Rabies and Horses

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Cases of Rabies in Horses
  3. Strains of Rabies
  4. Controlling Fox Rabies in Ontario
  5. Prevention and Treatment
  6. Horse Vaccination
  7. Summary
  8. References

Introduction

Equine rabies is a sporadic, but highly fatal, zoonotic disease caused by a virus (Lyssavirus). Rabies affects both animals and humans. It persists in Ontario wildlife, primarily in the red fox and striped skunk. All warm-blooded animals can be infected with rabies but it is most often transmitted in Canada by foxes, raccoons, skunks and bats. Variation in susceptibility is noticeable. Foxes, rats and coyotes are extremely susceptible; cattle, rabbits, and cats are highly susceptible; dogs, sheep and goats are moderately susceptible; and opossums little, if at all (1). The virus is almost always spread by saliva from the bite of an infected animal. In addition, but more rarely, rabies can be spread when virus from saliva is introduced into open cuts or wounds or comes in contact with a mucous membrane in areas such as the mouth, nasal cavity, or eyes (1).

The disease persists in wildlife populations throughout the United States, Canada, Mexico, and other parts of the world. Wildlife infected with rabies may show no fear of man, be aggressive, or be incoordinated. Animals that are normally nocturnal may be active during the day. In the past 50 years, less than 10 humans have contracted rabies in Canada. Five cases of rabies in humans were reported in the United States and Canada during September and October 2000. The most recent Canadian death from rabies was a 9-year old Quebec boy who died in October 2000. He was suspected of being bitten by a bat (2). Rabies costs governments and the people of North America millions of dollars each year for: diagnosis, investigation of animal bites, treatment of humans in contact with rabid animals, compensation for loss of livestock, cost of quarantine, research, and vaccination. A single course of post-exposure treatment in the USA costs $1600 - 2800 US. Ontario has been the hotbed of rabies in North America. Figure 1 shows the number of rabies cases over the last 12 years (3).

 

Graph showing number of cases of rabies in Ontario

Figure 1: Number of Cases of Rabies in Ontario for the Years
1988 - 2000

Since the rabies baiting program began in 1989, rabies has dropped to its lowest level in Ontario since 1961. During the 1980's, Ontario averaged 2,000 cases of rabies per year. By the end of 1998, there were only 78 cases of rabies; including 34 cases in skunks; 29 in bats; 9 in cattle, and only four in foxes (3). This dramatic change over the last 8 or 9 years has greatly reduced the risk of humans, pets and livestock acquiring rabies, but the risk is not zero.

Cases of Rabies in Horses

The number of rabid horses in Ontario was zero from 1997 until the year 2000, when three horses were diagnosed with rabies. The horses resided in Bruce, Grey and Huron counties. One case of horse rabies occurred in Dufferin County earlier this year (2001). Table 1 shows the cases of rabies in horses from 1988 to date (3).

Table 1: Number of Cases of Rabies in Horses from 1988 to Date.

 Year
 Number of Horses with Rabies
 1988
 17
 1989
 7
 1990
 20
 1991
 8
 1992
13
 1993
 9
 1994
 2
 1995
 5
 1996
 2
 1997
 0
 1998
 0
 1999
 0
 2000
 3
 2001
 1 to date


Horses are often exposed because they are curious creatures. They are apt to investigate a wild animal which is acting strangely and may be bit on the muzzle, face and/or lower legs. Clinical signs in the horse include behaviour changes ranging from aggression, ataxia (incoordination), paresis (partial paralysis), hyperesthesia (hypersensitivity to stimuli), fever, colic, lameness, and recumbency. The disease usually progresses to death in 4 to 5 days, although some horses will survive up to 15 days. Horses pose a serious threat to humans because they will bite each other and their handlers (1).

In a United States study, the average incubation period for a horse infected with rabies was 12.3 days and the average time period from first signs to death was 5.5 days. Those animals which had no previous vaccination history had significantly shorter incubation periods and died sooner. Muzzle tremors were the most frequently observed (81%) and most common initial sign. Other common signs included: difficulty swallowing (71%), incoordination or paralysis (71%), weakness or drowsiness (71%). The "furious form" was noted in 43% of rabid horses and clinical signs in some of these animals initially appeared as the "dumb form". The paralytic form was not observed (4). Horses which develop the "furious form" show excitement, become vicious, bite, kick, exhibit blind staggers, suddenly fall and may chew themselves or foreign objects (1).

Strains of Rabies

There are three different strains of rabies in North America which are differentiated by their carrier species. The three strains include Arctic fox, raccoon and bat rabies. There are no differences between the strains as far as their ability to kill their carrier species, other animals and possibly humans.

Arctic Fox Rabies

The Arctic fox strain of rabies came from the Arctic and moved down the Quebec side of Hudson and James Bays in the 1950's. There was a peak in the number of cases in the Cochrane area in 1955. No new cases occurred in northeastern Ontario until 1991 and 1992. Rabies moved south and has been a continuous problem in Southern Ontario since 1959. Southern Ontario has reported more cases of animal rabies than any other province or state in North America (1,3). The counties of Grey, Wellington, Simcoe, Bruce, Middlesex, Lambton, and Waterloo, in descending order, have been the traditional hot spots for rabies over the last 12 years. The great news is that the wildlife vaccination program, administered by the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources (OMNR), has virtually eliminated the Arctic fox strain. Skunks however, remain as a reservoir of this strain.

The newest hot spot is northeastern Ontario, where the disease has not been seen since the early 1950's. Since 1990, sporadic outbreaks of rabies have occurred in the farming communities of northeastern Ontario. In the fall of 2000, the District of Cochrane was a hotbed of rabies with 35 cases reported (3,5).

Raccoon Rabies

The newest threat to Ontario comes from the raccoon variant strain of rabies. Raccoon rabies was first noted in Florida in the 1940's. Since then, it has been travelling slowly northward toward Ontario. It is well-established on the New York side of the Niagara River and the first case was reported in Ontario, in an area north of Brockville, in July 1999. To date, 49 cases have been reported in the counties of Leeds, Grenville, Frontenac and one case in each of Renfrew and Peterborough counties (3).

Bat Rabies

Bats carry their own form of rabies. Since bats in Ontario are small and insect-eating, they are not affected by the rabies vaccination program. In southern Ontario, normally 15-45 rabid bats are confirmed each year (6).

Controlling Fox Rabies in Ontario

In 1989, the Ministry of Natural Resources Rabies Unit, in conjunction with scientists from Connaught Laboratories, Queen's and McMaster Universities and the Universities of Toronto and Guelph, attacked rabies at its source, the red fox. Research has centered on immunizing wild foxes. Immunization of a large percentage of the "carrier species" population that spreads rabies may cause the disease to die out completely (3).

A rabies baiting program has been implemented. Current baits contain 1.8 millilitres of rabies vaccine sealed in a small plastic blister-pack embedded in a bait (a mixture of fats, wax and flavouring). The rabies vaccine is a living virus and, therefore, quite delicate. It has to be absorbed in the mouth. If it were released in the stomach, it would be destroyed.

Three Twin Otter aircraft are outfitted with special bait-dispensing machines. Navigation is done using the latest satellite and computer technology so that millions of baits are spread uniformly and at a predetermined density. The number of baits delivered is computer controlled and carefully recorded. This helps ensure a minimal number of baits are wasted. Since the early 1990's, OMNR has air-dropped one to two million vaccine-baits over Southern Ontario. A similar program has been launched against raccoon rabies. There is no bait that will immunize skunks reliably. The control of rabies in bats, which are insectivores, presents a greater challenge.

Prevention and Treatment

There is no effective treatment for rabies. Once clinical signs appear, rabies is fatal. Therefore, it is best to prevent exposure to the virus. If an animal is bitten or comes in contact with a suspected rabies case, contact a veterinarian or the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) immediately. If a person is bitten by an animal, wash the wound or exposed surface with soap and water, remove clothing that may be contaminated, contact your doctor immediately or go to the nearest hospital emergency.

Vaccinate your horses, all pets and livestock, especially any free-roaming cats which live in the barn. Vaccinating against rabies is good insurance and an inexpensive way of protecting your livestock and pets, as well as yourself, from the disease.

Enjoy wild animals (raccoons, skunks, foxes) from afar. Do not handle, feed, or unintentionally attract wild animals. Secure garbage cans and their lids. Do not approach animals showing abnormal behaviour. Never adopt wild animals or bring them into your home and do not try to nurse sick animals to health. Teach children never to approach and handle unfamiliar animals, wild or domestic, even if they appear friendly (7).

Horse Vaccination

Manufacturers of the two rabies vaccines marketed in Canada, Rabvac 3® (Ayerst) and RM Imrab 3® (Merial), recommend that horses receive a single 2 ml dose of vaccine starting at three months of age and repeated at one year of age, followed by annual revaccination. Merial recommends that RM Imrab 3® be given by either intramuscular or subcutaneous injection. Ayerst recommends that Rabvac 3® be administered by intramuscular injection only. Neither vaccine has a caution for use in pregnant mares (8). Rabies vaccine can only be sold to a licensed veterinarian.

Summary

  1. The clinical signs of rabies are highly variable. The main thing to remember is that the most typical thing about rabies is that it can be atypical.
  2. Be a responsible pet owner; vaccinate your cats, dogs and horses.
  3. Don't handle or approach wildlife.
  4. Don't handle or approach dogs and cats which are acting strangely.
  5. Don't leave table scraps or leftover pet food outside where it will attract wild animals.
  6. Report any bites or potential exposure to health officials.
  7. Have dead, sick or rabies-suspect animals tested for rabies.
  8. Talk to your veterinarian about vaccinating other livestock under your care, including sheep, cattle and goats.
  9. Rabies is a reportable disease. If an animal is suspected of being rabid or a person thinks that their animal(s) has been exposed to rabies, it is required by law to report it. Call your nearest office of the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA), which is listed in the blue pages of the phone book. An inspector from the agency will investigate all calls.

References:

  1. Radostits OM, Gay CC, Blood DC, Hinchcliff KW. Rabies. In: Veterinary Medicine. 9th ed. Philadelphia, PA: W. B. Saunders Co. Ltd., 2000: 1201-1208.
  2. Krebs JW, Rupprecht CE, Childs JE. Rabies surveillance in the United States during 1999. JAVMA. 1999; 217 (12):1799-1811.
  3. Pinto D. Science Development and Transfer Branch, Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources,
  4. Hudson LC, Weinstock D, Jordan T, Bold-Fletcher NO. Clinical presentation of experimentally induced rabies in horses. Zentralbl Veterinarmed [B] 1996; 43 (5, Jul):277-285.
  5. MacInnes C. Outbreak North 2000. The Rabies Reporter. 2000; 11 (3):7-9.
  6. MacInnes C. Human death from rabies in Quebec: First in Canada. The Rabies Reporter. 2000; 11 (3):3.
  7. Centers of Disease Control and Prevention
  8. Bayley AJ. Compendium of Veterinary Products 6th ed. North American Compendiums Ltd., Hensall, ON, 1999.

Related Links:


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Dr. Bob Wright - Lead Veterinarian, Equine and Alternate Species/OMAFRA; Dr. Jocelyn Jansen - Veterinarian, Ruminants/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 26 February 2001
Last Reviewed: 26 February 2001

La rage chez les chevaux

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Nombre de cas de rage signalés en Ontario pendant les années 1988 à 2000
  3. Cas de rage chez les chevaux
  4. Tableau 1 : Nombre de cas de rage survenus chez des chevaux depuis 1988
  5. Souches de rage
  6. Rage du renard arctique
  7. Rage du raton laveur
  8. Rage des chauves-souris
  9. La lutte contre la rage du renard en Ontario
  10. Prévention et traitement
  11. Vaccination des chevaux
  12. Sommaire
  13. Références

Introduction

Chez les chevaux, la rage est une zoonose sporadique mais très souvent mortelle causée par un virus (Lyssavirus). Cette maladie atteint à la fois les animaux et les humains; en Ontario, elle persiste chez les animaux sauvages, notamment le renard roux et la mouffette rayée. Tous les animaux à sang chaud peuvent être touchés par la rage mais, au Canada, elle est le plus souvent transmise par les renards, les mouffettes et les chauves-souris. Les différentes espèces ne sont pas toutes également sensibles. Les renards, les rats et les coyotes y sont extrêmement sensibles; les bovins, les lapins et les chats y sont très sensibles; les chiens, les moutons et les chèvres modérément sensibles; et les opossums le sont peu, peut-être même pas du tout (1). Le virus se propage presque toujours par la salive présente dans la morsure d'un animal infecté. Plus rarement, la rage peut aussi se transmettre lorsque des virus présents dans la salive se retrouvent dans des blessures ou sur une muqueuse comme celle de la bouche, de la cavité nasale ou des yeux (1).

La maladie persiste dans les populations d'animaux sauvages de l'ensemble des États-Unis, du Canada, du Mexique et d'autres pays. Les animaux sauvages qui ont la rage peuvent perdre toute peur de l'homme, se montrer agressifs ou manquer de coordination. Des animaux qui sont normalement nocturnes peuvent devenir actifs en plein jour. Au cours des 50 dernières années, moins de 10 humains ont contracté la rage au Canada. Au cours des mois de septembre et d'octobre 2000, cinq cas de rage humaine ont été signalés aux États-Unis et au Canada. Au pays, la victime la plus récente de la maladie était un jeune québécois de neuf ans qui est décédé en octobre 2000; on pense qu'il a été mordu par une chauve-souris (2). Chaque année, la rage coûte des millions de dollars aux gouvernements et aux contribuables nord-américains (diagnostic, enquêtes relatives aux morsures d'animaux, traitement des humains qui sont entrés en contact avec des animaux enragés, dédommagement pour les pertes de bétail, coûts de quarantaine, recherche et vaccination). Aux États-Unis, un seul traitement postérieur à l'exposition coûte de 1600 à 2800 $ US. L'Ontario est le point chaud de la rage en Amérique du Nord. La figure 1 montre le nombre de cas de rage signalés au cours des 12 dernières années (3).

Nombre de cas de rage signalés en Ontario pendant les années 1988 à 2000

Depuis 1989, année du début du programme de vaccination des animaux sauvages en Ontario, l'incidence de la rage est tombée à son niveau le plus bas depuis 1961. Pendant les années 1980, dans la province, la moyenne était de 2000 cas par an. À la fin de 1998, on ne comptait plus que 78 cas, dont 34 cas chez des mouffettes, 29 chez des chauves-souris, neuf chez des bovins et seulement quatre chez les renards (3). Ce changement radical survenu au cours des huit ou neuf dernières années s'est accompagné d'une forte réduction du danger d'infection pour les humains, les animaux de compagnie et le bétail, mais le risque n'a pas été totalement éliminé.

Cas de rage chez les chevaux

Aucun cheval n'a été atteint de 1997 à 2000; en l'an 2000, on a diagnostiqué trois cas de rage chez des chevaux qui vivaient dans les comtés de Bruce, Grey et Huron. Au début de l'année 2001, on a signalé un cas dans le comté de Dufferin. Le tableau 1 montre le nombre de cas de rage survenus chez des chevaux depuis 1988 (3).

Tableau 1. Nombre de cas de rage survenus chez des chevaux depuis 1988
Année Nombre de chevaux atteints de la rage
1988 17
1989 7
1990 20
1991 8
1992 13
1993 9
1994 2
1995 5
1996 2
1997 0
1998 0
1999 0
2000 3
2001 1 jusqu'à présent

Les chevaux sont souvent exposés parce qu'ils sont curieux; ils s'approchent volontiers d'un animal sauvage au comportement étrange et risquent alors de se faire mordre sur le museau, la face ou le bas de jambes. Chez le cheval, les signes cliniques sont les suivants : comportement agressif, ataxie (manque de coordination), parésie (paralysie partielle), hyperesthésie (hypersensibilité aux stimuli), fièvre, colique, boiterie et position couchée. L'animal malade finit généralement par mourir au bout de quatre ou cinq jours, mais certains individus survivent jusqu'à 15 jours. Les chevaux atteints de la rage mordent les autres membres du troupeau et les personnes qui les côtoient (1), et ils représentent donc un grave danger pour les humains.

Selon une étude effectuée aux États-Unis, la durée moyenne de la période d'incubation d'un cheval infecté par la rage est de 12,3 jours, et le délai moyen entre l'apparition des premiers symptômes et la mort est de 5,5 jours. Les animaux qui n'avaient pas été vaccinés au préalable avaient une période d'incubation significativement plus courte et mouraient plus vite. Le tremblement du museau était le symptôme le plus fréquent et le plus souvent observé avant les autres (81 %). Les autres symptômes communs étaient la difficulté à avaler (71 %), la perte de coordination ou la paralysie (71 %) et la faiblesse ou la somnolence (71 %). La forme « furieuse » a été relevée chez 43 % des chevaux atteints, les signes cliniques étant d'abord ceux de la forme « muette » chez certains de ces individus. La forme paralytique n'a pas été observée (4). Les chevaux qui présentent la forme « furieuse » deviennent nerveux et méchants, ils mordent et donnent des coups de pied, montrent les signes de blind staggers, font des chutes brusques et mâchonnent parfois des parties de leur propre corps ou divers objets (1).

Souches de rage

En Amérique du Nord, il existe trois souches de rage provenant de différentes espèces porteuses, soit le renard arctique, le raton laveur et la chauve-souris. Les trois souches sont tout aussi mortelles les unes que les autres pour les espèces porteuses, les autres animaux et peut-être les humains.

Rage du renard arctique

Cette souche de rage provient des régions arctiques et s'est propagée le long de la côte québécoise de la baie d'Hudson et de la baie James au cours des années 1950. Le nombre de cas a atteint un maximum dans la région de Cochrane en 1955. Aucun nouveau cas ne s'est produit dans le Nord-Est de l'Ontario jusqu'en 1991 et 1992. Cette forme de rage a progressé vers le sud et, depuis 1959, elle a toujours été présente dans le Sud de la province, où on a signalé plus de cas de rage animale que dans tous les autres états ou provinces d'Amérique du Nord (1, 3). Au cours des 12 dernières années, les points chauds de la rage étaient, par ordre décroissant, les comtés de Grey, Wellington, Simcoe, Bruce, Middlesex, Lambton et Waterloo. Le programme de vaccination des animaux sauvages administré par le ministère des Richesses naturelles a pratiquement permis d'éliminer la forme propre au renard arctique, ce qui est très encourageant. Cependant, les mouffettes constituent encore un réservoir pour cette souche.

Dans le Nord-Est de l'Ontario, aucun cas n'avait été signalé depuis le début des années 1950, mais les collectivités agricoles ont connu des poussées sporadiques depuis 1990. En automne 2000, le district de Cochrane était devenu un point chaud avec 35 cas de rage signalés (3, 5).

Rage du raton laveur

La variante de rage du raton laveur, qui a été découverte pour la première fois en Floride dans les années 1940, représente une nouvelle menace pour l'Ontario. Depuis cette époque, elle se propage vers le nord en se rapprochant lentement, et elle est maintenant bien établie dans l'état de New York, sur l'autre rive de la rivière Niagara. En Ontario, le premier cas a été découvert en juillet 1999 au nord de Brockville. Jusqu'à présent, 49 cas ont été signalés dans les comtés de Leeds, Grenville et Frontenac; on compte également un cas dans chacun des comtés de Renfrew et de Peterborough (3).

Rage des chauves-souris

Les chauves-souris sont porteuses d'une forme de rage qui leur est propre. En Ontario, comme les chauves-souris sont de petite taille et se nourrissent d'insectes, elles ne sont pas touchées par le programme de vaccination. Dans le Sud de l'Ontario, normalement, on confirme chaque année l'existence de 15 à 45 cas de chauves-souris atteintes par la rage (6).

La lutte contre la rage du renard en Ontario

En 1989, l'Unité de recherche sur la rage du ministère des Richesses naturelles, conjointement avec les chercheurs de Connaught Laboratories et des universités Queen's, McMaster, de Toronto et de Guelph, ont entrepris de s'attaquer à la source du problème. Des recherches ont donc été effectuées sur l'immunisation des renards sauvages. L'immunisation d'un grand pourcentage des populations de l'espèce porteuse de la rage permettra peut-être d'éliminer complètement cette forme de maladie (3).

On a donc mis en place un programme de pose d'appâts. Actuellement, on emploie un volume de 1,8 millilitre de vaccin antirabique scellé dans un petit emballage à bulle de plastique caché dans un appât (mélange de gras, de cire et de substance aromatisante). Le vaccin contre la rage contient un virus vivant. Par conséquent, il est assez fragile et doit être absorbé par la bouche; s'il est libéré dans l'estomac, il est détruit.

Trois avions Twin Otter sont spécialement équipés pour larguer les appâts. La navigation se fait à l'aide d'une technologie de pointe faisant appel à des satellites et à des ordinateurs, ce qui permet de disperser des millions d'appâts à une densité uniforme et déterminée à l'avance. Le nombre d'appâts ainsi dispersés est vérifié informatiquement et enregistré systématiquement pour éviter le gaspillage. Depuis le début des années 1990, le ministère des Richesses naturelles a largué de un à deux millions d'appâts-vaccins dans le Sud de l'Ontario. On a lancé un programme semblable pour lutter contre la rage du raton laveur. Par contre, aucun appât ne permet d'assurer une vaccination fiable chez les mouffettes. La lutte contre la rage des chauves-souris, qui sont insectivores, présente des difficultés plus sérieuses.

Prévention et traitement

Il n'existe aucun traitement efficace contre la rage. Lorsque les premiers signes cliniques apparaissent, la maladie est mortelle. La meilleure stratégie est donc d'éviter toute exposition au virus. Si un animal entre en contact avec un autre animal qu'on soupçonne d'avoir la rage, ou s'il est mordu par lui, appelez immédiatement un vétérinaire ou l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA). Dans le cas d'une personne qui aurait été mordue par un animal, lavez la plaie ou la surface exposée avec de l'eau savonneuse, enlevez les vêtements qui pourraient être contaminés et appelez immédiatement votre médecin, ou bien consultez le service d'urgence de l'hôpital le plus près de chez vous.

Faites vacciner vos chevaux, vos animaux de compagnie et votre bétail, surtout si des chats errants vivent dans vos bâtiments de ferme. La vaccination contre la rage est peu coûteuse et permet de protéger efficacement votre bétail, vos animaux de compagnie et vous-même contre cette maladie.

Observez les animaux sauvages de loin (ratons laveurs, mouffettes, renards). Ne les touchez pas, ne les nourrissez pas et évitez de les attirer par négligence. Placez vos poubelles en lieu sûr et mettez les couvercles dessus. N'approchez pas des animaux qui ont un comportement inhabituel. N'adoptez jamais d'animaux sauvages, ne les amenez jamais chez vous et ne tentez pas de soigner ceux qui sont malades. Apprenez aux enfants à ne jamais approcher ni toucher des animaux inconnus, qu'ils soient sauvages ou domestiques, même s'ils semblent confiants (7).

Vaccination des chevaux

Pour les chevaux, les fabricants des deux vaccins antirabiques vendus au Canada, RABVAC 3 (Ayerst) et RM IMRAB 3 (Merial) recommandent d'administrer une seule dose de deux millilitres à l'âge de trois mois, puis une nouvelle dose à l'âge d'un an suivie d'un rappel annuel. Merial recommande d'administrer RM IMRAB 3 par injection intramusculaire ou sous-cutanée. Ayerst recommande uniquement d'administrer RABVAC 3 par injection intramusculaire. Aucun de ces deux vaccins n'a de contre-indication concernant les juments gravides (8). Les vaccins contre la rage ne peuvent être vendus qu'à des vétérinaires accrédités.

Sommaire

  1. Il faut surtout retenir que cette maladie est facilement atypique.
  2. Faites vacciner vos animaux de compagnie (chats, chiens et chevaux).
  3. Ne vous approchez pas des animaux sauvages et ne les touchez pas.
  4. Ne vous approchez pas des chiens et des chats qui ont un comportement inhabituel et ne les touchez pas.
  5. N'attirez pas les animaux sauvages en laissant des déchets de table ou de la nourriture pour animaux à l'extérieur.
  6. Signalez aux autorités sanitaires toute morsure ou toute exposition possible.
  7. Faites tester les animaux morts, malades ou pouvant être atteints de la rage.
  8. Demandez à votre vétérinaire s'il est souhaitable de vacciner les autres types de bétail dont vous avez la charge (moutons, bovins et chèvres).
  9. La rage est une maladie à signalement obligatoire. Si vous pensez qu'un animal peut avoir la rage ou qu'il a peut-être été exposé à cette maladie, la loi vous oblige à le signaler. Dans ce cas, appelez le bureau de l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) le plus près de votre domicile, dont vous trouverez le numéro dans les pages bleues de l'annuaire téléphonique. Un inspecteur de l'agence donnera suite à tous les appels.
  10. Pour plus de renseignements, voyez les sites Internet de l'Agence canadienne d'Inspection des aliments ou du ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario.

Références

  1. Radostits OM, Gay CC, Blood DC, Hinchcliff KW. Rabies. In: Veterinary Medicine. 9th ed. Philadelphia, PA: W. B. Saunders Co. Ltd., 2000: 1201-1208.
  2. Krebs JW, Rupprecht CE, Childs JE. Rabies surveillance in the United States during 1999. JAVMA. 1999; 217 (12):1799-1811.
  3. Pinto D. Direction du développement et du transfert des connaissances scientifiques, ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario, http://www.mnr.gov.on.ca/mnr/rabies/aware.html.
  4. Hudson LC, Weinstock D, Jordan T, Bold-Fletcher NO. Clinical presentation of experimentally induced rabies in horses. Zentralbl Veterinarmed [B] 1996; 43 (5, Jul):277-285.
  5. MacInnes C. Outbreak North 2000. The Rabies Reporter. 2000; 11 (3):7-9.
  6. MacInnes C. Human death from rabies in Quebec: First in Canada. The Rabies Reporter. 2000; 11 (3):3.
  7. Centers of Disease Control and Prevention http://www.cdc.gov/ncidod/dvrd/rabies/introduction/intro.htm.
  8. Bayley AJ. Compendium of Veterinary Products 6th ed. North American Compendiums Ltd., Hensall, ON, 1999.

Liens connexes

| Haut de la page |


Auteur : Dr. Bob Wright - scientifique vétérinaire, chevaux et animaux non traditionnels/MAAARO; Dr. Jocelyn Jansen - scientifique vétérinaire, ruminants/MAAARO
Date de création : 26 Fevrier 2001
Dernière révision : 26 Fevrier 2001

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca