Planning to Build or Renovate a Feed Storage if not attached to Livestock Facility (Housing)

Plan to construct or renovate a feed storage (if not attached to livestock facility) on your farm? If so, this is a good place to start. Make an appointment with your building department to discuss your plans. Be sure to allow for adequate time to obtain all necessary approvals, including the issuance of a building permit before scheduling construction. Professional Engineering Services for design and general review of specific projects may be required for Nutrient Management Strategies.

Municipal Requirements

Verify Zoning

Contact the Building/Zoning/Planning Department of your local municipality and find out about the zoning of the site; the type of buildings permitted in that zone, and any additional zoning restrictions. Consider that the municipal zoning allows for an agricultural operation. Listing of Ontario municipal websites below:

Building Permit

Complete Building Permit Application. Submit completed building permit application to your local municipality/principal authority. For all agricultural construction projects, the farm owner is responsible for obtaining a building permit. Construction can start when the permit is issued.

Professional Engineering Services

Review Ontario's Building Code.

You may also wish to review the following:

For more information about Nutrient Management, see the OMAFRA website or call the Nutrient Management Information Line at 1-866-242-4460.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: nman.omafra@ontario.ca

Planification de la construction ou de la rénovation d'une structure d'entreposage des aliments non attenante à une installation pour les animaux (logement)

Vous prévoyez de construire ou de rénover une structure d'entreposage des aliments (non attenante à une installation pour les animaux) sur votre ferme? Dans ce cas, les informations que vous trouverez ici sont un bon point de départ. Demandez un rendez-vous au service du bâtiment de votre municipalité pour parler de vos projets. Avant la construction, prévoyez des délais assez longs pour obtenir toutes les approbations ainsi que le permis de construire. En ce qui concerne les stratégies de gestion des éléments nutritifs, certains projets devront avoir été conçus et inspectés par un ingénieur professionnel.

Exigences des municipalités

Vérification du zonage

Communiquer avec le service du bâtiment, du zonage ou de la planification de votre municipalité pour vous renseigner sur le zonage de votre site, les types d'édifices qui y sont permis et toute autre restriction pertinente. Le zonage municipal doit permettre la présence d'une exploitation agricole. Voici les listes des sites Web des municipalités de l'Ontario :

Permis de construire

Remplir une demande de permis de construire et la remettre à la municipalité ou à l'autorité principale locale. Pour tous les projets de construction de bâtiments agricoles, le propriétaire de l'exploitation doit obtenir un permis. Les travaux de construction peuvent commencer à la date de l'émission de celui-ci.

Services d'un ingénieur

Voir le code du bâtiment de l'Ontario.

Voici également quelques sites utiles :

Pour plus de renseignements sur la gestion des éléments nutritifs, voir le site Web du MAAARO ou appeler la Ligne d'information sur la gestion des éléments nutritifs au 1 866 242-4460.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca