2009 Nutrient Management Protocol for Ontario Regulation 267/03 Made under the Nutrient Management Act, 2002

Part 3 - Nutrient Units: Phased In Farm Units Based on Nutrient Units

Farm Units become subject to the Regulation in several ways by building a regulated mixed anaerobic digestion facility, building or expanding milking centre washwater components, land applying NASM or through reaching a threshold number of nutrient units. Using the nutrient units ("NU") concept helps ensure an 'apples to apples' comparison between sizes and types of farm units. Land application requirements for a farm unit, are based on the specific farm unit's NMP, not NUs. NUs are not the same as livestock units, which are used in regimes other than the Nutrient Management Act, 2002, S.O. 2002, and which have been used for the purpose of calculating Minimum Distance Separation setbacks in the previous version of that document.

3.1 Using Nutrient Units to Determine the Obligations of Agricultural Operations Carried Out at a Farm Unit

For agricultural operations with farm animals it is necessary to determine the number of NUs managed on a farm unit. The number of NUs generated on a farm unit by a particular type of farm animal is calculated by dividing the number of farm animals by the number given in the Nutrient Units Column shown on Table 1 Nutrient Unit Livestock Information Table which can be found in the Nutrient Management Tables document.

"Nutrient Management Tables" means the document of that name, as amended from time to time, prepared by the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs and the Ministry of the Environment for the purposes of the NASM Odour Guide and the Nutrient Management Protocol

If the farm unit has more than one type of farm animal present on it then this calculation would have to be completed for each type of animal separately, then all the results totaled to give the total NU generated by farm animals on the farm.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 14 September 2009
Last Reviewed: 14 September 2009

2009 Protocole de gestion des éléments nutritifs dans le cadre du Règlement de l'Ontario 267/03, pris en application de la Loi de 2002 sur la gestion des éléments nutritifs

Partie 3 - Unités nutritives : marche à suivre pour déterminer si les unités agricoles sont assujetties à la réglementation

Les unités agricoles sont assujetties au Règlement de diverses façons  en construisant un digesteur anaérobie mixte réglementé, en construisant ou en élargissant des installations reliées aux eaux de lavage de laiterie, en épandant des MSNA sur les terres ou en atteignant un chiffre minimal d'unités nutritives. Le concept des unités nutritives (UN) permet de comparer « des pommes avec des pommes », c'est-à-dire de comparer des unités agricoles de même taille et de même type. Les superficies d'épandage requises pour une unité agricole sont établies à partir du PGEN de cette dernière et non en fonction des UN. Les UN diffèrent des unités animales, lesquelles sont utilisées dans d'autres contextes que la Loi de 2002 sur la gestion des éléments nutritifs, ainsi que pour calculer les distances minimales de retrait dans la version précédente du présent document.

3.1 Utilisation des unités nutritives pour déterminer les obligations d'une exploitation agricole au sein d'une unité agricole

Les exploitations agricoles comprenant des animaux d'élevage doivent déterminer le nombre d'UN gérées à l'intérieur d'une unité agricole. Le nombre d'UN générées dans une unité agricole par type d'élevage se calcule en divisant le nombre d'animaux par le nombre indiqué à la colonne des unités nutritives qui figure au tableau 1 « Renseignements sur les animaux et les unités nutritives » du document « Tableaux de gestion des éléments nutritifs ».

Le document « Tableaux de gestion des éléments nutritifs » est le document du même nom, dans ses versions successives, élaboré par le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales et le ministère de l'Environnement aux fins du Guide des odeurs MSNA et du Protocole de gestion des éléments nutritifs.

Si plus d'un type d'élevage se trouve sur l'unité agricole, il faudra effectuer ce calcul pour chaque type d'élevage puis additionner les résultats pour obtenir ainsi le nombre total d'unités nutritives produites par l'ensemble des animaux d'élevage de la ferme.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 14 septembre 2009
Dernière révision : 14 septembre 2009