Housing Requirements for Backgrounding Beef Cattle

Table of Contents

  1. Housing
  2. Feed and Water
  3. Ventilation
  4. Manure Handling

Backgounding refers to the growing, feeding and managing of steers and heifers from weaning until they enter a feedlot and are placed on a high concentrate finishing ration. The process of backgrounding is used to control weight gains so that cattle gain enough muscle and bone before laying down fat covering and marbling.

Housing

Housing is best kept as simple as possible. It may be possible to use existing two-storey barns, machinery sheds or to build simple structures like fabric-covered buildings. A well-drained yard with a good windbreak may also be a suitable alternative. The primary purpose of housing is to provide shelter from extreme weather conditions. However, cattle can be kept outside if they have protection from the weather.

When determining how much space is required for the backgrounding calves, consider the actual usable lying space rather than the total size of the barn. Deduct space needed for feeders and waterers, as well as alley space and space next to the feeders that is not suitable for resting. Table 1 shows space requirements for calves and finishing cattle.

Table 1. Housing Space Requirements

Requirements Calves
400-800 lb
(ft2/animal)
Finishers
800-1,200 lb
(ft2/animal)
Barn Space without Yard
20-30
30-40

Barn Space with Yard

15-20
20-30
  • Outside Paved Yard
40-50
50-60
  • Outside Earth Yard
200-250
250-500
Paved Yard without Barn
50-60
60-80
Earth Yard without Barn
300-600
400-800

Feed and Water

Open surface water tanks are best for training calves. Allow 1 foot of tank or waterer space for every 20 head as a good starting point. If energy free water bowls are used, be sure to block open the lids or balls, so that the calves can see the water until they are trained.

Round bale feeders may be the most economical method of setting up a feeding system for backgrounding calves. An 8 inch bar spacing is suitable for calves, but 800 pound cattle will require a 10 inch spacing. Feed space requirements for fence line feeders is shown in Table 2.

Table 2. Feeder Space Requirements

Feeder Space Calves
400-800 lb.
(in/animal)
Finishers
800-1,200 lb.
(in/animal)
Limit Feeding
18-22
22-26
Self Fed Grain
3-4
4-6
Self Fed Roughage
9-10
10-11
Max Height at Throat
18
22

Ventilation

Ventilation is necessary to remove odours and gases from the barn, and replace them with fresh air. In cold weather the ventilation rate is calculated to remove excess moisture and in hot weather it is calculated to remove excess heat.

Natural ventilation using existing windows and doors is preferable because of cost. Natural ventilation relies on the wind to ventilate a barn by the cross flow of air in one side and out the other, and on the fact that hot air rises. In order for natural ventilation to work properly it is necessary to have both air inlets and exhaust openings from the barn. Windows can be used for both air inlets and air exhaust if they are adjustable and are spread evenly around the walls. Doors can also be used if you are careful. It is important to avoid drafts. Drafts are simply air movement that the cattle find uncomfortable. The temperature and the speed of the air movement will determine if the cattle feel a draft.

The barn must also have good exposure to the wind. If there are other buildings around the cattle barn, or lean-tos, or a large barn bridge, it will be difficult to make natural ventilation work.

In cold weather, air exhaust openings will be needed. In a two-storey barn, hay chutes can be used if they have an adjustable opening. Hay chutes should only be used as a temporary fix, since they will exhaust warm moist air into the mow area of the barn. If this moist air is not exhausted from the mow, it will condense on roof members and eventually lead to deterioration of the roof. The long-term solution is to install chimneys which will exhaust the air directly to the outside. If a machinery shed is being used, chimneys or a continuous open ridge can be used to exhaust air.

It is better to keep cattle cold and dry than warm and damp. To keep the air fresh, open the barn as much as possible, while still controlling drafts. This may result in freezing in the barn, but it is better to have frozen manure than to close up the barn too much to keep it warm. The result will be stale air and heavy air because the moisture is not being removed from the barn. If the hair coat becomes damp and the air is stale and moist, cattle will be susceptible to a number of respiratory illnesses.

If the barn is not suitable for natural ventilation, it will be necessary to install one or more fans to provide for fresh air exchange.

Manure Handling

Manure will need to be scraped from around the feeders and waterers on a regular basis to keep cattle clean. The bedded pack can continue to build until clean out is necessary. Cattle will need about 4 lb/head/day of bedding.

If an outside yard is used, it will need to be scraped on a regular basis. Storage should be provided for the manure, and manure and yard run-off needs to be controlled so that it doesn't enter surface or groundwater. Roof manure storages to prevent run-off, or contain run-off from the manure storage or yard in an earthen or concrete storage. It may also be possible to treat run-off through a vegetative treatment area.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Harold K. House, P. Eng. - Engineer, Beef and Dairy Structures and Equipment/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 12 August 2003
Last Reviewed: 20 January 2010

Le logement des bovins de semi-finition

Table des matières

  1. Logement
  2. Alimentation et abreuvement
  3. Ventilation
  4. Manutention du fumier

L'élevage, l'alimentation et la conduite de troupeaux de bouvillons et de génisses, du sevrage jusqu'au parc d'engraissement, alors que les bovins sont alimentés avec une ration de finition très concentrée, constitue ce qu'on appelle la semi-finition. La semi-finition permet de superviser les gains de poids de manière à ce que les bovins augmentent suffisamment leur masse musculaire et osseuse avant d'accumuler la couche supérieure de graisse et les infiltrations graisseuses (persillage).

Logement

Le logement des bouvillons doit être le plus simple possible. On peut loger les animaux dans des bâtiments existants, tels que des étables à deux étages, des hangars à machinerie ou encore construire des structures plus simples comme des bâtiments à toiture de textile. Le but principal du logement est de protéger les bêtes des conditions climatiques extrêmes. Le bétail peut toutefois rester à l'extérieur s'il est protégé.

Pour évaluer l'espace requis pour les veaux de semi-finition, calculez la superficie actuelle utilisable par les veaux couchés plutôt que la grandeur totale de l'étable. Déduisez l'espace réservé aux mangeoires et aux abreuvoirs, de même que la superficie réservée aux couloirs et aux environs des mangeoires ne pouvant être utilisée par les animaux au repos. On trouvera au tableau 1 les superficies recommandées pour les veaux et les bovins de finition.

Tableau 1. Superficies recommandées

Recommandations Veaux
400-800 lb
(pi2/animal)
Bovins de finition
800-1 200 lb
(pi2/animal)
Étable sans cour d'exercice
20-30 30-40
Étable avec cour d'exercice 15-20 20-30
  • Cour extérieure pav
40-50 50-60
  • Cour extérieur en ter
200-250 250-500
Cour pavée sans étable
50-60 60-80
Cour en terre sans étable
300-600 400-800


Alimentation et abreuvement

Ce sont les réservoirs d'eau ouverts qui conviennent le mieux pour entraîner les veaux. Prévoyez au départ un pied de surface de réservoir pour 20 têtes. Si vous utilisez des abreuvoirs qui ne consomment pas d'énergie, veillez à ce que les couvercles demeurent ouverts afin que les veaux puissent voir l'eau jusqu'à ce qu'ils soient bien entraînés.

Les mangeoires à balle ronde représentent peut-être le moyen le plus économique de mettre en place un système de distribution alimentaire pour les veaux en semi-finition.. Un espacement de huit pouces entre les extrémités convient pour les veaux, mais il faudra un espacement de dix pouces pour un bouvillon de 800 livres. On trouvera au tableau 2 l'espacement requis selon le type d'aliments pour les mangeoires alignées.

Tableau 2. Espacement entre les mangeoires

Type d'alimentation Veaux
400-800 lb.
(po/animal)
Bovins de finition
800-1 200 lb.
(po/animal)
Alimentation restreinte
18-22
22-26
Grains à volonté
3-4
4-6
Fourrage à volonté
9-10
10-11
Hauteur maximum au cou
18
22


Ventilation

La ventilation est nécessaire pour permettre d'éliminer les odeurs et les gaz de l'étable et faire circuler l'air frais. Par temps froid la ventilation est ajustée de manière à éliminer le surplus d'humidité et, par temps chaud, on vise à réduire la chaleur excessive.

Il est préférable d'utiliser des méthodes de ventilation naturelle en se servant des fenêtres et des portes existantes, en raison des coûts inférieurs. Dans ce cas, c'est le vent qui permet de ventiler l'étable en faisant circuler l'air d'un côté à l'autre du bâtiment et aussi parce que l'air chaud s'élève. Pour que cette méthode fonctionne bien, il est nécessaire d'avoir des entrées et des sorties d'air dans le bâtiment. On peut se servir des fenêtres pour les entrées et les sorties d'air si les ouvertures sont ajustables et qu'elles sont réparties uniformément le long des murs. On peut également utiliser les portes, mais avec vigilance. Il est important d'éviter les courants d'air. Ces derniers sont en fait de simples déplacements d'air qui sont inconfortables pour le bétail. L'inconfort des bêtes dépend de la température et de la vitesse de ces déplacements d'air.

L'étable doit également être bien exposée au vent. S'il y a d'autres bâtiments tout près de l'étable, des appentis, ou de grands auvents, il sera difficile d'obtenir une ventilation naturelle efficace.

Par temps froid, il est nécessaire de faire évacuer l'air. Dans les étables à deux étages, on peut se servir des abat-foin s'ils sont dotés d'une ouverture ajustable. Les abat-foin ne devraient être utilisés que sur une base temporaire, car ils favorisent l'évacuation d'air chaud et humide dans la section de l'étable réservée au séchage du foin. Si l'air humide n'est pas évacué de cette section, il se produira de la condensation dans la toiture laquelle risque de se détériorer par la suite. À long terme, il est préférable d'installer des conduits qui permettront l'évacuation de l'air directement à l'extérieur. Si le bétail loge dans un hangar à machinerie, on peut utiliser des conduits ou une poutre faîtière continue et ouverte pour l'évacuation de l'air.

Il est préférable de garder les bovins au frais et au sec plutôt qu'à la chaleur et à l'humidité. Pour garder l'air frais, ouvrez l'étable le plus possible, tout en surveillant les courants d'air. Cette méthode peut produire du gel dans l'étable, mais il est préférable d'avoir du fumier gelé que de trop fermer les portes de l'étable pour la garder au chaud. Dans ce cas, l'air devient vicié et lourd car l'humidité ne peut s'échapper du bâtiment. Si leur pelage devient humide lorsque l'air est vicié et lourd, les animaux risquent davantage de contracter des maladies respiratoires.

Si on ne peut ventiler l'étable de manière naturelle, il faudra alors installer un ou plusieurs ventilateurs pour favoriser la circulation d'air.

Manutention du fumier

Il est nécessaire de racler régulièrement le fumier qui s'accumule autour des mangeoires et des abreuvoirs afin d'assurer la propreté du bétail. La litière peut continuer à s'empiler jusqu'à ce que le nettoyage soit nécessaire. Les bovins ont besoin d'environ quatre livres /tête/jour de litière.

Les cours d'exercice extérieures doivent également être raclées régulièrement. Le fumier doit être entreposé et on doit vérifier le ruissellement afin d'éviter la contamination des eaux souterraines et de surface. Recouvrir les tas de fumier pour prévenir le ruissellement, ou contenir ce dernier dans une fosse en terre ou en béton. Il est également possible que le ruissellement soit traité en le faisant traverser une zone de végétation.


Auteur : Harold House, P. Ing. - Ingénieur, Structures et machinerie, bovins laitiers et de boucherie/MAAARO
Date de création : 12 août 2003
Dernière révision : 20 janvier 2010

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca