Wheat for Animal Feed

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Species Usage
  3. Wheat as a Pellet Binder
  4. Triticale
  5. Summary

Introduction

Based on fluctuations in commodity pricing, wheat may become attractive in ruminant diets, replacing a portion of corn and barley in rations.

Traditionally, the milling of wheat produces flour for human use and appreciable quantities of by-products for animal feeds. The Hard Winter Wheats are generally high in protein, averaging 13-15%, whereas the Soft White Wheats tend to be lower in protein, averaging 11-12%. Hard spring wheats are increasingly grown in Ontario, and, when grown under appropriate cropping practices, may replace hard winter wheat.

The "western" wheat commonly used in Ontario formulations is blended from several varieties and generally averages around 13-14% protein. "Ontario" wheat is a soft white variety. The amino acid distribution of wheat is better than that of most cereal grains, (Table 2), and wheat is a very palatable and digestible feed, having a relative value equivalent to corn for most animals. In Ontario however, wheat is often more costly per tonne, thereby restricting its use in rations.

As with many other cereal grains, wheat is primarily a source of energy in the form of carbohydrates. Available energy expressed as either digestible energy (DE) or metabolizable energy (ME) is higher per unit of dry matter (DM) relative to corn, than other major grains.

Wheat which is of low quality and thus unsuitable for milling, because of damage by disease, insects, and frost, can be fed to domestic animals. It will obviously be worth less than good quality wheat, with its exact value dependent on the extent of the damage. Such wheat may be less palatable and have less nutritional value than good quality wheat, so it is best to mix it with another cereal grain in the diet. Fusarium toxins i.e. zearalenone and vomitoxin are a concern with off spec Ontario grown wheat.

Byproducts of wheat include:

  • Bran, consisting almost entirely of the outer coatings of the wheat kernels.
  • Shorts or Brown Shorts, consisting of bran, germ, flour and tailings. They contain somewhat more flour than midds and have the appearance of a finely ground meal containing somewhat less brownish material than midds.
  • Standard Middlings or the Middlings consisting of the fine particles of bran and germ with very little Red Dog.
  • Red Dog, sometimes called light shorts; a product from the tail of the mill that consists, chiefly, of the aleuron layer with small particles of bran, germ and flour.
  • Germ, consisting of the wheat germ separated in the milling process by grinding.
  • Flour which normally goes into human foods.

Species Usage

i) Beef:  Feeding wheat to ruminants requires some caution as wheat tends to be more apt than other cereal grains to cause acute indigestion in animals which are unadapted to it. The primary problem appears to be the high gluten content of wheat which in the rumen can result in a "pasty" consistency to the rumen contents and reduced rumen motility. Whole wheat may be efficiently used by cattle, but it's nutritive value is improved by some form of processing. It is generally conceded that its feeding value is optimized by dry-rolling, coarse grinding or steam-rolling to produce a thick flake. Fine grinding of wheat generally reduces the feed intake and is likely to cause acidosis and/or bloat. Never-the-less, when available for feed, it can be substituted equally for corn on the basis of TDN to a maximum of 25% of dry matter intake for beef.

ii) Sheep: Whole-grained wheat intended for adult sheep need not be ground or processed before incorporating into rations since these species chew feed more completely. In the case of early-weaned and artificially-reared lambs, the palatability of whole-grain wheat is improved by pelleting.

Wheat as a Pellet Binder

The glutenous nature of wheat makes it an excellent pelleting aid. 10% wheat in a formula will often enhance pellet durability, particularly in rations with little other natural binder. By-products such as gluten feed and distillers grains are low in carbohydrate which can bind pellets. For this function, hard wheat is required.

Triticale

Triticale is a relatively new cereal grain, and has shown some promise in both swine and poultry feeds. Triticale is a cross between wheat (Triticum duriem) and rye (Secale cereale). Its feeding value as an energy source is comparable to that of corn and other cereals. Digestibility of triticale is similar to, or higher than, the digestibility of wheat for the nutrients measured. Total protein content tends to be higher than corn and similar to that of wheat. At higher levels, palatability problems (associated with rye) may occur.

Summary

When available for feed, wheat can be substituted directly for corn on the basis of DE and TDN in animal rations. Feeding to ruminants requires some caution, however, as wheat is more apt than other cereal grains to cause acute indigestion in animals that are unadapted to it. With some species, additional processing is required for optimal utilization. The feeding recommendations are summarized in Table 1.

Table 1. Feeding Recommendations for Livestock
Species
Feeding Level or Level of Wheat Substitution
Beef up to 25% DM Intake
Sheep up to 35-40% of the grain ration (As-fed basis)

Table 2. Composition of Wheat and Other Major Cereal Grains
Nutrient
Western Wheat
Ontario Wheat
Corn
Ontario Barley
Ontario Oats
M.E. Pltry KC/KG
3063 3080 3400 2640 2550
M.E.Swine KC/KG
3258 3300 3380 2860 2660
T.D.N. (%)
76 76 79 75 68
Crude Protein (%)
15.1 14.3 8.8 12 11.6
Methionine (%)
0.24 0.23 0.20 0.18 0.18
Meth & Cystine (%)
0.58 0.56 0.40 0.45 0.56
Lysine (%)
0.45 0.44 0.27 0.40 0.40
Tryptophane (%)
0.15 0.14 0.05 0.11 0.12
Arginine (%)
0.69 0.65 0.41 0.55 0.74
Isoleucine (%)
0.72 0.68 0.29 0.39 0.42
Leucine (%)
1.34 1.26 1.10 0.82 0.80
Phenylalanine (%)
0.91 0.86 0.44 - -
Threonine (%)
0.49 0.47 0.32 0.40 0.37
Valine (%)
0.84 0.80 0.42 0.60 0.57
Crude Fat (%)
1.50 1.50 3.80 1.90 4.00
Crude Fibre (%)
2.50 2.20 2.50 6.00 11.0
Sodium (%)
0.03 0.01 0.02 0.02 0.01
Calcium (%)
0.04 0.05 0.03 0.07 0.10
Avail Phos (%)
0.12 0.12 0.08 0.16 0.14
Magnesium (%)
0.36 0.15 0.12 0.36 0.36
Potassium (%)
0.40 0.40 0.33 0.46 0.41
Sulphur (%)
0.18 0.18 0.12 0.14 0.21
Selenium (mg/kg)
0.38 - 0.03 0.15 0.21
Zinc (mg/kg)
40.0 - 23.0 30.0 28.0
Manganese (mg/kg)
39.0 - 6.0 14.0 35.0
Iron (mg/kg)
46.0 - 38.0 55.0 63.0
Copper (mg/kg)
6.0 - 4.0 4.0 4.0
Cobalt (mg/kg)
0.12 - 0.05 0.09 0.06
Vitamin A (kIU/kg)
- - 3.0 3.0 -
Choline (mg/kg)
880 790 511 1030 1034
References: Foreman, Robert, 1989

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Brian Bell - Beef Cattle and Sheep Nutrition Specialist/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 22 August 1997
Last Reviewed: 09 July 2003

Le blé dans l’alimentation animale

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. L’usage selon l’espèce
  3. Le blé comme liant dans les aliments en granules
  4. Le triticale
  5. Résumé

Introduction

Selon les fluctuation du prix des matières premières, il peut s’avérer intéressant d’utiliser le blé dans le régime des ruminants, en remplacement partiel du maïs et de l’orge.

Traditionnellement, la mouture du blé produit de la farine pour consommation humaine ainsi qu’une quantité appréciable de sous-produits pour l’alimentation animale. Les blés hard winter sont généralement riches en protéines, d’une teneur moyenne de 13 à 15%, tandis que les blés tendres blancs de printemps tendent à en contenir moins, en moyenne de 11 à 12%. L’Ontario produit de plus en plus de blé dur de printemps qui, cultivé selon les méthodes appropriées, peut remplacer le blé hard winter.

Le blé « de l’ouest » communément utilisé dans les rations en Ontario est un mélange de diverses variétés dont la teneur en protéines atteint généralement de 13 à 14 %. Le blé « de l’Ontario » est un blé blanc, tendre. L’équilibre des acides aminés du blé est habituellement meilleur que celui de la plupart des autres céréales (tableau 2). C’est un aliment très appétent et très digeste, dont la valeur relative pour la plupart des animaux en fait l’équivalent du maïs. Cependant, le prix du blé à la tonne en Ontario est souvent plus élevé, ce qui en limite l’utilisation dans les rations animales.

Comme dans le cas de bien d’autres céréales, le blé fournit principalement de l’énergie, sous forme d’hydrates de carbone. L’énergie disponible du blé, exprimée en énergie digestible (ED) ou en énergie métabolisable (EM) est supérieure par unité de matière sèche (MS), relativement au maïs, que celle de la plupart des principales céréales.

Le blé jugé de piètre qualité et conséquemment impropre à la mouture, à cause d’avaries par la maladie, les insectes et le gel, peut servir d’aliment pour les animaux domestiques. Sa valeur sera évidemment moindre que celle d’un blé de bonne qualité, sa valeur exacte étant fonction de l’importance de l’avarie. Ce blé peut être moins appétent que le blé de bonne qualité et sa valeur nutritive inférieure : il convient donc de l’associer à d’autres céréales dans le régime. Il faut se méfier du blé hors spécifications de l’Ontario, qui peut être contaminé par des toxines de fusarium, notamment la zéaralenone et la vomitoxine.

Certains des sous-produits du blé sont :

  • Le son qui se compose presque entièrement de l’enveloppe extérieure du grain de blé.
  • Le gru rouge composé du son, du germe, de la farine et des otons. Il contient une quantité plus importante de farine que les remoulages et a l’apparence d’une moulée fine contenant relativement moins de particules brunes que les remoulages.
  • Les remoulages ou gru blanc composés de fines particules de son et de germe, et de très peu de farine basse.
  • La farine basse, un produit de fin de mouture composé essentiellement de la couche protéique et de petites particules de son, de germe et de farine.
  • Le germe composé du germe du blé, extrait durant le broyage.
  • La farine qui sert habituellement à l’alimentation humaine.

 

L'usage selon l’espèce

I) Les bovins de boucherie: l’utilisation du blé chez les ruminants nécessite certaines précautions parce que le blé est plus susceptible que d’autres céréales de causer une indigestion aiguë chez les animaux qui n’y sont pas adaptés. Le principal problème semble être attribuable à la forte teneur en gluten du blé qui peut rendre « pâteux » le contenu du rumen au point d’en entraver la motilité. Les bovins peuvent utiliser efficacement le blé complet mais le conditionnement permet d’en améliorer la valeur bromatologique. On admet généralement que l’applatissage, le concassage ou le floconnage permet d’obtenir le maximum de valeur alimentaire. En général une mouture fine réduit la consommation d’aliments et peut causer l’acidose ou le ballonnement. Toutefois, s’il est disponible pour l’alimentation animale, le blé fin peut être substitué au maïs, sur la base des UNT, jusqu’à un maximum de 25% de la ration de matière sèche chez les bovins.

ii) Ovins: il n’est pas nécessaire de broyer ou de conditionner le blé complet destiné à l’alimentation des ovins adultes avant de l’incorporer à la ration puisque ces espèces mastiquent mieux leurs aliments. Chez les agneaux sevrés tôt ou alimentés artificiellement, la granulation améliore l’appétibilité du blé complet.

Le blé comme liant dans les granules

La nature glutineuse du blé en fait un excellent adjuvant pour la granulation. L’ajout de 10 % de blé dans une formule permettra généralement d’améliorer la durabilité des granules, surtout dans les rations qui contiennent peu de liants naturels. Les sous-produits tel que les aliments de gluten de maïs et les drêches de distillerie sont faibles en glucides qui servent de liant dans les granules. C’est le blé dur qui convient à cet usage.

Le triticale

Le triticale est une céréale relativement nouvelle qui s’est révélée prometteuse dans les rations pour porcins et pour volaille. Le triticale est issu d’un croisement entre le blé (Triticum duriem) et le seigle (Secale cereale). Sa valeur alimentaire, comme source d’énergie, est comparable à celle du maïs et des autres céréales. Pour les éléments nutritifs mesurés, la digestibilité du triticale est comparable ou supérieure à celle du blé. La teneur totale en protéines est supérieure à celle du maïs et semblable à celle du blé. À forte concentration, il est possible que l’on éprouve des problèmes d’appétibilité (associés au seigle).

 

Résumé

Lorsque le blé est disponible pour l’alimentation animale, il peut être substitué directement au maïs dans la ration sur la base de l’ED et des UNT. Toutefois, il faut être prudent dans l’alimentation des ruminants parce que le blé est plus susceptible que toute autre céréale de causer une indigestion aiguë chez les animaux qui n’y sont pas adaptés. Chez certaines espèces, un conditionnement additionnel permet une utilisation maximum. Le tableau 1 résume les recommandations pour l’alimentation.


Tableau 1. Recommandations pour l’alimentation du bétail
Espèce
Niveau d’alimentation ou de substitution du blé
Bovins jusqu’à 25 % de l’apport de MS
Ovins jusqu’à 35 à 40 % de la ration de céréales

 

Tableau 2. Composition du blé et des principales céréales
Élément nutritif Blé de l’Ouest Blé de l’Ontario Maïs Orge de l’Ontario Avoine de l’Ontario
E.M. volaille kcal/kg
3063
3080
3400
2640
2550
E.M. porcins kcal/kg
3258
3300
3380
2860
2660
UNT (%)
76
76
79
75
68
Protéine brute (%)
15,1
14,3

8,8

12
11,6
Méthionine
0,24
0,23
0,20
0,18
0,18
Méthionine et cystine (%)
0,58
0,56
0,40
0,45
0,56
Lysine (%)
0,45
0,44
0,27
0,40
0,40
Tryptophane (%)
0,15
0,14
0,05
0,11
0,12
Arginine (%)
0,69
0,65
0,41
0,55
0,74
Isoleucine (%)
0,72
0,68
0,29
0,39
0,42
Leucine (%)
1,34
1,26
1,10
0,82
0,80
Phénylalanine (%)
0,91
0,86
0,44
-
-
Thréonine(%)
0,49
0,47
0,32
0,40
0,37
Valine (%)
0,84
0,80
0,42
0,60
0,57
Cellulose brute (%)
1,50
1,50
3,80
1,90
4,00
Graisse brute (%)
2,50
2,20
2,50
6,00
11,00
Sodium (%)
0,03
0,01
0,02
0,02
0,01
Calcium (%)
0,04
0,05
0,03
0,07
0,10
Phosphore disponible (%)
0,12
0,12
0,08
0,16
0,14
Magnésium (%)
0,36
0,15
0,12
0,36
0,36
Potassium (%)
0,40
0,40
0,33
0,46
0,41
Soufre (%)
0,18
0,18
0,12
0,14
0,21
Sélénium (mg/kg)
0,38
-
0,03
0,15
0,21
Zinc (mg/kg)
40
-
23,0
30,0
28,0
Manganèse (mg/kg)
39
-
6,0
14,0
35,0
Fer (mg/kg)
46
-
38,0
55,0
63,0
Cuivre (mg/kg)
6
-
4,0
4,0
4,0
Cobalt (mg/kg)
0,12
-
0,05
0,09
0,06
Vitamine A (kIU/kg)
-
-
3,0
3,0
-
Choline (mg/kg)
880
790
511
1030
1034

Réferences: Foreman, Robert, 1989

 

 


Auteur : Brian Bell - Spécialiste en nutrition des bovins de boucherie et des ovins/MAAARO
Date de création : 22 août 1997
Dernière révision : 6 juillet 2011

For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca