Equine Digestive Tract Structure and Function

A horse has the same requirements for energy, protein, vitamins and minerals as other animals but differs in the type and function of its digestive system, falling between a ruminant and non ruminant.

Non ruminants (humans, pigs and dogs) digest carbohydrates, protein and fat by enzymatic action. Ruminants (cattle, sheep and deer) use bacteria in the fore stomachs to digest fiber by fermentation and use enzymatic digestion in the small intestines.

In the horse, all true digestion is by enzymatic digestion and takes place in the fore gut ahead of the cecum. This accounts for 52-58% of the crude protein digestion and virtually all soluble carbohydrate digestion (fiber excluded). (1) In addition, bacterial or microbial digestion of fibre occurs in the cecum and colon where large quantities of volatile fatty acids are produced through fermentation and are subsequently absorbed. This dual system allows the horse to digest simple carbohydrate sources such as starch from grain in the fore gut. Fibrous sources such as oat hulls, soy hulls, beet pulp, hay and pasture are digested in the hind gut.

For enzymatic and microbial action to digest feed efficiently, the horse needs healthy teeth to grind feed and allow enzymes and bacteria to attack the plant cell walls. Teeth should be examined during the annual health check to ensure that they are wearing normally and are effectively grinding the feed.

The capacity of the stomach of the horse is only about 8-15 litres (eight quarts or two gallons), which makes it difficult to understand how a horse can consume large amounts of food or water. The emptying time of the stomach after filling can be about 12 minutes, and the rate of passage down the small intestine is about 1 ft/min. The net result is that food can go from the mouth to the cecum in about 1½ hours. The small volume of the stomach and rapid passage of food from the stomach is the reason horses eat almost continuously, thus the name "hay burners."

The rate of passage of pelleted or wafered hay is faster than for loose hay. Various studies on total passage time, indicate two to three days is required from when food is ingested until it is passed in the manure. The mature horse's large intestine makes up more than half of the total volume of the digestive tract, is important for microbial digestion of food and is a major reservoir for water.

The foal and growing horse have undeveloped cecal and colonic digestion as compared to the adult horse. There is very little microbial digestion before three months of age. Therefore, the foal requires a diet low in fibre and easily digested in the fore gut. Foals who are seen eating their mothers manure are thought to be obtaining a bacterial culture necessary for future microbial digestion.

Colic

In the mature horse, the exit and entrance to the cecum (blind gut with a capacity of about 28-36 litres or approximately 7-9 gallons) are separated by only about 2 inches. This creates a certain amount of difficulty due to the two-way movement of feed in this region. As a result, the cecum can be a site of colic, which may develop when a horse is shifted from a poor quality ration to one which is rapidly digested.
Bacteria which are best at digesting high fibre type diets will be replaced with a population of bacteria which are more suited to convert high quality and easily digested fibre to soluble products. As easily digested hay enters the cecum, microbial populations flourish and there is an increase in fermentation rate. The coarse roughage will cause a relative occlusion at the exit of the cecum and will result in gas accumulation and the pain associated with colic. This is the principle behind the recommendation that "a horse should be shifted from one type of feed to another over a period of one to two weeks."

Impaction of the cecum and colon is common and results from the ingestion of poorly digestible material. This, coupled with inadequate water intake or exercise, will predispose horses to impaction. To prevent impactions, a similar one to two weeks should be allowed for conversion from a high quality, easily digested, ration to one of low digestibility. This allows time for the gastrointestinal micro flora to adjust to new substrates. Very low quality roughages should not be fed since they predispose to impactions.

Laminitis

Young lush fast-growing plants are low in fibre, can contain 22-25% protein and equally large amounts of highly digestible carbohydrates. Sudden switches between different feed qualities result in rapid changes to the bacterial flora and the sudden death of the less favoured bacteria. Death of large numbers of bacteria will, in turn, lead to the release of large amounts of endotoxin from the bacteria. Horses placed directly on pasture after being fed hay all winter may develop laminitis due to the sudden shift to a highly digestible feed. Grass founder or laminitis is the sequella. Climatic conditions, such as high rain fall and hot weather, can also result in the rapid growth of plants such as white clover which are high in digestible protein and energy and low in fibre.

Feed Intake

Horses normally consume 2 to 2.5% of their body weight in dry matter daily. However, it has been estimated that horses on pasture 24 hours a day, can consume up to 3.3% of their body weight in dry matter. As the dry matter and nutrient proportion derived from grain increases, horses will reduce their total dry matter intake. In addition, abrupt incorporation of grain into a horse's diet will increase the lactate concentration and lower the cecal and colonic pH from 6.7 to 6.3. This was evident when the grain content of the ration was greater than 30% of the dry matter intake. (2) Abrupt feeding changes, such as giving horses an extra proportion of grain prior to an event, can result in significant accumulation of feed related lactic acid.

Recommendations:
  • Horses are herbivores and should receive a minimum of 50% of their dry matter intake from good quality forage (e.g. hay, pasture).
  • Make changes in feed slowly over a period of 7-14 days and be careful about "topping the horses up" with grain prior to an event.
  • Don't expect foals and growing horses to obtain all of their nutrient requirements from hay.
  • Provide clean, fresh water at all times.
  • Have your veterinarian examine your horses' teeth at the annual health visit.

Equine Digestive Tract

 

References

1. Digestive System of the Horse and Feeding Guidelines, Horse Industry Handbook, American Youth Horse Council, 1993

2. De Fombelle et al., Effect of the Hay: Grain Ratio on Digestive Physiology and Microbial Ecosystems in Ponies, Equine Nutrition and Physiology Symposium, 1999.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Dr. Bob Wright, Veterinary Scientist, Equine and Alternative Livestock/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 01 September 1999
Last Reviewed: 01 September 1999

Structure et fonction du système
digestif des chevaux


Les chevaux ont les mêmes exigences en matière d'énergie, de protéines, de vitamines et de minéraux que les autres animaux, mais la conformation et le fonctionnement de leur système digestif diffèrent. En fait, ce dernier se situe entre le système digestif des ruminants et celui des non-ruminants.

Les non-ruminants (comme les humains, les porcs, les chiens) digèrent les hydrates de carbone, les protéines et les gras grâce à l'action des enzymes. Chez les ruminants (comme les bovins, les moutons et les cerfs), des bactéries contenues dans leur préestomac permettent de digérer les fibres par fermentation et les enzymes sont utilisées pour poursuivre la digestion dans l'intestin grêle.

Chez les chevaux, toute la digestion se fait à l'aide d'enzymes et se déroule dans l'intestin antérieur à l'avant du caecum. De 52 à 58 % des protéines brutes sont ainsi digérées et presque tous les hydrates de carbone solubles (à l'exception des fibres). (1) De plus, la digestion bactérienne ou microbienne des fibres se produit dans le caecum et le colon où d'importantes quantités d'acides gras volatils sont produites par fermentation pour être absorbées par la suite. Ce double système permet au cheval de digérer les hydrates de carbone simples tels que l'amidon des grains dans l'intestin antérieur. Les fibres comme les écales d'avoine, les cosses de soya, la pulpe de betterave, le foin et les fourrages sont digérées dans l'intestin postérieur.

Afin que la digestion enzymatique et microbienne des aliments soit efficace, le cheval a besoin de dents saines pour broyer les aliments et permettre aux enzymes et aux bactéries de s'attaquer aux parois cellulaires des plantes consommées. Les dents des chevaux doivent être examinées dans le cadre de leur examen médical annuel afin que l'on puisse vérifier si elles s'usent normalement et peuvent broyer adéquatement les aliments.

Le volume de l'estomac d'un cheval n'est d'environ que de 8 à 15 litres (huit pintes ou deux gallons). Il est donc assez difficile de comprendre qu'un cheval puisse manger d'aussi grandes quantités de nourriture et boire autant d'eau. Mais l'estomac peut se vider en 12 minutes et le rythme de transit jusqu'à l'intestin grêle est d'environ 1 pi/min. La durée du transit de l'ingestion jusqu'au caecum est d'environ une heure et demie. Le petit volume de l'estomac du cheval et le passage rapide des aliments dans le tube digestif expliquent pourquoi les chevaux mangent presque continuellement.

Le rythme de transit de foin aggloméré ou de galettes de foin est plus rapide que celui du foin en vrac. Diverses études sur la durée totale du transit indiquent qu'il faut de deux à trois jours entre le moment où la nourriture est consommée et celui où elle est évacuée dans les excréments. Le gros intestin du cheval adulte représente plus de la moitié du volume total du tube digestif. Il joue un rôle majeur dans la digestion microbienne des aliments et constitue un important réservoir d'eau.

Coliques

Chez le cheval mature, la sortie et l'entrée du caecum (d'une capacité d'environ 26 à 36 litres ou 7 à 9 gallons ne sont distantes que de cinq centimètres (deux pouces). Cette courte distance peut être problématique étant donné que la circulation des aliments se fait dans les deux sens à cet endroit. Le caecum peut donc être une zone de coliques qui se manifestent lorsqu'un cheval passe d'un régime de qualité médiocre à des aliments qui se digèrent rapidement.

Les bactéries qui sont le plus utiles à la digestion des régimes riches en fibres seront remplacées par une population de bactéries mieux adaptées à transformer des fibres de qualité et faciles à digérer en produits solubles. Lorsque du foin qui se digère facilement pénètre dans le caecum, les populations microbiennes se multiplient ce qui augmente la fermentation. Le fourrage grossier provoquera une forme d'occlusion à la sortie du caecum, entraînant une accumulation de gaz et des douleurs associées aux coliques. Cette situation explique pourquoi on recommande de modifier l'alimentation des chevaux sur une période d'une à deux semaines.

Il est fréquent que l'ingestion d'aliments peu digestibles crée une surcharge dans le caecum et le colon. Une consommation d'eau insuffisante, ou le manque d'exercice, vont également prédisposer les chevaux à cette surcharge. Afin de prévenir la surcharge du colon, il faut également prévoir d'une à deux semaines pour passer d'une ration de qualité facile à digérer à une ration moins digestible. Cette période permet à la microflore gastro-intestinale de s'adapter aux nouveaux aliments. Les fourrages grossiers de qualité médiocre ne devraient pas être donnés aux chevaux puisqu'ils augmentent les risques de surcharge du colon.

Fourbure

Les plants jeunes et luxuriants qui poussent rapidement sont pauvres en fibres et peuvent contenir de 22 à 25 % de protéines et autant d'hydrates de carbone hautement digestibles. Des changements soudains dans la qualité de l'alimentation entraînent des modifications rapides de la flore bactérienne et la disparition brutale des bactéries moins utilisées. La mort de vastes populations de bactéries provoquera le dégagement de grandes quantités d'endotoxines produites par les bactéries. Les chevaux mis directement au pâturage après avoir été nourris au foin tout l'hiver peuvent souffrir de fourbure en raison du changement soudain de la ration par des aliments hautement digestibles. Les conditions climatiques, telles que des précipitations abondantes et du temps chaud, peuvent aussi favoriser une croissance rapide des plantes, comme le trèfle blanc, qui sont riches en protéines digestibles et en énergie et pauvres en fibres.

Ingestion

Les chevaux consomment normalement chaque jour de 2 à 2,5 % de leur poids vif en matière sèche. On estime cependant que les chevaux au pâturage 24 heures par jour peuvent consommer jusqu'à 3,3 % de leur poids vif en matière sèche. Plus la matière sèche et la proportion d'éléments nutritifs provenant des grains augmentent, plus les chevaux réduisent leur ingestion de matière sèche totale. De plus, l'incorporation soudaine de grains dans la ration des chevaux augmente la concentration de lactate et abaisse le pH du caecum et du colon de 6,7 à 6,3. Cette conséquence est manifeste lorsque la teneur en grains de la ration représente plus de 30 % de l'ingestion de matière sèche. (2) Des changements soudains dans l'alimentation, comme donner une ration supplémentaire de grains aux chevaux, avant un événement quelconque, peuvent entraîner une accumulation importante d'acide lactique.

Recommandations

  • Les chevaux sont des herbivores et au moins 50 % de leur ingestion de matière sèche devrait provenir de fourrages de bonne qualité (ex. : foin, pâturage).
  • Étaler les changements d'alimentation sur des périodes de 7 à 14 jours et éviter de " bourrer " les chevaux de grains avant un événement quelconque.
  • Les poulains et les chevaux encore en croissance ne peuvent pas obtenir tous les éléments nutritifs dont ils ont besoin uniquement à partir du foin.
  • Les chevaux doivent accès à de l'eau propre et fraîche en tout temps.
  • Demander au vétérinaire d'examiner les dents des chevaux lors de l'examen annuel.


References

  1. Digestive System of the Horse and Feeding Guidelines, Horse Industry Handbook, American Youth Horse Council, 1993
  2. De Fombelle et al., Effect of the Hay: Grain Ratio on Digestive Physiology and Microbial Ecosystems in Ponies, Equine Nutrition and Physiology Symposium, 1999.


Auteur : Dr. B. Wright - scientifique vétérinaire, chevaux et animaux non traditionnels/MAAARO
Date de création : 01 septembre 1999
Dernière révision : 01 septembre 1999

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca