Poultry Barn Ventilation

Eastern Ontario Poultry Conference
October 17th, 2007

Harry Huffman
Agricultural Engineer


Poultry barn ventilation has a number of functions including the supply of fresh air to birds, the maintenance of a desired temperature in the poultry barn, the removal of excessive humidity as well as the elimination of odours and other gases. Water vapour resulting from the respiration of birds produces humidity. Heaters in the poultry barn also produce moisture. Furthermore, both the birds and heaters in the barn produce CO2.

Odour in the poultry barn can be caused by inadequate ventilation. Poor air quality can cause an increase in respiratory problems, potential blindness, increased incidence of breast blisters and cellulitis as well as lower profitability.

Minimal air renewal is required in livestock barns. This is referred to as minimum ventilation. The objective of minimum ventilation is to exhaust sufficient air to maintain a relative humidity level of between 55 % and 65 % (depending on the age of the birds) as well as to maintain ammonia gas levels less than 20 PPM and carbon dioxide gas levels less than 5000 PPM.

The location of air inlets is crucial. As cold air is heavier than warm air, cold air will fall to floor level and will not climb up sloping ceilings. The location of air inlets should at the top of the sidewall and they should be automatically controlled. Static pressure of 0.06 to 0.08 should be maintained inside the barn during the cold weather. During the warm weather season, a static pressure of 0.03 to 0.06 should be maintained inside the barn. Cold air does not hold much moisture but generally has a high relative humidity. Every 10 C temperature rise doubles the moisture holding capacity of the air. Supplemental heating is often required to maintain both the desired room temperature and still allow required air exchange for good air quality.

Certain preparations are required for the cold season. Large summer fans should be covered with interior insulated panels. All load-out and clean-out must be weather-stripped and clamped tight shut. The effective length of air inlet available for minimum ventilation should be reduced.

Internal air circulation is also a very important factor. All poultry barns must have internal air circulation to ensure the distribution of fresh air, to distribute supplemental heat, to help eliminate temperature differentials and temperature stratification. In addition, internal air circulation solves the problem of insufficient static pressure in cold weather with small birds, helps to dissipate CO2 near the floor and carries a well mixed sample of room air past each operating fan for extraction.

Ventilation controls are at the heart of every ventilation and heating system. They must be managed properly and if new controls are not well understood by barn operators, plenty of coaching and practice time will be required.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: May 28 2008
Last Reviewed: May 28 2008

Ventilation des structures d'élevage des volailles

Conférence sur la volaille de l'est de l'Ontario
17 octobre 2007

Harry Huffman
Ingénieur agricole

La ventilation a pour fonction de fournir de l'air frais aux oiseaux, maintenir la température désirée à l'intérieur du bâtiment, extraire l'humidité excessive et éliminer les odeurs et les autres gaz. La vapeur d'eau provenant de la respiration des oiseaux produit de l'humidité. Les appareils de chauffage en produisent aussi. De plus, les oiseaux et les appareils de chauffage produisent du CO2.

Les odeurs dans le poulailler peuvent être causées par une ventilation inadéquate. L'air de piètre qualité provoque une hausse des troubles respiratoires. De plud, la cécité des oiseaux peut être parfois observée et l'incidence d'ampoules au bréchet de cellulite augmente le tout évidemment associé à des pertes de rendement.

Un renouvellement minimum d'air est requis dans les bâtiments d'élevage. C'est ce que l'on nomme la ventilation minimum. L'objectif de cette ventilation de base est d'évacuer assez d'air pour maintenir un niveau d'humidité relative de 55 % à 65 % (selon l'âge des oiseaux) mais aussi maintenir le niveau d'ammoniac inférieur à 20 PPM et de dioxyde de carbone inférieur à 5 000 PPM.

L'emplacement des entrées d'air est crucial. Comme l'air froid est plus lourd que l'air chaud, il se retrouve au niveau du sol et ne peut monter le long des plafonds pentus. Il faut donc localiser les prises d'air en haut du mur latéral et que cette prise d'air soit équipée d'un contrôle automatisé. Une pression statique de 0,06 à 0,08 pour la saison froide, et de 0,03 à 0,06 pour la saison chaude devrait être maintenue à l'intérieur du bâtiment. L'air froid ne retient pas beaucoup d'humidité mais son humidité relative est d'ordinaire élevée. Chaque augmentation de température de 10 °C double le pouvoir de rétention d'eau de l'air. Le chauffage d'appoint est souvent nécessaire pour maintenir à la fois la température ambiante désirée et permettre l'échange d'air nécessaire pour obtenir une bonne qualité de l'air.

Certaines préparations sont requises pour la saison froide. Il faut en effet couvrir les grands ventilateurs d'été avec des panneaux isolants intérieurs, s'assurer que tous les passages et les portes sont bien calfeutrés et bien fermés et refermer assez la prise d'air pour avoir une ventilation minimum.

Le mouvement de l'air à l'intérieur est aussi un facteur important. Il faut une circulation d'air interne dans tous les poulaillers qui abritent des oiseaux au sol pour assurer la distribution de l'air frais, distribuer de la chaleur supplémentaire, réduire les différences et la stratification de la température. De plus, la circulation d'air interne résout le problème de la pression statique insuffisante par temps froid quand les oiseaux sont petits, favorise la dissipation du CO2 près du sol et fait circuler un échantillon d'air ambiant bien mélangé devant chaque ventilateur pour l'extraire.

Les commandes de ventilation sont au cœur de tout système de ventilation et de chauffage. La ventilation doit être réglée correctement et si les nouvelles commandes ne sont pas bien connues des préposés aux bâtiments, il faut prendre le temps d'encadrer les préposés et leur permettre de se familiariser avec ceux-ci.

 


Auteur : Mario Mongeon - Spécialiste en production animale/MAAARO
Date de création : 22 janvier 2008
Dernière révision : 22 janvier 2008

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca