Guidelines for Using Donkeys as Guard Animals with Sheep

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. How Do Donkeys Protect the Flock?
  3. Donkey Compatibility with Sheep
  4. Donkey Compatibility with Farm Dogs and People
  5. Considerations When Buying a Guard Donkey
  6. Care & Management of Donkeys
  7. Economics and Conclusion
  8. References

Introduction

The range and extent of predation on Ontario sheep has increased to the point where it threatens the viability of many operations. Ontario producers lost an average of 2,965 sheep and lambs/year to coyotes and wolves during the five year period from 2004 to 2009, losses which were compensated at $427,000/year under the Livestock, Poultry and Honeybee Protection Act. The total losses would be substantially higher, as losses attributed to feral or domestic dogs are not included, since they are compensated by the districts or municipalities. As well, animals that are killed, but not found are not included in these figures.

Most sheep producers agree that no one management practice or method of control will eliminate predation. To effectively combat predation producers must adapt management practices and implement methods of predator control that address specific problems facing that particular operation.

There has been significant interest in using livestock guard animals, sometimes also referred to as predator control animals or mobile flock protectors, as a non-lethal means of reducing predation. Livestock guard animals live with the flock, protecting the sheep from predation, without harming or interfering with the flock. Guard animals currently being used with sheep include specially trained dogs, llamas and donkeys. Donkeys are gaining in popularity due to their relatively low cost, minor maintenance requirements, longevity and their compatibility with other predator control methods. Donkeys also offer the additional advantage in that they can be fed in much the same manner as sheep.

Sheep producers in Australia, United States and western Canada have successfully used donkeys as guard animals, protecting sheep from predation by wolves, coyotes and dogs. The Ontario Predator Study reported that about 70% of the donkeys being used were rated as either excellent or good in terms of providing flock protection. However the donkeys' effectiveness ranged from total elimination of predation, to having absolutely no impact on predation while simultaneously causing other problems within the flock. In many instances poor management practices and unrealistic expectations (too many sheep, scattered sheep or pastures ...) are as much or more to blame for many failures as any shortcoming of the donkey(s). This paper summarizes some of the management guidelines and other factors which may improve the likelihood of a donkey becoming a successful livestock guard animal.

How Do Donkeys Protect the Flock?

In order for donkeys to provide the best predator protection possible it is important to first understand how they protect the flock. The livestock guard animal, regardless of species, is really no different than a security guard, in that in order to provide protection they must both be in the right place at the right time. The more time the guard animals spends with the flock the more likely it will be present when needed. The donkey's natural herding instinct means if properly bonded to the sheep, it will stay with the sheep most of the time. The donkey's herding instinct combined with its inherent dislike and aggressiveness towards coyotes and dogs can make it an effective livestock guard animal... if managed properly.

Donkeys rely predominantly on sight and sound to detect intruders. When approached, sheep will tend to move so the guard animal is between the intruder and themselves. The donkeys' loud brays and quick pursuit will scare away predators and may also alert the shepherd. In most instances donkeys will confront and chase dogs or coyotes out of the pasture. If the canines do not retreat quickly the donkeys will attack them by rising up on their hind legs and striking with both front feet. A solid blow can injure, kill or at the very least discourage the predator.

Donkey Compatibility with Sheep

Given ample opportunity, most donkeys will bond with sheep and protect them from predators. The donkey should be introduced to the sheep as early as possible to increase the likelihood of the donkey bonding to the flock. Getting the sheep and donkey to accept each other as flock mates is the first step in allowing the donkey to exhibit its true guarding instincts. Under ideal circumstances the jenny (female donkey) and her foal should be raised with the sheep. The weaned foal should then be left alone with the flock. Many believe that because donkeys are very sociable animals that they must work alone in order to effectively protect the sheep. The concern is that if the donkeys are allowed to mix with cattle, horses or other donkeys, then the sheep may be ignored.

All is not lost if the donkey has not been raised with the sheep. The donkey can still be taught to protect the sheep by housing them next to each other for 1 - 2 weeks. Usually after this adaptation period the donkey can safely be turned out with the sheep, although they should be watched carefully for signs of potential conflict.

In order to effectively protect the flock from predators the donkey and sheep must be compatible. Conflict-free compatibility should not be assumed! There is wide variation in how individual donkeys interact with sheep. Be aware that the donkey's behaviour and mood may be unpredictable during estrus, or when the ewes are lambing.

Not all donkeys make good livestock guard animals, as there are significant behaviourial differences between individuals. Some donkeys can be overly aggressive with the sheep. This aggressiveness can range from chasing sheep, nipping at ears or wool, preventing access to feed or water, to the extreme of hurting or even killing lambs or sheep.

Donkey Compatibility with Farm Dogs and People

The donkeys' distinct dislike of canines may also include the farm or herding dog. Be careful to initially limit and supervise the interaction between the donkey and dog. Most herding dogs will eventually adapt and learn to work around the donkey rather than try to control it like one of the sheep. Neighbours with dogs should also be notified of the presence of a guard donkey and the potential conflict between donkeys and wandering dogs. While naturally aggressive with canines, most donkeys are docile and gentle with humans.

Considerations When Buying a Guard Donkey

Size, Conformation and Behaviour

  • miniature - under 36" at the withers
  • small standard - over 36" and up to and including 48"
  • large standard - over 48" and under 54" for jennies and over 48" and under 56" for jacks (males) and geldings
  • large - over 54" for jennies and over 56" for jacks or geldings.

Most miniatures are likely too small to effectively fend off predators. Although the large donkeys' frame enables them to repel predators, they do tend to be more difficult to handle. It would thus appear that the small and large standards provide the best combination of predator control and ease of handling. Alberta recommends guard donkeys should be at least 2 years old and at least 44" high at the shoulder. Key points to look for when purchasing a donkey are good conformation, straight legs and a good attitude. A donkey's aggressive tendencies towards dogs and coyotes can be checked by introducing a dog into a small pen containing the prospective guard animal.

Flock Size and Number of Donkeys

Producers using donkeys as livestock guard animals tend to have smaller flocks. Donkeys appear best suited for farm flocks of less than 100 ewes. Ideally a donkey may be able to guard up to 200 ewes if the terrain is flat and barren and provided the sheep are grazing in one pasture. However many Ontario flocks are raised or pastured on rough and rolling land, scattered with bushes which provides ideal cover for coyotes. Under such conditions the donkey will likely have obstructed sightlines and thus be less likely to oversee the entire flock.

The use of guard donkeys may have limitations for larger flocks and rolling and bush laden pastures, unless one donkey is used for each group or pasture. It should be stressed that if using donkeys in adjacent pastures that the pastures be adequately separated to ensure the donkeys stay with their respective sheep and not with each other. There is also concern that coyotes and/or dogs may be become adept at luring the donkey away from the flock, while other coyotes come in for the unprotected kill.

Donkey Gender

A jenny and foal probably provide the best protection, however jennies also work very well on their own. Geldings are also effective and especially popular because of their even temperament. Intact males (jacks) are not used as commonly as they tend to be overly aggressive with both sheep and people.

Over-Protective Behaviour

There have been instances where donkeys are over-protective of the flock. Lambing season should be approached with caution as some donkeys may behave as if the lambs are intruders. The donkey's protective behaviour can lead to the lambs being injured or killed.

Another potential consequence of this over-protective behaviour is the donkey preventing the ram from breeding the ewes. Housing or penning the donkey separately from the ewes during breeding season, and lambing time, or until the lambs are well-bonded with their mothers and steady on their feet should resolve these problems. However one should question the use of a guard animal which must be removed during a high risk period of predation, particularly when lambing on pasture.

Advantages and Disadvantages of Donkeys Over Guard Dogs

Like donkeys, specially trained livestock guard dogs can also protect flocks from predation. However unlike dogs, donkeys are not prone to wandering, providing the fences are well maintained. Donkeys live longer than dogs and with proper management producers can expect donkeys to provide 10 - 15 years of productive protection. On average it will cost less to purchase and maintain donkeys than livestock guard dogs since donkeys will eat primarily home-grown feed.

Care & Management of Donkeys

One of the distinct advantages of using donkeys as guard animals is that they can eat the same feed as the sheep, unless the hay is an extremely high protein legume. Lush pasture or high quality legume hay are not recommended because donkeys have a low energy requirement and are prone to obesity and certain metabolic disorders such as laminitis (founder) and hyperlipaemia if allowed to feed free choice. Donkeys do well on good quality grass hay and in most cases will require very little grain. If grain is fed, ensure the donkeys do not eat cattle or lamb rations containing rumensin as ingestion of monensin (active ingredient) by horses and other equine has been fatal.

The amount of hay and grain fed will depend to a large extent on the size and body condition of the donkey. As a rule of thumb the total dry matter intake (hay and grain) for maintenance should be about 2.0% of body weight. For a 600 lb. (272 kg) donkey the daily total dry matter intake should be about 12 lb. (5.5 kg) on a dry matter basis or about 13.3 lb. (4.9 kg) on an as-fed basis This is about 1/3 of bale per day. Based on having 185 days of pasture and 180 days of hay, it would cost about $90/year ($0.50/day) to feed hay at $1.50/bale.

When graining the sheep it may be advisable to either feed the donkey separately or at least gives the donkey its grain in a separate tub. Otherwise the bigger more dominant donkey may prevent the sheep access to the feeder or even butt the sheep potentially causing injuries.

Donkeys should have their feet trimmed every 3 - 4 months which will cost about $75 - $100/year. Proper care of the donkey's feet is important if the donkey is expected to effectively chase predators away.

Economics and Conclusion

Before proceeding with any kind on predator control producers must ask themselves "How much is it going to cost?" and "Is the predation problem serious enough to justify the expense of implementing and maintaining predator control?" Perhaps the best approach to determining the answers to these questions is to compare the cost of acquiring/maintaining a donkey with the number of lambs that it would have to save in order to pay for itself.

Assuming a donkey can be purchased for $500 and provide 10 years of useful predator control the annual capital cost would be $50/year. The annual costs of keeping a donkey including home-grown feed, hoof trimming, and other expenses will be in the range of $150 - $200/year. At lamb prices of $175/cwt for lambs weighing 100 lbs., the donkey would only have to save 1 lamb per year to pay for itself.

Although donkeys alone may not be the ultimate solution to the Ontario sheep industry's conflict with predators, donkeys certainly have proven that they can successfully reduce predation under specific circumstances, if managed properly.

References

  1. The Donkey - Care and Feeding, Agdex 467/20-1, Alberta Agriculture
  2. Donkeys Do Double Duty, 1995, Saskatchewan Agriculture and Food
  3. Donkeys Get Mixed Reviews as Sheep Protectors, 1992, Sylvia Hasbury
  4. Donkeys On Duty, Rollie Henkes & John Dietz
  5. Donkey, Si? Donkey, Non?, 1996, Eugene L. Fytche
  6. Guard Donkeys, Anne Jones
  7. Guard Donkeys Show Possibilities, Murray Walton & C. Andy Field, Texas Department of Agriculture, 1990
  8. Guardian Donkeys, 1992, Barb Plews
  9. Guard Llamas, 1994, Iowa State University
  10. Ontario Predator Study, Study 6: Donkeys As Mobile Flock Protectors, 1995, Fytche Enterprises
  11. Use of Donkeys to Guard Sheep and Goats in Texas, 1989, Murray T. Walton and C. Andy Field, Texas Department of Agriculture

For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 1 September 1997
Last Reviewed: 7 July 2010

Conseils généraux sur l'utilisation des ânes comme gardiens de moutons

L'étendue et l'importance des cas de prédation sur les moutons de l'Ontario ont grimpé à un taux alarmant, à tel point qu'ils menacent la viabilité d'un grand nombre d'exploitations. La plupart des producteurs d'ovins s'entendent qu'il n'existe pas une seule méthode ou pratique de lutte en mesure d'éliminer la prédation. Pour lutter de façon efficace contre la prédation les éleveurs doivent adapter des pratiques de gestion et implanter des méthodes de lutte contre les prédateurs qui répondent précisément aux problèmes auxquels une exploitation fait face.

Les éleveurs se sont de plus en plus intéressés à l'utilisation d'animaux gardiens pour le bétail, aussi appelés animaux de lutte contre les prédateurs ou animaux protecteurs du bétail, comme moyen non létal de réduire la prédation. Parmi les animaux utilisés à l'heure actuelle pour garder les moutons, mentionnons les chiens, les lamas et les ânes, que l'on entraîne spécialement à cette fin. De plus en plus d'éleveurs ont recours à des ânes pour garder leurs moutons du fait de leur coût modique, de leurs besoins d'entretien minimes, de leur longévité et de leur compatibilité avec les autres méthodes de lutte contre les prédateurs. Ils consomment aussi les mêmes aliments que les moutons.

En Australie, aux États-Unis et dans l'Ouest du Canada, des éleveurs d'ovins ont utilisés des ânes « bergers » avec succès pour protéger leur troupeau contre des prédateurs comme les loups, les coyotes et les chiens. L'Ontario Predator Study a indiqué qu'environ 70 % des ânes utilisés avaient été évalués comme offrant un excellent ou un bon service de protection du troupeau. Toutefois l'efficacité des ânes variait de l'élimination totale de la menace à aucun impact sur la prédation, tout en étant simultanément la cause d'autres problèmes au sein du troupeau. Dans de nombreux cas, de mauvaises pratiques de gestion et des attentes non réalistes (trop grand nombre de moutons, moutons ou pâturages sur une trop grande superficie...) étaient autant ou plus en cause que les échecs ou les manquements des ânes. Le présent article résume les conseils de gestion et divers éléments à considérer pour qu'un âne « berger » assure avec succès la garde et la protection d'un troupeau.

Comment les ânes protègent le troupeau

Pour que les ânes puissent offrir la meilleure protection possible contre les prédateurs, il faut bien comprendre au départ comment ils protègent le troupeau. L'animal gardien, toute espèce confondue, n'est pas différent d'un gardien de sécurité dans la mesure où pour une protection efficace, il doit être au bon endroit au bon moment. Plus les animaux bergers passent de temps avec le troupeau plus ils auront la chance d'être présents au bon moment. L'âne possède un instinct grégaire naturel qui le porte à s'attacher aux moutons, il passe alors la plus grande partie du temps avec eux. Son instinct grégaire naturel, ajouté à son aversion et à son agressivité innées à l'encontre des coyotes et des chiens, peut en faire un auxiliaire efficace pour la garde du troupeau, à condition qu'il ait été adéquatement entraîné.

Les ânes détectent les intrusions en se basant sur des indices visuels et auditifs. Quand ils sont approchés, les moutons ont tendance à se déplacer pour que l'animal berger se retrouve entre l'intrus et eux. Les braiments violents et la prise en chasse rapide de l'âne peuvent effrayer les prédateurs et avertir le berger. La plupart du temps, les ânes vont affronter les chiens ou les coyotes et les chasser du pâturage. Si les prédateurs canins ne se retirent pas rapidement l'âne gardien passe à l'attaque, il se cambre sur ses pattes arrière et il les frappe des deux pattes avant. Un coup assez fort peut blesser, mettre à mort ou pour le moins décourager un prédateur.

Compatibilité des ânes avec les moutons

S'ils en ont l'occasion, la plupart des ânes s'attachent aux moutons et les protègent contre les prédateurs. Pour favoriser leur attachement aux moutons, il faut les placer au contact des moutons le plus tôt possible. Pour que l'âne démontre son instinct véritable de gardien, les moutons et lui doivent d'abord se reconnaître comme faisant partie du même troupeau. L'idéal est que l'âne femelle et son petit soient élevés avec les moutons. Le petit sevré est ensuite laissé seul avec le troupeau. Certains affirment qu'à cause de son côté très sociable il est préférable que l'âne travaille seul pour protéger efficacement les moutons. Il est possible que si on laisse les ânes bergers se mêler aux bovins, aux chevaux ou à d'autres ânes, ils pourraient alors négliger les moutons.

Tout n'est pas perdu si l'âne n'a pas été élevé avec les moutons. Il est encore possible de lui enseigner à protéger les moutons s'ils sont logés à proximité les uns des autres pour une à deux semaines. D'ordinaire après une période d'adaptation l'âne peut être envoyé avec les moutons, avec plus de surveillance au début pour détecter tout indice de conflit potentiel.

Pour que le troupeau soit protégé de façon efficace contre les prédateurs l'âne et les moutons doivent être compatibles. Il ne faut pas s'attendre que compatibilité signifie « sans aucun conflit »! Comment les ânes interagissent individuellement avec les moutons varie grandement. Rappelons que le comportement et l'humeur de l'âne peuvent devenir imprévisibles pendant l'oestrus, ou quand les brebis mettent bas.

Ce ne sont pas tous les ânes qui font de bons gardiens de troupeau, il existe d'importantes différences comportementales d'un animal à l'autre. Certains ânes sont exagérément agressifs envers les ovins. Ce comportement se manifeste en les prenant en chasse, en leur donnant des coups de dent aux oreilles ou à la toison, en leur bloquant l'accès à l'eau ou aux aliments, ou à l'extrême, en blessant ou même en tuant des agneaux ou des moutons.

Compatibilité des ânes avec les chiens de la ferme et les humains

L'aversion naturelle de l'âne à l'encontre de la gent canine peut inclure aussi le chien berger ou le chien de la ferme. Il s'agit de bien encadrer au départ les interactions entre l'âne et le chien et de les superviser. La plupart des chiens bergers s'adaptent avec le temps et apprennent éventuellement à travailler avec l'âne plutôt que de tenter de le contrôler comme s'il était l'un des moutons. Il faut aviser les voisins qui ont des chiens de la présence d'un âne berger et des conflits potentiels pouvant survenir entre les ânes et les chiens errants. Malgré leur agressivité naturelle envers la gent canine, la plupart des ânes sont d'un naturel doux et docile avec les humains.

Éléments à considérer pour l'achat d'un âne comme gardien de moutons

Taille, conformation et comportement

  • Miniature : moins de 91,5 cm (36 po) au garrot;
  • Standard petit : de 91,5 cm à 1,22 m (de 36 po à 48 po inclus) ;
  • Standard grand : plus de 1,22 m et moins que 1,37 m (plus de 48 po et moins que 54 po) pour les femelles; plus de 1,22 m et moins que 1,4 m (plus de 48 po et moins que 56 po) pour les jacks et les mâles castrés;
  • Très grand : 1,37 m (54 po) et plus pour la femelle et 1,42 m (56 po) et plus pour le mâle ou le mâle castré.

La plupart des ânes miniatures sont vraisemblablement trop petits pour affronter efficacement les prédateurs. Même si la taille des ânes très grands leur permet de repousser les prédateurs, ils ont tendance à être plus difficiles à contrôler. Il semble donc que les animaux standard petits et grands combinent mieux les aptitudes de lutte contre les prédateurs et de caractère facile. L'Alberta recommande d'utiliser des ânes âgés d'au moins deux ans et qui mesurent au moins 1,12 m (44 po) au garrot. Parmi les éléments clés à examiner, notons une bonne conformation, des pattes droites et une bonne attitude. On peut vérifier les tendances agressives d'un âne à l'encontre des chiens et des coyotes en introduisant un chien dans un petit enclos avec le gardien éventuel.

Taille du troupeau et nombre d'ânes gardiens

Les producteurs de plus petits troupeaux ont plus tendance à utiliser les ânes comme gardiens de troupeaux. Les ânes semblent remplir le mieux leur rôle protecteur avec des troupeaux de moins de 100 brebis. Idéalement, un âne pourrait garder jusqu'à 200 brebis en terrain plat et aride si les moutons sont dans un seul pâturage. Cependant de nombreux troupeaux ontariens sont élevés ou en pâture sur des terres rudes, vallonnées et boisées fournissant un couvert idéal aux coyotes. Dans des conditions telles, la vue de l'âne sera vraisemblablement gênée et son efficacité comme gardien peut être limitée s'il ne peut plus observer le troupeau dans son entier.

L'utilisation des ânes gardiens est limitée pour les troupeaux plus nombreux et sur les pâturages vallonnées et boisées, à moins de consacrer un âne à chaque groupe ou à chaque pâturage. Rappelons que si des ânes sont aussi utilisés dans des pâturages adjacents il faut s'assurer de délimiter adéquatement ces superficies pour que les ânes restent chacun avec leurs moutons et non pas les uns avec les autres. Il faut aussi être conscient que les coyotes ou même les chiens sont capables de distraire un âne de son troupeau pendant que leurs congénères attaquent les moutons non protégés.

Genre de l'âne

Une femelle et son petit offrent probablement la meilleure protection, toutefois les femelles travaillent aussi très bien seules. Les ânes castrés sont aussi efficaces, ils sont surtout populaires pour leur tempérament égal. Les jacks (mâles intacts) ne sont pas utilisés aussi couramment car ils ont tendance à être trop agressifs tant avec les moutons qu'avec les personnes.

Comportement surprotecteur

On a déjà vu des ânes qui étaient surprotecteurs de leur troupeau. Il faut être prudent pendant la saison de l'agnelage, certains ânes gardiens peuvent considérer les agneaux comme des intrus. Le comportement surprotecteur peut aller assez loin, des agneaux peuvent être blessés ou mis à mort.

Autre conséquence potentielle de ce comportement, l'âne peut nuire aux rencontres du bélier avec les brebis. Pendant la saison de reproduction et d'agnelage, on peut mettre l'âne dans un abri ou un enclos différents, ou jusqu'à ce que les agneaux soient bien attachés à leur mère et assez solides sur leurs pattes, ce qui devrait résoudre ces problèmes. Toutefois, l'utilisation d'un animal gardien qu'il faut retirer quand le risque de prédation est élevé si l'agnelage a lieu au pâturage demande réflexion.

Avantages et désavantages des ânes gardiens par rapport aux chiens bergers

Tout comme les ânes, les chiens spécialement entraînés peuvent aussi protéger les troupeaux contre la prédation. Contrairement aux chiens toutefois, les ânes n'ont pas tendance à vagabonder, à la condition que les clôtures soient bien entretenues. Les ânes vivent plus longtemps que les chiens et avec une bonne gestion les producteurs peuvent s'attendre à ce que les ânes fournissent de 10 à 15 années de protection fructueuse. En moyenne, il en coûte moins d'acheter et de maintenir des ânes que des chiens pour garder les troupeaux puisqu'en plus ils sont surtout nourris d'aliments produits à la ferme.

Soins et gestion des ânes

L'un des avantages particuliers de l'utilisation des ânes comme gardiens est qu'ils peuvent manger les mêmes aliments que les moutons, à moins que le foin ne contienne une très grande proportion de légumineuses à haute teneur en protéines. Des fourrages provenant de pâturages riches ou composés de légumineuses fourragères de haute qualité ne sont pas recommandés parce que les ânes ont de faibles besoins énergétiques et sont portés à l'obésité et à certains désordres métaboliques comme la laminite (fourbure) et l'hyperlipidémie si on leur laisse le choix des aliments. Pour bien se porter les ânes ont besoin de consommer du foin de bonne qualité et dans la plupart des cas d'un peu de grains. Si on leur donne du grain, il faut s'assurer qu'ils ne consomment pas les rations des moutons ou des bovins qui contiennent du Rumensin, l'ingestion de monensin (matière active) par les chevaux et les autres équidés est mortelle.

C'est la taille et l'état corporel de l'âne qui dictent la quantité du foin et du grain que l'animal doit consommer. Règle générale la prise alimentaire de matière sèche totale (foin et grain) pour le maintien équivaut à environ 2,0 % du poids de l'animal. Pour un âne de 272 kg (600 lb), la prise alimentaire de matière sèche totale est d'environ 5,5 kg (12 lb) sur une base de matière sèche ou d'environ 4,9 kg (13,3 lb) consommés aliments du bétail. C'est l'équivalent d'un tiers de botte de foin par jour. Si on prévoit une période au pâturage de 185 jours et 180 jours de fourrage, il en coûterait environ 90 $/année (0,50 $/jour) pour nourrir un âne avec du foin au prix de 1,50 $/botte.

Quand on donne des grains aux moutons, il vaut mieux nourrir l'âne séparément, ou lui donner sa ration dans une auge séparée. Autrement l'âne plus gros et plus dominant pourrait empêcher les moutons d'avoir accès à la mangeoire ou même les en chasser et potentiellement les blesser.

Il faut tailler les onglons des ânes tous les 3 ou 4 mois, ce qui totalise environ 75 $ à 100 $/année. Le soin des sabots de l'âne est primordial pour qu'il soit efficace dans sa chasse aux prédateurs.

Aspects économiques et conclusion

Avant de mettre en oeuvre toute méthode de lutte contre les prédateurs, les producteurs se demandent toujours « Quel est le prix ? » et «Le problème de prédation est-il si grave pour engager des coûts de mise en oeuvre et de maintien d'une méthode de lutte ? » La meilleure approche reste peut-être de déterminer les réponses à ces questions en comparant les coûts d'achat et de maintien d'un âne avec le nombre d'agneaux que le gardien devrait sauver pour couvrir ses frais.

En supposant qu'on achète un âne pour 500 $ et qu'il protège le troupeau des prédateurs pendant 10 ans, le coût annuel en capital serait de 50 $ par an. Les frais d'entretien d'un âne, aliments produits sur la ferme, taille des onglons et autres frais, se chiffrent au total entre 150 et 200 dollars par an. Avec le prix de l'agneau à 175 dollars pour un agneau de 45,4 kg (100 lb), il suffirait que l'âne sauve la vie de deux ou de trois agneaux par an pour couvrir ses frais.

Les ânes ne peuvent être à eux seuls la solution contre les prédateurs pour l'industrie ovine ontarienne ; ils ont certainement prouvé cependant qu'ils étaient efficaces pour réduire la prédation dans des circonstances précises quand ils sont adéquatement gérés.

Références

  • The Donkey - Care and Feeding, Agdex 467/20-1, Alberta Agriculture
  • Donkeys Do Double Duty, 1995, Saskatchewan Agriculture and Food
  • Donkeys Get Mixed Reviews as Sheep Protectors, 1992, Sylvia Hasbury
  • Donkeys On Duty, Rollie Henkes & John Dietz
  • Donkey, Si? Donkey, Non?, 1996, Eugene L. Fytche
  • Guard Donkeys, Anne Jones
  • Guard Donkeys Show Possibilities, Murray Walton & C. Andy Field, Texas Department of Agriculture, 1990
  • Guardian Donkeys, 1992, Barb Plews
  • Guard Llamas, 1994, Iowa State University
  • Ontario Predator Study, Study 6: Donkeys As Mobile Flock Protectors, 1995, Fytche Enterprises
  • Use of Donkeys to Guard Sheep and Goats in Texas, 1989, Murray T. Walton and C. Andy Field, Texas Department of Agriculture

Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 01 septembre 1997
Dernière révision : 8 décembre 2016

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca