Distillers Dried Grains with Solubles and Grower-Finisher Diets

For most people it will come as a surprise to know that research into distillers co-products fed to swine has been conducted for more than 50 years. Early research in the mid 1940's was focused on the feeding value of distillers co-products fed to growing pigs. With the construction of large scale ethanol plants in the 1970's the production of distillers dried grains with solubles (DDGS) increased, leading to research into the effects of adding DDGS to grower-finisher and to starter diets. During the last decade, many new dry-grind fuel ethanol plants have been constructed, and in 2007 there were approximately 139 plants in the United States that produced more than 14.6 million metric tonnes of DDGS (Renewable Fuels Association, 2008).

In the last few years, numerous studies have been conducted to further evaluate the nutrient concentration, digestibility, feeding value and unique properties associated with feeding DDGS to pigs. A recent research summary by Hans Stein and Gerry Shurson (2008) compiled results from North American research in which DDGS was fed to weanling, growing and reproducing swine. Their review summarizes research on DDGS nutrient composition, digestibility and effects of inclusion rate at various stages of production.

With the increase in DDGS availability and the economic challenges in the swine sector DDGS is being used more extensively in grower-finisher diets to reduce feed cost. In their paper, Stein and Shurson (2008) gathered results from at least 25 experiments in which performance of grower-finisher pigs fed diets containing up to 30% of corn derived DDGS was measured (Table 1). In 23 of these experiments, DDGS was included in diets based on corn-soybean meal and in 2 experiments wheat-field pea based diets were used.

 

Table 1: Summary of experiments measuring the response of grower-finisher pigs to dietary corn DDGSa
    Response to dietary corn DDGS, No. of experiments
Item n Increased Reduced Not Changed
ADG
25
1
6
18
ADFI
23
2
6
15
G:F
25
4
5
16
Dressing percentage
18
0
8
10
Backfat depth
15
0
1
14
Lean percentage
14
0
1
13
Loin depth
14
0
2
12
Belly thickness
4
0
2
2
Belly firmness
3
0
3
0
Iodine value
8
7
0
1

a Diets based on experiments published after 2000, which included a maximum of 30% DDGS in the diet.

Effects on Grower-Finisher Performance

In most studies grower-finisher performance was maintained or in one case increased. Some early research by Cromwell et. al. (1983) examining the use of DDGS in diets fed to grower-finisher pigs, demonstrated performance can be maintained when up to 20% DDGS is included in the diets. In the same trial if 40% DDGS was used performance was reduced. More recent experiments, in commercial facilities, confirmed that inclusion of up to 20% DDGS in diets fed to grower-finisher pigs did not reduce average daily gain (ADG), average daily feed intake (ADFI), or gain to feed ratio (G:F) provided the diets were adequately fortified with amino acids.

Based on the data provided the authors found it difficult to determine why pig performance was reduced in some experiments. Two of the studies examining the effects of inclusion up to 30% DDGS demonstrated inconsistent responses in ADFI and G:F but was likely due to variable energy concentration among the DDGS sources used. For other experiments where performance was reduced the authors hypothesized that it was possible that the DDGS used may have been of lower nutrient digestibility. Complicating matters, in some studies the diets were formulated in such a way that crude protein increased as DDGS was included in the diet. This confounded the results making it impossible to determine if the reduction in performance was due to the increase in DDGS inclusion or increase in crude protein concentration.

An important observation of the review was that in studies that found a reduced ADG, a reduction in ADFI was also observed. One possibility is that the poorer performance was due to reduced palatability of diets containing DDGS. Two experiments have shown that if given a choice, pigs prefer to consume diets containing no DDGS.

Effects on Grower-Finisher Carcass Characteristics

In the majority of research studies, carcass values for backfat depth, loin depth or lean percentage were not affected by the inclusion of DDGS. Backfat thickness of pigs fed DDGS was reduced in 1 experiment but in 14 other studies was not changed. Similarly, loin depth was not changed in 13 out of 14 studies and lean percentage was not changed in 12 out of 14 studies.

The dressing percentage of pigs was reported in 18 experiments in which DDGS was included in the diets. In 10 of these studies, no difference in dressing percentage was observed, while in 8 studies dressing percentage was reduced. It has been suggested that the inclusion of fiber rich ingredients in diets fed to pigs may be responsible for reducing dressing percentage due to increased gut fill and intestinal mass. This may in part explain the reduction in dressing percentage but it remains unclear why it is not the case in all of the studies.

Belly firmness was reported in only 3 studies but it is clear that pigs fed diets containing DDGS had reduced belly firmness. This observation is in line with data showing increased iodine value of belly fat when pigs are fed DDGS. This is likely a result of the relatively large quantity of unsaturated fatty acids in DDGS. It has been well documented that increased dietary unsaturated fatty acids will increase carcass iodine values. Iodine value is an important measure of carcass quality because high iodine values result in soft and less valuable bellies and loins. Current research efforts are looking into alternative nutritional strategies to reduce the negative effects of DDGS on iodine values. Much of the effort is looking at increasing the saturated fatty acid content of the diet to lower the iodine value. Removal of DDGS from the diet during the final 3 to 4 week prior to market will also reduce the negative impact of DDGS on carcass iodine values.

Putting it into perspective

Research has shown that distillers dried grains with solubles is an excellent source of energy and digestible phosphorus that can be fed to swine at all stages of production. As a result, depending on ingredient costs, DDGS can help to reduce overall feed cost and will most likely have the biggest economic advantage in grower-finisher diets. Based on the summary of DDGS research studies, growth performance and carcass quality can be maintained in most cases at inclusion levels of up to 20%. Pork fat becomes softer when DDGS is included in finisher diets so reducing DDGS inclusion levels in late finisher or withdrawing DDGS from the diets 3 to 4 weeks prior to market are two strategies that can be used to minimize this effect.

Sources:

Renewable Fuels Association. 2008. Accessed January 26, 2009

Stein, H.H. and Shurson, G.C., 2008. Board Invited Review: The use and application of distillers dried grains with solubles (DDGS) in swine diets. J. Anim. Sci. In press.

Cromwell, G.L., Stahly, T.S., Monegue, H.J. and Overfield, J.R. 1983. Distillers dried grains with solubles for grower-finisher swine. Page 30-32 in Kentucky Agric. Exp. Stn. Progress Rep. 274. Univ. of Kentucky. Lexington.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Greg Simpson - Swine Nutritionist/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 01 April 2009
Last Reviewed: 12 Febuary 2016

Drêches de distillerie avec solubles et rations de croissance finition


La plupart des gens seront surpris d'apprendre que la recherche sur les co-produits de distillerie comme aliments pour les porcs existe depuis plus de 50 ans. Elle se concentrait au milieu des années 1940 sur la valeur fourragère des co-produits de distillerie comme aliments de croissance pour les porcs. Avec la construction d'usine d'éthanol à grande échelle dans les années 1970, la production de drêches de distillerie séchées avec solubles (DDSS) a augmenté, ce qui a motivé la recherche sur les effets de l'ajout de DDSS aux rations de croissance finition et à celles de démarrage. Depuis une dizaine d'années, on a construit nombre de nouvelles usines de carburant à l'éthanol à partir de végétaux broyés à sec et en 2007, aux États-Unis on comptait environ 139 installations qui produisaient plus de 14,6 tonnes métriques de DDSS (Renewable Fuels Association, 2008).

Ces dernières années, les recherches ont continué en vue d'évaluer la teneur en éléments nutritifs, la digestibilité, la valeur fourragère et les propriétés particulières associées à l'ajout de DDSS à la ration des porcs. Hans Stein et Gerry Shurson (2008), ont récemment publié un sommaire qui présente les résultats des recherches nord-américaines sur les DDSS données aux porcelets en sevrage et aux porcs de croissance et de reproduction. Ce sommaire résume les recherches sur la valeur des éléments nutritifs, la digestibilité et les effets du taux d'incorporation de DDSS à divers stades de la production.

Comme on dispose de quantités de plus en plus grandes de DDSS et que l'industrie porcine fait face à d'importants défis économiques, l'utilisation plus intensive des DDSS dans les rations de croissance finition permettrait de réduire les coûts des aliments. Dans leur publication, Stein et Shurson (2008) ont réuni les résultats d'au moins 25 expériences qui avaient mesuré le rendement des porcs de croissance finition nourris de rations contenant jusqu'à 30 % de DDSS dérivées du maïs (voir tableau 1). Dans 23 d'entre elles, les DDSS ont été ajoutées à des rations à base de maïs et de soya et dans les 2 autres il s'agissait de rations à base de blé et de pois fourrager.

Tableau 1 : Résumé des expériences mesurant l'incidence sur des porcs de croissance finition de l'ajout à la ration de DDSSa à base de maïs alimentaire

  Incidence des DDSS à base de maïs alimentaire,
Nbre d'expériences
Élémentn En hausse En baisseInchangé
Gain moyen quotidien
25
1
6
18
Ingestion quotidienne moyenne
23
2
6
15
Rapport gain/aliment
25
4
5
16
Rendement de carcasse (en %)
18
0
8
10
Épaisseur du lard dorsal
15
0
1
14
Pourcent. de maigre
14
0
1
13
Épaisseur de la longe
14
0
2
12
Épaisseur du flanc
4
0
2
2
Fermeté du flanc
3
0
3
0
ndice d'iode
8
7
0
1

aRations basées sur des expériences publiées après l'an 2000, avec au maximum 30 % de DDSS dans la ration.

Effets sur le rendement de croissance finition

Dans la plupart des recherches le rendement croissance finition était maintenu, ou en hausse dans un cas. Les premières recherches par Cromwell et. al. (1983), avaient examiné l'utilisation des DDSS dans les rations des porcs de croissance finition et elles avaient démontré un rendement maintenu quand on incluait jusqu'à 20 % de DDSS dans la ration. Lors du même essai, le rendement était réduit si on ajoutait 40 % de DDSS. Des expériences plus récentes chez des éleveurs commerciaux ont confirmé qu'en incluant jusqu'à 20 % de DDSS dans les rations des porcs de croissance finition, le gain moyen quotidien (GMQ), l'ingestion quotidienne moyenne (IQM), le rapport gain aliment (G/A) n'étaient pas amoindris si les rations étaient fortifiées avec un apport adéquat d'acides aminés.

Selon les données fournies, les auteurs ont trouvé difficile de déterminer pourquoi le rendement des porcs était réduit dans certaines des expériences. Deux des études qui examinaient les effets d'un apport allant jusqu'à 30 % de DDSS avaient des résultats erratiques de l'ingestion quotidienne moyenne et du rapport gain/aliment, probablement à cause de variation dans la concentration énergétique des sources de DDSS utilisées. Dans d'autres expériences où le rendement était réduit, selon les auteurs il est possible que les DDSS utilisées soient dotées d'un coefficient d'utilisation digestive plus faible. Pour compliquer les choses, dans certaines recherches les rations étaient formulées de telle façon que la teneur en protéine brute était plus élevée quand on ajoutait les DDSS à la ration. C'est ce qui donnait des résultats confondus et rendait impossible de déterminer si le rendement réduit était dû à la plus grande proportion de DDSS ou à l'augmentation de la concentration en protéine brute.

Une importante observation du sommaire faisait remarquer que dans les recherches qui arrivaient à un gain moyen quotidien plus faible, on observait aussi une réduction de l'ingestion quotidienne moyenne. Il est possible que le rendement plus faible soit causé par une sapidité réduite des rations contenant les DDSS. Deux expériences ont montré que s'ils avaient le choix, les porcs préféraient les rations qui ne contiennent pas de DDSS.

Effets sur les caractéristiques de carcasse des porcs de croissance finition

Dans la majorité des recherches, les valeurs pour l'épaisseur du lard dorsal, l'épaisseur de la longe ou le pourcentage de viande maigre des carcasses n'étaient pas influencées par l'ajout de DDSS. L'épaisseur du lard dorsal des porcs dont la ration contenait des DDSS était moindre dans l'une des expériences mais inchangée dans 14 autres. De même, l'épaisseur de la longe était inchangée dans 13 expériences sur 14 et le pourcentage de maigre était le même dans 12 recherches sur 14.

Le rendement de carcasse était noté dans 18 expériences dans lesquelles la ration contenait des DDSS. Dans 10 d'entre elles, on n'a observé aucune différence du rendement de carcasse, alors que dans 8 autres cas le pourcentage de ce rendement était réduit. On a laissé entendre que l'ajout d'ingrédients riches en fibres dans la ration pourrait avoir causé la baisse du rendement de carcasse, le tube digestif étant plus rempli et la masse intestinale plus volumineuse. C'est peut-être ce qui explique en partie la réduction du rendement de carcasse mais on ignore pourquoi ce n'est pas le cas dans toutes les recherches.

Seulement trois recherches ont rapporté la fermeté du flanc mais il était évident qu'elle était réduite chez les porcs nourris de la ration contenant des DDSS. Cette observation vient confirmer les données montrant un indice d'iode supérieur quand les porcs reçoivent une ration avec DDSS. C'est probablement le résultat de la quantité relativement élevée d'acides gras non saturés dans les DDSS. Il a été prouvé qu'une plus haute teneur en acides gras non saturés augmente l'indice d'iode de la carcasse. Cet indice est une mesure importante quant à la qualité de la carcasse; quand il est plus élevé, les longes et les flancs sont plus mous et de moindre qualité. La recherche se concentre à l'heure actuelle sur d'autres stratégies de nutrition pour réduire les effets négatifs des DDSS sur les indices d'iode. On se demande surtout comment augmenter la teneur en acides gras non saturés de la ration et réduire l'indice d'iode. En supprimant les DDSS de la ration les 3 à 4 semaines qui précèdent la mise sur le marché, on pourrait aussi réduire leur impact négatif sur les indices d'iode des carcasses.

Pour remettre le tout en perspective

La recherche a démontré que les drêches de distillerie séchées avec solubles sont d'excellentes sources d'énergie et de phosphore digestibles qui peuvent faire partie de l'alimentation des porcs à tous les stades de la production. En conséquence, selon le coût des ingrédients, les DDSS peuvent permettre de réduire le prix global des aliments pour animaux et ils représentent probablement l'économie la plus importante dans les rations de croissance finition. Selon le sommaire de recherche sur les DDSS, le rendement de la croissance et la qualité de la carcasse peuvent être maintenus dans la plupart des cas avec des niveaux d'inclusion pouvant atteindre 20 %. Le gras de porc est ramolli quand on ajoute des DDSS à la ration de finition, il convient donc d'en réduire l'apport dans la ration des porcs à la toute fin de leur production ou de retirer les DDSS des rations des porcs de 3 à 4 semaines avant leur mise en marché, ces deux stratégies pouvant aider à minimiser cet effet.

Références :

Renewable Fuels Association. 2008. Accessed January 26, 2009

Stein, H.H. and Shurson, G.C., 2008. Board Invited Review: The use and application of distillers dried grains with solubles (DDGS) in swine diets. J. Anim. Sci. In press.

Cromwell, G.L., Stahly, T.S., Monegue, H.J. and Overfield, J.R. 1983. Distillers dried grains with solubles for grower-finisher swine. Page 30-32 in Kentucky Agric. Exp. Stn. Progress Rep. 274. Univ. of Kentucky. Lexington.


Auteur : Greg Simpson - Spécialiste de la nutrition des porcs/MAAARO
Date de création : 01 avril 2009
Dernière révision : 29 février 2012

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca