Establishing Tolerable Ergot Levels for Weaned Pigs

Ergot is a fungal disease that primarily affects wheat, barley, triticale and rye. It is most often seen in years where wet weather prevails in the spring and early summer or during the flowering stage of cereal crops. An ergot infection may not necessarily reduce grain yield but it will definitely have an impact on grain quality. As a result of the infection, the grain kernels are replaced with poisonous alkaloid-containing ergot sclerotia, hardened bodies that are formed by the fungus.

The effect of feeding ergot-contaminated grain to pigs is not consistent, and ultimately depends on both the ergot content and the alkaloid concentration. The Canadian Grain Commission currently allows 0.02% ergot by weight in the highest grade wheat to 0.10% for the lowest grade of most wheat classes. When pork producers are considering their options, whether to sell contaminated wheat or to keep it for feeding to their herd, questions arise as to the acceptable level of ergot in swine diets. Although it is technically possible to remove ergot from cereal grains, complete removal may be impossible or impractical in a commercial setting. As a result, it would be very useful to define safe upper limits for the use of ergot-contaminated grain in swine diets.

Ergotism is generally associated with poor performance in pigs and alkaloids are generally thought to inhibit the secretion of certain hormones that may interfere with the development of the mammary glands and lactation. Since so little information exists to help producers make sound decisions on safe feeding levels of wheat containing ergot to swine, researchers at the Prairie Swine Centre set out to investigate the problem. The objectives of the experiment were to define the quantity of ergot and ergot alkaloids that may be included in the diet of weaned pigs without negatively affecting performance, and to identify clinical signs that may be used to identify low-level ergo-toxicity.

For the experiment, wheat ergot sclerotia were isolated and added on a weight basis to a basal diet at 0.00 (control), 0.05, 0.10, 0.25, 0.50, and 1.00% and fed to 192 weaned pigs for 28 days, beginning 7 days post-weaning. The ergot sclerotia used in the experiment contained 1880 mg/kg total alkaloids, with a range of 110 to 755 mg/kg for the five individual alkaloids measured. (Refer to Table 1 for the itemized levels of ergot and associated alkaloids included in each dietary treatment.) In addition to tracking performance parameters throughout the experiment, pigs were also monitored daily for abnormal behaviour and any signs of ergotism, such as gangrenous lesions on the extremities (snout, ears, eyelids, and limbs).

The performance results are summarized in Table 1. Pigs fed the 1.00% diet gained 37% less than the control. Ergot alkaloids decreased average daily intake by 10% and feed efficiency by 29% over the entire period although average daily intake was not affected during the initial 14 days of the trial. The researchers suggest that it is reasonable to conclude that the reduction in feed consumption during that last 2 weeks of the experiment was a result of an overall increase in the intake of alkaloids as a proportion of body weight. The results suggest that the maximum tolerable ergot level in the diet was 0.10 and 0.05% based on average daily gain and average daily feed intake, respectively, corresponding to 2.07 mg and 1.04 mg alkaloid/kg diet.

The researchers also measured prolactin concentrations from blood samples taken from the pigs. Prolactin is a hormone that is necessary in normal development of mammary glands in gilts and the expression of maximum milk potential in lactating sows. Ergot alkaloid consumption severely reduced serum prolactin concentrations by an average of 43% for all treatments compared to the control. The researchers suggest that, until further data is available on the impact of consuming ergot-contaminated feed on future reproductive performance of gilts, feed containing ergot may not be suitable for pigs that are destined to enter the breeding herd. The long-term effects on reproductive development are simply unknown.

Consumption of up to 1.00% ergot by piglets did not show any external symptoms of ergotism. As the results suggest, reduced feed intake may not necessarily be apparent during low-level ergo-toxicity in the weaned pig. Increased intake of ergot-contaminated feed caused a severe reduction in the growth performance of weaned pigs with or without an effect on feed intake. This indicates that low levels of ergot in feed, although it may not result in overt symptoms, will impair growth rate and days to market. The negative impacts may ultimately be seen in the inefficient use of facilities, lower productivity and, potentially, higher susceptibility to disease. At 1800 mg alkaloid/ kg ergot, piglets cannot tolerate more than 0.10% ergot sclerotia in their diet. A safer level would be 0.05% based on feed intake.

Table 1: Effects of dietary ergot level on pig performance (8 pigs/treatment)

Parameter
Dietary Ergot (%)
Control 0.05 0.10 0.25 0.50 1.00
Diet Composition: Basal Diet (kg) 650.0 649.64 649.29 648.20 646.40 642.80
Ergot (kg) 0.00 0.36 0.72 1.80 3.60 7.20
Alkaloid (mg/kg) 0.00 1.04 2.07 5.21 10.41 20.82
Pig Performance: Average Daily Gain (g/day) a 472 489 459 401 362 298
Average Daily Intake (g/day) b 768 727 673 675 674 694
Feed efficiency c 0.62 0.67 0.69 0.60 0.55 0.44

a 0.25% dietary ergot and above differ from the control (P<0.05)
b 0.10% dietary ergot and above differ from the control (P<0.05)
c 0.05, 0.10, 0.50 and 1.00% dietary ergot differ from the control (P<0.05)

Source: Oresanya, T.F., Patience, J.F., Zijlstra, R.T., Beaulieu, A.D., Middleton, D.M., Blakley, B.R., and Gillis, D.A. 2003. Defining the tolerable level of ergot in the diet of weaned pigs. Can. J. Anim. Sci. 83: 493-500.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Greg Simpson - Swine Nutritionist/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 01 December 2003
Last Reviewed: 16 Febuary 2016

Définir des niveaux d'ergot tolérables pour les porcs sevrés

L'ergot est une maladie fongique qui affecte surtout le blé, l'orge, le triticale et le seigle. On le trouve le plus souvent quand il y a un printemps et un début d'été pluvieux ou pendant le stade de floraison des céréales. Une infection d'ergot ne va pas nécessairement réduire le rendement des céréales mais elle influe sûrement sur la qualité du grain. L'infection a pour effet de remplacer les grains par des sclérotes contenant des alcaloïdes de l'ergot, des organismes durcis formés par les champignons.

Nourrir les porcs avec du grain contaminé à l'ergot n'a pas toujours le même impact, selon la teneur en ergot et la concentration en alcaloïdes. La Commission canadienne des grains admet à l'heure actuelle une teneur de 0,02 % d'ergot en poids de blé de grade supérieur et de 0,10 % pour le dernier grade de la plupart des classes de blé. Quand les éleveurs de porcs évaluent les choix qui s'offrent à eux, vendre le blé contaminé ou le garder pour en nourrir leur troupeau, ils veulent savoir quel est le niveau acceptable d'ergot dans les rations des porcs. Même si techniquement on pourrait retirer l'ergot des grains de céréales, l'élimination complète est impossible ou peu pratique dans un établissement commercial. Il faudrait donc définir les limites maximales sécuritaires si on inclut des grains contaminés à l'ergot dans les rations des porcs.

On relie d'ordinaire l'ergotisme à un rendement moindre des porcs et on croit généralement que les alcaloïdes peuvent empêcher les glandes mammaires de sécréter certaines hormones et le lait. Comme il n'existe que peu d'information pour éclairer les éleveurs sur les décisions à prendre par rapport aux niveaux de blé contaminé qui seraient sécuritaires pour nourrir les porcs, les chercheurs du Prairie Swine Centre se sont consacrés à l'étude de ce problème. L'expérience avait pour but de définir quelle quantité d'ergot et d'alcaloïdes de l'ergot serait admissible dans la ration des porcs castrés sans nuire à leur rendement et d'identifier les signes cliniques qui définissent la toxicité de l'ergot à de faibles niveaux.

Pour l'expérience, on a isolé des sclérotes de l'ergot du blé qui ont été ajoutés en fonction du poids à un mélange d'aliments de base à un taux de 0,00 (régime témoin), de 0,05, de 0,10, de 0,25, de 0,50 et de 1,00 %, que l'on a donné à 192 porcs sevrés pendant 28 jours, en commençant le 7e jour après le sevrage. Les sclérotes de l'ergot utilisés dans l'expérience contenaient au total 1 880 mg/kg d'alcaloïdes, d'un intervalle entre 110 et 755 mg/kg pour les cinq alcaloïdes mesurés individuellement (se référer au tableau 1 pour les niveaux détaillés d'ergot et d'alcaloïdes associés inclus dans chaque traitement alimentaire). En plus des paramètres de rendement au cours de l'expérience, on a aussi surveillé chaque jour chez les porcs tout comportement anormal et tout indice d'ergotisme, comme des lésions nécrotiques aux extrémités (groin, oreilles, paupières et membres).

Les résultats de rendement sont donnés au tableau 1. Les porcs qui ont consommé la ration à 1,00 % ont eu un gain inférieur de 37 % par rapport au groupe témoin. Les alcaloïdes de l'ergot ont réduit la consommation quotidienne moyenne de 10 % et la capacité de transformation des aliments de 29 % sur toute la période même si l'ingestion quotidienne moyenne n'a pas été modifiée pendant les premiers 14 jours de l'essai. Les chercheurs ont pu raisonnablement conclure que la baisse de consommation d'aliments pendant ces deux dernières semaines de l'expérience était due à une hausse globale de l'ingestion d'alcaloïdes en proportion du poids corporel. Les résultats laissaient entendre que le niveau d'ergot tolérable maximal dans la ration était de 0,10 et de 0,05 % selon le gain moyen quotidien et la consommation quotidienne moyenne d'aliments respectivement, ce qui correspond à 2,07 mg et à 1,04 mg d'alcaloïdes/kg de ration.

Les chercheurs ont aussi mesuré les concentrations de prolactine à partir d'échantillons de sang prélevés chez les porcs. La prolactine est une hormone nécessaire au développement normal des glandes mammaires chez les jeunes truies et à l'expression du potentiel de production de lait optimal chez les truies en lactation. La consommation d'alcaloïdes de l'ergot a fait chuter de 43 % en moyenne les concentrations de prolactine sérique dans tous les traitements par rapport au groupe témoin. Les chercheurs ont signalé qu'à moins d'avoir plus de données concernant l'impact de la consommation d'aliments contaminés à l'ergot sur le rendement reproductif des jeunes truies, ces aliments ne conviennent peut-être pas aux porcs destinés au cheptel reproducteur. Les effets à long terme sur le développement reproducteur restent inconnus.

La consommation par les porcelets pouvant aller jusqu'à 1,00 % d'ergot n'a provoqué aucun symptôme externe d'ergotisme. Comme les résultats l'indiquent, une consommation réduite ne donne pas nécessairement de signe apparent d'une intoxication de faible niveau à l'ergot chez le porc sevré. Une ingestion d'aliments contaminés à l'ergot plus élevée a fait chuter le rendement de croissance des porcs sevrés en influant ou non sur la consommation d'aliments. De faibles niveaux d'ergot dans les aliments ingérés, même s'ils ne se provoquent pas de symptômes évidents, nuiront au taux de croissance et au nombre de jours avant la mise en marché. Les effets nuisibles peuvent causer une utilisation inefficace des installations, réduire la productivité et provoquer une susceptibilité plus grande à la maladie. À un taux de 1 800 mg d'alcaloïdes/ kg d'ergot, les porcelets ne peuvent tolérer plus de 0,10 % de sclérotes d'ergot dans leur ration. Un niveau de 0,05 % serait plus sûr, selon la quantité d'aliments ingérés.

Tableau 1: Effets du niveau d'ergot alimentaire sur le rendement des porcs (8 porcs/traitement)

Paramètre
Ergot alimentaire (%)
Témoin 0,05 0,10 0,25 0,50 1,00
Composition de la ration : ration de base (kg)
650,0
649,64
649,29
648,20
646,40
642,80
Ergot (kg)
0,00
0,36
0,72
1,80
3,60
7,20
Alcaloïdes (mg/kg)
0,00
1,04
2,07
5,21
10,41
20,82
Rendement des porcs : gain quotidien moyen (g/jour) a
472
489
459
401
362
298
Quantité quotidienne moyenne d'aliments ingérés (g/jour) b
768
727
673
675
674
694
Capacité de transformation des aliments c
0,62
0,67
0,69
0,60
0,55
0,44


a 0,25 % d'ergot alimentaire et plus diffèrent du groupe témoin (P<0,05)
b 0,10 % d'ergot alimentaire et plus diffèrent du groupe témoin (P<0,05)
c 0,05, 0,10, 0,50 et 1,00 % d'ergot alimentaire diffèrent du groupe témoin (P<0,05)

Référence : Oresanya, T.F., Patience, J.F., Zijlstra, R.T., Beaulieu, A.D., Middleton, D.M., Blakley, B.R., and Gillis, D.A. 2003. Defining the tolerable level of ergot in the diet of weaned pigs. Can. J. Anim. Sci. 83: 493-500.


Auteur : Greg Simpson - Spécialiste de la nutrition des porcs/MAAARO
Date de création : 01 décembre 2003
Dernière révision : 16 février 2016

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca