Growth Models for Commercial Pork Production

In the real world, it is a challenge to figure out the best feeding or management strategy for individual grower-finisher operations. Many factors influence this strategy, including pig performance potentials, physical farm layout, feed intake, environmental conditions, potential feed ingredients, feed processing, and payment systems. To complicate things even further, the best strategy may change over time as environmental or economic conditions within the industry change.

A pig growth model can integrate all of the existing knowledge of nutrient utilization for growth and animal-environment interactions into a single computer program. In this way, models can be effective tools for identifying the most appropriate strategy for individual grower-finisher units, by simulating alternative management and feeding strategies and assessing how they measure up.

Over the past 15 years, a model has been developed by the International Pig Growth Modeling Group, a collaboration between researchers at the University of Guelph, Massey University (New Zealand), Wageningen Agricultural University (The Netherlands), and Agribrands International. A recent paper in the Canadian Journal of Animal Science described the principles involved in the development and application of computerized pig growth models for commercial pork production.

According to researchers, the majority of the pig growth models being used in the industry today are based on energy and amino acid utilization. This makes sense since the efficiency of pork production hinges on these factors and feed is the single greatest cost in raising pigs - energy and amino acids account for more than 80% of the nutrient cost in practical pig diets.

In order to predict economically important production traits, the specifics of an operation need to be reflected accurately within the framework of the model. To accomplish this, the program needs to incorporate information on initial and final body weights, available nutrient levels in feed ingredients and diets, number of rations fed, physical layout of the operation, carcass evaluation and payment systems, prices of products and resources, and production goals. Other information, that is important to ensure the accuracy of the growth model but more difficult to quantify, includes protein deposition rates and the amount of feed consumed at various stages of growth.

One of the greatest challenges facing growth modelers is the prediction of feed intake at various stages of growth, or the establishment of the feed intake curve. Feed intake is influenced by many things, including the animal itself (body weight, sex, health status), the feed being consumed (form, quality and composition), the surrounding environment (environmental temperature, water quality and availability, feeder and pen design), and by interactions between these factors. Estimates of feed intake help nutritionists formulate the right level of dietary nutrients once the daily nutrient requirements have been established. Feed intake is also closely related to growth rate, feed conversion, carcass value and, ultimately, profitability. Independent data has shown that there is a large variation in feed intake on commercial farms in Canada, supporting the need to continuously track feed intake at different stages of growth.

According to researchers, there are many practical applications of models in commercial pig production. Models can be used as an educational tool to demonstrate the basic principles of nutrient utilization for growth in pigs. More in-depth knowledge of the interactions between factors helps a nutritionist understand why groups of animals, managed under varying conditions, may respond differently to similar diets and why different diets are necessary under various conditions.

Models can also be used to develop realistic production goals. If actual performance differs greatly from predicted performance, then models can be used to systematically evaluate why these differences are occurring.

Models can be useful in answering basic questions and examining "what-if" scenarios that may apply to many different facilities. For example, the effects of changes in the carcass grading system on the optimum shipping strategy can be measured. A nutritionist can use a growth model to make general feeding recommendations based on a limited number of observations, such as maximum protein deposition and observed levels of feed intake in grower-finisher pigs.

Growth models can be used to assess an infinite number of management and feeding strategies to decide on the most profitable strategy for an individual operation. In order to accomplish this, the various steps involved include:

  • Establishing accurate feed intake curves and maximum protein deposition.
  • Comparing current observed levels of animal performance to what the model predicted, in order to finetune the system.
  • Clearly identifying the feeding and management strategies to be considered.
  • Identifying production goals.
  • Zeroing in on the best solution by using the model to generate performance predictions for each management and feeding strategy and determining how well they measure up.
  • Double-checking that the suggested changes to the management or feeding strategy do result in real-world changes in animal and economic performance.
  • Regular reviews of potential feeding and management strategies as pig conditions, environmental conditions or economic conditions change.

According to the researchers, regardless of the model being used, effective communication with the producer is paramount to establishing the production goals of the operation. Bottom line is the best feeding and management strategy will depend on whether the goal is to maximize the animals' lean growth potential (for breeders), income per pig (for producers with a limited supply of weaner pigs), or income per pig place per year (when space is the limiting factor).

Source: de Lange, C. F. M., Marty, B. J., Birkett, S., Morel, P. and Szkotnicki, B. 2001. Application of pig growth models in commercial pork production. Can. J. Anim. Sci. 81: 1-8.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Greg Simpson - Swine Nutritionist/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 01 December 2000
Last Reviewed: 16 Febuary 2016

Modèles de croissance pour les élevages de porcs commerciaux

Concrètement, c'est un défi de trouver la meilleure stratégie de gestion ou d'alimentation dans une exploitation de croissance engraissement. De nombreux facteurs influent sur la stratégie, dont les potentiels de performance des porcs, l'aménagement physique de la ferme, la consommation alimentaire, les conditions environnementales, les ingrédients composant la ration, la transformation des aliments et les systèmes de paiement. Pour compliquer encore les choses, la meilleure stratégie est souvent modifiée avec le temps selon l'évolution des conditions économiques ou environnementales dans l'industrie.

Un modèle de croissance des porcs peut intégrer dans le même logiciel toutes les données existantes sur l'utilisation des éléments nutritifs pour la croissance de l'animal et les interactions entre ce dernier et son environnement. À cet égard, les modèles constituent des outils efficaces pour définir la stratégie la plus appropriée pour les exploitations de croissance engraissement individuelles, en simulant différentes stratégies d'alimentation et de gestion pour en évaluer les avantages.

Depuis 15 ans, un modèle a été élaboré par l'International Pig Growth Modeling Group, une initiative regroupant des chercheurs de l'Université de Guelph, de Massey University (en Nouvelle-Zélande), de Wageningen Agricultural University (aux Pays-Bas) et Agribrands International. Un récent article dans la Revue canadienne de science animale a décrit les principes nécessaires à l'élaboration et à l'application des modèles de croissance des porcs dans l'industrie porcine commerciale.

Selon les chercheurs, la majorité des modèles de croissance des porcs en usage de nos jours dans l'industrie sont basés sur l'utilisation de l'énergie et des acides aminés. En effet, l'efficacité de la production porcine repose sur ces facteurs et l'alimentation y représente le coût le plus important; l'énergie et les acides aminés comptant pour plus de 80 % du coût des éléments nutritifs des rations données aux porcs.

Pour simuler d'importantes caractéristiques de production du point de vue économique, les détails d'une exploitation doivent être reflétés de façon exacte dans le modèle. Pour y arriver, le programme doit compiler des données sur les poids vifs initiaux et finaux, les teneurs en éléments nutritifs disponibles dans les ingrédients des aliments et des régimes, le nombre de rations servies, l'aménagement physique de l'exploitation, les systèmes d'évaluation des carcasses et de paiement, les coûts des produits et des ressources et les objectifs de production. D'autres renseignements, comme les taux de dépôt de protéines et les quantités d'aliments ingérées aux différents stades de croissance, sont plus difficiles à quantifier mais tout aussi importants pour assurer l'exactitude du modèle.
Comment prédire l'ingestion alimentaire aux différents stades de la croissance, ou comment établir la courbe de consommation alimentaire constitue l'un des plus grands défis auxquels sont confrontés les concepteurs de modèles. La consommation d'aliments est influencée par nombre d'éléments en commençant par l'animal lui-même (poids vif, sexe, état de santé), les aliments qui sont consommés (forme, qualité et composition), le milieu environnant (température ambiante, qualité de l'eau et disponibilité, aménagement des distributeurs d'aliments et des box) et par les interactions entre ces divers facteurs. Les quantités d'aliments ingérés estimatives permettent aux spécialistes en nutrition de formuler le bon niveau d'éléments nutritifs une fois qu'ils ont établi les besoins alimentaires quotidiens. L'ingestion d'aliments est aussi étroitement liée au taux de croissance, à la conversion alimentaire, à la valeur de la carcasse et enfin à la rentabilité. Des données de sources indépendantes ont démontré une grande variation de l'ingestion alimentaire sur les fermes commerciales au Canada, il importe donc de constamment surveiller la consommation alimentaire aux différents stades de la croissance.

Selon les chercheurs, les modèles offrent de nombreuses applications pratiques dans la production porcine commerciale. Ils peuvent servir d'outils éducatifs pour démontrer les principes de base de l'utilisation des éléments nutritifs dans la croissance des porcs. Des connaissances plus approfondies des interactions entre les différents facteurs permettent aux spécialistes en nutrition de mieux comprendre pourquoi des groupes d'animaux, gérés dans des conditions variables, réagissent différemment à des rations similaires et pourquoi des rations différentes sont nécessaires quand les conditions varient.

On peut aussi établir des objectifs de production réalistes grâce aux modèles. Si la performance réelle diffère grandement de celle prévue, on peut définir systématiquement la raison de ces différences avec les modèles.
Ces derniers sont utiles pour répondre à des questions de base, faire des simulations et examiner quels scénarios s'appliquent à des exploitations différentes. Par exemple, ils peuvent mesurer comment des changements au système de classement des carcasses peuvent influer sur la stratégie d'expédition optimale. L'expert en nutrition peut se servir des modèles pour faire des recommandations générales sur les rations selon un nombre limité d'observations, comme les dépôts protéiques maximaux et les taux d'ingestion alimentaire observés chez les porcs de croissance engraissement.

Ces modèles de croissance permettent aussi d'évaluer un nombre infini de stratégies de gestion et de nutrition pour décider de la plus rentable sur une exploitation. Pour ce faire, suivre les étapes suivantes :

  • établir les courbes d'ingestion exactes et le dépôt protéique maximal;
  • comparer les niveaux de performance actuels de l'animal par rapport à ce qui est prévu par le modèle, afin de peaufiner le système;
  • définir clairement les stratégies de gestion et d'alimentation à considérer;
  • identifier les objectifs de production;
  • rechercher la meilleure solution en faisant générer par le modèle des prévisions pour chacune des stratégies de gestion et d'alimentation et voir comment elles se comparent;
  • vérifier à quelques reprises que les changements suggérés à la stratégie de gestion ou d'alimentation donnent des résultats réels tant chez l'animal que du point de vue économique;
  • les stratégies de gestion et d'alimentation potentielles sont à revoir régulièrement suivant les changements dans l'état des porcs, l'environnement et les conditions économiques.

D'après les chercheurs, peu importe le modèle utilisé, une communication efficace avec l'éleveur est primordiale pour établir les objectifs de production de l'exploitation. En bout de ligne, la meilleure stratégie de gestion et d'alimentation dépendra du but recherché, qu'il s'agisse d'optimiser le potentiel de croissance en viande maigre de l'animal (pour les sélectionneurs), le revenu par porc (pour les éleveurs dont l'approvisionnement en porcelets sevrés est limité) ou le revenu par emplacement de porc par année (quand la surface est limitée).

Référence : de Lange, C. F. M., Marty, B. J., Birkett, S., Morel, P. and Szkotnicki, B. 2001. Application of pig growth models in commercial pork production. Can. J. Anim. Sci. 81: 1-8.


Auteur : Greg Simpson - Spécialiste de la nutrition des porcs/MAAARO
Date de création : 01 décembre 2000
Dernière révision : 16 février 2016

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca