2005 Nutrient Management Protocol for Ontario Regulation 267/03 Made under the Nutrient Management Act, 2002

Part 4 - Introduction to Nutrient Management Strategies and Plans

Table of Contents

  1. Purpose
  2. The Difference Between a Nutrient Management Strategy and a Nutrient Management Plan

4.1 Purpose

4.1.1 Nutrient Management Strategy

A nutrient management strategy sets out an environmentally acceptable method for managing all prescribed materials generated at an agricultural or non-agricultural operation. All generators of prescribed materials must complete a nutrient management strategy if they are phased in by the Regulation, Part 2.

4.1.2 Nutrient Management Plan

A nutrient management plan (NMP) details how nutrients are to be applied to a given land base. A nutrient management plan is based on both the components of the nutrients used and the characteristics of the field. This plan optimizes the utilization of the nutrients by crops in the field and minimizes environmental impacts. A person who owns or controls an agricultural operation, which is phased in by the Regulation, Part 2, and generates 300 NU or is located within 100 meters of a municipal well must complete a nutrient management plan if they land apply nutrients on their farm unit. For those farms that receive non-agricultural source materials then an approved plan will also be required.

A person may use any method for preparing nutrient management strategies and plans that addresses the components required by this protocol. One option is to make use of the OMAFRA computer program. OMAFRA has developed "NMAN", a nutrient management computer program with an associated workbook for the purpose of completing a nutrient management strategy or nutrient management plan for agricultural operations. A nutrient management strategy or plan for an agricultural operation can both be completed using the NMAN Software program or the associated workbook developed by OMAFRA. Nutrient management strategies for the non-agricultural generators must be prepared in accordance with Part 6 of this protocol.

NMAN is designed to either produce or accommodate all of the components of the nutrient management strategy and plan. NMAN can be found on the OMAFRA website and is available from OMAFRA for use with this Protocol and the Regulation.

4.2 The Difference Between a Nutrient Management Strategy and a Nutrient Management Plan

4.2.1 Identification of the Components

A nutrient management strategy for agricultural generators includes the following components that are also the required components of a nutrient management plan

  1. Description of the operation
  2. Contingency plan
  3. Nutrient analysis or nutrient values provided in Appendix 1.
  4. List of storage facilities
  5. Farm Unit Declaration Form
  6. Farm Unit sketch

A complete list of components required for nutrient management strategies and nutrient management plans for agricultural operations is found in table 4.2.1 below. Information on the requirements for a non-agricultural operation nutrient management strategy can be found in part 6 of the protocol.

Within this protocol, each component required to be in a nutrient management strategy and nutrient management plan in relation to prescribed material is discussed in relation to either a plan or strategy. Some components are required by both the nutrient management strategy and nutrient management plan.

Table 4.2.1. Identifying Components Required in Nutrient Management Strategies and Nutrient Management Plans for Agricultural Operations
  Component Considerations in a Strategy
Y = Yes
N = No
Considerations in a Plan
Y = Yes
N = No
Operation Information Description of the Operation Y Y
Agreements Y Y
For Farm Units Farm Unit Declaration Form Y Y
Farm Unit Sketch Y Y
Inventory and Description of Prescribed Materials List of Prescribed Materials (generated and received) Y Y
Analysis of Nutrient Content or use of Appendix 1 information Y Y
Destination and Storage Destinations Y N
Storage Facilities Y Y
Contingency Plan Contingency Plan Y Y
Sign-off form Sign-off form Y Y
Field Information Field Properties N Y
Field Sketches N Y
Soil Samples and Analysis N Y
Crop Information Crop Rotation and Yields N Y
Tillage Practices N Y
Nutrient Application Information Commercial Fertilizer Application N Y
Application of Prescribed Materials N Y
Agronomic and Crop Removal Balance for Nitrogen N Y
Agronomic and Crop Removal Balance for Phosphorous N Y
Common Land Application Setbacks/Limits N Y
Demonstration of Adequate Land base N Y


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 12 August 2005
Last Reviewed: 12 August 2005

2005 Protocole de gestion des éléments nutritifs dans le cadre du Règlement de l'Ontario 267/03, pris en application de la Loi de 2002 sur la gestion des éléments nutritifs

Partie 4 – Introduction aux stratégies et aux plans de gestion des éléments nutritifs

Table des matières

  1. Objectif
  2. Différence entre la stratégie et le plan de gestion des éléments nutritifs

4.1 Objectif

4.1.1 Stratégie de gestion des éléments nutritifs

La stratégie de gestion des éléments nutritifs (SGEN) permet d'établir une méthode acceptable d'un point de vue environnemental pour la gestion de toutes les matières prescrites produites dans des exploitations agricoles ou non agricoles. Tous les producteurs de matières prescrites doivent préparer une stratégie de gestion des éléments nutritifs s'ils sont assujettis à l'entrée en vigueur progressive du Règlement, partie 2.

4.1.2 Plan de gestion des éléments nutritifs

Le plan de gestion des éléments nutritifs (PGEN) décrit en détail comment les éléments nutritifs seront épandus sur une terre donnée. Le plan est réalisé en fonction de la composition des éléments nutritifs utilisés et des caractéristiques des champs. Le plan permet d'optimiser l'absorption des éléments nutritifs par les cultures et de minimiser les impacts environnementaux. Toute personne qui possède ou gère une exploitation agricole assujettie à l'entrée en vigueur progressive du Règlement (partie 2) et qui génère ≥ 300 UN ou qui est situé à moins de 100 mètres d'un puits municipal, doit préparer un plan de gestion si des éléments nutritifs sont épandus au sein de l'unité agricole en question. Dans le cas des exploitations agricoles qui reçoivent des matériaux de source non agricole, un plan approuvé sera également exigé.

Une personne peut avoir recours à diverses méthodes pour préparer les plans et stratégies de gestion des éléments nutritifs en rapport avec les composantes dont il est question dans le présent protocole. Une option consiste à avoir recours au programme du MAAARO. Le MAAARO a mis au point le logiciel de gestion des éléments MNAN et un manuel permettant de préparer la stratégie ou le plan de gestion des éléments nutritifs pour une exploitation agricole. La stratégie et le plan pour une exploitation agricole peuvent être tous deux préparés à l'aide de ce logiciel ou du manuel conçu par le MAAARO. Les stratégies doivent cependant être rédigées conformément aux directives fournies au chapitre 6 du présent protocole.

Le logiciel ou manuel NMAN est conçu pour faciliter la préparation de toutes les composantes de la stratégie ou du plan de gestion. On peut consulter le logiciel NMAN sur le site Web du MAAARO et on peut se le procurer auprès du MAAARO pour l'utiliser avec le présent protocole et le Règlement.

4.2 Différence entre la stratégie et le plan de gestion des éléments nutritifs

4.2.1 Le contenu de la stratégie

La stratégie de gestion des éléments nutritifs pour les entreprises produisant des matières prescrites d'origine agricole comprend les documents suivants qui font aussi partie intégrante du plan de gestion.

  1. Description de l'exploitation
  2. Plan d'urgence
  3. Analyse des éléments nutritifs ou valeurs nutritives de l'Annexe 1
  4. Liste des installations d'entreposage
  5. Déclaration d'unité agricole
  6. Plan de l'unité agricole

Le tableau 4.2.1. ci-dessous énumère toutes les composantes des stratégies et des plans de gestion des éléments nutritifs des exploitations agricoles. Les renseignements concernant les composantes requises dans le cas des exploitations non agricoles se trouvent au chapitre 6 du présent protocole.

Dans le cadre de ce protocole, chacune des composantes obligatoires de la stratégie et du plan est abordée selon qu'il s'agit d'une stratégie ou d'un plan. Certaines composantes doivent faire partie et de la stratégie et du plan de gestion des éléments nutritifs.

Tableau 4.2.1 Contenu des stratégies et des plans de gestion des éléments nutritifs pour les exploitations agricoles

 

Contenu

Requis dans la stratégie
O = Oui
N = Non

Requis dans le plan
O = Oui
N = Non

Information sur l'exploitation

Description de l'exploitation

O

O

Conventions

O

O

Pour les unités agricoles

Formulaire « Déclaration d'unité agricole »

O

O

Plan de l'unité agricole

O

O

Distance minimale de séparation II

O

O

Inventaire et description des matières prescrites

Liste des matières prescrites (produites et reçues)

O

O

Analyse des éléments nutritifs ou utilisation de l'information à l'Annexe 1

O

N

Destination et entreposage

Destinations

O

O

Installations d'entreposage

O

O

Plan d'urgence

Plan d'urgence

O

O

Formulaire d'acceptation

Formulaire d'acceptation

N

O

Information sur les champs

Caractéristiques des champs

N

O

Croquis des champs

N

O

Échantillons et analyse de sol

N

O

Information sur les cultures

Rotation et rendement des cultures

N

O

Méthodes de travail du sol

N

O

Information sur l'épandage

Épandage d'engrais commerciaux

N

O

Épandage de matières prescrites

N

O

Bilan agronomique et prélèvement d'azote par les cultures

N

O

Bilan agronomique et prélèvement de phosphore par les cultures

N

O

Zones de sécurité/limites d'épandage

N

O

Preuve de superficie suffisante

N

O



Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 12 août 2005
Dernière révision : 12 août 2005