Examining the Mare's Placenta
and Keeping Foaling Records

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Placenta of the Mare
  3. Foaling Records
  4. References

Introduction

The placenta from each foaling mare should be examined for completeness shortly after foaling (1). If a section(s) of placenta remains in the uterus, infection (endometritis, pyometra) and toxemia (resulting in laminitis) may result. Persons inexperienced at looking at the mare's placenta may mistake normal structures as lesions.

The mare's placenta is made up of two distinct membranes, the amnion, the opaque membrane which immediately surrounds the foal, and the chorioallantois which joins to the uterus. On initial examination, one first encounters a placenta which has been turned "inside-out". The "velvety" chorionic surface will be inside while the glistening allantois surface is outermost. This inversion occurs when the foal, still enveloped in the amnion, breaks through the chorioallantois at the cervical star. The foal moves into the cervix and vagina pulling the chorioallantois by way of the umbilical cord, everting it through the hole at the cervical star. The cervical star is a pale area of the placenta which apposes the cervix. It lacks the finger-like villi which give the chorioallantois a velvety appearance.

Examination of the placenta starts with obtaining an accurate weight. Digital postage scales, capable of weighing up to 30 lbs., are inexpensive and work well. The normal placenta of the near-term thoroughbred mare should weigh about 11% of the body weight of the foal or approximately 5.7 + 0.08 kg (12.5 lbs) (2). Placenta weights are important indicators of edema and reactions to infectious and non-infectious agents that may affect foal mortality.

Placenta of the Mare

(chorioallantois - chorionic surface) placenta of the mare

While the glistening allantois surface is still outermost, check for any tears or any abnormalities. The most common area for tears is the tip of the non pregnant horn. Once assured that the placenta is complete, turn it "right-side" out, exposing the "velvety" chorionic surface. Lay the placenta out in a "Y" or "F" shape. The 3 arms of the "Y" correspond to the placenta occupying the 2 uterine horns and the equally long uterine body ending in the cervical star. This is usually the point of rupture through which the foal exits.

Examination of the normal placenta may reveal slight edema and/or thickening of the tips of the uterine horns, small (0.1 - 1.0 cm) bare foci scattered at random over the chorionic surface, and distinct folds of the chorionic surface of the non pregnant horn. These folds are prominent since they were not stretched by the pregnancy. Often a brown "liver-like" material, termed a hippomane, is found floating in the allantoic cavity. Dr. Jim Rooney theorizes that the hippomane arises as an out-pouching of the allantois which eventually forms a pedicle and separates to float free in the allantoic cavity (3). Other references suggest that it is a collection of debris, thought to be deposits from the foetal urine and cells (4). Histologically, it appears to be a concentric deposition like a urinary calculi.

The umbilical cord should be measured. The umbilical cord of the thoroughbred horse is usually between 36 and 83 cm in length. Some have been reported up to 105 cm in length. However, the greater the length of the umbilical cord, the greater the chance for umbilical torsions. It is common to see five or six twists of the umbilical cord with no apparent problem, while 16 twists have been associated with death of the foal. Local haemorrhage and edema of the umbilical cord are observed in some cases.

The presence of yellowish brown meconium staining of the placenta and foal should be noted. It indicates fetal stress, as seen with herpesvirus abortions, ergot alkaloid toxicity and other diseases.

Your veterinarian should be called to examine all post-partum mares, foals and placentas, especially if a placenta is not intact. Practitioners may choose to submit the entire placenta for examination to a laboratory, or section parts of the placenta and place them in formalin. Refer to the foaling record for selection of areas to be sampled. Samples may also be collected for bacterial culture. Entire placentas should be packed with ice and shipped in sealed watertight containers to the laboratory. Small plastic pails with tight fitting lids work well for this purpose.

Foaling Records

A record of events and time intervals between events is very useful information. A foaling record provides a systematic record of events and can be copied to the laboratory when submitting samples. Accurate records can be used to investigate or determine the cause of foaling problems within a group of mares during the foaling season and can also be useful in determining what is normal for individual mares. Industry bench marks for these events and intervals are summarized below (5, 6).

  • The average gestation length of a mare (period between breeding and foaling) is 340 + 20 days.
  • 65.5% of mares foal at night between 8 p.m. and 1 a.m.
  • Waxing of the teats occurs 2-4 days before foaling. Waxing (or wax beads) refers to the colostrum (first milk) which appears at the end of the teats.
  • Dripping of colostrum 24-48 hours before foaling (may result in inadequate anitbody absorption in the foal).
  • Stage1 lasts for 2-3 hours and terminates with the "breaking of water" when 2-5 gallons of uterine fluids are released.
  • Stage 2 is the active parturition stage, when the mare's cervix dilates and uterine contractions increase with the foal normally expelled in 15 minutes.
  • Stage 3, the final stage, involves the expulsion of placental membranes. The placenta is usually passed within 15 minutes to one hour.
  • Placenta weight 5.7 + 0.08 kg (12.5 lbs) (2)
  • The umbilical cord of the thoroughbred horse is usually between 36 and 83 cm in length. Some have been reported up to 105 cm in length.
  • It is common to see five or six twists of the umbilical cord with no apparent problem, while 16 twists have been associated with death of the foal.

References

1) Schlafer DH. Gross examination of equine fetal membranes: what's important - what's not. Proc. of the Equine Symposium: The Perparturient Mare and Noeonate, Society of Theriogenology/American College of Theriogenologists, San Antonio, Texas. Nov. 2000.

2) Whitwell KE, Jeffcott LB. Morphological studies on the fetal membranes of the normal singleton foal at term. Res. Vet. Sci. 1975; 19:44-55.

3) Rooney JR, Robertson JL. Equine Pathology. Ames: Iowa State University Press, 1996: 240.

4) Dickerson JW, Southgate DA, King JM. The origin and development of Hippomane in the Horse and Zebra. J. Anatomy 1967; 101 (2):285-293.

5) Freeman D.W., Oklahoma State University, Equine Specialist.

6) Ley W. B., Management of the Foaling Mare: Predicting Readiness for Birth and Inducing Foaling. Veterinary Practice, June 1994 p. 570-577.

Related Links


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author:

Dr. Bob Wright - Veterinary Scientist, Equine and Alternative Livestock/OMAFRA; Dr. Dan Kenney - Staff Veterinarian, Ontario Veterinary College/University of Guelph

Creation Date: April 2001
Last Reviewed: April 2001

Faire l'examen du placenta de la jument et tenir des rapports sur les mises bas

 

Introduction

Le placenta de chaque jument ayant mis bas doit être examiné pour vérifier son intégrité peu de temps après le vêlage (1). Si une portion du placenta reste dans l'utérus, une infection (endometritis, pyometra) et une toxémie (aboutissant à une laminite) peuvent s'ensuivre. Les personnes inexpérimentées peuvent faire l'examen du placenta et, par erreur, prendre des structures normales pour des lésions.

Le placenta de la jument est composé de deux membranes distinctes, l'amnios, la membrane opaque qui entoure le poulain et la chorio-allantoïde, liée à l'utérus. Lors de l'examen initial, le placenta sera " à l'envers. " La surface chorionique qui a une apparence de velours sera à l'intérieur tandis que la surface allantoïde scintillante est à l'extérieur. Cette inversion se produit quand le poulain, alors qu'il est toujours enveloppé dans l'amnios, déchire et passe à travers la chorio-allantoïde à l'étoile cervicale. Le poulain se déplace vers le col de l'utérus et le vagin tout en tirant la chorio-allantoïde par le cordon ombilical. Il l'expulse par le trou situé près de l'étoile cervicale. L'étoile cervicale est une partie pâle du placenta en apposition avec le col de l'utérus. On note chez elle l'absence de villosités similidigitales qui donne une apparence veloutée à la chorio-allantoïde.

L'examen du placenta commence par une pesée précise. Les balances postales numériques, pouvant convenir à des poids inférieurs à trente livres, sont peu coûteuses et font très bien l'affaire. Le placenta normal de la jument pur-sang presque à terme doit peser environ 11 % du poids du poulain soit environ 5,7 ± 0,08 kg (12,5 livres) (2). Le poids du placenta donne des indices importants sur la survenue d'œdème et de réactions aux agents infectieux et non infectieux qui peuvent affecter la vie du poulain.

Placenta de la jument

figure 1 - Placenta de la jument

(Chorio-allantoïde - Surface chorionique)

Tandis que la surface brillante de l'allantoïde est toujours à l'extérieur, vérifiez la présence de trous ou d'anomalies. L'endroit le plus susceptible où trouver une déchirure est la corne utérine non enceinte. Une fois assuré que le placenta est complet, mettez-le " à l'endroit " et exposez la surface veloutée du chorionique. Disposez le placenta sous la forme d'un " F " ou d'un " Y ". Les 3 bras du " Y " correspondent à la présence du placenta dans les deux trompes de Fallope et au corps utérin également long qui aboutit à l'étoile cervicale. Il s'agit habituellement du point de rupture par lequel le poulain voit le jour.

L'examen d'un placenta normal peut révéler de légères traces d'œdème et/ou l'épaississement des bouts des trompes de Fallope, des petits (0,1 - 1,0 cm) foyers nus dispersés au hasard sur la surface chorionique et des plis distincts sur la surface chorionique de la corne utérine non enceinte. Ces plis sont facilement perceptibles puisqu'ils n'ont pas été tendus lors de la grossesse. Souvent, un corps brun " semblable au foie ", qu'on appelle un hippomane, peut se trouver dans la cavité allantoïque. Le docteur Jim Rooney émet la théorie que l'hippomane est une poche qui se crée vers l'extérieur, qui forme un pédicule, et se sépare pour flotter librement dans la cavité allantoïque (3). D'autres suggèrent qu'il s'agit d'un amas de débris formé de dépôts urinaires fœtaux et cellulaires (4). Selon les analyses histologiques, il semble que ce soit un dépôt concentrique semblable à des calculs urinaires.
Le cordon ombilical doit être mesuré. Celui d'un cheval pur-sang a habituellement une longueur entre 36 et 83 cm. Il peut atteindre jusqu'à 105 cm de long. Cependant, plus la longueur du cordon ombilical est grande, plus la possibilité de torsions ombilicales augmente. Il arrive d'observer cinq ou six torsions du cordon sans que cela ne cause de problème apparent. Par contre, on s'entend pour dire que 16 torsions causent la mort du poulain. L'hémorragie locale et l'œdème du cordon ombilical ont déjà été observés.
On doit noter la présence d'une teinture méconiale brun-jaunâtre du placenta et du poulain. Cela est synonyme de stress fœtal, dans les cas d'avortements dus au virus de l'herpès, de toxicité alcaloïde des ergots de seigle et d'autres maladies.

Votre vétérinaire devrait examiner toutes les juments post-partum, les poulains et les placentas, particulièrement si le placenta n'est pas intact. Les praticiens peuvent décider de soumettre le placenta entier à un laboratoire pour un examen, ou de couper des parties du placenta et de les placer dans le formol. Veuillez vous référer au dossier sur la mise bas pour le choix de sections à échantillonner. Les échantillons peuvent aussi être recueillis pour une culture bactérienne. Des placentas entiers doivent être transportés dans la glace et expédiés au laboratoire dans des conteneurs scellés imperméables à l'eau. Des petits seaux en plastique avec des couvercles très hermétiques font très bien l'affaire.

Rapports sur les mises bas

Un relevé des événements et des intervalles de temps entre ces événements s'avère très utile. Un tel relevé fournit une description systématique des événements et peut-être présenté au laboratoire en même temps que les échantillons. De tels rapports précis peuvent être utilisés pour examiner ou déterminer la cause de problèmes de mise bas chez un groupe de juments pendant la saison des amours. Ils peuvent aussi servir à déterminer ce qui est normal pour chaque jument. Les critères de l'industrie à cet effet sont résumés ci-dessous. (5, 6)

  • La période de gestation moyenne d'une jument (la période entre la fécondation et la mise bas) est de 340 jours ± 20 jours.
  • 65,5 % des juments mettent bas la nuit entre 20 h 00 et 1 h 00.
  • Le cirage des mamelons se produit deux à quatre jours avant la mise bas. Le cirage (ou les billes de cire) fait référence au colostrum (premier lait maternel) présent au bout des mamelons.
  • Il y a un écoulement du colostrum 24 à 48 heures avant la mise bas (peut résulter en une absorption inadéquate des anticorps par le poulain).
  • La première étape de la mise bas dure entre 2 et 3 heures et se termine par la " perte des eaux " alors qu'entre deux et cinq gallons de liquides utérins s'écoulent.
  • La deuxième étape est l'étape de parturition active. Le col de l'utérus de la jument se dilate et les contractions utérines augmentent. Le poulain est généralement expulsé en 15 minutes.
  • La troisième étape correspond au dernier acte. Elle implique l'expulsion des membranes placentaires. Habituellement, le placenta est expulsé dans un délai de 15 minutes à une heure.
  • Le placenta pèse environ 5,7 ± 0,08 kg (12,5 livres). (2)
  • Le cordon ombilical du cheval pur sang mesure habituellement entre 36 et 83 cm. Il peut atteindre près de 105 cm.
  • Il arrive souvent d'observer cinq ou six torsions du cordon ombilical sans que cela ne cause de problèmes apparents. Par contre, on s'entend pour dire que 16 torsions causent la mort du poulain.

References

  1. Schlafer DH. Gross examination of equine fetal membranes: what's important - what's not. Proc. of the Equine Symposium: The Perparturient Mare and Noeonate, Society of Theriogenology/American College of Theriogenologists, San Antonio, Texas. Nov. 2000.
  2. Whitwell KE, Jeffcott LB. Morphological studies on the fetal membranes of the normal singleton foal at term. Res. Vet. Sci. 1975; 19:44-55.
  3. Rooney JR, Robertson JL. Equine Pathology. Ames: Iowa State University Press, 1996: 240.
  4. Dickerson JW, Southgate DA, King JM. The origin and development of Hippomane in the Horse and Zebra. J. Anatomy 1967; 101 (2):285-293.
  5. Freeman D.W., Oklahoma State University, Equine Specialist.
  6. Ley W. B., Management of the Foaling Mare: Predicting Readiness for Birth and Inducing Foaling. Veterinary Practice, June 1994 p. 570-577.

| Haut de la page |


Auteur : Dr. B. Wright - scientifique vétérinaire, chevaux et animaux non traditionnels/MAAARO; Dr. Dan Kenney - vétérinaire membre du personnel/Collège de médecine vétérinaire de l'Ontario, Université de Guelph
Date de création : 01 avril 2001
Dernière révision : 01 avril 2001

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca