December 2003 Nutrient Management Protocol for Ontario Regulation 267/03 Made under the Nutrient Management Act, 2002

Part 10 - Outdoor Confinement Areas

Table of Contents

  1. Storage
  2. Snow that Contains Manure

Outdoor Confinement Areas (OCA) include the following animals:

  • livestock;
  • deer;
  • elk; or
  • game animals

 10.1 Classification of Outdoor Confinement Areas

Outdoor feeding operations covered by the Regulation are classified as either high density permanent outdoor confinement areas or low density permanent outdoor confinement areas. The classification is based on the number of animals and the amount of time they spend in the confinement area as defined in the Regulation. Permanent outdoor confinement area (POCA) means an outdoor confinement area that is either a high-density or a low-density permanent outdoor confinement area. The breakdown between high and low density is as follows:

High density

  1. outdoor confinement: areas to which animals have access for 4800 hours (or 200 complete days) of the year or more and which is sufficient to generate more than 120 Nutrient Units per hectare annually (NU/ha); or
  2. outdoor confinement areas to which the animals have access for less than 4800 hours of the year and the area is part of a farm unit that contains the number of farm animals that is sufficient to generate,
    1. 300 or more nutrient units annually, and
    2. the number of nutrient units generated by the animals confined in the area in the year, multiplied by the proportion of the year during which the animals are confined in the area and this is more than 5 NU/ha.

Low density

  1. outdoor confinement areas to which animals have access for 4800 hours (or 200 complete days) of the year or more and where the number of animals confined in the area, at any time, is not sufficient to generate nutrients at a rate of more than 120 Nutrient Units per hectare (NU/ha) annually.

Access to the confinement area is assumed in any case where the animals are not excluded by the use of closed gates or similar barricades. If a farmer wishes animals to only have access to the confinement area for portions of days, the exclusion mechanism (e.g. gate or door) must be in place for the balance of the hours in question to achieve a condition of 'no access' for the purpose of these definitions.

10.1.1 Calculation of Permanent Nutrient Units per Hectare: Animals sufficient to generate nutrient units annually

Where animals are confined for a period of less than 4800 hours (200 complete days) or more, it is necessary to determine the nutrient production of the animals per hectare, annually. This calculation is use to determine whether the operation fits under the definition of low-density or high-density permanent outdoor confinement area.

The total nutrient units per hectare are calculated using the appropriate NU values for the animals from the tables in Part 3 of this protocol. This value provides a "snap shot" of what a given number of animals will be able to produce annually.

Example of Low Density

100 beef cows are kept on 1 hectare for 250 full days or 6000 hours. From the NU table it is determined that 1 beef cow equals 1 NU so there are 100 NU per ha. 100 NU/ha is less than 120 NU per ha so this is a low-density permanent outdoor confinement area.

Example of High Density

450 beef feeders are kept on 1 ha for 250 days. From the NU table it is determined that 3 beef feeders equal 1 NU so there are 150 NU per ha. 150 NU per ha is more than 120 NU per ha so this is a high-density permanent outdoor confinement area.

10.1.2 Operations 300 Nutrient Units or Greater: Nutrient Units calculated based on the proportion of the year during which animals are confined

Where animals are confined for a period of less than 4800 hours and there are sufficient animals to generate 300 nutrient units or greater annually, it is necessary to determine the nutrient production of the animals based on the proportion of the year during which animals are confined. This calculation is use to determine whether the operation fits under the definition of high density permanent outdoor confinement area.

The method for determining this number in accordance with the definition found in Part 1 of the Regulation is as follows:

The total nutrient units per hectare are calculated using the appropriate NU values for the animals from Table 3.2.1 in Part 3 of this protocol. This value is then adjusted to adequately reflect how long the livestock was actually on those hectares.

Example of High Density POCA, despite seasonal use

Three hundred beef cows are wintered on a field of 10 hectares for 180 full days or 4320 hours. From the NU table it is determined that one beef cow equals 1 NU.

300 beef cows/1 beef cow per NU = 300 NU

so: 300 NU is on 10 hectares which = 30 NU/ha

180 days is approximately 49% of a year, therefore, the NU loading for this field over the course of this year (provided that there is no other period of the year that livestock is present) is: 30 NU/ha x .49 = 14.8 NU/ha/yr

14.8 NU/ha/yr is more than 5 NU/ha/yr so this operation must be treated as a high-density permanent outdoor confinement area according to the definition provided in Part 1 of the regulation.

Example of a confinement area not regulated as a POCA

Three hundred beef cows are wintered on a field of 30 hectares for 120 full days or 2880 hours. From the NU table it is determined that 1 beef cow equals 1 NU.

300 beef cows = 300 NU

so: 300 NU is on 30 ha which = 10 NU/ha

120 days is approximately 1/3 or (33%) of a year, therefore, the NU loading for this field over the course of this year (provided that there is no other period of the year that livestock is present) is: 10 NU/ha x .33 = 3.3 NU/ha/yr

3.3 NU/ha/yr is less than 5 NU/ha/yr so this is a low-density seasonal not a permanent feeding operation and therefore is not currently covered by Part 7 of the regulation. It will however be subject to the requirements as an existing large operation and the rest of the regulation will apply to this farm by the applicable date.

10.2 Storage

The floor of an outdoor confinement area is considered to be a manure storage. This is reflected in the siting requirements for the different outdoor confinement area classes, such as the requirements for specified soil type and depth as specified in Part 7 of the Regulation. Further, no additional storage should be needed provided that manure is land applied directly from the outdoor confinement area according to a nutrient management plan.

If manure is removed from that floor before being land applied (according to a nutrient management plan) then the storage facility or site where it is kept must also meet the requirements for construction and siting of storage facilities and sites as specified in Part 8 of the Regulation.

Setbacks for Structures

For permanent outdoor confinement areas, the provisions for setbacks for structures are set out in Part 7 of the Regulation.

10.3 Snow That Contains Manure

Part 7 of the Regulation allows a person to store or use snow which has been removed from an outdoor confinement area and that contains manure subject to certain conditions.

Context – Snow that contains manure, removed from an outdoor confinement area, is known in the industry as "feedlot snow", "winter yard scrapings" or "brown sugar". This material is of extreme bulk relative to nutrient content, and is known to cause handling and storage difficulties on many operations where outdoor livestock housing is used.

10.3.1 Parameters for Snow Containing Manure from POCAs

For the purposes of Part 7 of the Regulation the snow containing manure is characterized by;

  1. having originated from an outdoor confinement area;
  2. the presence of ice or snow crystals;
  3. the presence no other foreign materials except livestock urine, feces, feed or bedding;
  4. a dry matter content of no greater than 16%
  5. a nutrient content of no greater than 0.82% total nitrogen on a dry weight basis and no greater than 0.26% total phosphorus on a dry weight basis; and
  6. the material appears solid despite its low dry matter content such that this material cannot be pumped at time of handling or application, rather it can be piled or handled as a solid.

The preferred method for determining the nutrient content described above is through using pooled samples (10 litres each) which are subjected to analysis in triplicate. Sampling and laboratory methods for determining dry matter, total nitrogen and total phosphorus are outlined in the Sampling and Analysis Protocol.

10.3.2 Bedding and Feed in Snow

Snow that contains manure is permitted to contain some bedding and feed. This is in recognition of the fact that sometimes feed and bedding will become mixed in with the snow after a storm event and may be removed when the snow is removed. Not all scrapings from an outdoor confinement area will be able to meet the parameters described above. Any winter application of manure that does not meet the above guidelines must be in compliance with the regulations for winter spreading contained in Part 6 of the Regulation.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 10 December 2003
Last Reviewed: 10 December 2003

Decembre 2003 Protocole de gestion des éléments nutritifs dans le cadre du Règlement de l'Ontario 267/03, pris en application de la Loi de 2002 sur la gestion des éléments nutritifs

Partie 10 – Exploitations d'engraissement en plein air

Table des matières

  1. Entreposage
  2. Neige contenant du fumier

Les animaux gardés dans des zones de confinement extérieures sont les suivants :

  • bétail;
  • chevreuil;
  • wapiti; ou
  • gibier

10.1 Classification des exploitations d'engraissement en plein air

En vertu du Règlement, ces exploitations sont divisées en deux catégories : permanente extérieure à forte densité ou permanente extérieure à faible densité. La classification est basée sur le nombre d'animaux et le temps qu'ils passent dans la zone de confinement, tel qu'il est décrit dans le Règlement. Par zone de confinement extérieure permanente (ZCEP), on désigne une zone de confinement extérieure permanente à forte densité ou à faible densité. Voici la distinction entre zone à forte densité et zone à faible densité :

Forte densité

  1. zone de confinement extérieure à laquelle les animaux ont accès 4800 heures (200 jours complets) ou plus par an et qui peut générer plus de 120 unités nutritives par hectare par année (UN/ha/an); ou
  2. zone de confinement extérieure à laquelle les animaux ont accès moins de 4800 heures par année et qui fait partie d'une unité agricole qui contient le nombre suffisant d'animaux pour produire
    1. au moins 300 unités nutritives par année, et
    2. le nombre d'unités nutritives produites par les animaux confinés dans la zone pendant cinq ans, multiplié par la fraction d'année pendant laquelle les animaux sont confinés dans la zone et est supérieur à 5 NU/ha.

Faible densité

  1. zone de confinement extérieure à laquelle les animaux ont accès 4800 heures (200 jours complets) ou plus par an et dans laquelle le nombre d'animaux confinés n'est pas suffisant pour générer à aucun temps une dose nutritive supérieure à 120 unités nutritives par hectare (UN/ha) par année.

On assume que les animaux ont accès à la zone de confinement lorsqu'ils ne sont pas exclus par des barrières ou autres barricades similaires. Si l'agriculteur désire que les animaux soient confinés pour une partie de la journée, le mécanisme d'exclusion (p. ex. barrières, portes) devra être actionné pour le reste de la journée, afin de satisfaire les conditions de la définition de « non accès ».

10.1.1 Calcul pour une zone permanente : unités nutritives par hectare : nombre suffisant d'animaux pour généraux une certaine quantité d'unités nutritives par année

Dans le cas où les animaux sont confinés pendant une période inférieure à 4 800 heures (200 journées complètes) ou plus, il est nécessaire de déterminer la production d'éléments nutritifs par les animaux par hectare, sur une base annuelle. Ce calcul sert à déterminer si l'exploitation est visée par la définition de zone de confinement extérieure permanente à faible densité ou celle à forte densité.

La quantité totale d'unités nutritives par hectare est calculée d'après les UN appropriées à l'espèce animale figurant aux tableau du chapitre 3 du présent protocole. Cette valeur constitue en quelque sorte un « instantané » de la production annuelle d'éléments nutritifs par un nombre donné d'animaux.

Exemple d'une exploitation à faible densité

Cent (100) vaches de race à viande sont gardées sur 1 hectare pendant 250 jours entiers ou 6 000 heures. D'après le tableau des UN, une vache égale 1 UN, ce qui fait 100 UN par hectare. 100 UN/ha est une valeur inférieure à 120 UN par ha, il s'agit donc d'une exploitation d'engraissement de plein air permanente à faible densité.

Exemple d'une exploitation à forte densité

Quatre cent cinquante (450) bovins à l'engrais sont gardés sur 1 hectare pendant 250 jours. D'après le tableau des UN, 3 bovins à l'engrais égalent 1 UN, ce qui fait 150 UN par hectare. 150 UN par ha est une valeur supérieure à 120 UN par ha, il s'agit donc d'une exploitation d'engraissement de plein air permanente à forte densité.

10.1.2 Exploitations produisant 300 unités nutritives ou plus par année : calcul des UN basé sur la proportion de l'année pendant laquelle les animaux sont confinés

Dans les cas où les animaux sont confinés durant une période inférieure à 4 800 heures et qu'ils sont assez nombreux pour générer 300 unités nutritives ou plus annuellement, il est nécessaire de calculer la production des animaux sur la base de la proportion annuelle de temps passé en confinement. Ce calcul sert à déterminer si l'exploitation est visée par la définition de zone de confinement extérieure permanente à faible densité ou celle à forte densité.

La méthode pour déterminer cette quantité conformément à la partie 1 du Règlement est la suivante :

La quantité totale d'unités nutritives par hectare est calculée d'après les UN appropriées à l'espèce animale figurant au tableau 3.2.1 du chapitre 3 du présent protocole. Cette valeur est par la suite ajustée de manière à tenir compte de la durée réelle de confinement du bétail sur les hectares en question.

Exemple d'une ZCEP à forte densité, malgré l'utilisation saisonnière

Trois cent (300) vaches de race à viande sont en hivernage dans un champ de 10 hectares pendant une période de 180 jours entiers ou 4 320 heures. D'après le tableau des UN, une vache de race à viande égale 1 UN.

300 vaches de race à viande/1 vache de race à viande par UN = 300 UN donc, 300 UN réparties sur 10 hectares équivaut à 30 UN/ha

180 jours représentent environ 49 % d'une année, de sorte que la charge en UN pour ce champ durant toute une année (pourvu que le bétail n'y soit présent à aucun autre moment de l'année) se calcule comme suit : 30 UN/ha x 0,49 = 14,8 UN/ha/an

Étant donné que ce résultat (14,8 UN/ha/an) est supérieur à 5 UN/ha/an, il s'agit d'une exploitation permanente de plein air à forte densité conformément à la définition du chapitre 1 du Règlement.

Exemple d'une zone de confinement non réglementée à titre de ZCEP

Trois cent (300) vaches de race à viande sont en hivernage dans un champ de 30 hectares pendant 120 jours entiers ou 2 880 heures. D'après le tableau des UN, une vache de race à viande égale 1 UN.

300 vaches de race à viande = 300 UN donc, 300 UN réparties sur 30 ha équivaut à 10 UN/ha

Cent vingt (120) jours représentent environ 1/3 ou (33%) d'une année, de sorte que la charge pour ce champ durant toute une année (pourvu que le bétail n'y soit présent à aucun autre moment de l'année) se calcule somme suit : 10 UN/ha x 0,33 = 3,3 UN/ha/an

Étant donné que ce résultat (3,3 UN/ha/an) est inférieur à 5 UN/ha/an, il s'agit donc d'une exploitation d'engraissement saisonnière à faible densité, il ne s'agit pas d'une exploitation d'engraissement permanente et n'est donc pas assujettie à la partie 7 du Règlement. Elle sera toutefois assujettie aux exigences visant une grande exploitation existante et le reste du Règlement s'appliquera à cette exploitation à partir de la date applicable.

10.2 Entreposage

Le plancher de la zone de confinement extérieure est considéré comme une structure d'entreposage du fumier. Ainsi, les différentes catégories de zones de confinement pour le bétail élevé en plein air doivent être conformes aux différentes exigences concernant le choix de l'emplacement, notamment des exigences quant à la nature et à la profondeur du sol, comme il est spécifié à la partie 7 du Règlement. Par ailleurs, aucune autre installation d'entreposage ne devrait être nécessaire si le fumier est ramassé directement dans l'enceinte fermée et épandu conformément à un PGEN.

Si le fumier n'est pas épandu directement (conformément à un PGEN) après avoir été ramassé, alors la construction et le choix du site ou des structures d'entreposage doivent être conformes aux exigences spécifiées à la partie 8 du Règlement.

Distance de sécurité pour les structures

Pour les zones de confinement extérieures permanentes, les exigences touchant la distance de sécurité pour les structures sont définies à la partie 7 du Règlement.

10.3 Neige contenant du fumier

En vertu de la partie 7 du Règlement, il est permis, à certaines conditions, d'entreposer ou d'utiliser de la neige prélevée d'une zone de confinement extérieure.

Contexte – La neige contenant du fumier qu'on enlève des zones de confinement extérieures est connue dans l'industrie sous les appellations telles que "neige de parc d'engraissement", "déchets des cours d'hiver" ou "sucre brun". En relation avec sa teneur en éléments nutritifs, ce matériel est d'une densité extrême et cause des problèmes de manutention et d'entreposage sur plusieurs exploitations d'engraissement en plein air.

10.3.1 Paramètres de la neige contenant du fumier d'une ZCE

Selon la partie 7 du Règlement, la neige contenant de la neige se caractérise comme suit :

  1. elle provient d'une zone de confinement extérieure;
  2. elle contient de la glace ou des cristaux de neige;
  3. elle ne contient aucune autre matière étrangère, sauf l'urine, les déjections, les aliments ou la litière du bétail;
  4. elle a une teneur en matière sèche égale ou inférieure à 16 %
  5. elle a une teneur en azote total égale ou inférieure à 0,82 % sur une base de MS et en phosphore total égale ou inférieure à 0,26 % sur une base MS ; et
  6. le matériel a une apparence solide malgré sa faible teneur en matière sèche, à tel point, qu'au moment de le manipuler ou de l'épandre, il ne peut être pompé, Il doit être empilé ou manipulé comme une matière solide.

La méthode préférée pour déterminer la teneur nutritive du fumier-neige est de prélever des échantillons de toute la zone (10 litres chacun) et de procéder à une triple analyse. Les méthodes d'échantillonnage et d'analyse en laboratoire pour déterminer la teneur en matières sèches, l'azote total et le phosphore total sont décrites dans le Protocole d'échantillonnage et d'analyse.

10.3.2 Litière et aliments contenus dans la neige

La neige peut également contenir une certaine quantité de litière et d'aliments. Ce fait peut se produire à l'occasion, lorsque les aliments ou la litière sont mélangés à la neige après un orage. Ces matières font partie de la neige et peuvent être enlevées en même temps que celle-ci. Les détritus des zones de confinement extérieures ne peuvent pas tous correspondre aux paramètres énoncés précédemment. Tout épandage d'hiver de fumier non conforme aux paramètres ci-haut mentionnés doit être fait conformément aux règlements des épandages d'hiver de la partie 6 du Règlement.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 10 decembre 2003
Dernière révision : 10 decembre 2003