Deadstock Regulations

Table of Contents

  1. Background
  2. Introduction
  3. The Regulatory Framework
  4. Response to Inquiries and Complaints

Background

When the Dead Animal Disposal Act (DADA) was enacted in 1968, the deadstock disposal industry was dependent on the salvage and rendering of deadstock into secondary materials. Deadstock and meat plant materials were transformed at rendering plants into fats and protein, both of which were traditionally used in animal feeds and other industrial by-products. Deadstock collectors and renderers marketed these materials in Canada and abroad. The discovery of Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy (BSE or Mad Cow Disease) has had a drastic impact on cattle farmers, deadstock collectors and renderers as the traditional markets for cattle by-products were lost. Meat and bone meal becamea waste management issue for the industry, leading to additional costs of doing business in the livestock sector. Also, the nature and scale of livestock management in Ontario had changed, and additional environmental standards for on-farm management of deadstock were required.

Introduction

In 2009, the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA) and the Ministry of the Environment (MOE) replaced the DADA with a new regulatory framework.

The new framework focusses on minimizing risks to food safety, animal health, environmental impacts and disease threats. The regulation under the Nutrient Management Act, 2002 (NMA) addresses on-farm disposal. The regulation under the Food Safety and Quality Act, 2001 (FSQA) addresses disposal when the animal dies at places other than the farm. Both regulations provide greater flexibility for industry in the disposal of deadstock. Regulation 347 under the Environmental Protection Act (EPA) was also amended to clarify the definition of agricultural waste, and to clarify which activities managed under the new NMA and FSQA regulations are exempt from waste disposal requirements under Part V of the Act and Regulation 347. The new amendments include an update to existing terminology associated with the definitions of "agricultural waste" and "farm operation" and exemptions from Part V of the Act and this Regulation.

The Regulatory Framework

1. Nutrient Management Act, 2002 (NMA)

The regulation under the NMA sets out requirements for the disposal of dead farm animals on the farm. This regulation applies to all farm operations, regardless of the requirement to have a nutrient management strategy or plan under O. Regulation 267/03. The purpose of introducing standards for on-farm disposal of deadstock is to protect the environment and provide some separation between deadstock and live animals.

This regulation sets out requirements for the disposal of all on-farm livestock including cattle, goats, sheep, horses and swine, deer, elk, alpacas, llamas, bison, yaks, donkeys, ponies, rabbits, poultry and fowl, ratites, and fur bearing animals.

The operator of the farm is responsible for disposing of the animal within 48 hours of its death. The two exceptions to this rule are:

  • If a delay occurs in order to perform a post mortem activity on the animal, or
  • If the animal is put into temporary cold or frozen storage conditions (as specified in the regulation).

Additional disposal options for greater flexibility to manage deadstock include:

  • Burial
  • Incineration
  • Composting
  • Disposal vessels
  • Collection by a licensed collector
  • Anaerobic digestion
  • Delivery to a waste disposal site approved under the EPA
  • Delivery to a disposal facility as defined under the FSQA
  • Delivery to a licensed veterinarian for post mortem and disposal.

If an operator chooses to bury, incinerate, or compost deadstock, or use a disposal vessel, the regulation establishes requirements to minimize impacts on the environment. Minimum separation distances have been established from:

  • Livestock housing facilities
  • Field drainage tiles
  • Residential and commercial lands
  • Surface water
  • Bedrock and aquifers
  • Wells including municipal wells and floodplains.

For each disposal option there are specific operating requirements that will have to be met in order to safely dispose of the dead farm animal. In some cases, there are limitations on the volume of deadstock being disposed at any one site.

Transportation

A farm operator may transport only their own deadstock:

  • To a common bin or collection point for collection by a licensed deadstock collector
  • To a veterinarian for the purposes of a post mortem
  • From one farm to another for disposal if they own the property where the disposal will take place
  • To a site approved under the EPA or licensed under the FSQA that is not a provincially licensed meat plant.

During transport, the deadstock must be kept out of public view, and in a leakproof container. Each surface that comes into contact with the deadstock must be impervious and capable of being cleaned and sanitized. Transportation under these circumstances does not require approval under the FSQA.

Record Keeping

The regulation specifies a number of records that must be kept by farm operators related to disposal of their dead farm animals. Standard records that must be kept include information on the method of disposal, quantity of animals disposed, and date of disposal. Other records may be required depending on the type of disposal method used. Records must be kept for two years. While there is no standard format, the records must include documentation that demonstrates compliance with the regulation.

Emergency Conditions

Provisions for emergency conditions, such as a barn fire, exist where an operator cannot, comply with the NMA requirements with respect to storage, disposal or transportation of the dead farm animals. The regulation allows the operator to apply for approval to arrange for storage, disposal, or transportation that do not otherwise meet the requirements of the regulation. In this situation, each case is decided individually. The circumstances are weighed against the potential threat to the environment if an alternate method of disposal were used.

2. Food Safety and Quality Act, 2001 (FSQA)

The Disposal of Deadstock regulation under the FSQA provides for the management and disposal of deadstock off-farm. It is designed to protect public health by preventing meat from deadstock from entering the human food chain. The regulation establishes standards and requirements for transportation, processing, storage and disposal. In addition to protecting public health, these standards help minimize impacts to animal health and the environment.

The FSQA regulation applies to the management of farmed animal deaths that could enter the human food chain, including cattle, goats, sheep, horses, swine, deer, elk,alpacas, llama, donkeys, ponies, rabbits, poultry, fowl, and ratites. The regulation does not apply to furbearing animals, other than rabbits, as the interest is only with animals that could potentially be served as food.

Permitted methods of disposal are set out for deadstock that is disposed of beyond the farm premises and deadstock disposed of by custodians of the animals at their time of death. Custodians include owners or operators of:

  • Fairs and exhibitions
  • Sales barns
  • Assembly yards
  • Race tracks
  • Transporters of live animals
  • Veterinary clinics.

Veterinarians that receive deadstock for post mortems are deemed to be custodians and must dispose of the carcasses in accordance with the regulation.

Operators of sales barns, assembly yards and feeding stations that choose to accept (from livestock transporters) deadstock that die in transit are deemed to be custodians and must dispose of the carcasses in accordance with the regulation.

A custodian disposing of deadstock must dispose of it by:

  • Having the animal collected by a licensed deadstock collector
  • Transporting the deadstock to licensed operators of:
    • Transfer stations
    • Composting facilities
    • Salvaging facilities
    • Rendering facilities
  • Transporting the deadstock to an approved waste disposal site, or
  • Transporting the deadstock to equivalent facilities outside of Ontario that can legally accept deadstock.

Deadstock can only be transported, out of public view, in vehicles, trailers or containers designed and equipped to prevent leakage or escape of deadstock materials and capable of withstanding repeated cleaning and sanitizing.

Collectors

Any person in the business of transporting and collecting deadstock, other than their own, must be licensed as a collector and meet the requirements for vehicles and proper transport (see previous section).

Collectors must display proof of their licence in the windshield of their vehicle.

Collectors are required to dispose of deadstock by:

  • Transporting the deadstock to licensed operators of:
    • Transfer stations
    • Composting facilities
    • Salvaging facilities
    • Rendering facilities, or
    • Transporting the deadstock to an approved waste disposal site, or
    • Transporting the deadstock to equivalent facilities outside of Ontario that can legally accept deadstock.
Transfer Stations

The FSQA regulation sets out licensing, facility, and operating requirements for transfer stations, which are sites that receive and consolidate deliveries of deadstock for shipment to licenced operations.

All shipments from a transfer station must be transported by a licensed collector.

Salvaging Facilities

The regulation requires meat from deadstock that is distributed to be cut into prescribed portion sizes, denatured, packaged and labelled. Meat fed to the salvagers own animals or used for baiting may be cut into larger portions and that meat is provided some specific exemptions to the denaturing, packaging, and labelling rules.

  • Any person that accepts deadstock carcasses for feeding to captive wildlife or sporting dogs is required to be licensed as a salvager, and ensure the carcasses are handled and fed in a manner that prevents the scavengers or pests from removing the carcass or any part of it from the area where the feeding occurs.

Any dead animal that the operator does not use or process must be transported from the facility by a collector.

Broker

A broker is licenced to purchase and sell meat from deadstock in a raw form. The regulation sets out the requirements for denaturing, packaging, and labelling when a broker alters the meat.

Composting

The FSQA regulation provides for centralized composting of deadstock. It sets out the application, siting, facility and operational standards and requirements for those centralized deadstock composting facilities. The facility and operational requirements provide for various composting and curing methods as well as for composting pads made of different materials. The regulation establishes turning, temperature and substrate standards. Compost that is derived from deadstock and that has been composted in accordance with the regulation may only be sold if it meets all of the prescribed standards for finished compost. Material that fails to meet the requirements may be re-composted or disposed of at an approved waste disposal site depending on the regulatory defect(s). The regulation specifies who may transport material, other than finished compost, from a composting facility.

Any dead animal that the operator does not use or process must be transported from the facility by a collector.

Rendering

The regulation sets out license requirements for rendering facilities.Any dead animal that the operator does not use or process must be transported from the facility by a collector.

Record Keeping

Collectors and operators of disposal facilities are required to keep a record of every animal received and of its' disposal. Brokers are required to keep records of the meat the broker receives and of its disposition. Records are required to be retained for three years.

Operators of composting facilities are required to keep additional records and retain them for the periods as specified in the Regulation.

Emergency Conditions

There are provisions for dealing with emergencies involving deadstock off-farm, similar to that in the NMA. These emergencies might include such things as building fires, and traffic accidents during transport.

Licence Fees

There is no fee for licences.

Response to Inquiries and Complaints

OMAFRA and MOE jointly manage and enforce these newregulations.

OMAFRA is responsible for:

  • Education and outreach for both regulations
  • Response to FSQA complaints and inspections
  • Licencing of facilities under the FSQA.
If you have questions such as:
  • How and where do I find out information about available disposal options?
  • How do I find a licensed collector?
  • Are there environmental grants that might be available and how to apply for them?
  • How to obtain a licence under the FSQA?

Please contact the Agricultural Information Contact Centre at 1-877-424-1300.

Through an agreement with OMAFRA, the Ministry of Natural Resources (MNR) is responsible for compliance and enforcement activities under the FSQA. Contact Kevin Joynes, Dead Animal Disposal Advisor for OMAFRA at (519) 820-3128.

MOE is responsible for:

On-farm deadstock compliance and enforcement for NMA complaints and inspections.

If you have complaints regarding on-farm deadstock:

  • Please contact the local MOE office during normal business hours, and the Spills Action Centre, at 1-800-268-6060 during off-hours.

For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 29 October 2013
Last Reviewed: 29 October 2013

Réglementation sur les animaux morts

Table des matières

  1. Généralités
  2. Introduction
  3. Cadre de réglementation
  4. Réponse aux demandes de renseignements et plaintes

Généralités

Lors de la promulgation de la Loi sur les cadavres d'animaux (LCA) en 1968, le secteur de l'élimination des animaux morts était tributaire de la récupération et de la fonte du gras animal pour la production de matières secondaires. Les cadavres d'animaux et les matières issues des établissements de traitement des viandes étaient alors acheminés à des fondoirs où on les transformait en graisses et en protéines qui, depuis toujours, servaient à la fabrication d'aliments pour animaux et d'autres sous-produits industriels. Les ramasseurs de cadavres d'animaux et les fondoirs vendaient ces produits au Canada et à l'étranger. La découverte de l'encéphalopathie spongiforme bovine (ESB ou maladie de la vache folle) a provoqué la disparition de ces débouchés traditionnels pour les sous-produits de l'élevage bovin, ce qui a entraîné d'énormes répercussions pour les éleveurs de bovins, les ramasseurs de cadavres d'animaux et les fondoirs. Pour l'industrie, les restes de viande et la farine d'os sont devenus des déchets occasionnant des coûts supplémentaires pour le secteur de l'élevage. Par ailleurs, la nature et la portée de la gestion du bétail ayant changé en Ontario, il était nécessaire de mettre en place d'autres normes environnementales pour la gestion des animaux morts à la ferme.

Introduction

En 2009, le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales (MAAARO) et le ministère de l'Environnement de l'Ontario (MEO) ont remplacé la LCA par un nouveau cadre de réglementation.

Le nouveau cadre de réglementation a pour objet de limiter les risques pour la salubrité alimentaire et la santé animale ainsi que les effets sur l'environnement et les dangers liés aux maladies. Le Règlement pris en application de la Loi de 2002 sur la gestion des éléments nutritifs (LGEN) porte sur l'élimination à la ferme des cadavres d'animaux, alors que le Règlement pris en application de la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments (LQSA) vise l'élimination des animaux morts ailleurs qu'à la ferme. Ces deux règlements accordent à l'industrie une plus grande marge de manœuvre en ce qui touche à l'élimination des cadavres d'animaux.

Le Règlement 347 pris en application de la Loi sur la protection de l'environnement (LPE) a également été modifié : la définition de déchets agricoles a été éclaircie et, parmi les activités visées par les nouveaux règlements de la LGEN et de la LQSA, on a précisé celles qui sont exemptées des exigences relatives à l'élimination des déchets en vertu de la partie V de la Loi et du Règlement 347. Les nouvelles modifications comprennent une mise à jour de la terminologie existante en ce qui a trait aux définitions de déchets agricoles (agricultural waste) et d'exploitation agricole (farm operation), et des exemptions à la partie V de la Loi et du Règlement.

Cadre de réglementation

1. Loi de 2002 sur la gestion des éléments nutritifs (LGEN)

Le règlement pris en application de la LGEN définit les exigences concernant l'élimination des cadavres d'animaux d'élevage à la ferme. Il vise l'ensemble des exploitations agricoles, que celles‑ci soient tenues ou non de mettre en œuvre une stratégie ou un plan de gestion des éléments nutritifs en vertu du Règl. de l'Ont. 267/03. L'adoption de normes pour l'élimination des cadavres d'animaux à la ferme a pour objet de protéger l'environnement et d'isoler les animaux vivants des animaux morts.

Ce règlement définit les exigences relatives à l'élimination de tous les animaux à la ferme, y compris des bovins, chèvres, moutons, chevaux, porcs, cerfs, wapitis, alpagas, lamas, bisons, yacks, ânes, poneys, lapins, volailles et autres oiseaux, ratites et animaux à fourrure.

L'exploitant de la ferme est tenu d'éliminer l'animal en question dans un délai de 48 heures après sa mort. Font exception, les cas suivants :

  • report devant permettre une autopsie de l'animal;
  • conservation temporaire de l'animal dans un entrepôt frigorifique ou congelé (dans les conditions précisées dans le règlement).

Les autres modes possibles d'élimination des cadavres d'animaux qui doivent permettre une plus grande souplesse en cette matière sont les suivants :

  • enfouissement;
  • incinération;
  • compostage;
  • conteneurs pour élimination;
  • collecte par un ramasseur titulaire d'un permis;
  • digestion anaérobie;
  • acheminement à un lieu d'élimination de déchets approuvé en vertu de la LPE;
  • acheminement à une installation d'élimination selon la définition de la LQSA;
  • remise à un vétérinaire autorisé en vue d'une autopsie et de l'élimination.

Si l'exploitant opte pour l'enfouissement, l'incinération, le compostage de l'animal mort ou l'utilisation d'un conteneur pour l'élimination, le règlement définit certaines exigences visant à en limiter les effets sur l'environnement. Les distances minimales sont calculées à partir :

  • des bâtiments de logement du bétail;
  • des drains agricoles;
  • des terrains résidentiels et commerciaux;
  • des eaux de surface;
  • de la roche mère et des aquifères;
  • des puits, y compris les puits municipaux, et des plaines inondables.

Chaque mode d'élimination permis par le règlement est assorti d'exigences opérationnelles qui visent à écarter tout risque de contamination. Dans certains cas, il y a des limites au nombre de cadavres d'animaux qu'on peut éliminer par site.

Transport

L'exploitant agricole est autorisé à acheminer ses cadavres d'animaux uniquement, et ce :

  • à destination d'un réceptacle ou d'un point commun où le ramasseur de cadavres d'animaux titulaire d'un permis effectue sa collecte;
  • à un vétérinaire aux fins d'une autopsie;
  • d'une exploitation agricole à une autre en vue de l'élimination, si l'exploitant est propriétaire du terrain où il entend procéder à l'élimination;
  • à destination d'un site approuvé en vertu de la LPE ou autorisé en vertu de la LQSA, à l'exception d'un établissement de traitement des viandes détenant un permis provincial.

Pendant le transport, les cadavres d'animaux doivent être cachés à la vue du public, et ils doivent être placés dans un récipient étanche. Toutes les surfaces entrant en contact avec les cadavres d'animaux doivent être imperméables, et on doit pouvoir les nettoyer et les assainir. Lorsque le transport est effectué dans ces circonstances, l'approbation en vertu de la LQSA n'est pas obligatoire.

Tenue de dossiers

Conformément à la réglementation, l'exploitant agricole doit conserver certains dossiers liés à l'élimination de ses animaux d'élevage morts. Les renseignements devant habituellement être conservés comprennent l'information concernant la méthode d'élimination, la quantité d'animaux éliminés et la date d'élimination des cadavres. D'autres renseignements pourraient être exigés selon le type de méthode d'élimination employée. L'exploitant doit conserver les dossiers pendant deux ans. Il n'existe aucun modèle pour la tenue des dossiers, mais ces dossiers devront contenir les documents permettant d'établir que l'exploitant a respecté la réglementation.

Urgences

Des dispositions d'urgence ont été prévues pour le cas où un exploitant ne peut se conformer aux exigences de la LGEN concernant l'entreposage, l'élimination ou le transport des cadavres d'animaux d'élevage, par exemple à la suite de l'incendie d'une étable. L'exploitant peut alors demander l'approbation de modes d'entreposage, d'élimination ou de transport qui, en d'autres circonstances, ne seraient pas conformes au règlement. Chacune de ces demandes sera évaluée au cas par cas, à la lumière des risques pour l'environnement qui pourraient découler d'une autre méthode d'élimination.

2. Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments (LQSA)

Le règlement sur l'élimination des animaux morts pris en application de la LQSA régit l'élimination hors de la ferme des animaux morts. Son objet est de protéger la santé du public en empêchant la viande d'animaux morts d'entrer dans la chaîne des aliments destinés aux humains. Le règlement définit des normes et des exigences en matière de transport, de transformation, d'entreposage et d'élimination afin de limiter les effets sur la santé animale et l'environnement.

Le règlement de la LQSA vise les animaux d'élevage morts susceptibles d'entrer dans la chaîne des aliments destinés aux humains, y compris les bovins, les chèvres, les moutons, les chevaux, les porcs, les cerfs, les wapitis, les alpagas, les lamas, les ânes, les poneys, les lapins, les volailles, les autres oiseaux et les ratites. Le règlement ne vise pas les animaux à fourrure, à l'exception des lapins, car il ne porte que sur les espèces susceptibles d'entrer dans l'alimentation humaine.

Les méthodes d'élimination permises sont définies pour les animaux morts éliminés à l'extérieur des limites de la ferme et ceux qui sont éliminés par les gardiens des animaux d'élevage au moment de la mort de ceux‑ci. Les gardiens peuvent être des propriétaires ou exploitants :

  • de foires et d'expositions;
  • de halles à bestiaux;
  • de parcs de groupage;
  • de pistes de course;
  • d'entreprises de transport d'animaux vivants;
  • de cliniques vétérinaires.

Les vétérinaires qui reçoivent des animaux morts pour des autopsies sont considérés comme étant leurs gardiens et doivent les éliminer conformément au règlement.

Les exploitants d'enchères de bestiaux (halles à bestiaux), de parcs de groupage et de postes d'alimentation qui choisissent d'accepter (de la part des transporteurs d'animaux) des animaux morts pendant le transport sont considérés comme étant leurs gardiens et doivent les éliminer conformément au règlement.

Tout gardien qui élimine un animal mort doit procéder selon l'une des méthodes suivantes :

  • demander à un ramasseur titulaire d'un permis de venir chercher l'animal;
  • apporter l'animal mort à un exploitant autorisé :
    • d'une station de transfert;
    • d'une installation de compostage;
    • d'une installation de récupération;
    • d'un fondoir;
  • transporter l'animal mort à un lieu d'élimination de déchets approuvé;
  • transporter l'animal mort jusqu'à un établissement équivalent situé à l'extérieur de l'Ontario et pouvant légalement accepter des animaux morts.

Les animaux morts ne peuvent être transportés que dans des véhicules, des remorques ou des contenants conçus et équipés pour empêcher toute fuite ou émanation de substances en provenance de l'animal mort, pour cacher l'animal mort à la vue du public ainsi que pour pouvoir être nettoyés et assainis de façon répétée.

Ramasseurs d'animaux morts

Les professionnels du transport et du ramassage d'animaux morts autres que leurs propres animaux doivent être titulaires d'un permis de ramasseur et répondre aux exigences relatives aux véhicules et au transport (voir partie précédente).

Les ramasseurs doivent afficher la preuve de leur permis sur le pare‑brise de leur véhicule.

Les ramasseurs doivent éliminer les animaux morts de l'une des façons suivantes :

  • acheminer l'animal mort à un exploitant autorisé :
    • d'une station de transfert,
    • d'une installation de compostage,
    • d'une installation de récupération,
    • d'un fondoir;
  • acheminer l'animal mort à un lieu d'élimination de déchets approuvé;
  • acheminer l'animal mort à un établissement équivalent situé à l'extérieur de l'Ontario et pouvant légalement accepter des animaux morts.
Stations de transfert

Le règlement de la LQSA définit les exigences en matière de permis, d'installations et opérationnelles visant les stations de transfert où sont reçues et regroupées les livraisons d'animaux morts en vue de leur expédition vers des installations autorisées.

Toute cargaison d'animaux morts en provenance d'une station de transfert doit être transportée par un ramasseur titulaire d'un permis.

Installations de récupération

Le règlement exige que, pour être distribuée, la viande provenant d'animaux morts soit découpée en morceaux de la taille prescrite, et qu'elle soit dénaturée, emballée et étiquetée. La viande que les récupérateurs servent à manger à leurs propres animaux ou qui sert à la confection d'appâts peut être découpée en morceaux plus gros, et les règles visant la dénaturation, l'emballage et l'étiquetage comportent des exemptions précises à cet effet.

  • Toute personne qui accepte des animaux morts pour nourrir des animaux sauvages en captivité ou des chiens de sport doit être titulaire d'un permis de récupérateur, s'assurer que les animaux morts sont manipulés et donnés aux animaux captifs de façon à empêcher charognards et vermine d'emporter les carcasses ou des parties de celles-ci à l'extérieur de l'endroit où elles doivent être consommées.

Tout animal mort que l'exploitant n'utilise pas ou ne transforme pas doit être retiré de l'installation par un ramasseur.

Courtiers

Tout courtier doit être titulaire d'un permis pour l'achat et la vente de la viande d'animaux morts crue. Le règlement définit les exigences relatives à la dénaturation, à l'emballage et à l'étiquetage lorsque la viande est modifiée par un courtier.

Compostage

Le règlement de la LQSA régit le compostage centralisé des animaux morts. Il définit les normes et les exigences relatives aux épandages, à l'emplacement, aux installations et aux opérations pour les établissements de compostage centralisé d'animaux morts. Les exigences relatives aux installations et opérations visent plusieurs méthodes de compostage et de vieillissement, ainsi que les dalles de compostage fabriquées avec différents matériaux. Le règlement définit des normes pour le retournement, la température et la composition du substrat. Le compost d'animaux morts ayant été produit conformément au règlement ne pourra être vendu que s'il répond à toutes les normes prescrites pour le compost fini. Dans le cas contraire, il pourra être composté de nouveau ou éliminé dans un lieu approuvé pour l'élimination des déchets, selon son ou ses défauts réglementaires. Le règlement précise qui peut transporter des matières autres que du compost fini en provenance d'une installation de compostage.

Tout animal mort que l'exploitant n'utilise pas ou ne transforme pas doit être retiré de l'installation par un ramasseur.

Fondoirs

Le règlement définit les exigences en matière de permis pour les fondoirs.

Tout animal mort que l'exploitant n'utilise pas ou ne transforme pas doit être retiré de l'installation par un ramasseur.

Tenue de dossiers

Les ramasseurs et les exploitants d'installations d'élimination doivent tenir à jour des dossiers de tous les animaux reçus et de leur élimination. Les courtiers doivent tenir à jour des dossiers de toute la viande qu'ils ont reçue et de son élimination. Ils doivent conserver ces documents pendant trois ans.

Les exploitants d'installations de compostage doivent tenir à jour d'autres dossiers et les conserver pendant les délais indiqués par le règlement.

Urgences

Certaines dispositions semblables à celles de la LGEN sont prévues pour les situations d'urgence, où on doit éliminer des animaux morts ailleurs qu'à la ferme. Ces situations d'urgence peuvent comprendre, entre autres, les incendies et les accidents de la route lors du transport.

Droits à payer pour l'obtention de permis

Il n'y a pas de droits à payer pour l'obtention de permis.

Réponse aux demandes de renseignements et plaintes

Le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario (MAAARO) et le ministère de l'Environnement de l'Ontario (MEO) s'occupent conjointement de l'application de ces nouveaux règlements.

Le MAAARO est chargé des aspects suivants :

  • Éducation et diffusion relatives aux deux règlements;
  • Réponses aux plaintes et inspections en vertu de la LQSA;
  • Octroi de permis aux installations en vertu de la LQSA.

Pour avoir une réponse à l'une de ces questions :

  • Comment et où puis-je trouver de l'information sur les modes d'élimination possibles?
  • Comment puis-je trouver un ramasseur titulaire d'un permis?
  • Pourrais-je recevoir des subventions pour la protection de l'environnement, et comment puis-je soumettre une demande à cet effet?
  • Comment peut-on obtenir un permis en vertu de la LQSA?

Veuillez communiquer avec le Centre d'information agricole au 1 877 424-1300.

Dans le cadre d'une entente passée avec le MAAARO, le ministère des Richesses naturelles (MRN) est responsable des activités de mise en conformité et d'application en vertu de la LQSA. Veuillez communiquer avec Kevin Joynes, conseiller en élimination des cadavres d'animaux au 519 820-3128.

Le MOE est chargé des aspects suivants :

  • Conformité de l'élimination des animaux morts à la ferme et application de la LGEN à la suite des plaintes et inspections.

Pour toute plainte concernant l'élimination des animaux morts à la ferme, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau du MOE de votre région pendant les heures ouvrables normales, ou avec le Centre d'intervention en cas de déversement (1 800 268-6060), en dehors des heures ouvrables.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 31 octobre 2013
Dernière révision : 31 octobre 2013