Molds and Mycotoxins - Effects of Moldy Feed and Mycotoxins on Cattle

pdf version (97 kb)

"Differences of opinion exist regarding the role of molds and mycotoxins in livestock problems basically because their effects on animal health and production are still in a grey area". (Seglar & Mahanna, 1995).

"Mycotoxins can have a very pervasive, yet subclinical effect on both performance and health in ruminants that can easily go unnoticed. If you wait until clinical symptoms of mycotoxin problems are obvious, you no doubt waited too long". (Eng, 1995).

Effects of Mold

  • Moldy feeds are less palatable and may reduce dry matter intake. This in turn leads to a reduction of nutrient intake, reducing weight gains or milk production. Performance losses of 5 - 10% are typical with moldy feeds even in the absence of mycotoxins. Mycotoxin contamination increases production losses, even when mold is not readily visible.
  • Moldy feed may have reduced digestibility and energy content may need to be adjusted down by 5%. Molds grow and propagate deriving energy from the feed's protein, fat and carbohydrate. Dietary fat in particular is reduced in mold infected feeds. Suggested that book values for energy be multiplied by 0.95 in the presence of substantial amounts of mold (ie 95% of energy value). Some researchers suggest reducing energy by as much as 10% (ie 90% of energy value).
  • Moldy feeds may cause health problems. Feeding moldy feeds increased problems with mycotic abortions and respiratory disease. Feeding cattle moldy feeds is also hazardous to human health - farmers lung may result from breathing in mold spores.

Moldy Feed and Mycotoxins

  • Mold spore counts may underestimate the amount of mold present and be a poor indicator of the potential risk.
  • Moldy or musty feed will not always contain harmful mycotoxins. Moldy feeds may contain mycotoxins but not at harmful levels.
  • Molds may produce harmful levels of potent mycotoxins under certain circumstances. Molds may always produce some mycotoxins.

Effects of Mycotoxins

  • Initially mycotoxins cause relatively minor problems. The reduction in performance may be negligible. Within days or weeks, the effect of continued mycotoxin consumption on performance (milk production or weight gains) becomes more pronounced.
  • Off-feed, ketosis and displaced abomasum problems may increase significantly with the consumptions of mycotoxins. Some animals develop diarrhoea or have signs of haemorrhaging.
  • Estrogenic effects, swollen vulvas and nipples; vaginal or rectal prolepses may occur. Reduced fertility / conception rates or abortions may also be evidence of mycotoxin consumption.
  • The effects of mycotoxins are amplified by production stress. High producing dairy cows and rapidly growing feedlot cattle are more susceptible to the effects of mycotoxins than low producing animals.

Problems with Mycotoxins

The severity of mycotoxins problems in cattle from field cases are not readily replicated in controlled research trials:

  • DON levels at 0.1 ppm have been linked with depressed feed intake and lower milk production on dairy farms but research on dairy cows 13 - 22 weeks into lactation with 0, 6 and 12 ppm DON did not show significant differences in milk yield.
  • Case studies from University of Wisconsin noted bovine abortions associated with 1 ppm Zearalenone but similar reproductive disorders could not be demonstrated in cattle fed 200 - 300 ppm Zearalenone contaminated feed.

Research and field data on the effects of molds and mycotoxins are highly variable and often contradictory. Possible reasons for this are:

  • Detected mycotoxins may simply act as indicators of other harmful but unknown mycotoxins and/or metabolites.
  • Currently there is no way to tell at what level these other compounds are present.
  • Many trials are conducted with essentially "pure" mycotoxins and no other measurable toxins. Performance and health were not affected in feedlot cattle fed 10 to 15 ppm DON in the diet provided little or no other mycotoxins were present.
  • The cumulative and/or synergistic effects of mycotoxins and metabolites are unknown, but suspected as a mode of action.
  • Duration of the tests; many conducted for 1 to 10 days; several for only a month.
  • Trials with single dose rate that did not reflect expected levels in practice.
  • Animals used were the least sensitive, ie mid to late lactation cows producing 20 kg milk.

Detoxification of mycotoxins

Ruminants are uniquely equipped to protect themselves from the harmful effects of mycotoxins. It is assumed that sufficient degradation of the mycotoxins has taken place before absorption into the blood and vital organs to protect the animals.

Mycotoxins are detoxified or altered in the rumen, but:

  • The rate of detoxification differs for the different types of mycotoxins.
  • The extent of detoxification of any particular mycotoxin depends on the rate of passage of feed. Rumen turnover rates are about 8 times longer in beef cows than lactating dairy cows.
  • The extent of detoxification depends on the original dose level. Five and 10 ppm DON were completely transformed to the reportedly less toxic deepoxy DON or DOM-1 within 24 hours when incubated in rumen fluid. More than half of the DON remained from the 50 and 100 ppm DON treatments at 24 hours incubation.
  • The altered metabolite(s) may be more toxic than the original mycotoxin. Work in sheep had Zearalenone transformed into the reportedly more toxic Zearalenol.

Bottom line on molds and mycotoxins in ruminant rations:

  • Effects of molds and mycotoxins on ruminants are highly variable in practice. It is impossible to predict the effects that molds or mycotoxins are likely to have in an individual situation.
  • Ruminants are less sensitive and/or affected by molds and mycotoxins than swine.
  • Ruminants are able to detoxify or transform mycotoxins to other metabolites, mostly less harmful.
  • Ruminants are nevertheless susceptible to the deleterious effects of molds and mycotoxins in feed.
  • Young pre-ruminant and high producing cattle are the most susceptible to the effects of mycotoxins.
  • Decreased feed intake, production losses of 5 - 10% and reduced reproductive performance are the most typical symptoms of a mold and mycotoxin problem.
  • If molds and/or mycotoxins are present it is prudent to take steps to limit their potentially harmful effects on ruminants.

Preventing Mycotoxicoses

  • The confirmed presence of mycotoxins is a concern for chronic dairy cattle health and production problems, and in some cases human health concerns as toxin residues (such as aflotoxin in particular) may be present in milk.
  • There are many different types of mycotoxins and they are very stable.
  • Laboratory test results should be interpreted in consultation with your nutritionist because of the numerous types of mycotoxins, and their potential toxic effects, which can depend on the concentration of the toxins present.
  • Several types of products have been used to help prevent the absorption of mycotoxins in the gut to prevent symptoms of mycotoxicoses, including both inorganic and organic-based products.
  • Inorganic products include things like silicate minerals (e.g. bentonite clay or aluminosilicates) and activated charcoal but relatively large quantities need to be consumed to be effective.
  • The inorganic products have shown some benefit, particularly for aflatoxins, but the results are inconsistent (Diaz and Smith, 2005).
  • Organic products include polymers of glucomannan, which is a complex carbohydrate obtained from yeast cell wall. Glucomannan polymers have a high adsorptive capacity for mycotoxins and can normally be included at lower levels in the diet than the inorganic products (Diaz and Smith, 2005).
  • Recent research at the University of Guelph indicated that cows given a polymeric glucomannan product from yeast while consuming Fusarium contaminated grains had higher serum IgA concentrations (indicator of immune status) than the cows eating the same grains in the trial that did not receive this product (Smith et al., 2006).
  • No single product is effective against all known compounds (Huwig et al., 2001)


  1. Diaz, D. E. and T. K. Smith. 2005. Mycotoxin sequestering agents: practical tools for the neutralisation of mycotoxins pp. 323-339 in: The Mycotoxin Blue Book. Ed. D. Diaz. Nottingham University Press, Nottingham, United Kingdom.
  2. Huwig, A., S. Freimund, O. Käppeli, and H. Dutler. 2001. Mycotoxin detoxication of animal feed by different adsorbents. Tox. Lett. 122: 179-188.
  3. Smith, T.K., G. Diaz-Llano, S.N. Korosteleva, and M. Yegani. 2006. The effect of feed-borne Fusarium mycotoxins on reproductive efficiency in dairy cows, sows, and broiler breeders pp. 367-372. in: Nutritional Biotechnology in the Feed and Food Industry. Eds. T.P. Lyons, K.A. Jacques, and J. M. Hoover. Nottingham University Press, Nottingham, United Kingdom.

For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300

Tom Wright - Dairy Cattle Nutritionist/OMAFRA

Creation Date: 14 August 1996
Last Reviewed: 29 July 2013

Les moisissures et les mycotoxines - effets des aliments moisis et des mycotoxines sur le bétail

Table des matières

  1. Effets des aliments moisis et des mycotoxines sur le bétail
  2. Effets des moisissures
  3. Les aliments moisis et les mycotoxines
  4. Effets des mycotoxines
  5. Problèmes dus aux mycotoxines
  6. Détoxification des mycotoxines
  7. Prévention des mycotoxicoses
  8. Références

Effets des aliments moisis et des mycotoxines sur le bétail

  • « Les opinions quant au rôle des moisissures et des mycotoxines dans les problèmes de production et de santé animales sont encore partagées, et ce principalement parce que ces effets restent mal connus.» (Segler & Mahanna, 1995)
  • « Les mycotoxines peuvent avoir un effet généralisé mais non décelé, s'il reste cliniquement non apparent sur le rendement et la santé des ruminants. Attendre qu'apparaissent les symptômes cliniques des problèmes dus aux mycotoxines, c'est attendre trop longtemps. » (Eng, 1995)

Effets des moisissures

  • Les aliments moisis ont moins bon goût et la consommation (calculée en matière sèche et par conséquent en éléments nutritifs) peut s'en trouver réduite. Cela provoque dès lors un ralentissement des gains pondéraux ou une baisse de la production laitière. Même en l'absence de mycotoxines, on constate typiquement une baisse de rendement de l'ordre de 5 à 10 % en cas de consommation d'aliments moisis. La contamination par les mycotoxines aggrave encore ces pertes, que des moisissures soient ou non visibles.
  • Les aliments moisis sont aussi parfois moins digestes. En outre, leur teneur énergétique peut être réduite de 5 %, puisque les moisissures se développent aux dépens des protéines, des lipides et des hydrates de carbone qu'ils contiennent. La teneur en lipides alimentaires des produits moisis est particulièrement affectée. En présence de grandes quantités de moisissures, il est recommandé de multiplier par 0,95 les valeurs énergétiques théoriques (c'est à dire que les aliments ne procurent plus que 95 % de leur énergie normale). Certains chercheurs proposent même de retrancher jusqu'à 10 % de la valeur énergétique attribuée aux aliments moisis (qui ne fourniraient donc plus que 90 de leur énergie théorique).
  • Les aliments moisis peuvent également être à l'origine de problèmes de santé animale (avortement mycosique, affections respiratoires) et même humaine (la maladie appelée « le poumon de fermier » peut être provoquée par l'inhalation de spores de moisissures).

Aliments moisis et mycotoxines

  • Le dénombrement des spores de moisissures ne donne qu'une indication imprécise, et parfois inférieure à la réalité, de la quantité de moisissures présente.
  • Les aliments moisis ou qui sentent le moisi ne contiennent pas toujours des mycotoxines nuisibles, et même quand ils en contiennent, ce n'est pas nécessairement en concentration toxique.
  • Les moisissures sont toujours susceptibles de produire des mycotoxines, mais celles-ci n'atteindront un niveau préoccupant que dans certaines circonstances.

Effets des mycotoxines

  • Au départ, les mycotoxines ne causent que des problèmes relativement mineurs (p. ex. une baisse de rendement négligeable). Toutefois, si les animaux continuent à consommer des mycotoxines, des effets plus nets (baisse de la production laitière, ralentissement des gains pondéraux) apparaissent après quelques jours ou quelques semaines.
  • La fréquence de certains problèmes (refus des aliments, cétose, déplacement de la caillette) peut augmenter sensiblement si les animaux consomment des mycotoxines. Certains animaux sont atteints de diarrhée ou d'hémorragies.
  • Les mycotoxines ont également des effets œstrogènes qui peuvent se manifester sous la forme d'un gonflement de la vulve et des mamelles et/ou d'un prolapsus du vagin ou du rectum. La présence de mycotoxines peut se traduire également par une baisse des taux de fécondité et de conception, ou par l'apparition d'avortements.
  • Le stress lié à la production amplifie les effets des mycotoxines. Les vaches laitières très productrices et les bestiaux à l'engraissement, dont la croissance est rapide, sont donc plus sensibles aux effets des mycotoxines que les animaux peu productifs.

Problèmes dus aux mycotoxines

Il est difficile de reproduire dans des études contrôlées les graves problèmes qui sont constatés et attribués aux mycotoxines sur le terrain. Quelques exemples :

  • dans certaines exploitations laitières, on a incriminé la présence de mycotoxines à 0,1 ppm pour expliquer une baisse de la consommation d'aliments et de la production laitière, alors que des vaches laitières nourries à titre expérimental à l'aide d'aliments contenant 0, 6 et 12 ppm de DON entre la 13e et la 22e semaines de lactation n'ont accusé aucune baisse notable de rendement;
  • des études de cas réalisées à l'Université du Wisconsin ont attribué la survenue d'avortements chez des bovins à la consommation d'aliments contenant 1 ppm de zéaralénone alors que, dans une autre étude, des animaux recevant 200 à 300 ppm de zéaralénone n'ont pas présenté de troubles semblables de la reproduction.

Les données (qu'elles soient expérimentales ou recueillies sur le terrain) sur les effets des moisissures et des mycotoxines sont éminemment variables et souvent contradictoires. Les raisons en sont peut-être que :

  • les mycotoxines décelées ne sont peut être que des indices de la présence d'autres mycotoxines nuisibles mais inconnues, et/ou de leurs métabolites;
  • la concentration de ces autres substances ne peut pas être mesurée à l'heure actuelle;
  • dans beaucoup d'études, les chercheurs utilisent des mycotoxines pratiquement « pures » et travaillent en l'absence de quantités décelables d'autres toxines. Une étude portant sur le bétail d'engraissement n'a mis en évidence aucune baisse du rendement ni aucun problème de santé en présence de 10 à 15 ppm de DON dans l'alimentation, à condition que la teneur en autres toxines soit très faible ou nulle);
  • on ignore les effets cumulatifs et/ou *synergiques des mycotoxines et de leurs métabolites, mais on soupçonne qu'ils se conjuguent;
  • parmi les études réalisées jusqu'ici, beaucoup ont porté sur des périodes de 1 à 10 jours; plusieurs n'ont duré qu'un mois;
  • les travaux portant sur les effets de doses uniques ne reflètent pas les niveaux constatés dans la pratique;
  • les études réalisées jusqu'ici ont porté sur les animaux les plus robustes (vaches en milieu ou en fin de période de lactation et produisant 20 kg de lait).

Détoxification des mycotoxines

L'équipement biologique des ruminants leur procure une protection exceptionnelle contre les effets nuisibles des mycotoxines. On suppose que ces substances sont suffisamment dégradées avant qu'elles ne soient absorbées dans le sang puis par les organes vitaux pour que les animaux soient protégés.

Les mycotoxines sont détoxifiées ou dégradées dans le rumen, mais :

  • le taux de détoxification diffère d'un type de mycotoxine à l'autre;
  • le degré de détoxification d'une mycotoxine donnée dépend de la vitesse de transit des aliments (le passage des aliments dans le rumen est huit fois moins rapide chez les vaches de boucherie que chez les vaches laitières en période de lactation);
  • le degré de détoxification dépend de la dose de départ : après incubation pendant 24 h dans du suc digestif de rumen, la transformation de la DON en dé époxy DON ou DOM, réputée moins nocive, est complètement achevée dans le cas d'une dose de départ de 5 ou 10 ppm, alors qu'elle ne l'est qu'à moitié si la concentration est de 50 ou 100 ppm;
  • le ou les métabolites ainsi produit(s) pourrai(en)t être encore plus nuisible(s) que les mycotoxines de départ. Certaines études portant sur le mouton ont constaté la transformation de la zéaralénone en zéaralénol, substance que l'on croit encore plus toxique.

Règles générales en cas de présence de moisissures et de mycotoxines dans la ration des ruminants :

  • En pratique, les effets des moisissures et des mycotoxines sont extrêmement variables. Il est impossible de prédire leurs effets dans une situation donnée.
  • Les ruminants sont moins sensibles que les porcins aux effets des moisissures et des mycotoxines et/ou ils sont moins affectés par leur présence dans leur alimentation.
  • Ils sont capables de détoxifier ou de métaboliser les mycotoxines en d'autres substances, généralement moins nocives.
  • Ils restent toutefois sensibles aux effets nocifs des moisissures et des mycotoxines contenus dans leur alimentation.
  • Les jeunes pré ruminants et les animaux très productifs constituent les deux catégories les plus sensibles aux effets des mycotoxines.
  • Les symptômes les plus classiques d'un problème dû aux moisissures et aux mycotoxines sont une baisse de la consommation d'aliments, une diminution de production de l'ordre de 5 à 10 %, et une réduction du rendement reproductif.
  • En cas de présence de moisissures et/ou de mycotoxines, il est prudent de prendre des mesures en vue de limiter leurs effets potentiellement nocifs sur les ruminants.

Prévention des mycotoxicoses :

  • La présence confirmée de mycotoxines est préoccupante et crée des problèmes de production et de santé chroniques chez les bovins laitiers, en plus de menacer aussi parfois la santé humaine puisque des résidus (d'aflatoxine en particulier) peuvent se retrouver dans le lait.
  • Il existe différents types de mycotoxines et ils sont très stables.
  • Les résultats des analyses de laboratoire doivent être interprétés en collaboration avec le spécialiste en nutrition à cause des nombreux types de mycotoxines et de leurs effets toxiques potentiels, qui dépendent des concentrations présentes.
  • On a utilisé plusieurs types de produits pour prévenir l'absorption des mycotoxines dans l'intestin en vue d'éviter les symptômes de mycotoxicoses, y compris des produits inorganiques et organiques.
  • Les produits inorganiques comprennent entre autres les minéraux silicatés (p. ex. l'agile bentonite ou les aluminosilicates) et le charbon activé mais il faut que des quantités relativement élevées soient consommées pour être efficaces.
  • Les produits inorganiques ont montré certains avantages, surtout les aflatoxines, mais les résultats varient (Diaz and Smith, 2005).
  • Les produits organiques comprennent les glucomannanes polymériques, qui sont des hydrates de carbone complexes tirés de la paroi cellulaire de la levure. Les glucomannanes polymériques ont une capacité d'adsorption élevée des mycotoxines et peuvent normalement être ajoutés à plus faibles doses dans la ration que les produits inorganiques (Diaz and Smith, 2005).
  • Une récente recherche de l'Université de Guelph a indiqué que les vaches recevant un produit avec du glucomannane polymérique tiré de la levure tout en consommant des grains contaminés par Fusarium montraient des concentrations sériques d'IgA (indicateur de l'état immunitaire) supérieures à celles des vaches de l'essai qui s'alimentaient des mêmes grains mais sans c produit (Smith et al., 2006).
  • Aucun produit unique n'est efficace comparé à tous les composés connus (Huwig et al., 2001).

Références

  1. Diaz, D. E. and T. K. Smith. 2005. Mycotoxin sequestering agents: practical tools for the neutralisation of mycotoxins pp. 323-339 in: The Mycotoxin Blue Book. Ed. D. Diaz. Nottingham University Press, Nottingham, United Kingdom.
  2. Huwig, A., S. Freimund, O. Käppeli, and H. Dutler. 2001. Mycotoxin detoxication of animal feed by different adsorbents. Tox. Lett. 122: 179-188.
  3. Smith, T.K., G. Diaz-Llano, S.N. Korosteleva, and M. Yegani. 2006. The effect of feed-borne Fusarium mycotoxins on reproductive efficiency in dairy cows, sows, and broiler breeders pp. 367-372. in: Nutritional Biotechnology in the Feed and Food Industry. Eds. T.P. Lyons, K.A. Jacques, and J. M. Hoover. Nottingham University Press, Nottingham, United Kingdom.

 


Auteur : Tom Wright - spécialiste de la nutrition des bovins laitiers/MAAARO
Date de création : Juin 2011
Dernière révision : 29 juillet 2013

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca