No Easy Answers to the Mycotoxin Dilemma

Despite extensive research and on-farm experience around the world, there is still much to learn about mold and mycotoxins. There are currently about 300 documented mycotoxins, with new ones still being identified. Lagging behind the process of identifying these toxins is the discovery of details behind their clinical effects on humans and animals.

Although researchers have attempted to link field incidences of mold to particular toxins, the process of correlating this information is far from straightforward. Take into consideration that:

  • Mycotoxins often occur in very low concentrations that may be difficult to detect
  • Analysis may not give a true assessment of the situation because the methodology is not sufficiently developed, or unidentified mycotoxins may be present
  • Clinical symptoms are often not obvious or unique - typical observations, such as lethargy, decreased feed intake, poor performance or increased susceptibility to infection, could be caused by a number of other health or management factors
  • There is no typical dose-response with mycotoxins as seen with other disease organisms
  • Interactions between individual mycotoxins are not well characterized. Since contaminated feed usually contains a number of different mycotoxins, some of which might not yet be identified or well known, the interpretation of what is happening becomes increasingly difficult

Although many different mycotoxins have been identified, the majority are detected in samples at very minute quantities. The most common mycotoxin, although it is not the most toxic, is deoxynivalenol (DON or vomitoxin). However, the toxicology, biology and chemistry of the various mycotoxins are diverse. As a result, the effects vary widely and depend on many factors, such as toxin intake, duration of exposure, species, age, gender, physiological status, and the synergies between different mycotoxins present in the feed.

They say that the best defense is a good offense. So, an important first step in controlling mycotoxins is first controlling mold growth. This can be done by:

  • Maintaining low feed moisture - ideally moisture levels should be around 12-15%
  • Keeping feed fresh - it takes time and the appropriate environment for mold to grow
  • Keeping mixing equipment and feeders clean - contaminated surfaces or feed can inoculate clean feed
  • Keeping the grain intact until it is dried - mold growth is more likely to occur in damaged or processed grains
  • Using mold inhibitors - these products will have no effect on mycotoxins but they will inhibit further mold growth

Other than the typical approach of diluting mycotoxin-contaminated grains in rations, in the past research has concentrated on the identification of binding agents to alleviate the effect of mycotoxins. The ideal mycotoxin binder has the following characteristics:

  • Highly specific to bind a specific mycotoxin or mycotoxins - if the binding agent is not specific, it may bind to other nutrients or medications in the diet, reducing their availability and effectiveness
  • Low level of inclusion - binding agents usually do not add nutritional value to the feed, so inclusion levels need to be kept low to minimize dilution of dietary nutrients
  • Technically and economically feasible

Researchers have studied many different additives, including bentonites, zeolites, bleaching clays, activated carbons, alfalfa, and others. Although these additives have proven to be effective at binding mycotoxins, they have also been known to indiscriminately bind other dietary components, such as vitamins, minerals and drugs. In addition, many require high inclusion levels, effectively adding a dilution factor to the diet. As a result, binding agents are often deemed impractical.

Recent research efforts are concentrating on more sophisticated additives and nutritional approaches. Researchers are currently looking into the potential of organic polymers like esterified glucomannans, an extract from the cell wall of yeast. This extract has demonstrated a strong affinity for some mycotoxins, like aflatoxin, yet it does not interfere with mineral metabolism, as has been observed with some binding agents, like activated charcoal. Preliminary results from laboratory and animals trials have been promising.

Since the process of developing binding agents specific to particular mycotoxins is complex, other researchers are exploring unique nutritional strategies. Research at the University of Guelph has been concentrating on dietary manipulation to overcome mycotoxicoses. Dr. Trevor Smith is researching the potential for specific feed ingredients to manipulate brain neurochemistry. One approach is to feed protein supplements, such as corn gluten meal and blood protein supplements, that are rich in large neutral amino acids. These large neutral amino acids compete with tryptophan for transport sites through the blood-brain barrier, effectively reducing the amount of tryptophan that enters the brain and, as a result, reducing the amount of serotonin produced. Serotonin is a brain neurotransmitter that, when produced at increased levels, results in lethargy and loss of appetite. Research to date has proven this technique to be successful for starter pigs consuming DON-contaminated feeds.

It is obvious that continued, extensive research is needed in the whole area of mold and mycotoxins. In this case, what we don't know can hurt us. Be sure to sample and test suspect grains for mycotoxins prior to feeding, to determine exactly how much of the ingredient can be safely included in rations.

References:

  • Prelusky, D.B., Rotter, B.A., and Rotter, R.G. 1994. Toxicology of Mycotoxins. IN: Mycotoxins in Grain: Compounds Other than Aflatoxin. Ed. Miller, D., and Trenholm, H.L. p. 359.
  • Piva, A. and Galvano, F. 1999. Nutritional approaches to reduce the impact of mycotoxins. IN: Biotechnology in the Feed Industry 1999. Ed. Lyons, T.P. and Jacques, K.A. p. 381.
  • Newman, K. 2000. The biochemistry behind esterified glucomannans - titrating mycotoxins out of the diet. IN: Biotechnology in the Feed Industry 2000. Ed. Lyons, T.P. and Jacques, K.A. p. 369.
  • Smith, T.K., Modirsanei, M., and MacDonald, E.J. 2000. The use of binding agents and amino acid supplements for dietary treatment of Fusarium mycotoxicoses. IN: Biotechnology in the Feed Industry 2000. Ed. Lyons, T.P. and Jacques, K.A. p. 383.

For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Greg Simpson - Swine Nutritionist/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 10 July 2002
Last Reviewed: 14 July 2009

Il n'y a pas de solutions faciles au dilemme des mycotoxines

Malgré des recherches approfondies et des essais à la ferme réalisés partout dans le monde, il nous reste beaucoup à apprendre sur les moisissures et les mycotoxines. Actuellement, environ 300 mycotoxines ont été identifiées, et de nouvelles s'ajoutent encore. On connaît néanmoins peu de choses concernant leurs effets cliniques sur les humains et les animaux.

Bien que des chercheurs aient tenté de relier la présence de certaines moisissures observées sur le terrain à des toxines en particulier, la mise en corrélation de cette information est loin d'être simple, notamment pour les raisons suivantes :

  • Les mycotoxines se manifestent souvent en très faibles concentrations qui peuvent être difficiles à détecter.
  • Il se peut que les analyses ne fournissent pas une évaluation réelle de la situation en raison de lacunes dans la méthodologie ou de la présence de mycotoxines non encore identifiées.
  • Les symptômes cliniques sont souvent peu évidents ni spécifiques. Les signes habituels, comme la léthargie, une diminution de la consommation d'aliments, une faible performance ou une sensibilité accrue à l'infection, peuvent être causés par beaucoup d'autres facteurs liés à la santé ou au milieu.
  • Il n'existe pas, dans le cas des mycotoxines, de réactions types en fonction d'une certaine dose comme dans le cas d'autres organismes pathogènes.
  • Les interactions entre les différentes mycotoxines ne sont pas décrites avec précision. Étant donné que les aliments pour animaux qui sont contaminés contiennent habituellement un certain nombre de mycotoxines différentes, dont certaines ne sont peut-être pas encore identifiées ou sont moins connues, cela complique l'interprétation de la situation.

Bien que bon nombre de mycotoxines aient été identifiées, la majorité d'entre elles sont détectées en très petites quantités dans les échantillons. La mycotoxine la plus commune, bien que ce ne soit pas la plus toxique, est le désoxynivalénol (DON ou vomitoxine). Toutefois, la toxicologie, la biologie et la composition chimique des différentes mycotoxines varient. Par conséquent, leurs effets diffèrent grandement et dépendent de nombreux facteurs, comme la quantité de toxine ingérée, la durée de l'exposition, l'espèce, l'âge et le sexe de l'animal, son état physiologique ainsi que les synergies entre les différentes mycotoxines présentes dans l'aliment.

On dit souvent que l'attaque est le meilleur moyen de défense. Il est donc important de maîtriser d'abord le développement des moisissures, par les mesures suivantes :

  • Garder les aliments à un faible degré d'humidité. Idéalement, la teneur en humidité des aliments devrait se situer entre 12 et 15 %.
  • Garder des aliments frais. Cela prend un certain temps et des conditions ambiantes propices pour que les moisissures se développent.
  • Garder propres le matériel utilisé pour les mélanges ainsi que les mangeoires. Les surfaces ou les aliments contaminés peuvent inoculer les aliments sains.
  • Garder les grains intacts jusqu'à ce qu'ils soient séchés. Les moisissures ont plus de chances de se développer dans les grains endommagés ou transformés.
  • Utiliser des inhibiteurs de moisissures. Ces produits n'ont pas d'effet sur les mycotoxines comme telles, mais ils vont empêcher que d'autres moisissures se développent.

En plus de la méthode habituelle qui consiste à diluer les grains contaminés par des mycotoxines dans les rations, des recherches antérieures ont porté sur l'identification de liants permettant d'atténuer les effets des mycotoxines. Voici les caractéristiques du liant idéal pour les mycotoxines :

  • Hautement spécifique à une ou des mycotoxines. Si le liant n'est pas spécifique, il pourra se lier à d'autres éléments nutritifs ou médicaments contenus dans la ration, ce qui réduira leur assimilation et leur efficacité.
  • Faible dosage. Les liants n'apportent habituellement pas de valeur nutritive additionnelle à l'alimentation; leur dosage doit donc être minimal de manière à réduire la dilution des éléments nutritifs.
  • Utilisation techniquement et économiquement réaliste.

Les chercheurs se sont penchés sur un grand nombre d'additifs différents, dont la bentonite, la zéolite, l'argile décolorante, le charbon activé, la luzerne, etc. Bien que l'efficacité de ces additifs à titre de liants des mycotoxines ait été démontrée, on sait aussi qu'ils se lient sans distinction à d'autres ingrédients alimentaires, comme les vitamines, les minéraux et les médicaments. De plus, bon nombre exigent des dosages élevés, ce qui accentue l'effet de dilution dans le régime alimentaire. Finalement, les liants sont souvent jugés peu utiles.

Des recherches récentes se sont penchées sur des méthodes plus complexes concernant les additifs et la nutrition. Des chercheurs étudient actuellement la possibilité d'utiliser des polymères organiques comme les glucomannane estérifiés, un extrait de la paroi cellulaire de levures. Cet extrait présente une grande affinité pour certaines mycotoxines, comme l'aflatoxine, sans toutefois compromettre le métabolisme des minéraux, comme c'est le cas avec certains liants, dont le charbon activé. Des résultats préliminaires obtenus en laboratoire et dans le cadre d'essais auprès d'animaux semblent prometteurs.

Puisque la mise au point de liants qui sont spécifiques à certaines mycotoxines est complexe, d'autres chercheurs étudient des stratégies nutritionnelles ciblées. Des recherches menées à l'Université de Guelph portent sur des modifications du régime alimentaire visant à combattre les mycotoxicoses. Dr. Trevor Smith étudie la capacité de certains ingrédients alimentaires précis à modifier les réactions neurochimiques dans le cerveau. Une des voies envisagées consiste à ajouter des suppléments de protéines à l'alimentation des animaux, comme des suppléments de farine de gluten de maïs et de protéine sanguine, qui sont riches en grands acides aminés neutres. Ces grands acides aminés neutres concurrencent le tryptophane pour les sites de transport à travers la barrière hémato-encéphalique, réduisant effectivement la quantité de tryptophane qui pénètre dans le cerveau et, par conséquent, la quantité de sérotonine produite. La sérotonine est un neurotransmetteur du cerveau qui, produite en trop grande quantité, provoque la léthargie et la perte d'appétit. Les recherches réalisées jusqu'à maintenant ont montré que cette technique est efficace pour les porcelets qui ingèrent des aliments contaminés par le DON.

Il est évident qu'il est nécessaire de poursuivre des recherches approfondies dans le domaine des moisissures et des mycotoxines. Dans ce domaine, ce qu'on ignore risque d'être nuisible. Il est donc important de prélever des échantillons et de faire analyser les grains soupçonnés d'être contaminés par des mycotoxines avant de les donner aux animaux afin d'établir avec précision la quantité d'ingrédients qui peut être ajoutée sans danger à la ration.


Auteur : Greg Simpson - Spécialiste de la nutrition des porcs
/MAAARO
Date de création : 15 décembre 2011
Dernière révision : 15 décembre 2011

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca