June 2003 Nutrient Management Protocol for Ontario Regulation 267/03 Made under the Nutrient Management Act, 2002

Part 1 - Introduction

Table of Contents

  1. Regulated Operations

This document is the Nutrient Management Protocol ("Protocol") which is referred to in the Regulation made under the Nutrient Management Act 2002, S.O. 2002. It provides technical and scientific details and standards that are complementary to and in addition to those set out in the Regulation. Using this Protocol will be useful in developing and implementing nutrient management strategies and nutrient management plans that comply with regulatory requirements.

1.1 Terminology and Context

"Prescribed materials" are materials from agricultural and non-agricultural sources that are intended to be applied to land as nutrients other than a commercial fertilizer or compost that meets the Ministry of the Environment Interim Guidelines for the Production and Use of Anaerobic Compost in Ontario, 1991: Regulation, Part 1.

"Nutrients" are applied to land to improve the growing of crops and can be prescribed materials, commercial fertilizers and compost. NMA Act, section 2.

A "nutrient management strategy" (NMS) describes the generation, storage and destination of prescribed materials. Generators (those who generate a prescribed material), who are captured by the phase-in requirements of the regulation, must complete a nutrient management strategy for the farm unit or non-agricultural operation for the prescribed materials generated or received in the course of the operation: Regulation, Part 2.

A "nutrient management plan" (NMP) describes for the nutrients received, or applied on the land, the management of the nutrients. If you own or control land to which nutrients are applied, and you are captured by the phase-in requirements of the regulation, then you must complete a nutrient management plan: Regulation, Part 2.

Note for agricultural operations: it is possible for the operation to generate prescribed materials and apply them to land so the operators will be required to develop both a nutrient management strategy and a nutrient management plan. This is discussed in more detail later in this Protocol.

1.2 Regulated Operations

The Regulation applies to operations that generate, store or use, or transport prescribed materials, as well as commercial fertilizers that are used in crop production, that are captured by the phase-in requirements of the regulation.

The following operations are captured by the phase-in requirements of the Regulation.

  • agricultural operations
  • broking operations; and
  • non-agricultural operations
  1. Currently the only agricultural operations which are phased in by the regulation are those that generate agricultural source material. An agricultural operation that is carried out on a "farm unit" under the Regulation will be phased by September 30, 2003 depending on:
    • whether the "new" operation will:
      • generate manure,
      • be greater than 5 NU
      • be on a separate deeded property, and
      • on land which the person who owns or controls the site has not previously carried out an agricultural operation that generated manure ; -.
      • whether the farm unit is expanding the number of farm animals so that it is expected to generate 300 or more nutrient units
  2. An agricultural operation that is carried out on a "farm unit" under the Regulation will be phased in by July 31, 2005 if:
    • the existing farm unit is expected to generate 300 nutrient units or more in a year.
  3. A "broking operation" is one carried on by a broker: A broker is defined in Part 1 of the Regulation as a person who:
    • receives prescribed materials from an operation,
    • does not generate a new nutrient product from those materials, and
    • transfers the materials to another operation, applies the materials to land as nutrients on behalf of another person, or stores them for either of those purposes;
    • the broker has obligations under Part 5 of the Regulation and a training requirement under Part 10 of the Regulation.
  4. Non-agricultural operations" are operations that generate non-agricultural source materials. Regulation, Part 1.

For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 30 June 2003
Last Reviewed: 30 June 2003

Juin 2003 Protocole de gestion des éléments nutritifs dans le cadre du Règlement de l'Ontario 267/03, pris en application de la Loi de 2002 sur la gestion des éléments nutritifs

Partie 1 – Introduction

Table des matières

  1. Exploitations assujetties

Le présent document, intitulé Protocole de gestion des éléments nutritifs, est mentionné dans le Règlement qui se rattache à Loi de 2002 sur la gestion des éléments nutritifs. Il décrit les exigences techniques et scientifiques de même que les normes qui s'ajoutent à celles que l'on retrouve dans le Règlement ou qui les complètent. L'utilisation de ce Protocole permettra d'élaborer et de mettre en œuvre des stratégies et des plans de gestion des éléments nutritifs conformes aux exigences réglementaires.

1.1 Terminologie et contexte

« Les matières prescrites » sont celles qui proviennent de sources agricoles et non agricoles. Elles sont destinées à l'épandage sur les terres à titre d'éléments nutritifs. Il s'agit de matières autres que les engrais commerciaux ou les composts conformes aux directives provisoires concernant la production et l'utilisation des compost anaérobies en Ontario, 1991, du Ministère de l'Environnement de l'Ontario, 1991 : Règlement, partie 1.

« Les éléments nutritifs  » sont épandus sur les terres afin d'améliorer le développement des cultures. Il peut s'agir de matières prescrites, d'engrais minéraux et de compost. Loi sur la gestion des éléments nutritifs, partie II.

La « stratégie de gestion des éléments nutritifs» (SGEN) décrit la production, l'entreposage et l'utilisation des matières prescrites. Les producteurs (c'est-à-dire ceux qui produisent des matières prescrites), qui sont assujettis aux exigences relatives à l'entrée en vigueur progressive de la réglementation, doivent préparer une stratégie de gestion des éléments nutritifs pour l'unité agricole ou l'exploitation non agricole sur les matières prescrites produites ou livrées à l'exploitation : Règlement, partie 2.

Le « plan de gestion des éléments nutritifs » (PGEN) décrit les éléments nutritifs livrés à une exploitation ou épandus sur une terre ainsi que la gestion de ces éléments. Si vous possédez ou gérez un bien-fonds sur lequel sont appliqués des éléments nutritifs et que vous êtes assujettis aux règlements d'entrée en vigueur progressive de la réglementation, vous devez préparer un plan de gestion des éléments nutritifs : Règlement, partie 2.

Notes pour les exploitations agricoles : si votre exploitation produit des matières prescrites et en fait l'épandage, vous devez préparer une stratégie et un plan de gestion des éléments nutritifs. Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements à ce sujet plus loin dans le présent protocole.

1.2 Exploitations assujetties

La réglementation s'applique aux exploitations assujetties aux exigences d'entrée en vigueur de la réglementation qui produisent, entreposent, utilisent ou transportent des matières prescrites, ainsi que des engrais commerciaux utilisés dans la production de cultures.

Les exploitations suivantes sont assujetties aux exigences d'entrée en vigueur progressive de la réglementation.

  • les exploitations agricoles,
  • les entreprises de courtage
  • les exploitations non agricoles
  1. Actuellement, les seules exploitations agricoles concernées par la réglementation sont celles qui produisent des matières d'origine agricole. Une exploitation agricole, faisant partie d'une « unité agricole », en vertu du Règlement , sera assujettie progressivement à ce dernier à compter du 30 septembre 2003 :
    • si la « nouvelle » exploitation :
      • produit du fumier ;
      • est de taille supérieure à 5 UN (unités nutritives);
      • est située sur un bien-fonds cédé indépendant, et
      • sur un bien-fonds qui n'était pas utilisé auparavant comme exploitation agricole productrice de fumier par le propriétaire ou le gestionnaire;
      • si le nombre d'animaux augmente au sein de l'unité agricole au point de générer 300 unités nutritives ou plus.
  2. Une exploitation agricole faisant partie « d'une unité agricole » en vertu du Règlement sera progressivement soumise à ce dernier à compter du 30 juillet 2005 si :
    • on prévoit que l'unité agricole existante produira 300 unités nutritives ou plus annuellement.
  3. Une « entreprise de courtage » est gérée par un agent. À la partie I du Règlement, un agent est défini comme une personne qui :
    • reçoit des matières prescrites d'une exploitation,
    • ne produit pas de nouveaux éléments nutritifs à partir de ces matières, et
    • transfère les matières vers d'autres exploitations, épand ces dernières sur les terres à titre d'éléments nutritifs pour une autre personne, ou entrepose ces matières pour utilisation ultérieure à cette fin;
    • L'agent est assujetti à des obligations en vertu de la partie 5 du Règlement et il doit satisfaire à certaines exigences de formation en vertu de la partie 10 du Règlement.
  4. Les « exploitations non agricoles » sont celles qui génèrent des matières d'origine non agricoles. Règlement, partie 1.

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 30 juin 2003
Dernière révision : 30 juin 2003