Urban Agriculture Business Information Bundle

Raising Livestock and Poultry

Livestock and poultry can be a source of meat, milk, eggs or fibre. When you add aquaculture and beekeeping into the mix, the list of products gets even longer.

However, not all municipalities allow you to raise livestock within city limits. Be sure to check your local regulations to see what species are allowed, in what numbers. Many municipalities also specify how close to the property line shelters can be placed. Even if livestock are permitted where you live, be a good neighbour by making sure they don't escape and by minimizing the noise and odours they create.

As well, keep in mind that livestock production is not as simple as growing fruits or vegetables. While the details vary according to the species, raising animals requires upfront investments in suitable shelter and fencing; the cost of buying the animals; daily chores such as feeding and watering; cleaning out manure, collecting eggs, etc.; veterinary bills; measures to deter predators; and the logistical issues of slaughtering.

Animal Health

Keeping animals clean, comfortable and properly fed and watered will reduce the risk of disease. Many animals will need regular health care, from vaccinations to deworming to hoof trimming. Note that vets with livestock experience may not be easy to track down in an urban setting, especially when it comes to more exotic livestock.

If you have questions about livestock management, contact the Agriculture Information Contact Centre.

If you are raising livestock, there are several animal health Acts you need to comply with:

Provincial Government E-Laws

The Animal Health Act, 2009

Health of Animals Act

Biosecurity

As well as compromising the health of livestock and poultry, some of these diseases can be passed to humans and/or other animals (for example, pets) and vice versa. Be sure to minimize the risks by following good biosecurity and health management practices. For more information, see:

Deadstock Disposal

By regularly reviewing your production and handling practices, you can reduce the incidence of livestock mortality. Nevertheless, death is inevitable, and you must equip yourself with the knowledge and proper planning to deal with it.

Ontario has two sets of regulations governing deadstock disposal to minimize potential food safety risks, environmental impacts and disease threats. The regulation under the Nutrient Management Act, 2002 (Nutrient Management Act, 2002 - O. Reg. 106/09) addresses on-farm disposal, while the Food Safety and Quality Act, 2001 (Food Safety and Quality Act, 2001 - O. Reg. 105/09) addresses disposal when the animal dies somewhere other than where it is raised, as well as licensing requirements for businesses that assist in the management and disposal of dead farm animals.

Use best management practices to reduce the biosecurity risks that deadstock poses to other livestock and to the environment. You'll find information about the approved on-farm disposal options, transportation of dead farm animals and business licensing requirements at OMAFRA's deadstock disposal page.

Feeding and Watering

You'll need to source the right feed and establish appropriate systems for storing and dispensing it. Keep in mind that feed can attract a variety of unwelcome animals, including rodents, raccoons and skunks.

All animals need access to clean, fresh water on a daily basis. In the winter, that may mean installing systems to prevent the water from freezing. Information on different types of watering systems is available from OMAFRA's Alternative Livestock Watering Systems factsheet.

Legislation

In addition to municipal bylaws, there is federal and provincial legislation governing livestock in Ontario. For an overview, see OMAFRA's Acts and Regulations: Legislation Affecting the Ontario Livestock Industry . OMAFRA also has helpful information on the Animal Health Act, 2009.

Manure Management

Consult Ontario's Nutrient Management Act, 2002 for regulations governing manure management.

Best Management Practices: Manure Management.

Predator Control

Even in urban areas, wildlife can pose a threat to your livestock. For details, see Dealing with Wildlife.

Slaughtering

If you're raising animals for meat, you'll need to plan how they will be slaughtered when they reach the appropriate age. Even if your focus is egg, milk or fibre production, you may need to cull livestock.

For the regulations governing the slaughtering of animals, see OMAFRA's Your Responsibilities Under the Meat Regulation.

Keep in mind that not all slaughterhouses are set up to handle all kinds of livestock. See OMAFRA's list of provincially licensed slaughter plants, which is organized by animal class.

If you are transporting livestock to a slaughterhouse, consult Canadian Agri-Food Research Council's Recommended Code of Practice for the Care and Handling of Farm Animals: Transportation.

Space, Shelter & Fencing

For many city dwellers, the amount of land you have will determine what kind of livestock you can raise. While a small backyard may provide enough space for poultry and rabbits, for example, larger animals may need several hectares. Refer to Ontario's Minimum Distance Separation guidebook for more information.

The Normal Farm Practices Protection Board and the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA) established the Farm Practices Conflict Resolution Process to help resolve conflicts about farm practices that arise from nuisance complaints about odour, noise, dust, flies, light, smoke or vibration. The Process is also used for conflicts between farm practices and municipal by-laws.

Shelter is another consideration: most livestock will need protection against the elements and predators. The University of New Hampshire Cooperative Extension provides an overview of housing and space guidelines, while OMAFRA's Livestock pages provide recommendations for specific livestock.

Finally, many animals need appropriate fencing. For details, see OMAFRA's Farm Fencing Systems factsheet and the University of Rhode Island Cooperative Extension's factsheet on Pastures, Fencing and Watering on Small Acreages.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 28 January 2011
Last Reviewed:

15 January 2016

Trousse d'information sur l'agriculture urbaine

Élevage d'animaux

Les animaux d'élevage et la volaille peuvent être une source de viande, de lait, d'œufs et de fibre textile. Lorsque vous ajoutez l'aquaculture et l'apiculture, la liste de produits s'allonge encore plus.

Cependant, toutes les municipalités ne permettent pas d'élever de bétail dans les limites de la ville. Assurez-vous de vérifier les règlements municipaux pour voir quelles espèces sont permises et en quelle quantité. Beaucoup de municipalités prescrivent également la distance entre les abris pour les animaux et les limites de propriété. Même si les animaux d'élevage sont autorisés dans votre localité, respectez vos voisins en vous assurant que vos animaux ne s'échappent pas et en réduisant au minimum le bruit et les odeurs.

En outre, rappelez-vous que l'élevage de bétail est plus complexe que la culture des fruits et des légumes. Même si les détails varient selon les espèces, l'élevage d'animaux comporte un investissement initial pour l'acquisition d'abris et de clôtures; les tâches quotidiennes comme nourrir et abreuver les animaux, nettoyer le fumier, ramasser les œufs, etc.; les factures du vétérinaire; les mesures pour dissuader les prédateurs; les questions logistiques liées à l'abattage.

Santé des animaux

Pour réduire les risques de maladie, il faut garder les animaux propres, faire en sorte qu'ils se sentent bien et s'assurer qu'ils sont bien nourris et abreuvés. Beaucoup d'animaux auront besoin de soins réguliers, notamment les vaccinations, les vermifugations et le parage des sabots. Les vétérinaires ayant une expérience avec le bétail seront peut-être difficiles à trouver en milieu urbain, en particulier lorsqu'il s'agit d'animaux plus exotiques.

Si vous avez des questions concernant la gestion du bétail, communiquez avec le Centre d'information agricole.

Si vous élevez du bétail, vous devrez vous conformer à plusieurs lois sur la santé des animaux :

Lois-en-ligne du gouvernement provincial

Loi de 2009 sur la santé animale

Biosécurité

En plus de compromettre la santé du bétail et de la volaille, certaines maladies peuvent être transmises aux humains ou à d'autres animaux (p. ex., aux animaux de compagnie), et vice-versa. Assurez-vous de réduire au minimum les risques en adoptant de bonnes pratiques de gestion de la biosécurité et de la santé. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez :

Élimination des animaux morts

En passant régulièrement en revue vos pratiques d'élevage et de manutention, vous pouvez réduire la mortalité du bétail. Néanmoins, la mort est inévitable et vous devez acquérir les connaissances et faire la planification qu'il faut pour y faire face.

En Ontario, deux séries de règlements régissent l'élimination des animaux morts afin de réduire au minimum les risques pour la salubrité des aliments, les répercussions sur l'environnement et les menaces de maladie. Le règlement d'application de la Loi de 2002 sur la gestion des éléments nutritifs (Loi de 2002 sur la gestion des éléments nutritifs - Règl. de l'Ont. 106/09) traite de l'élimination à la ferme, tandis que la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments (Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments - Règl. de l'Ont. 105/09) ] traite de l'élimination des animaux qui meurent ailleurs que là où ils ont été élevés ainsi que des conditions d'obtention d'un permis que doivent remplir les entreprises qui aident à la gestion et à l'élimination des animaux morts.

Utilisez des pratiques de gestion optimales pour réduire les risques de biosécurité que les animaux morts posent aux autres animaux et à l'environnement. Vous trouverez des renseignements sur les solutions approuvées d'élimination à la ferme, le transport des animaux morts et les conditions d'obtention d'un permis que doivent remplir les entreprises à la page sur l'élimination des cadavres d'animaux du site web du MAAARO.

Alimentation et abreuvement

Vous devrez vous procurer les aliments qui conviennent et les systèmes nécessaires pour les entreposer et les distribuer. N'oubliez pas que les aliments peuvent attirer tout un éventail d'animaux indésirables comme des rongeurs, des ratons laveurs et des mouffettes.

Tous les animaux doivent avoir accès à de l'eau propre et fraîche quotidiennement. Pendant l'hiver, cela pourrait nécessiter l'installation de systèmes pour empêcher l'eau de geler. La fiche technique Systèmes d'approvisionnement en eau de remplacement pour l'abreuvement du bétail du MAAARO contient des renseignements sur les différents systèmes d'approvisionnement en eau.

Lois et règlements

Outre les règlements municipaux, des lois et règlements provinciaux et fédéraux régissent le bétail en Ontario. Pour en avoir un aperçu, consultez la page Lois et règlements sur le bétail : Législation concernant l'industrie du bétail de l'Ontario du site web du MAAARO. Le MAAARO a également de précieux renseignements sur la Loi de 2009 sur la santé animale.

Gestion du fumier

Consultez la Loi de 2002 sur la gestion des éléments nutritifs pour connaître les règlements qui régissent la gestion du fumier.

Gestion des fumiers

Lutte contre les prédateurs

Même en milieu urbain, les animaux sauvages peuvent être une menace pour votre bétail. Pour obtenir des précisions, consultez la section sur les animaux sauvages.

Abattage

Si vous élevez des animaux pour la viande, vous devrez prévoir la façon de les abattre lorsqu'ils auront atteint l'âge approprié. Même si vous élevez du bétail pour les œufs, le lait ou la fibre textile, vous devrez peut-être réformer des animaux.

Pour connaître les règlements qui régissent l'abattage des animaux, visitez la page Vos obligations en vertu du règlement sur les viandes du site web du MAAARO.

Rappelez-vous que tous les abattoirs ne peuvent pas accueillir tous les genres d'animaux. Consultez la liste des abattoirs titulaires d'un permis par catégorie d'animaux dressée par le MAAARO.

Si vous transportez des animaux vers un abattoir, consultez le Code de pratiques recommandées pour le soin et la manipulation des animaux de ferme - Transport du Conseil de recherches agro-alimentaires du Canada.

Espace, abris et clôtures

Pour bien des habitants des villes, l'étendue de terrain déterminera le genre d'animaux que vous pouvez élever. Une petite cour offrira assez d'espace pour élever de la volaille et des lapins, tandis que pour les plus gros animaux, il faudra peut-être un terrain de plusieurs hectares. Consultez le guide sur les distances minimales de séparation pour plus de renseignements.

La Commission de protection des pratiques agricoles normales et le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario ont établi la Méthode de résolution des conflits liés à l'agriculture pour aider à régler les différends sur les pratiques agricoles qui découlent de plaintes de nuisance au sujet des odeurs, du bruit, de la poussière, des mouches, de la fumée et des vibrations. La méthode est également utilisée pour régler les conflits entre les pratiques agricoles et les règlements municipaux.

Les abris sont un autre facteur dont il faut tenir compte : la plupart des animaux d'élevage devront être protégés contre les éléments et les prédateurs. Le service de l'éducation des adultes de l'Université du New Hampshire donne un aperçu des lignes directrices sur les abris et l'espace (en anglais seulement), tandis que les pages sur l'élevage du MAAARO présentent des recommandations pour des animaux spécifiques.

Enfin, pour beaucoup d'animaux, une clôture appropriée s'impose. Pour plus de précisions, consultez la fiche technique Clôtures agricoles du MAAARO et la fiche technique Pastures, Fencing and Watering on Small Acreages du service de l'éducation des adultes de l'Université du Rhode Island (en anglais seulement).


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 28 janvier 2011
Dernière révision : 02 mars 2016

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca