Feeding Vitamin D3

Tenderness is one of the most critical attributes in determining consumer satisfaction with pork. Modern consumers demand pork that is not only lean but also tender. Unfortunately, fast lean growth genetics and meat tenderness are not necessarily positively correlated. After many years of selection for higher lean growth genetics, the incidences of tough pork products has been increasing. The challenge for the pork industry is to produce leaner pork without sacrificing tenderness.

The connection between calcium and meat tenderness has been well defined through research. Postmortem tenderization of meat products is the result of the activities of a family of calcium-dependent enzymes present in the muscle, known as calpains. The activity of calpains, which are controlled by the calcium concentration in the muscle cause the breakdown of muscle fibers resulting in more tender meat.

Vitamin D3 increases the amount of free calcium transported across the intestinal wall, which results in increased levels of free calcium in the bloodstream and muscle. The efficacy of feeding a high dosage of Vitamin D3 to increase postmortem muscle calcium and improve meat tenderness has been investigated in beef and lamb. Results demonstrated an improved tenderness in beef, but not in lamb.

Researchers at the University of Illinois and Iowa State University recently conducted studies to investigate whether feeding high levels of Vitamin D3 to pigs before slaughter improves pork tenderness. They found that feeding high dosages of Vitamin D3 to pigs for several days prior to slaughter might result in dark colored pork, which might be of higher value to Asian consumers. However, results from both studies failed to show positive effects on pork tenderness. Table 1 is a summary of the two studies.

Table 1. Summary of two studies investigating the effects of feeding high levels of Vitamin D3 prior to slaughter on pork tenderness and other pork quality traits

Illinois Study Iowa Study
Number of pigs (#) 36 24
Genetics Yorkshire x Duroc and Not specified
purebred Duroc pigs
Dosage of Vitamin D3 used (IU/kg of feed) 1) 331 200,000
2) 55,031
3) 176,000
Duration of Vitamin D3 Supplementation 10 days prior to slaughter 3 days prior to slaughter

Results:

Illinois Study

  • No tenderness improvement
  • Improved color and firmness scores in loin chops and reduced drip loss
  • Reduced feed intake and growth performance

Iowa Study

  • No tenderness improvement
  • Improved color
  • No detrimental effects on feed intake or other performance parameters

References:

Wiegand B. R. et al. 2002. Short-term feeding of Vitamin D3 improves color but does not change tenderness of pork-loin chops.

J. Anim. Sci. 80:2116-2121.

Enright Kendra, et al. 1998. The influence of level of dietary Vitamin D3 supplementation and post-mortem aging time on pork quality.

Swanek S. S. et al. 1997. Effects of supplemental Vitamin D3 on meat tenderness.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

 


Author: Wayne Du - Pork Quality Assurance Program Lead/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 01 December 2002
Last Reviewed: 16 Febuary 2016

Supplément de vitamine D3

En ce qui concerne le porc, la tendreté est l'un des attributs les plus déterminants de la satisfaction des clients. Les consommateurs modernes le veulent non seulement maigre, mais aussi tendre. Malheureusement, gène pour une croissance musculaire rapide et viande maigre ne vont pas nécessairement de pair avec la tendreté de la viande. Après de nombreuses années de sélection de gènes visant une croissance rapide et une viande plus maigre, les cas de produits de porc coriaces ne cessent d'augmenter. L'industrie du porc doit maintenant relever le défi, soit produire du porc plus maigre sans en sacrifier la tendreté.

Le lien entre le calcium et la tendreté de la viande a été clairement établi par la recherche. L'attendrissage postmoderne des produits carnés résulte de l'activité d'une famille d'enzymes dépendantes du calcium du muscle, appelées calpaïnes. Leur activité, qui dépend de la concentration de calcium dans le muscle, entraîne la décomposition des fibres musculaires et produit ainsi une viande plus tendre.

La vitamine D3 fait augmenter la quantité de calcium libre qui traverse la paroi intestinale, ce qui a pour effet d'augmenter la quantité de calcium libre dans le sang et dans le muscle. Des recherches ont été menées pour vérifier si un supplément d'une forte dose de vitamine D3 faisait augmenter la quantité de calcium dans le muscle post mortem et améliorait ainsi la tendreté de la viande de bœuf et d'agneau. Le bœuf s'est effectivement avéré plus tendre, mais pas l'agneau.

Des chercheurs de la University of Illinois et de la Iowa State University ont récemment mené des études pour vérifier si de fortes doses de vitamine D3 données comme supplément alimentaire aux porcs avant l'abattage en amélioraient la tendreté. Leurs études ont démontré que la viande des porcs ayant reçu de fortes doses de vitamine D3 pendant plusieurs jours avant l'abattage peut parfois être plus foncée et ainsi avoir une plus grande valeur sur le marché asiatique. Toutefois, les résultats des deux études n'ont pas montré d'effet positif sur la tendreté. Le Tableau 1 résume les deux études.

Tableau 3. Sommaire des deux études sur les effets de fortes doses de vitamine D3 données aux porcs comme supplément alimentaire avant l'abattage sur la tendreté et d'autres attributs.

Étude de l'Illinois Étude de l'Iowa
Nombre de porcs
36 24
Génétique
Yorkshire x Duroc et pas précisé
porcs Duroc de pure race
Dose de vitamine D3 donnée (UI/kg de nourriture)
1) 331 200 000
2) 55 031
3) 176 000
Nombre de jours où les porcs ont reçu un supplément de vitamine D3
10 jours avant l'abattage 3 jours avant l'abattage

Résultats:

Étude de l'Illinois
  • Pas d'amélioration de la tendreté
  • Meilleur résultat quant à la couleur et à la fermeté des côtelettes de longe et réduction des pertes de liquide
  • Diminution de la quantité d'aliments ingérés et croissance moindre
Étude de l'Iowa
  • Pas d'amélioration de la tendreté
  • Couleur améliorée
  • Aucun effet négatif sur la quantité d'aliments ingérés ni sur d'autres critères de performance

Références :

  1. Wiegand B. R. et al. 2002. Short-term feeding of Vitamin D3 improves color but does not change tenderness of pork-loin chops.
  2. J. Anim. Sci. 80:2116-2121.
  3. Enright Kendra, et al. 1998. The influence of level of dietary Vitamin D3 supplementation and post-mortem aging time on pork quality.
  4. Swanek S. S. et al. 1997. Effects of supplemental Vitamin D3 on meat tenderness.

Auteur : Wayne Du - chef du programme d'assurance de la qualité du porc/MAAARO
Date de création : 01 decembre 2002
Dernière révision : 16 mars 2016

For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca