Spontaneous Combustion and Hay Fires

Lives have been lost and hay crops destroyed because of fires caused by spontaneous combustion. This year has been particularly bad for hay heating due to the hot humid weather. If the hay crop is put into the mow above 20-25% moisture content, spontaneous combustion may occur.

A hay crop that is placed too wet into a mow will heat rapidly. If the mow is so large that heat loss is restricted, the internal temperature will rise. As the temperature rises above 130°F (55°C), a chemical reaction occurs and may sustain itself. This reaction does not require oxygen, but the flammable gases produced are at a temperature above their ignition point. These gases will ignite when they come in contact with the air.

Check your hay regularly. If you detect a slight caramel odour or a distinct musty smell, chances are your hay is heating.

What do you do if you suspect that your hay is heating? First of all, make yourself a simple probe that can be inserted into the hay mass to check the temperature. A probe can be made from a 10 foot piece of electrical tubing. Rivet a hardwood pointed dowel to one end and drill 8 - 3/16 inch diameter holes in the tube just above the dowel. Drive the probe into the hay mass and lower a candy thermometer on a long string into the probe. The thermometer should be left for 10 minutes to ensure an accurate reading.

Watch for the following temperatures:

150°F (65°C) ** Entering the Danger Zone. Check temperature daily.

160°F (70°C) ** Danger! Measure temperature every four hours and inspect mow.

175°F (80°C) ** Call the Fire Department! Wet hay down and remove from the barn.

185°F (85°C) ** Hot Spots and Pockets May be Expected. Flames will likely develop when heating hay comes in contact with the air.

212°F (100°C) Critical! Temperature rise is rapid above this point. Hay will almost certainly ignite.

Caution: Before entering the mow, place long planks on top of the hay. Do not attempt to walk on the hay mass itself. Pockets may have already burned out under the hay surface. Always tie a rope around your waist and have a second person on the other end in a safe location to pull you out should the surface of the hay collapse into a fire pocket.

Extreme caution should be taken when fighting a hay fire if hay has been treated with chemical preservatives. Hay treated with preservatives containing ethoxyquin and BHT (butylated hydroxytoluene) will produce hydrogen cyanide gas at around 240°F (115°C). This gas is very deadly. Additives containing primarily propionic acid to not produce hydrogen cyanide during a fire.

Many farmers sprinkle salt on hay as it is stored, in an effort to prevent hay fires. However, tests have shown that salt has no effect on controlling spontaneous combustion. Dry ice, liquid nitrogen or carbon dioxide gas pumped into the hay will prevent combustion by eliminating the oxygen from the hay mass.

Spontaneous combustion is not an accident. By following good storage practices, not only will spontaneous combustion by avoided, but a higher quality of hay will be obtained.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Harold House - Dairy and Beef Structures and Equipment Specialist/OMAFRA
Creation Date: July 1998
Last Reviewed: July 1998

Combustion spontanée et feux de foin

Si la récolte de foin est entreposée dans une grange alors que son contenu en humidité est supérieur à 20 25 %, la combustion spontanée peut se produire.

Une récolte de foin trop humide entreposé, surchauffera rapidement. Si le tas est si grand que la perte de chaleur est limitée, la température interne croîtra. Si la température dépasse 130 °F (55 °C), une réaction chimique se produira et s'autorégulera. Cette réaction ne nécessite pas la présence d'oxygène, mais les gaz inflammables produits sont à une température supérieure à leur point de fusion. Ces gaz s'enflammeront s'ils entrent en contact avec l'air.

Vérifiez votre foin régulièrement. Si vous détectez une odeur légère de caramel ou une odeur distincte de moisi, il se peut que votre foin surchauffe.

Que faire si tel est le cas? Tout d'abord, fabriquez-vous une sonde pour le vérifier. Il s'agit simplement de l'insérer dans la masse de foin pour vérifier la température. La sonde peut être faite d'un morceau de 10 pieds de tuyau électrique auquel vous pouvez attacher une cheville en bois à un bout. À l'autre bout, percez un trou d'un diamètre de 8" 3/16 dans le tube juste au-dessus du pivot. Insérez la sonde dans le tas de foin et faites-y passer un thermomètre de confiserie sur une longue corde. Le thermomètre devrait rester dans le tube pendant 10 minutes pour assurer une lecture précise.

Températures critiques :

150 °F (65 °C) ** ENTRÉE DANS LA ZONE DANGEREUSE. Vérifiez la température quotidiennement.
160 °F (70 °C) ** DANGER! Mesurez la température toutes les quatre heures et inspectez la grange.
175 °F (80 °C) ** APPELEZ LES POMPIERS! Arrosez le foin et sortez-le de la grange.
185 °F (85 °C) ** ATTENDEZ-VOUS À DES POINTS CHAUDS ET À DES POCHES DE CHALEUR! Les flammes se développeront probablement au fur et à mesure que le foin entrera en contact avec l'air.
212 °F (100 °C) CRITIQUE! La hausse de température est rapide après ce point. Le foin s'enflammera presque certainement.

AVERTISSEMENT : Avant d'entrer dans l'enclos, disposez de longues planches sur le foin. N'essayez pas de marcher sur le foin lui-même. Les poches peuvent avoir déjà brûlé sous la surface. Liez toujours une corde autour de votre taille et demandez à une deuxième personne de la tenir dans un endroit sûr pour vous sortir si la surface du foin devait s'écrouler dans une poche de feu.

Il faut user d'une prudence extrême en se battant avec un feu de foin s'il a été traité avec des agents de conservation chimiques. Le foin traité avec des agents contenant de l'éthoxyquine et du BHT (butylhydroxytoluène) produira du cyanure d'hydrogène à une température d'environ 240 °F (115 °C). Ce gaz est mortel. Des additifs contenant principalement de l'acide propionique servent à inhiber la production de cyanure hydrogène pendant un feu.

Beaucoup de fermiers aspergent leur foin de sel au moment de l'entreposer pour empêcher les feux de foin. Cependant, des essais ont montré que le sel n'a aucun effet de contrôle sur la combustion spontanée. La neige carbonique, l'azote liquide ou le dioxyde de carbone pompé dans le foin empêcheront la combustion par élimination de l'oxygène dans le foin.

La combustion spontanée n'est pas un accident. En suivant les bonnes pratiques d'entreposage ci-dessus, vous empêcherez la combustion spontanée, et vous améliorerez la qualité de votre foin.


Auteur : Harold K. House - Ingénieur, équipement et structures pour bovins/MAAARO
Date de création : 01 juillet 1998
Dernière révision : 01 juillet 1998

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca