Peat Moss for Piglets at Weaning

Weaning is one of the most stressful times in a pig's life. Not only does it mean big changes in social, thermal and physical environment, but it also means a huge change in diet form and composition. As a result, piglets often suffer from poor nutrient intakes and performance during this initial period following weaning, until they are able to make the necessary adjustments. To reduce stress during this period, many different techniques, including the development of special pre and post-weaning diets, have attempted to encourage pigs to consume dry feed and to stimulate the development of digestive capacity. The addition of peat moss, although it has little nutritive value, to piglet rations is one strategy that is showing some promise.

Not all sources of peat moss are created equal. Different sources of peat moss contain different compounds, including some that could contain harmful bacteria. Some of the beneficial compounds that have been described in certain sources of peat moss include:

  • easily fermentable fibre and other compounds that stimulate the growth of specific good bacteria (like lactobacilli) in the digestive tract of young pigs
  • compounds that may attach to the surface of the intestine, therefore providing competition for disease-causing bacteria
  • compounds that may adsorb some toxins present in feed or produced by bacteria in the intestine

Some of the benefits that have been associated with the feeding of peat moss during this critical time around weaning include:

  • improvement in gut health
  • stimulation of the development of digestive capacity
  • enhanced feed intake and performance shortly after weaning
  • an alternative source of iron that may compensate for the lack of iron in sow's milk

In a preliminary study completed in 1997, researchers at the University of Guelph observed that feeding peat moss to piglets tended to improve post-weaning performance and reduce the number of poor-doing pigs, but the differences were not statistically significant. These initial results led to a follow-up research trial, where piglets were provided either a control diet, 7.5% peat moss included in the diet, or free access to peat moss from one week post-farrowing to one week post-weaning.

Table 1 summarizes the results of the experiment. These results indicate that providing piglets free access to peat moss around the time of weaning resulted in increased weaning weights, increased pre-weaning average daily gains and tended to increase body weight 28 days after weaning. There were no differences between treatments in litter size, pre-weaning piglet mortality or post-weaning piglet survival rate.

These results are encouraging, especially in light of recent global backlash against antimicrobial use. As consumer acceptance shifts away from the use of antimicrobials in pig production, all possible alternatives are being. With the potential probiotic effects of peat moss, it may be part of the long-term solution.

Table 1. Effect of Peat Moss on Performance of Piglets around the Time of Weaning

 

Treatments

Control

Peat Moss in Diet

Control + Free Access to Peat Moss

Body Weight (kg)

Birth = Day 0

1.47

1.54

1.54

Day 14

4.40 a

4.77 ab

5.07 b

Wean (Day 18)

5.33

5.63

6.05

28 Days Post-weaning

14.56

14.74

15.74

Body Weight Gain (g/pig/day)

Birth - Wean

213 a

234 ab

249 b

Wean - 28 Days Post-weaning

329

325

346

Feed Intake- excluding peat moss (g/pig/day)

Birth - Wean

6

9

8

Wean - 7 Days Post-weaning

191

178

165

7 - 28 Days Post-weaning

535

561

583

Usage of Peat Moss (g/pig/day)

Day 7 - Wean

 
 

162

Wean - 7 Days Post-weaning

 
 

319

Feed:gain - excluding peat moss

Wean - 7 Days Post-weaning

1.05 a

1.26 b

1.15 ab

7 - 28 Days Post-weaning

1.43

1.48

1.43

a,b Within a row, means without a common superscript letter differ (P<0.05)

Source: deLange, C.F.M. and Faires, M. 2001. Peat moss to stimulate feed intake and performance of piglets around the time of weaning. 20th Annual Centralia Swine Research Update, January 31, 2001.

Note: The peat moss used in these experiments was Pig PerkTM, supplied by Zephyr Peat Land Harvesting in Mount Albert, Ontario.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Greg Simpson - Swine Nutritionist/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 01 April 2001
Last Reviewed: 29 Febuary 2012

Tourbe mousseuse pour le sevrage des porcelets


Le sevrage est l'un des moments les plus stressants dans la vie d'un porc. Non seulement est-il synonyme de changements importants de l'environnement physique, thermique et social mais aussi dans la composition et la forme du régime. En conséquence, les porcelets montrent souvent de faibles taux d'ingestion alimentaire et un mauvais rendement pendant la période initiale après le sevrage, jusqu'à ce qu'ils soient capables de s'ajuster. Pour réduire le stress durant cette période on a tenté par plusieurs techniques différentes, par exemple en élaborant des régimes spéciaux pré et post sevrage, d'encourager les porcs à consommer des aliments secs et de stimuler le développement de leurs capacités digestives. L'ajout de tourbe mousseuse, même si elle n'a que peu de valeur nutritive, aux rations des porcelets est une stratégie qui semble prometteuse.

Toutes les sphaignes n'ont pas les mêmes qualités nutritives, les différentes sources contiennent différents composés, certaines pouvant même compter des bactéries nuisibles. Parmi les composés bénéfiques de certaines sources, mentionnons :

  • les fibres facilement fermentables et les autres composés qui stimulent la croissance de certaines bactéries bénéfiques spécifiques (comme lactobacilli) dans le système digestif des jeunes porcs;
  • les composés qui peuvent en se fixant à la surface de la paroi de l'intestin entrer en compétition avec des bactéries sources de maladies;
  • les composés qui peuvent absorber certaines toxines présentes dans les aliments ou produites par les bactéries dans l'intestin.
    Voici certains des avantages associés à l'ajout de tourbe mousseuse dans les rations pendant la période critique qui entoure le sevrage :
  • meilleure santé de l'intestin;
  • stimulation du développement de la capacité digestive;
  • ingestion alimentaire et performance améliorées peu après le sevrage;
  • autre source de fer pouvant compenser pour le manque de cet élément dans le lait de la truie.

Dans une étude préliminaire terminée en 1997, des chercheurs de l'Université de Guelph ont observé que si on donne de la tourbe mousseuse aux porcelets, leur performance post sevrage a tendance à s'améliorer et le nombre de porcs en mauvaise santé est réduit, mais les différences n'étaient pas statistiquement marquantes. Ces résultats initiaux ont mené à un essai de suivi où les porcelets ont été nourris soit d'un régime témoin, soit d'un régime avec tourbe mousseuse à une teneur de 7,5 %, ou enfin les jeunes porcs avaient libre accès à de la tourbe mousseuse pour une période d'une semaine après le cochonnage à une semaine après le sevrage.

Le tableau 1 résume les résultats de l'expérience. Ces derniers indiquent que le libre accès à la tourbe pour les porcelets autour de la période du sevrage a permis une augmentation du poids de sevrage, des gains quotidiens moyens avant sevrage et aussi du poids 28 jours après le sevrage. On ne rapporte aucune différence entre les traitements du nombre de porcelets par litière, de la mortalité des porcelets avant sevrage ou du taux de survie des porcelets après le sevrage.

Ces résultats sont encourageants, surtout à la lumière des récentes réactions défavorables répandues contre l'utilisation d'agents antimicrobiens. Pendant que l'attention du consommateur semble se détourner de l'usage de ces agents, les autres possibilités sont considérées. Avec les effets probiotiques potentiels de la tourbe mousseuse, cette dernière pourrait faire partie de la solution à long terme.

Table 1. Effet de la tourbe mousseuse sur la performance des porcelets pendant la période qui entoure le sevrage

 
Traitements
 
Groupe témoin
Tourbe mousseuse dans la ration Groupe témoin + accès libre à la tourbe mousseuse
Poids (kg)
Naissance = jour 0
1,47
1,54
1,54
Jour 14
4,40 a
4.77 ab
5,07 b
Sevrage (jour 18)
5,33
5,63
6,05
28 jours après sevrage
14,56
14,74
15,74
Gain de poids (g/porc/jour)
Naissance - Sevrage
213 a
234 ab
249 b

Sevrage - 28 jours après sevrage
329
325
346
Consommation alimentaire - excluant la tourbe mousseuse (g/porc/jour)
Naissance - Sevrage
6
9
8
Sevrage - 7 jours après sevrage
191
178
165
7 - 28 jours après sevrage
535
561
583
Utilisation de la tourbe mousseuse (g/porc/jour)
Jour 7 - sevrage
 
 
162
Sevrage - 7 jours après sevrage
 
 
319
Rapport aliments:gain - excluant la tourbe mousseuse
Sevrage - 7 jours après sevrage
1,05 a
1,26 b
1,15 ab
7 - 28 jours après sevrage
1,43
1,48
1,43

a,b Sur la même rangée, la moyenne sans une lettre commune en indice supérieur diffère (P<0,05)

Source : deLange, C.F.M. and Faires, M. 2001. Peat moss to stimulate feed intake and performance of piglets around the time of weaning. 20th Annual Centralia Swine Research Update, January 31, 2001.

Note : la tourbe mousseuse utilisée dans cette expérience était Pig PerkTM, fournie par Zephyr Peat Land Harvesting de Mount Albert, Ontario.


Auteur : Greg Simpson - Spécialiste de la nutrition des porcs/MAAARO
Date de création : 01 avril 2001
Dernière révision : 29 février 2012

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca