Summer Lactation Feed Management

According to researchers at North Carolina State University, maintaining sow feed intake during the summer months is the most critical management step in reducing the impact of heat stress on seasonal infertility. Kevin Rozeboom, Todd See and Billy Flowers suggest a number of methods to sustain lactation feed intake when ambient temperatures and humidity climb.

Feed More Often

Most producers who switch from feeding two times per day to three times per day experience a 10-15% improvement in sow feed intake. It is important to remember that, when you increase the frequency of feeding, you must decrease the amount that you feed each time. This strategy is successful because of the normal increase in body temperature that occurs after a sow consumes a meal. In theory, a smaller meal will not create as big an increase in body temperature because there will be less feed to be digested. As a result, this could be very helpful for sows whose body temperatures already may be elevated due to high ambient temperatures.

Keep Feed Fresh

Sows can be picky eaters. In warm conditions, feed is more likely to spoil, especially if it is a liquid feed or contains high levels of fat. Feeding more often and feeding slightly smaller meals is an excellent way to keep feed fresh.

Try Liquid Diets

Liquid feeding is a common practice to increase feed intake in growing pigs that also can be used during lactation. There have been varying levels of success with liquid feeding, but some reports suggest that sow feed intake has increased by as much as 15%.

Add Fat to the Diet

One way to make sure that sows are consuming enough energy, even though they are eating less, is to add fat to the lactation diet. Supplemental fat (7 to 10% animal or vegetable fat) will increase the energy content of the feed. Because sows are consuming less feed, dietary levels of essential vitamins and minerals will need to be increased to compensate for lower overall daily feed intakes.

Ensure Water is Always Available

Water requirements increase with high ambient temperatures. Pigs will drink more than 50% more water when temperatures increase from 15°C to 35°C. The researchers suggest that nursing sows should consume 30-40 litres of water every day, while gestating sows need 12-20 litres. Flow rates are important or sows will get frustrated – ideally, the watering system should deliver two litres per minute, or at least a minimum of one litre per minute. Water temperature and quality are also important - pigs will consume almost double the quantity of cool water (10°C) as warm water (25°C).

The complete article, Management Practices to Reduce the Impact of Seasonal Infertility on Sow Herd Productivity, is available on North Carolina State University’s website.

Related Links


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

 


Author: Greg Simpson - Swine Nutritionist/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 01 August 2002
Last Reviewed: 29 Febuary 2012

Gestion des rations pour la lactation en été


Selon des chercheurs de la North Carolina State University, le maintien de l'ingestion d'aliments par les truies pendant les mois d'été constitue l'étape de gestion la plus cruciale pour réduire l'impact du stress causé par la chaleur sur l'infertilité saisonnière. Kevin Rozeboom, Todd See et Billy Flowers présentent certaines méthodes pour maintenir l'ingestion d'aliments quand les températures ambiantes et l'humidité sont en hausse.

Nourrir plus souvent

La plupart des éleveurs qui, plutôt que nourrir leurs animaux deux fois par jour le font trois fois par jour, verront la quantité d'aliments ingérés par les truies augmenter de 10 à 15 %. Rappelons que si on donne des aliments plus fréquemment, il faut réduire la quantité servie chaque fois. Cette stratégie est efficace car la température du corps augmente normalement après que la truie ait ingéré une ration. En théorie, une ration moins copieuse ne crée pas d'augmentation de température aussi grande parce qu'il y a moins d'aliments à digérer. C'est avantageux dans le cas des truies dont la température du corps est déjà élevée à cause des températures ambiantes élevées.

Servir des aliments frais

Les truies peuvent être difficiles quant aux aliments. Quand il fait chaud, la ration est moins fraîche, surtout sous la forme liquide ou si les teneurs en gras sont élevées. Si les truies sont nourries plus souvent avec des rations moins copieuses les aliments peuvent mieux conserver leur fraîcheur.

Essayer la bouillie liquide

La bouillie liquide augmente la quantité d'aliments ingérés des porcs en croissance et peut aussi être servie pendant la lactation. Les taux de réussite varient avec la bouillie liquide, mais certaines recherches indiquent des augmentations des quantités d'aliments ingérés allant jusqu'à 15 %.

Ajouter du gras à la ration alimentaire

L'une des façons de s'assurer que les truies ont une consommation énergétique suffisante même avec de plus petites quantités est d'ajouter du gras à la ration de lactation. Un apport supplémentaire en gras (de 7 à 10 % de gras animal ou végétal) augmente la teneur énergétique de la ration. Comme les truies consomment moins d'aliments, les teneurs en vitamines et en minéraux des aliments doivent être plus élevées pour compenser les rations plus petites.

S'assurer d'avoir toujours de l'eau

Les besoins en eau augmentent à mesure que les températures ambiantes sont plus élevées. Les porcs boiront de 50 % plus d'eau quand la température passe de 15 °C à 35 °C. Les chercheurs indiquent que les truies allaitantes devraient boire de 30 à 40 litres d'eau par jour, alors que les truies en gestation ont besoin de 12 à 20 litres. Les débits d'eau doivent être adéquats, sinon les truies ne sont pas satisfaites. Idéalement, le réseau d'eau doit fournir deux litres la minute, ou au moins un litre par minute. La température et la qualité de l'eau sont aussi importantes, les porcs boiront le double d'eau fraîche (à 10 °C), par rapport à de l'eau tiède (25 °C).

La version anglaise complète de cet article, Management Practices to Reduce the Impact of Seasonal Infertility on Sow Herd Productivity, est disponible sur le site de la North Carolina State University.


Auteur : Greg Simpson - Swine Nutritionist/OMAFRA
Date de création : 01 August 2002
Dernière révision : 29 février 2012

For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca