Culling Strategies for the Sheep Flock

Table of Contents

  1. Traditional Culling
  2. Marketing Cull Ewes
  3. Extraordinary Culling
  4. Cost and Return for Your Ewe...Is She Worth Keeping?

Culling unproductive ewes every year reduces carrying costs for the flock. Regardless of market conditions, unproductive ewes should be removed from the flock to save valuable feed for higher producing ewes. You can generally afford to carry a ewe that produces. When lamb prices are depressed, the need to keep only the productive ewes is even more apparent.

Traditional Culling

Make sure that you use a management system that identifies unproductive ewes: those that did not lamb, had difficulty lambing, raised weak or small lambs, or have health issues. As well, use your Sheep Flock Improvement Program (SFIP) records to help you rank ewes and lambs for genetic potential. You may identify some ewes as unproductive through this process.

Keeping unproductive ewes will cost you time and money. Each ewe on a maintenance ration consumes about $20 of feed during the winter, assuming 1.4 kg (3 lb.) of hay per day at $60 per tonne ($55 per ton). To feed a ewe (forage only) takes about 10 seconds per day. Based on a labour rate of $15 per hour, this would be another $8.25 per ewe for the winter feeding period. So, it makes economic sense to cull unproductive ewes.

Marketing Cull Ewes

Currently there is a relatively strong market for sheep culled for production issues. If the price of cull ewes decreases significantly, then you should compare the cost of marketing a ewe against the cost of euthanizing and burying or composting it. Marketing costs (trucking, checkoff, and commission) vary depending on where you live in the province. The cost to market generally ranges from $10 to $11. Current cull ewe prices average $45 to $50 per ewe1. As long as sheep prices remain above marketing costs, it makes sense to sell these ewes. If the price drops below marketing costs, then burying or composting may be a preferred option. Check the OMAF factsheets "On-farm Composting of Livestock and Poultry Mortalities" and "Proper Burial Techniques for Small Animals and Poultry Mortalities under 25 kg" for details about on-farm disposal options.

1Ontario Sheep Marketing Agency posted average for the week of September 10, 2003.

Extraordinary Culling

What about the productive females in the flock? Should you cull any of them as well? At present, cull ewe prices are strong relative to ewe lamb prices, so this may be a good time to cull a little harder and keep more replacement ewe lambs. Chart 1 can help you decide whether or not to cull productive ewes and keep ewe lambs.


Chart 1: Relative Market Value of Ewes vs. Replacement Lambs

Relative Market Value of Ewes vs. Replacement Lambs

Chart by Anita O'Brien, OMAFRA

Text equivalent of graphic

If a ewe has a higher market value than the replacement ewe lamb, then keeping the lamb may make more economical sense, provided genetic parameters are considered. If the ewe lambs are from a maternal line, the lambs could be kept as replacements. However, if the lambs are from a terminal line, keeping the ewe lambs would probably result in lower reproductive efficiency.

There is no proven way to predict future markets to know whether selling cull ewes now would make more financial sense than selling later. If you think the market for cull ewes will decline, you may want to explore alternative marketing options for productive ewes. For example, small producers may be looking for good quality breeding stock.

Cost and Return for Your Ewe…Is She Worth Keeping?

The 2002 Ontario Farm Management Analysis Project (OFMAP) average annual costs for keeping a ewe equals $212.95. This includes all fixed costs proportioned to the ewe flock, including the cost assigned to the lambs. In order to determine whether to keep a productive ewe this year or not, you should know the cost of keeping that ewe on your farm, and her expected productivity.

Case 1: If productivity is 1.5 lambs per year, then in order to produce $212.95 in revenue to cover costs, you would have to get $141 per lamb. If you have accelerated lambing, producing on average 2.5 lambs per year, then gross revenue returned would only have to be $85 per lamb.

Case 2: Costs in a once-a-year lambing situation should be much less than in an accelerated program. For example, winter feed costs of $20 per ewe, with pasture costs of around another $20 would put annual feed costs at $40 per ewe. Therefore, gross revenue if one lamb per ewe is raised on average could be as low as $40 to cover costs. If 1.5 lambs are raised, then costs could dip to $26. Case 2 would be a short-term situation with little overhead costs covered, and no consideration for the percent of cull ewes sold annually.

Chart 2 shows the relationship between the cost per year for the ewe flock and the lambing rate. As lambing rate increases, the required return per lamb decreases. As cost per ewe increases, the required return increases.


Chart 2: Cost per Returns for Your Ewe Flock

Ewe and Lamb Costs to Sale Date/Year Lambing Rate and Breakeven Sale Price
1.3 1.6 1.9 2.2 2.5
60 46.00 37.50 31.60 27.27 24.00
80 61.53 50.00 42.10 36.36 32.00
100 76.92 62.50 52.63 45.45 40.00
120 92.30 75.00 63.15 54.55 48.00
140 107.70 87.50 73.68 63.63 56.00
160 123.07 100.00 84.21 72.72 64.00
180 138.46 112.50 94.70 81.80 72.00
200 153.85 125.00 105.26 90.90 36.00
220 169.23 137.50 115.79 100.00 88.00

Based on this chart, if it costs you $100 per year to maintain a ewe in your flock (including costs for raising its lambs to selling date), and if your lambing rate is 1.6, then you would need a return of $62.50 per lamb to cover your costs. This is assuming average lamb prices for all weights. If you expect the lamb prices to be above $62.50 and if your cost is $100 or less, then it would pay to keep your ewe. Where your operation would fit on the price grid depends on your costs and the weight of lambs you might sell. Prudent managers would review all ewes in their flocks in light of the current market conditions, and make decisions accordingly.

Related Links


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Barry Potter - Livestock Specialist/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 20 October 2003
Last Reviewed: 8 February 2010

Stratégies de réforme pour les troupeaux de moutons

Table des matières

  1. Méthode classique de réforme
  2. Vente des brebis de réforme
  3. Raisons inhabituelles de réforme
  4. Coût et rendement de vos brebis... Vaut-il la peine de les garder?

La réforme des brebis improductives chaque année réduit les frais de possession du troupeau. Peu importe les conditions du marché, on devrait retirer les brebis improductives du troupeau afin d'économiser les aliments et les garder pour les brebis qui produisent plus. Vous pouvez habituellement vous permettre de garder une brebis productive. Quand les prix de l'agneau fléchissent, la nécessité de conserver uniquement les brebis productives est manifeste.

Méthode classique de réforme

Assurez-vous d'utiliser un système de gestion qui identifie les brebis improductives : celles qui n'ont pas agnelé, qui ont eu un agnelage difficile, qui ont élevé des agneaux faibles ou petits, ou qui ont des problèmes de santé. En outre, utilisez vos dossiers PATO (Programme d'amélioration des troupeaux d'ovins) pour vous aider à classer les brebis et les agneaux selon leur potentiel génétique. Ce processus vous permettra de constater que certaines brebis sont improductives.

Si vous gardez des brebis improductives, il vous en coûtera temps et argent. Chaque brebis à qui vous fournissez une ration d'entretien consomme environ 20 $ d'aliments pendant l'hiver, soit 1,4 kg (3 lb) de foin par jour à 60 $ la tonne (55 $ la tonne impériale). Nourrir une brebis (fourrage seulement) prend environ 10 secondes par jour. Au salaire horaire de 15 $, cela représente 8,25 $ par brebis pour l'alimentation hivernale. Par conséquent, réformer les brebis improductives est tout à fait logique sur le plan économique.

Vente des brebis de réforme

Le marché actuel est relativement fort pour les moutons réformés pour des motifs de production. Si le prix des brebis de réforme diminue de manière appréciable, vous devriez alors comparer le coût de vente d'une brebis par rapport au coût de l'euthanasie et de l'enfouissement ou du compostage. Les coûts de vente (camionnage, vérification, commission) varient selon l'endroit où vous vivez dans la province. Le coût de vente est habituellement compris entre 10 $ et 11 $. Les brebis de réforme se vendent actuellement entre 45 $ et 50 $ la tête1. Tant que les prix du mouton sont supérieurs aux coûts de vente, la décision de vendre ces brebis est sensée. Si les prix baissent sous les coûts de vente, alors l'enfouissement ou le compostage pourrait s'avérer l'option préférée. Consultez les fiches d'information « Le compostage à la ferme des cadavres de bétail et de volaille » et « Méthodes recommandées d'enfouissement des cadavres de volailles et de petits animaux d'élevage pesant moins de 25 kg » du MAAO, pour en savoir plus sur l'élimination des animaux à la ferme.

 1Moyenne publiée par l' Agence ontarienne de commercialisation des ovins, semaine du 10 septembre 2003.

Raisons inhabituelles de réforme

Qu'en est-il des femelles productives de votre troupeau? Devriez-vous en réformer certaines? À l'heure actuelle, le prix des brebis de réforme est élevé par rapport au prix de l'agneau. Ce serait donc le bon temps de pratiquer une réforme plus sévère chez les reproductrices et d'élever plus d'agnelles.

Tableau 1 : Valeur marchande relative des brebis par rapport aux agneaux de remplacement

Valeur marchande relative des brebis par rapport aux agneaux de remplacement

Texte correspondant

Si une brebis a une valeur marchande plus élevée qu'une agnelle de remplacement, il est alors plus sensé économiquement de garder l'agneau, compte tenu des paramètres génétiques. Si les agnelles proviennent d'une lignée maternelle, on devrait garder les agneaux comme animaux de remplacement. Toutefois, si les agneaux proviennent d'une lignée terminale, il est probable que garder les agnelles entraînerait une chute du rendement reproducteur.

Il n'existe aucun moyen sûr de prédire les marchés futurs et savoir s'il est plus sensé économiquement de vendre les brebis de réforme maintenant ou plus tard. Si vous pensez que le marché des brebis de réforme fléchira, vous pourriez envisager d'autres options de vente pour les brebis productives. Par exemple, les petits producteurs peuvent rechercher des reproductrices de bonne qualité.

Coût et rendement de vos brebis… Vaut-il la peine de les garder?

Selon le Programme d'analyse de la gestion des exploitations agricoles de l'Ontario (PAGEAO), le coût annuel moyen d'entretien d'une brebis était de 212,95 $ en 2002. Ce coût comprend tous les coûts fixes, au prorata du troupeau, y compris les coûts attribués aux agneaux. Pour déterminer s'il convient de garder ou non une brebis productive cette année, il faut savoir ce qu'il vous en coûte de garder cette brebis sur votre ferme, et quelle est sa productivité prévue.

1er cas : Si la productivité est de 1,5 agneau par année, vous devriez obtenir 141 $ par agneau pour produire un revenu de 212,95 $ et couvrir vos coûts. Si vous avez accéléré l'agnelage et produisez en moyenne 2,5 agneaux par année, le revenu brut requis serait alors de seulement 85 $ par agneau.

2e cas : Dans un scénario d'agnelage une fois l'an, les coûts seraient beaucoup moindres que dans le cas d'un programme accéléré. Par exemple, la nourriture d'hiver coûte 20 $ par brebis, tandis que le coût de pâturage est d'environ 20 $, pour un coût annuel des aliments de 40 $ par brebis. Par conséquent, le revenu brut pour l'élevage d'un agneau par brebis serait en moyenne aussi peu que 40 $ pour couvrir les coûts. Si vous élevez 1,5 agneau, ce coût sera de 26 $. Le 2e cas correspond à une situation à court terme avec peu de frais généraux couverts, et on ne tient pas compte du pourcentage de brebis de réforme vendues annuellement.

Le tableau 2 illustre le lien entre le coût par année pour le troupeau de brebis et le taux d'agnelage. Quand le taux d'agnelage augmente, le rendement requis par agneau diminue. Quand le coût par brebis augmente, le rendement requis augmente.

Tableau 2: Coût selon le rendement pour votre troupeau de brebis
Coûts des brebis et des agneaux jusqu'à la date de vente/année Taux d'agnelage et prix de vente pour le seuil de rentabilité
1,3 1,6 1,9 2,2 2,5
60 46,00 37,50 31,60 27,27 24,00
80 61,53 50,00 42,10 36,36 32,00
100 76,92 62,50 52,63 45,45 40,00
120 92,30 75,00 63,15 54,55 48,00
140 107,70 87,50 73,68 63,63 56,00
160 123,07 100,00 84,21 72,72 64,00
180 138,46 112,50 94,70 81,80 72,00
200 153,85 125,00 105,26 90,90 36,00
220 169,23 137,50 115,79 100,00 88,00

D'après ce tableau, s'il vous en coûte 100 $ par année pour maintenir une brebis dans votre troupeau (y compris le coût d'élevage de ses agneaux jusqu'à la date de vente), et si le taux d'agnelage est de 1,6, vous aurez alors besoin d'un rendement de 62,50 $ par agneau pour couvrir vos coûts. On calcule ce coût en faisant l'hypothèse d'un prix moyen pour les agneaux de tout poids. Si vous pensez que le prix de l'agneau sera supérieur à 62,50 $ et si vos coûts sont de 100 $ ou moins, il sera alors payant de garder votre brebis. Les chiffres correspondant à votre exploitation, dans ce tableau, dépendent de vos coûts et du poids des agneaux que vous pourriez vendre. Les gestionnaires prudents évalueront toutes les brebis de leurs troupeaux, compte tenu des conditions actuelles du marché, et prendront une décision en conséquence.


Auteur : Barry Potter - Regional Livestock Specialist/OMAFRA
Date de création : 20 octobre 2003
Dernière révision : 8 février 2010

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca