Response in Sheep to Shearing

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Response to Handling and Shearing
  3. Response to Repeated Shearing

Introduction

Farmers worry about the stress caused by certain management practices. Will production be affected? Could these practices make my sheep more susceptible to disease? In the last few years researchers in Lethbridge, Alberta believe they have found a way to evaluate the intensity of stress caused by management practices. Animals under stress put out certain hormones that can be measured in the blood. Researchers, Mears and Brown, measure the blood levels of hormones, cortisol and beta-endorphin. These investigators use hormone release changes to relate to the level of stress. Previously they found weaning and restraint to be moderate stressors for lambs. These same researchers have measured the effects of handling and shearing on ewes.

Ewes were broken into two groups, those who had never been sheared before - naïve ewes - and those who had been sheared one to four times on an annual basis. The objectives were to separate the effects of shearing from those of normal handling procedures during shearing and to determine if the experienced ewes' hormonal systems adapted to shearing. In each of the two groups some animals were exposed to simulated shearing or "sham-shearing". The shears were moved around the sham-sheared ewes to simulate shearing but the shears never actually touched the ewes.

Response To Handling And Shearing

There was not a difference in blood levels for the two hormones between the sham-sheared ewes and the sheared ewes. Researchers concluded shearing did not stress ewes beyond the stress caused by the handling procedures.

Response To Repeated Shearing

Researchers did not expect to find previously sheared ewes to be stressed to a much greater extent than naïve ewes. However, hormone levels went higher in experienced ewes shortly after they were exposed to the sounds, smells and sights of the shearing room. These hormones also lasted longer in the blood of the experienced ewes. Observers felt the experienced ewes appeared less upset during handling and shearing compared to naïve ewes. The conclusion was exposure to an unpleasant handling practice may have an adverse effect on sheep at a much later date. The ewes negatively adapted to the shearing process. They remember. Well designed handling and shearing facilities can reduce the stress on ewes. Experienced shearers and handlers can make for less stressful memories for you and your sheep.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Craig Richardson - Animal Care Specialist/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 1 March 2000
Last Reviewed: 30 January 2012

Relation entre la tonte et le stress chez le mouton

 

Table de matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Réactions à la manipulation et à la tonte
  3. Réactions aux tontes répétées

 

Introduction


Les éleveurs s'inquiètent du stress causé par certaines méthodes d'élevage. Celles-ci auront-elles une incidence sur la production? Ces méthodes rendront-elles mes moutons plus vulnérables aux maladies? Ces dernières années, des chercheurs de Lethbridge, en Alberta, croient avoir trouvé une façon d'évaluer l'intensité du stress causé par les méthodes d'élevage. Les animaux stressés sécrètent certaines hormones mesurables dans le sang. Ces chercheurs, Mears et Brown, mesurent le taux sanguin hormonal du cortisol et de la bêta-endorphine. Ils établissent un lien entre les modifications du taux de sécrétion hormonal et le degré de stress. Ils ont précédemment constaté que le sevrage et la contention sont des facteurs de stress modéré chez l'agneau. Ces mêmes chercheurs ont mesuré les effets de la manipulation et de la tonte chez la brebis.

Ils ont séparé les brebis en deux groupes : un formé par les brebis qui n'ont jamais été tondues - brebis naïves - et l'autre formé par celles qui ont déjà subi d'une à quatre tontes annuelles. Les chercheurs avaient ainsi pour objectif d'isoler les effets de la tonte de ceux des manipulations habituelles au moment de la tonte, et de déterminer si le système hormonal des brebis qui ont déjà expérimenté une tonte s'y adapte. Ils ont également exposé des bêtes des deux groupes à une tonte simulée ou fausse tonte. Pour la fausse tonte, le tondeur déplace la tondeuse un peu partout sur la brebis de manière à simuler une tonte, mais en fait, la tondeuse ne touche jamais la brebis.


Réactions à la manipulation et à la tonte


On n'a constaté aucune différence au chapitre des taux sanguins hormonaux entre les brebis soumises à une fausse tonte et celles ayant été réellement tondues. Les chercheurs en ont conclu que la tonte ne stresse pas plus les brebis que leur manipulation.


Réactions aux tontes répétées


Les chercheurs ne s'attendaient pas à ce que les brebis précédemment tondues soient plus stressées que les brebis naïves. Toutefois, les taux sanguins hormonaux étaient plus élevés chez les brebis ayant déjà subi l'expérience d'une tonte peu après leur exposition aux sons, aux odeurs et à la vue des installations de la salle de tonte. Ces hormones sont également restées plus longtemps dans le sang des brebis ayant déjà subi l'expérience d'une tonte. Selon les observateurs, les brebis expérimentées semblaient moins nerveuses durant la manipulation et la tonte que les brebis naïves. Les chercheurs en ont conclu que l'exposition à une manipulation désagréable peut exercer beaucoup plus tard un effet nocif sur les moutons. Les brebis s'adaptent négativement à la tonte. Elles se souviennent. Des installations bien conçues de manipulation et de tonte peuvent réduire le stress chez la brebis. Des tondeurs et manipulateurs expérimentés peuvent réduire les mauvais souvenirs qui stressent aussi bien l'éleveur que le mouton.

 


Auteur : Craig Richardson - Animal Care Specialist/OMAFRA
Date de création : 4 août 2009
Dernière révision : 20 avril 2010

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca