90 days prior to land application.

Reduction of Sampling Frequency

  1. For metals analysis, if the mean plus two standard deviations calculated using the last twelve samples or using the last year's worth of samples, whichever is the greater number of samples, is less than the allowable limits for all metals, then the sampling frequencies above may be reduced by half.
  1. For E. coli, if the running four-sample geometric mean of the last twelve samples or of the last year's worth of samples, whichever is the greater number of samples, always meets the criteria of less than 2 x 106 CFU/g, then the sampling frequencies above may be reduced by half.
  1. For nutrient analysis, if the coefficient of variation calculated using the last twelve samples or using the last year's worth of samples, whichever is the greater number of samples, is less than twenty per cent, then the sampling frequencies above may be reduced by half.

When any of the above three conditions are violated, sampling frequencies must return to the original frequencies.

In situations where materials are transferred from storage at the generating site to a temporary storage facility, for sampling purposes, the temporary storage facility can be regarded as being part of the plant if and only if the material is in temporary storage for less than four weeks prior to land application. If this requirement is met, then the most recent sample results from the generating facility may be used. If the material is in temporary storage for a longer period of time, if the material is mixed with any materials from other sources, or if the material is managed in such a way that the nutrient or contaminant concentrations could be expected to have changed, then samples must be collected for analysis from the material in the temporary storage in accordance with Table 1-3.

1.4 Averaging of Results

Where a material is required to be analyzed for regulated metals or E. coli, the concentration of metals or E. coli in the material is considered to be the average of the concentrations in the four most recent samples. This allows for any variation that may occur in sampling or analysis of the materials, while maintaining protection of the environment. Metal concentrations are calculated as a simple arithmetic mean, where the concentrations of each of the metals in the previous four samples are added together and the resulting total is divided by four. E. coli concentrations are calculated as the geometric mean where the concentrations of E. coli in each of the previous four samples are multiplied together and the fourth root of the resulting product is calculated.

Where the mean concentration of any parameter exceeds the allowable level, and the generator still intends to land apply the material, the generator has the option of resampling the material. This is done by continuing to take representative samples with an interval between samplings of at least two days. The analytical results are then used to calculate the mean value. Sampling can continue on this basis until the mean value of the four most recent samples is within allowable limits for all parameters. This method is for use where a large value is skewing the mean, and that value may be due to a spurious analytical result.

1.5 Sampling Locations

Samples for nutrient analysis must be taken at a location or locations from which the material is being transported to land application sites. This is to provide the farmer with the best possible estimates of concentrations of total N, available N, and total P.

Samples that are being collected for total solids, volatile solids and regulated metals must be collected from both the storage location from which the material is being taken to land application sites and from the location (i.e. the generation facility) from which the material is being taken to the centralized storage facility if materials from different sources are being mixed.

Samples of material that is to be analyzed for E. coli must be collected at a location immediately after the treatment process.

In situations where materials are transferred from storage at the generating site to a temporary storage facility, for sampling purposes, the temporary storage facility can be regarded as being part of the plant if and only if the material is in temporary storage for less than four weeks prior to land application. If this requirement is met, then the most recent sample results from the generating facility may be used. If the material is in temporary storage for a longer period of time, if the material is mixed with any materials from other sources, or if the material is managed in such a way that the nutrient or contaminant concentrations could be expected to have changed, then samples must be collected for analysis from the material in the temporary storage.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 12 August 2005
Last Reviewed: 12 August 2005

2005 Protocole d'échantillonnage et d'analyse dans le cadre du Règlement de l'Ontario 267/03 pris en application de la Loi de 2002 sur la gestion des éléments nutritifs

Partie 1 - Introduction

Table des matières

  1. Contexte de la Loi et du Règlement
  2. Santé et sécurité
  3. Fréquences d'échantillonnage
  4. Moyenne des résultats
  5. Sites d'échantillonnage

De bonnes techniques d'échantillonnage et d'analyse sont primordiales pour déterminer avec précision la teneur en éléments nutritifs et les autres propriétés des matières. Ces données, qui ont toujours été importantes, sont aujourd'hui obligatoires en vertu de la Loi de 2002 sur la gestion des éléments nutritifs. Les techniques décrites dans le présent document visent à répondre aux exigences du règlement pris en application de cette Loi. Elles peuvent aussi servir de guide pour d'autres exigences d'échantillonnage et d'analyse poursuivant des buts similaires.

1.1 Contexte de la Loi et du Règlement

L'exigence d'un plan de gestion des éléments nutritifs constitue un élément clé du Règlement. Pour élaborer un plan de gestion des éléments nutritifs valable, il faut parfois connaître les concentrations d'éléments nutritifs et de contaminants à la fois dans le sol et dans les matières qui sont épandues sur des biens-fonds.

Le Règlement précise les matières qui doivent faire l'objet d'un échantillonnage et d'une analyse, la fréquence à laquelle doit se faire l'échantillonnage, et les paramètres qui doivent être mesurés. Ce sont là des exigences minimales. Il est parfois utile d'augmenter la fréquence d'échantillonnage ou d'analyser un plus grand nombre de paramètres, afin d'optimiser la gestion des matières épandues sur des biens-fonds.

1.2 Santé et sécurité

Il peut y avoir des risques associés à l'action proprement dite d'échantillonner ou de manipuler des matières pouvant renfermer des matières toxiques ou E. coli. Il appartient à la personne chargée de l'échantillonnage de prendre toutes les précautions nécessaires et de se conformer à toute disposition réglementaire applicable en matière de santé et de sécurité.

1.3 Fréquences d'échantillonnage

1.3.1 Sols

L'échantillonnage des sols peut viser deux objectifs : évaluer les concentrations initiales d'éléments nutritifs dans le sol, ce qui aide à préciser le taux d'application des matières renfermant des éléments nutritifs à des fins agronomiques et environnementales, et déterminer si un site se prête à l'épandage d'une matière en particulier.

Sols recevant des éléments nutritifs

Les personnes qui épandent des éléments nutritifs sur des champs compris dans des unités agricoles pour lesquelles un plan de gestion des éléments nutritifs est exigé, doivent prélever un échantillon de sol représentatif de chaque champ lorsqu'ils établissent pour la première fois le plan de gestion des éléments nutritifs, puis au moins une fois tous les cinq ans pour les plans subséquents. Les résultats d'analyse de ces échantillons figurent dans le plan de gestion des éléments nutritifs.

Lorsque les concentrations d'éléments nutritifs varient considérablement dans l'intervalle de cinq ans, il peut être judicieux d'échantillonner un champ à une fréquence plus grande que celle qui est exigée. Cette situation peut survenir dans des sols sableux servant à la culture de végétaux qui puisent dans le sol de grandes quantités d'éléments nutritifs. Le maïs d'ensilage, les fourrages et les tomates de transformation sont des cultures qui prélèvent dans le sol de grandes quantités de potassium; ces cultures peuvent abaisser rapidement les concentrations d'éléments nutritifs au point de nuire aux rendements.

Il faut analyser les sols pour en déterminer le pH et, si le pH est inférieur à 6,0, le pH tampon. Il faut analyser les sols pour en connaître la concentration en phosphore assimilable (à l'aide d'un agent d'extraction au bicarbonate de soude) et en potassium assimilable (au moyen d'un agent d'extraction à l'acétate d'ammonium). Il faut aussi analyser les sols pour connaître les concentrations de magnésium assimilable, d'azote des nitrates ou les indices de la biodisponibilité du manganèse et du zinc.

Il est nécessaire de connaître la concentration de phosphore assimilable dans le sol avant d'y épandre des éléments nutritifs, afin que les taux d'application et les distances de retrait puissent être déterminés correctement. La teneur du sol en phosphore doit avoir été analysée par extraction au bicarbonate de soude au cours des cinq années qui précèdent immédiatement l'épandage d'éléments nutritifs sur des biens-fonds.

Sols recevant des matières de source non agricole

Les personnes qui épandent des matières de source non agricole doivent, en plus d'obtenir des analyses de la teneur du sol en éléments nutritifs, faire analyser des échantillons de sol représentatifs pour en déterminer la teneur totale en chacun des neuf métaux réglementés (tableaux 1-1 et 1-2). Ces échantillons doivent avoir été prélevés au cours des cinq années qui précèdent l'épandage de matières de source non agricole, dans le cadre de la préparation du plan de gestion des éléments nutritifs initial et des plans subséquents.

Dans le Règlement, les concentrations maximales autorisées de métaux dans les sols recevant des matières sèches biologiques provenant d'égouts sont fondées sur la concentration moyenne de métaux dans les sols non contaminés de l'Ontario. Dans bien des sols, les concentrations de métaux sont supérieures à la moyenne. Dans certains sols, la concentration d'un seul ou de plusieurs métaux peut déjà dépasser la concentration maximale autorisée par le Règlement. Il est par conséquent nécessaire de faire analyser le sol avant le premier épandage de matières sèches biologiques provenant d'égouts ou d'autres déchets, afin de déterminer si le sol se prête à un tel épandage. Des échantillons prélevés conformément à la section 2.1 du présent document sont analysés pour les onze métaux énumérés dans le Règlement. Les analyses du pH, de la teneur du sol en phosphore extractible au bicarbonate de soude et des concentrations des onze métaux réglementés ainsi que l'échantillonnage préalable doivent avoir été faits au cours des cinq années précédant l'épandage d'une matière de source non agricole sur des terres.

On trouve à la section 4 du présent document, des résumés des méthodes analytiques acceptables.

Tableau 1-1 Normes applicables aux métaux réglementés présents dans les matières sèches biologiques provenant d'égouts
Métaux réglementés Concentration maximale du métal dans une matière destinée à être épandue jusqu'à concurrence de 22 tonnes/ha sur 5 ans
(mg/kg de MST1, p.s.2)
Concentration maximale du métal dans une matière destinée à être épandue jusqu'à concurrence de 8 tonnes/ha sur 5 ans
(mg/kg de MST1, p.s.2)
Apport maximal autorisé du métal dans des sols recevant des matières de source non agricole
(kg/ha/5 ans)
Concentration maximale du métal dans les sols recevant des matières de source non agricole
(mg/kg de sol, p.s)
Arsenic 75 170 1,40 14
Cadmium 20 34 0,27 1,6
Cobalt 150 340 2,70 20
Chrome 1060 2800 23,30 120
Cuivre 760 1700 13,60 100
Mercure 5 11 0,09 0,5
Molybdène 20 94 0,80 4
Nickel 180 420 3,56 32
Plomb 500 1100 9,00 60
Sélénium 14 34 0,27 1,6
Zinc 1850 4200 33,00 220

1 MST signifie matières sèches totales.

2 p.s. signifie poids à sec.


Tableau 1-2 Normes applicables aux métaux réglementés présents dans les matières autres que des matières sèches biologiques provenant d'égouts épandues sur des biens-fonds
Métaux réglementés Concentration maximale du métal dans des matières renfermant moins de 10 000 mg de matières sèches totales par litre
(mg de matières/L)
Concentration maximale du métal dans des matières renfermant 10 000 mg de matières sèches totales ou plus par litre
(mg/kg de MST1, p.s.2)
Apport maximal autorisé du métal dans des sols recevant des matières de source non agricole
(kg/ha/5 ans)
Concentration maximale du métal dans les sols recevant des matières de source non agricole
(mg/kg de sol, p.s)
Arsenic 1,70 170 1,40 14
Cadmium 0,34 34 0,27 1,6
Cobalt 3,40 340 2,70 20
Chrome 28 2800 23,30 120
Cuivre 17 1700 13,60 100
Mercure 0,11 11 0,09 0,5
Molybdène 0,94 94 0,80 4
Nickel 4,20 420 3,56 32
Plomb 11 1100 9,00 60
Sélénium 0,34 34 0,27 1,6
Zinc 42 4200 33,00 220

1 MST signifie matières sèches totales.

2 p.s. signifie poids à sec.


1.3.2 Matières de source non agricole

Les matières de source non agricole doivent obligatoirement être échantillonnées et analysées à une fréquence correspondant à tout le moins à la fréquence indiquée dans les tableaux qui suivent. Les exigences d'échantillonnage indiquées dans le tableau 1-3 s'appliquent à toutes les matières de source non agricole. Les exigences d'échantillonnage relatives à E. coli ne s'appliquent qu'aux matières sèches biologiques provenant d'égouts.

Taille des exploitations productrices d'éléments nutritifs Fréquences d'échantillonnage
Producteurs de matières sèches biologiques provenant d'égouts d'une capacité nominale approuvée ne dépassant pas 45 400 m3/jour ou producteurs d'autres matières de source non agricole produisant au plus 2 500 tonnes/an, poids à sec. Deux échantillons dans les 30 jours qui précèdent l'épandage sur des biens-fonds, et deux échantillons supplémentaires dans les 90 jours qui précèdent l'épandage sur des biens-fonds, les échantillons devant être prélevés à au moins 2 jours d'intervalle.
Producteurs de matières sèches biologiques provenant d'égouts d'une capacité nominale approuvée supérieure à 45 400 m3/jour ou producteurs d'autres matières de source non agricole produisant plus de 2 500 tonnes/an, poids à sec. Deux échantillons par mois, les échantillons devant être prélevés à au moins 2 jours d'intervalle.
Table 1-3 Fréquences d'échantillonnage pour les métaux réglementés1, E. coli, azote Kjeldahl total, azote ammoniacal, azote des nitrates, matières sèches totales, matières sèches volatiles2 et phosphore total.

1 Voir le tableau 1-1 pour la liste des métaux réglementés.

2 Aux fins du Règlement, les matières sèches volatiles doivent être interprétées comme étant équivalentes à de la matière organique.


Quelle que soit la situation, des résultats doivent être disponibles pour au moins un échantillon prélevé par période de 30 jours avant (et y compris) le jour de l'épandage proprement dit sur des biens-fonds et deux échantillons supplémentaires doivent avoir été prélevés dans les 90 jours précédant l'épandage sur des biens-fonds.

Réduction de la fréquence d'échantillonnage

  1. Dans le cas de l'analyse des métaux, si la moyenne augmentée de deux fois l'écart-type (calculé à partir des 12 derniers échantillons ou à partir de l'équivalent des échantillons prélevés au cours de toute l'année précédente, selon le nombre d'échantillons le plus grand) est inférieure aux concentrations maximales autorisées pour tous les métaux, la fréquence d'échantillonnage qui précède peut être réduite de moitié.
  2. Dans le cas de E. coli, si la moyenne géométrique mobile de 4 échantillons sur les 12 derniers échantillons prélevés ou sur l'équivalent des échantillons prélevés au cours de l'année précédente, selon le nombre d'échantillons le plus grand, respecte toujours le critère correspondant à moins de 2 x 106 unités formatrices de colonies par gramme, la fréquence d'échantillonnage qui précède peut être réduite de moitié.
  3. Dans le cas de l'analyse des éléments nutritifs, si le coefficient de variation calculé à partir des 12 derniers échantillons ou à partir de l'équivalent des échantillons prélevés au cours de l'année précédente, selon le nombre d'échantillons le plus grand, est inférieur à 20 %, la fréquence d'échantillonnage qui précède peut être réduite de moitié.

Dès que l'une ou l'autre des conditions mentionnées ci-dessus n'est plus respectée, la fréquence d'échantillonnage doit revenir à la fréquence initiale.

Dans les cas où les matières sont transférées d'une cellule d'entreposage située sur un site de production à une installation d'entreposage temporaire, aux fins de l'échantillonnage, l'installation d'entreposage temporaire peut être considérée comme faisant partie de l'usine seulement si la matière se trouve dans la cellule d'entreposage temporaire pendant moins de quatre semaines avant d'être épandue sur des terres. Si cette exigence est respectée, il est permis d'utiliser les résultats d'analyse les plus récents des échantillons provenant de l'installation productrice. Si la matière se trouve dans une cellule d'entreposage temporaire pendant une période plus longue, si la matière est mélangée avec des matières d'autres sources, ou si la matière est gérée de manière à ce que des changements dans les concentrations d'éléments nutritifs ou de contaminants sont prévisibles, il faut prélever des échantillons de la matière qui se trouve dans la cellule d'entreposage temporaire afin de les faire analyser, conformément au tableau 1-3.

1.4 Moyenne des résultats

Lorsqu'il faut faire analyser une matière pour connaître les concentrations de métaux réglementés ou la densité de E. coli, la concentration de métaux ou la densité de E. coli dans la matière est considérée comme étant la moyenne des concentrations ou des densités des quatre derniers échantillons. Cette façon de procéder permet de tenir compte de toute variation qui peut se produire dans l'échantillonnage ou l'analyse des matières, tout en veillant au maintien de la protection de l'environnement. Les concentrations de métaux correspondent à une moyenne arithmétique simple, c.-à-d. que les concentrations de chacun des métaux dans les quatre derniers échantillons sont additionnées, et la somme est ensuite divisée par quatre. Les densités de E. coli correspondent à une moyenne géométrique, c.-à-d. qu'on multiplie entre elles les densités de E. coli dans les quatre derniers échantillons et qu'on calcule la quatrième racine du produit obtenu.

Lorsque la concentration moyenne ou la densité moyenne pour un paramètre quel qu'il soit dépasse la limite autorisée et que le producteur a quand même l'intention d'épandre la matière sur des terres, il a la possibilité d'échantillonner à nouveau la matière. Il lui suffit de continuer à prélever des échantillons représentatifs à intervalles d'au moins deux jours entre chaque échantillonnage. Les résultats d'analyse sont alors utilisés pour calculer la valeur moyenne. L'échantillonnage peut se poursuivre ainsi jusqu'à ce que la valeur moyenne des quatre échantillons les plus récents se situe en deçà des limites autorisées pour tous les paramètres. Cette méthode peut être utile lorsque la moyenne est faussée par une valeur représentant un écart important et pouvant être attribuable à un résultat d'analyse erroné.

1.5 Sites d'échantillonnage

Les échantillons destinés à l'analyse des éléments nutritifs doivent être prélevés à l'endroit ou aux endroits d'où la matière est transportée vers les sites d'épandage sur des biens-fonds. Cette mesure vise à fournir à l'agriculteur l'estimation la plus juste possible des concentrations de N total, de N assimilable et de P total.

Les échantillons qui sont prélevés pour servir à l'analyse des teneurs en matières sèches totales, en matières sèches volatiles et en métaux réglementés doivent être prélevés à la fois sur les lieux d'entreposage d'où la matière est transportée vers les sites d'épandage sur des biens-fonds, et sur les lieux d'où la matière est transportée vers un lieu d'entreposage centralisé (c.-à-d. les installations où la matière est produite) si des matières de différentes sources sont mélangées.

Les échantillons de matière qui doivent être analysés pour déterminer la densité de E. coli doivent être prélevés à un endroit situé immédiatement après le procédé de traitement.

Dans les cas où les matières sont transférées d'une cellule d'entreposage située sur un site de production à une installation d'entreposage temporaire, aux fins de l'échantillonnage, l'installation d'entreposage temporaire peut être considérée comme faisant partie de l'usine seulement si la matière se trouve dans la cellule d'entreposage temporaire pendant moins de quatre semaines avant d'être épandue sur des terres. Si cette exigence est respectée, il est permis d'utiliser les résultats d'analyse les plus récents des échantillons provenant de l'installation productrice. Si la matière se trouve dans une cellule d'entreposage temporaire pendant une période plus longue, si la matière est mélangée avec des matières d'autres sources, ou si la matière est gérée de manière à ce que des changements dans les concentrations d'éléments nutritifs ou de contaminants sont prévisibles, il faut prélever des échantillons de la matière qui se trouve dans la cellule d'entreposage temporaire, afin de les faire analyser.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 12 août 2005
Dernière révision : 12 août 2005