Feeding Management - $how Me the Money

In order to be competitive in the pork industry, producers need to have a firm grasp of their cost of production. Since feed costs represent a large proportion of the total cost of production, they offer producers the greatest opportunity for reducing costs. You have heard it at least a hundred times before, but it is still true… feed costs represent 65-70% of the variable cost of producing a pig. Table 1 shows an example of feed usage and costs from a 300-sow farrow-to-finish operation selling 6000 market pigs.

Table 1. On-Farm Feed Usage and Costs
Stage of Production Total Feed (tonne/yr) % of Total Feed Cost of Total Feed ($) % of Total Cost

Sows/Boars

342

17

$75,582

15

Weaners
195
9
$80,925
16
Growers/Finishers
1533
74
$343,392
69

Totals

2070

100

$499,899

100

Source: Pork New & Views Budget, October 2003
Feed Consumption and Cost:

Sows/Boars - 1140 kg/sow @ $221/tonne
Weaners - 32.5 kg/pig @ $415/tonne
Growers/Finishers - 255.6 kg/pig @ $224/tonne

Even though you may not have control over the cost of feed ingredients or complete feeds, you do have control over how you use that feed. Consider your options for reducing feed costs by asking yourself the following questions.

Are you feeding your pigs according to their potential? Do you routinely monitor feed intake and growth performance? Feeding pigs to achieve optimum performance requires knowledge of their genetic potential for growth. High lean pigs, for example, require finely tuned rations with special attention to amino acid balance to perform at their best.

Are you focussing on strategies that can reap the greatest benefits? Feed efficiency is the single most important factor that determines feed cost/pig. At a cost of $210/tonne, each 0.1 unit improvement in feed efficiency will save over $1.60/pig (see Table 2). Since grower/finisher pigs represent about 74% of the total feed fed on-farm and 69% of total feed cost, any effort aimed at increasing efficiency and decreasing costs should start in the grower/finisher barn. Table 2 shows the effect of feed efficiency on feed cost/pig at various feed prices.

Table 2. Effect of Feed Efficiency on Feed Cost ($/Pig)

Feed Efficiency

Price of Feed ($/tonne)

$160

$190

$210

$240

3.5

$44.80

$53.20

$58.80

$67.20

3.3

$42.24

$50.16

$55.44

$63.36

3.1

$39.68

$47.12

$52.08

$59.52

3.0

$38.40

$45.60

$50.40

$57.60

2.9

$37.12

$44.08

$48.72

$55.68

2.7

$34.56

$41.04

$45.36

$51.84

2.5

$32.00

$38.00

$42.00

$48.00

Are you split-sex feeding? Barrows have a lower requirement for energy and protein than gilts, especially at heavier weights. Split-sex feeding takes advantage of the opportunity to feed barrows and gilts separately to more closely match the nutrient requirements of the different sexes, which can result in savings of $1/pig (see Table 3).

Are you phase feeding? Phase feeding allows you to tailor rations to the nutrient requirements of the pig in a step-wise fashion as it grows. As a result, this strategy limits the excesses associated with feeding one ration. Producers who go from a single ration to 2 phases in the growing/finishing barn can expect to save $2/pig (see Table 3). Each step up in the number of phases in the feeding program results in half of the benefit of the previous step.

Do you check and adjust your feeders regularly? Improperly adjusted feeders can contribute to a major feed wastage problem. If you can see feed on the floor, at least 10% is being wasted and at $210/tonne, you are losing over $5/pig. Feeders should be checked daily, if possible, and if adjusted properly, you should be able to see roughly 50% of the bottom of the feeder. On the other hand, be sure not to restrict flow too much because, in the long run, reduced intakes will likely be more expensive than a moderate amount of waste. The design of the feeder also plays a critical role in feed wastage. If feed wastage is a problem in your operation, you may want to consider the pros and cons of new feeders - they may quickly pay for themselves if you can realize a 5% improvement in feed efficiency by decreasing waste.

What is your particle size? By optimizing the particle size of your rations, you can quickly see improvements in feed efficiency. The industry standard for particle size is 600-800 microns. A Kansas State University study shows a 1.2% improvement in feed efficiency, which translates into $0.50/pig, with every 100 micron reduction in grain particle size to the optimum range.

If you are mixing your own feed, how would you describe your on-farm quality control program? If your answer is "non-existent", you may have a problem that could be costing you time and money without even knowing it. Your quality control program should include regular mill maintenance, calibration and scheduled analysis of feed ingredients and complete feeds. Errors in mixing that throw nutrient levels off by as little as 10% can lead to losses as high as $2/pig (see Table 3). In addition, if you feed antibiotics on-farm, extra attention must be paid to observing withdrawal times to avoid penalties due to drug residues.

What is the health status of your herd? Improving herd health will ensure that your pigs are using valuable nutrients to grow rather than fight off disease. The value of high health versus low or average health pigs can be in the range of $4-7/pig (see Table 3).

Are you considering using by-products to cut costs? It is important to evaluate any ration changes carefully. Cheaper feed ingredients may decrease feed cost/tonne but if they compromise pig performance to the point that overall cost of production suffers, what have you gained in the long run? Weigh the pros and cons of switching to by-products by considering not only price, but storage and handling issues, the limitations of your feeding system, whether or not you require a licence to feed them, as well as implications on pig performance, pork quality and safety.

Are you using feed additives to enhance performance? Feed additives have to pay their way by providing a higher return through improved feed efficiency or faster growth. Weigh the pros and cons of any additive prior to making changes by performing a cost:benefit analysis. If an additive will improve feed efficiency by 0.1 unit in the growing/finishing phase, at a cost of $210/tonne for feed, it is worth $1.68/pig. This means that the breakeven cost of including that feed additive is about $6.50/tonne of feed.

Table 3. Opportunities to Improve Margins in the Grower/Finisher Barn

Strategy

Comparison

Net Difference
($/pig place/yr)

Net Difference
($/pig)

Health Status

High vs. Low
$22
$7.33

High vs. Compromised

$12

$4

Correct Market Weight

109 vs. 105 kg

$7

$2.33

109 vs. 115 kg
$6
$2

Minimal Variation in Carcass

STD of 4 vs. 6 kg

$9

$3

Lean Growth Rate

395 vs. 310 g/day

$17

$5.67

440 vs. 395 g/day
$7
$2.33

Correct Particle Size

650 vs. 1250 microns

$13

$4.33

Low Feed Wastage

5 vs. 11%

$9

$3

5 vs. 8%
$5
$1.67

Optimum Mixing Accuracy

0 vs. +/- 10%

$6

$2

Phase Feeding

2 vs. 1 phase

$6

$2

3 vs. 2 phase
$3
$1
4 vs. 3 phase
$1.50
$0.50
Split-sex vs. Mixed
$3
$1

Source: Leantec II Growth Model, K deLange, U of Guelph and B. Marty, Agribrands Purina Canada Inc.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Greg Simpson, Swine Nutritionist/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 01 November 2003
Last Reviewed: 29 Febuary 2012

Gestion de l'alimentation : où va l'argent?

Pour être concurrentiel dans l'industrie porcine, les éleveurs doivent bien maîtriser leurs coûts de production. Comme le coût des aliments représente une large part du total des coûts de production, c'est aussi là que résident les meilleures possibilités de les réduire. On vous l'a dit cent fois plutôt qu'une, est-ce encore vrai? Les coûts des aliments représentent de 65 à 70 % des frais variables de production d'un porc. Le tableau 1 donne un exemple d'utilisation de la ration et des coûts d'une exploitation de naissage - engraissage comptant 300 truies et qui vend 6 000 porcs de marché.

 

Tableau 1. Utilisation des aliments sur la ferme et coûts

Stade de productionTotal des aliments (en tonnes/an)% du total des alimentsCoût du total des aliments (en $)% du coût total
Truies - verrats
342
17
75 582
$ 15
Porcelets sevrés
195
9
80 925
$ 16
Croissance - engraissement 1
533
74
343 392
$ 69
Totaux
2 070
100
499 899
$ 100

Source : budget publié dans le bulletin Pork New & Views, octobre 2003

Consommation et coût des aliments :
Truies - verrats - 1 140 kg/truie @ 221 $/tonne
Porcelets sevrés - 32,5 kg/porc @ 415 $/tonne
Croissance - engraissement - 255,6 kg/porc @ 224 $/tonne


Même si vous n'avez aucun contrôle sur le coût des ingrédients des rations ou des moulées complètes, vous maîtrisez toutefois la façon de les utiliser. Comparez les choix qui s'offrent à vous en réfléchissant aux questions suivantes.

Nourrissez-vous vos porcs selon leur potentiel? Surveillez-vous habituellement l'ingestion alimentaire et la performance de croissance de vos porcs? Pour nourrir les porcs en fonction de leur rendement optimal il faut connaître leur potentiel génétique de croissance. Pour les porcs à haute teneur en viande maigre par exemple, il faut bien formuler les rations et miser surtout sur l'équilibre des acides aminés pour qu'ils performent à leur meilleur.
Adoptez-vous les stratégies qui procurent les plus grands avantages? Le facteur le plus important pour déterminer le coût des aliments/porc est la capacité de transformation des aliments. À un coût de 210 $/tonne, pour chaque 0,1 d'amélioration de la capacité de transformation des aliments il y a une économie de plus de 1,60 $/porc (voir au tableau 2). Comme les porcs de croissance - engraissement représentent environ 74 % du coût des aliments consommés sur la ferme et 69 % du coût total des aliments, toute mesure pour améliorer la capacité de transformation et diminuer les coûts doit viser les porcs de croissance - engraissement. Le tableau 2 montre les effets de la capacité de transformation des aliments sur le coût des aliments/porc, selon les prix des aliments.

Tableau 2. Effet de la capacité de transforma-tion sur le coût des aliments ($/porc)

Capacité de transformation des alimentsPrix des aliments pour animaux ($/tonne)
160 $ 190 $ 210 $ 240 $
3,5
44,80 $
53,20 $
58,80 $
67,20 $
3,3
42,24 $
50,16 $
55,44 $
63,36 $
3,1
39,68 $
47,12 $
52,08 $
59,52 $
3,0
38,40 $
45,60 $
50,40 $
57,60 $
2,9
37,12 $
44,08 $
48,72 $
55,68 $
2,7
34,56 $
41,04 $
45,36 $
51,84 $
2,5
32,00 $
38,00 $
42,00 $
48,00 $


Formulez-vous les rations selon le sexe de l'animal? Les castrats ont des besoins énergétiques et protéiques moindres que les jeunes truies, surtout à un poids plus élevé. En nourrissant les porcs différemment selon le sexe, vous pouvez mieux répondre aux besoins spécifiques de chaque groupe, ce qui correspond à une économie de 1 $/porc (voir le tableau 3).

Pratiquez-vous l'alimentation multiphase? Si vous divisez les aliments en phases, vous formulez les rations de façon plus précise pour mieux correspondre aux besoins nutritifs de l'animal selon son étape de croissance. Cette stratégie permet de limiter une trop grande quantité de certains éléments nutritifs quand les porcs n'ont accès qu'à un seul type de ration. Les éleveurs qui divisent les aliments en 2 phases à l'étape de croissance - engraissement constateront une économie de 2 $/porc (se référer au tableau 3). Chaque accroissement du nombre de phases du programme alimentaire procure la moitié des avantages de l'étape précédente.

Vérifiez-vous et rajustez-vous régulièrement les distributeurs d'aliments? Des distributeurs mal ajustés peuvent contribuer à beaucoup de gaspillage. Quand on trouve des aliments par terre, il y a au moins 10 % de gaspillage et à 210 $/tonne, c'est une perte de plus de 5 $ par porc. Vérifiez vos distributeurs chaque jour quand c'est possible et s'ils sont bien réglés vous devriez voir presque 50 % du fond du distributeur. Par ailleurs, assurez-vous de ne pas trop ralentir l'écoulement parce qu'à la longue, une ingestion réduite serait plus onéreuse qu'une quantité moyenne gaspillée. Le type de distributeur importe aussi contre le gaspillage. Si le gaspillage atteint un seuil problématique dans votre installation, vous voudrez peut-être vous procurer de nouveaux distributeurs dont le prix sera vite amorti si vous réalisez une amélioration de 5 % de l'indice de conversion alimentaire en diminuant le gaspillage.

Quelle taille de particules d'aliments convient le mieux aux porcs? Si vous optimisez la taille des particules des aliments, vous constatez rapidement une amélioration de la conversion alimentaire. La norme dans l'industrie est de 600 à 800 microns. Une recherche de la Kansas State University montre un amélioration de la transformation des aliments de 1,2 %, soit 0,50 $/porc, avec chaque réduction de 100 microns de la taille des particules d'aliments par rapport à l'intervalle optimal.

Si vous mélangez votre propre ration, comment décririez-vous votre programme de contrôle de qualité sur la ferme? Si vous répondez " non existant ", vous pourriez vous retrouver sans le savoir aux prises avec un problème dévorant temps et argent. Un bon programme de contrôle de la qualité comprend la maintenance régulière des instruments de coupe, le calibrage et l'analyse des ingrédients composant les aliments et les rations complètes. Des mélanges dont les teneurs en ingrédients varient de 10 % peuvent entraîner des pertes de 2 $/porc (voir le tableau 3). De plus, si vous administrez des antibiotiques sur la ferme, redoublez de prudence et observez les délais d'attente car des sanctions sont prévues en cas de résidus de médicaments dans la viande.

Quel est l'état de santé de votre troupeau? Si votre troupeau est en santé, vos porcs utilisent les éléments nutritifs importants pour leur croissance plutôt que pour combattre la maladie. Un excellent état de santé par rapport à un état faible ou moyen peut faire une différence entre 4 à 7 $/porc (voir le tableau 3).

Songez-vous aux sous-produits pour réduire vos coûts? Il faut considérer avec soin tout changement dans la composition des rations. Des ingrédients moins chers peuvent diminuer le coûts des aliments/tonne mais s'ils affaiblissent la performance des porcs au point où le coût global de production en souffre, qu'avez-vous gagné à long terme? Il faut bien évaluer le pour et le contre avant d'adopter des sous-produits et outre le prix, penser à l'entreposage et à la manutention, aux limites du système d'alimentation, s'il faut ou non un permis pour les servir aux animaux, ainsi qu'aux conséquences sur le rendement des porcs, à la qualité et à l'innocuité de la viande de porc.

Utilisez-vous des additifs dans vos aliments pour rehausser la performance? Les additifs doivent être vraiment rentables, offrir une performance élevée, améliorer la transformation des aliments et procurer une croissance plus rapide. Il faut bien peser le pour et le contre avant l'ajout d'additifs et effectuer une analyse coûts bénéfices. Si un additif augmente la conversion alimentaire de 0,1 au stade croissance - engraissement, au coût de 210 $/tonne d'aliments, il équivaut à 1,68 $/porc. Le seuil de rentabilité pour inclure cet additif est donc d'environ 6,50 $/tonne d'aliments.

 

Tableau 3. Possibilités d'améliorer les marges pour les porcs de croissance - engraissement

StratégieComparaison Différence nette
($/par empl. porc/an)
Différence nette
($/porc)
État de santé
Élevé comparé à faible
22 $
7,33 $
Élevé comparé à affaibli
12 $
4 $
Poids de marché correct
109 comparé à 105 kg
7 $
2,33 $
109 comparé à 115 kg
6 $
2 $
Variation minimale de la carcasse
Standard de 4 comparé à 6 kg
9 $
3 $
Taux de croissance en viande maigre

395 comparé à 310 g/jour
17 $
5,67 $
440 comparé 395 g/jour
7 $
2,33 $
Taille correcte des particules
650 comparé à 1 250 microns
13 $
4,33 $
Peu de gaspillage des aliments

5 comparé à 11 %
9 $
3 $

5 comparé à 8 %
5 $
1,67 $
Exactitude optimale du mélange
0 comparé à +/- 10 %
6 $
2 $
Alimentation multiphase ou formulation selon le sexe
2 phases comparées à 1
6 $
2 $
3 phases comparées à 2
3 $
1 $
4 phases comparées à 3
1,50 $
0,50 $
Selon le sexe comparé aux aliments mélangés
3 $
1 $

Référence : Leantec II Growth Model, K de Lange, Université de Guelph et B. Marty, Agribrands Purina Canada Inc.


Auteur : Greg Simpson - Spécialiste de la nutrition des porcs/MAAARO
Date de création : 01 novembre 2003
Dernière révision : 29 février 2012

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca