Pizzle Rot in Sheep

To deal with the cause first. Like many conditions we see in sheep, pizzle rot is the result of an interaction between a bacteria and some other factor. The bacteria is Corynebacterium renale or one of that group. These bacteria have the ability to break urea down using an enzyme, urease. The other factor is an increase in the protein level of the diet, quite common in the month before breeding to improve the condition of the rams. Once the protein in the diet from all sources rises above 16%, urine can contain more than 4% urea. This excess urea makes the urine alkaline. The bacterial urease breaks down the urea to release excess ammonia. It is this ammonia that causes a severe irritation and ulceration of the skin around the preputial opening. Once the skin is ulcerated, C. renale or other bacteria will infect it. The debris from the ulcer form a crust which may block the opening to the prepuce. The infected ulcers can spread through the opening to the mucosa of the preputial cavity. Any scar tissue formed around an untreated ulcer can permanently constrict the preputial opening to prevent extrusion of the penis at breeding.

Once the opening is blocked, urea dribbles out to stain the surrounding wool. Fly strike often follows ulceration and urine soiling of the preputial area. Internal ulceration is painful; the prepuce becomes enlarged and swollen, containing old urine and debris. If there is severe interference with urination, the ram may become uremic and die.

Treatment consists of removing the wool around the area, then removing the dead tissue in the ulcer with a debriding agent, such as a dilute hydrogen peroxide solution. Then applying an ointment containing penicillin, bacitracin or 5% copper sulphate at weekly intervals. As an alternative to an ointment, a cetrimde solution can be used. If there is a suspicion that the ulcer has spread to the mucosal of the preputial sac, penicillin injections will help the healing.

To stop dirt contaminating the treated area, the ram should be bedded on a good layer of clean straw until the ulcer has healed. Depending on the treatment the external ulcers can take a few weeks to six months to heal. Part of the treatment is to remove the cause, that is adjusting the protein level of the diet to below the critical 16% level. Forage analysis and a ration formulation based on that analysis for each stage of production should be part of the flock management.

The healing ulcer does not prevent the passage of urine, but because of the pain of extruding the penis at breeding, the ram will be very unwilling to breed. Even if the ram can breed, it should not be used as there are reports of a venereal transmission to the ewe causing an ulcerative vulvitis. The same organism can be isolated from these lesions. A ram with pizzle rot should not restart breeding until the ulcers have completely healed.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Dr. S. John Martin - Veterinary Scientist, Sheep, Goat and Swine/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 1 June 1999
Last Reviewed: 16 April 2010

La posthite enzootique chez les ovins


Il faut tout d'abord s'occuper de la cause. Comme les nombreuses maladies que nous voyons chez les ovins, la posthite enzootique est le résultat d'une interaction entre une bactérie et un autre facteur quelconque. La bactérie est Corynebacterium renale ou une de ce groupe. Ces bactéries ont la capacité de décomposer l'urée à l'aide d'une enzyme, l'uréase. L'autre facteur est une augmentation du taux de protéines du régime, facteur assez commun dans le mois précédant la reproduction pour améliorer l'état des béliers. Une fois que les protéines du régime de toutes les sources dépassent 16 p. 100, l'urine peut contenir plus de 4 p. 100 d'urée. Cet excès d'urée rend l'urine alcaline. L'uréase bactérienne décompose l'urée pour libérer l'excès d'ammoniac. C'est ce même ammoniac qui cause une irritation et une ulcération graves de la peau entourant l'orifice préputial. Une fois que la peau est ulcérée, C. renale ou d'autres bactéries l'infecteront. Les débris de l'ulcère forment une croûte qui peut bloquer l'orifice du prépuce. Les ulcères infectés peuvent se propager par l'orifice à la muqueuse de la cavité préputiale. Tout tissu cicatriciel formé autour d'un ulcère non soigné peut rétrécir l'orifice préputial de façon permanente, empêchant l'extrusion du pénis au moment de la reproduction.

Une fois que l'orifice est bloqué, l'urée tombe goutte à goutte et tache la laine environnante. La myiase suit souvent l'ulcération et la souillure par l'urine de la région préputiale. L'ulcération interne est douloureuse; le prépuce s'agrandit et enfle et contient de la vieille urine et des débris. S'il y a une grave entrave à la miction, le bélier peut devenir urémique et mourir.

Le traitement consiste à enlever la laine autour de la région en question, puis à enlever le tissu mort dans l'ulcère à l'aide d'un agent de parage, tel qu'une eau oxygénée. Il faut ensuite appliquer un onguent contenant de la pénicilline, de la bacitracine ou 5 p. 100 de sulfate cuivrique à des intervalles hebdomadaires. Comme solution de rechange à l'onguent, une solution cétrimide peut être utilisée. Si on soupçonne que l'ulcère s'est répandu aux muqueuses du sac préputial, des injections de pénicilline aideront la guérison.

Pour empêcher les saletés de contaminer la région traitée, le bélier devrait être couché sur une bonne couche de paille propre jusqu'à ce que l'ulcère soit guéri. Selon le traitement, les ulcères externes peuvent prendre de quelques semaines à six mois pour guérir. Une partie du traitement consiste à éliminer la cause du problème, c'est-à-dire rajuster le taux de protéines du régime au-dessous du taux critique de 16 p. 100. Une analyse des fourrages et une formulation de ration fondée sur cette analyse pour chaque stade de production devraient faire partie de la gestion du troupeau.

L'ulcère en voie de guérison n'empêche pas le passage de l'urine, mais en raison de la douleur causée par l'extrusion du pénis au moment de la reproduction, le bélier sera très réticent à s'accoupler. Même si le bélier peut s'accoupler, il ne devrait pas être utilisé car il y a des rapports à l'effet qu'il y aurait transmission vénérienne à la brebis, causant une vulvite ulcéreuse. Le même organisme peut être isolé de ces lésions. Un bélier souffrant de la posthite enzootique ne devrait pas recommencer à s'accoupler avant que les ulcères ne soient complètement guéris.


Auteur : Dr S. John Martin - Consultant en santé des ovins, caprins et porcins/MAAO
Date de création : 01 juin 1999
Dernière révision : 19 avril 2010

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca