Guidelines for Particle Size on Swine Operations

Particle size is an area where producers can significantly improve feed efficiency and lower feed cost per kg of gain. Research at Kansas State University has indicated that, for corn-based diets ranging in particle size from 1200 to 400 microns, there is a 1 to 1.5% improvement in feed efficiency for every 100 micron reduction in average particle size.

What is the "correct" particle size?

Current research suggests that the optimum particle size for pigs is 700-800 microns (0.7-0.8 mm). It is too expensive to grind any finer than this since the time and energy inputs often outweigh any improvement in feed efficiency.

Feed that is finer than 700 microns will produce ulcers in pigs very quickly. Research at the University of Guelph has shown that feed with a particle size of 550 microns produced ulcers in 90% of pigs in only 2 weeks; after 4 weeks the first pig died from bleeding ulcers.

As a rule, swine diets tend to be too coarse rather than too fine.

Particle size distribution

It is important to consider the distribution in particle size, not just the average. Obviously a consistent diet, with a narrow distribution would be ideal. Assess the level of extremes in the sample. Large percentages of dust (particles smaller than 150 microns) and very coarse particles (particles greater than 1200 microns) should be minimized.

Unfortunately, there has not been a lot of research into the appropriate distribution of particle size so there are no useful numeric guidelines for assessing what amount of variation is appropriate in your sample.

Maintaining particle size on-farm

The best, and really only, way to determine the appropriate screen size to use is to have samples analysed for particle size. Based on processing volumes, Kansas State University recommends that particle size should be checked every 500 to 700 tonnes of feed processed.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Greg Simpson - Swine Nutritionist/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 18 August 2000
Last Reviewed: 29 Febuary 2012

Directives sur la taille des particules dans les élevages porcins

 

La dimension des particules est l'un des secteurs où les éleveurs pourraient améliorer grandement la capacité de transformation des aliments et réduire le coût des aliments par kg de gain. Une recherche mené à la Kansas State University a indiqué que dans les régimes à base de maïs dont la taille des particules varie entre 1 200 et 400 microns, on améliore de 1 à 1,5 % la capacité de transformation des aliments pour chaque 100 microns de réduction de la taille des particules

Quelle est la taille « adéquate » des particules?


À l'heure actuelle la recherche indique une taille optimale des particules pour les porcs de 700-800 microns (0,7-0,8 mm). C'est onéreux de vouloir les couper plus finement, le temps et l'énergie qui y seraient consacrés dépasseraient souvent toute amélioration de l'efficience alimentaire.

Des aliments qui seraient coupés plus fins que 700 microns peuvent très rapidement causer des ulcères chez les porcs. Une recherche de l'Université de Guelph a indiqué que des particules de 550 microns avaient produit des ulcères chez 90 % des porcs en seulement deux semaines; après quatre semaines le premier porc est mort d'ulcères hémorragiques.

Généralement les rations pour les porcs sont plutôt coupées trop grossièrement que trop finement.

Répartition des tailles de particules

Il faut tenir compte de la répartition des tailles de particules, non seulement de la moyenne. Évidemment l'idéal serait un régime uniforme, avec une répartition étroite. Évaluez la quantité de tailles extrêmes dans un échantillon. De grands pourcentages de poussières (particules plus petites que 150 microns) et de particules très grossières (particules supérieures à 1 200 microns) doivent être minimisés. .


La répartition adéquate des tailles des particules n'a malheureusement pas fait l'objet de beaucoup de recherches, on ne dispose donc pas de directives relatives aux dimensions qui permettrait d'évaluer la quantité de variation qui serait appropriée dans l'échantillon.

Maintien de la taille des particules sur la ferme


La meilleure façon, et la seule en réalité, pour déterminer la taille de tamis approprié est de faire analyser des échantillons pour définir la taille des particules. Suivant les volumes de traitement, la Kansas State University recommande de vérifier la taille des particules toutes les 500 à 700 tonnes d'aliments traités.


Auteur : Greg Simpson - Spécialiste de la nutrition des porcs/MAAARO
Date de création : 18 août 2000
Dernière révision : 29 février 2012

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca