On-Farm Euthanasia of Sheep and Goats

Table of Contents

  1. Methods of Euthanasia
  2. Confirmation of Death
  3. Disposal of Mortalities
  4. Conclusion
  5. Notice and Disclaimer
  6. References
  7. Related Links

The decision to humanely end the life of an animal may be necessary in cases of severe injury or disease or as a result of disasters such as fire or flood. On-farm euthanasia may be the most practical and humane way for a livestock producer to relieve an animal's pain and suffering if it is unfit to travel, or to prevent drug residues from entering the food supply.

Whenever possible, livestock producers should consult with a veterinarian before deciding to euthanize an animal. A broken leg with exposed bone, or exposed internal organs are examples of severe conditions that might call for euthanasia. The following questions will help in deciding whether to treat, slaughter or euthanize an animal that is injured, extremely weak or disabled:

  • Is the animal in pain or distress? If yes, consider treatment.
  • Is the animal likely to recover? If yes, consider treatment.
  • Does the animal have the ability to access feed and water? If yes, consider treatment.
  • Have medications been administered? If yes, check withdrawal period.
  • Have drug withdrawal times been cleared? If yes, consider slaughter.
  • Can the animal be humanely transported? If yes, consider slaughter; you will need a veterinary certificate to transport the animal.
  • Does the animal show any clinical signs that you don't recognize or that you recognize as a reportable disease? If yes, you must contact your veterinarian.

Methods of Euthanasia

Euthanasia must be performed in a way that minimizes fear and anxiety in the animal. Good stockmanship practice dictates that producers have an ethical and moral responsibility to provide a humane death for animals in their care, without causing additional pain or suffering.

There are three basic methods appropriate for on-farm euthanasia: overdose by barbiturate; stunning with a penetrating captive bolt, followed by bleed-out; and gunshot. Each method has advantages and disadvantages. Euthanasia by barbiturate overdose must be performed by a veterinarian. Producers who choose the captive bolt pistol or gunshot method must take precautions to prevent serious injury to themselves and others.

To choose the most appropriate method for your operation, consider human safety, animal welfare, required skills, costs and other factors.

Death must always be confirmed, irrespective of which method is used.

Table 1: Three basic methods of on-farm euthanasia and considerations for each.

  Method Human Safety Animal Welfare Skills Required Cost Other
Overdose by Barbiturate Intravenous administration of a barbiturate Restrain the animal Excellent rating Proper technique for intravenous injection Veterinary fee Can only be administered by licenced veterinarian/restrictions regarding carcass disposal
Penetrating Captive Bolt Penetration of the skull and brain by captive bolt, followed with bleed-out by cutting all the main arteries and veins in the neck Restrain the animal. Be cautious of falling or thrashing animals Good rating. Correct cartridge strength, target site and penetration angle on animal is essential Correct and safe use of captive bolt pistol. Correct and safe use of sharp knife Low - after purchase of captive bolt pistol Results in some body movement. Results in large volume of blood that requires proper disposal
Gunshot Penetration of the skull and brain by bullet Restrain the animal. Be cautious of falling or thrashing animals. Be extremely cautious about bullet ricochet Good rating. Correct size of firearm and ammunition, and correct target site and penetration angle on animal is essential Correct and safe use of firearm Low - after purchase of firearm Results in some body movement and blood. Requires firearm acquisition certificate. Local by-laws may prohibit the use of firearms

Penetrating Captive Bolt and Gunshot

An experienced person can produce rapid unconsciousness in an animal by using a penetrating-type captive bolt or shot from a firearm which is aimed at the correct target site and penetration angle for the species and age of animal. The same anatomical targets and penetration angles are used for both a penetrating captive bolt pistol and a firearm (see Figures 1 and 2).

Penetrating Captive Bolt
  • Ensure the animal is securely restrained.
  • Use the appropriate cartridge strength for the animal (refer to the manufacturer's manual).
  • Place the captive bolt pistol firmly against the animal's head on the target site, and shoot.
  • Be careful to avoid injury from thrashing limbs when the animal collapses.
  • Cut both the carotid arteries and jugular veins in the neck with a sharp knife to bleed-out the animal after stunning. These arteries and veins are on both sides of the throat.
Gunshot
  • Ensure the animal is securely restrained.
  • Shoot outdoors when possible.
  • Have a backstop (e.g., an earth berm, manure pile, or something that will stop the bullet if you miss or it over-penetrates) behind the area you are aiming at.
  • Use a firearm and ammunition that are appropriate for the size, age and type of animal. The ammunition used to euthanize an animal must be powerful enough to make the animal immediately unconscious and to penetrate the head deeply enough to destroy the areas of the brain that control breathing and circulation.
  • A .22 calibre firearm, using "long-rifle" hollow-nosed ammunition or a .38 calibre firearm can be used to successfully euthanize sheep and goats.
  • Hold the firearm 5-25 cm (2-10 in.) from the target site. To avoid personal injury, do NOT place the firearm muzzle against the animal's skull. Aim the shot down the line of the spine so that the bullet will enter the brain stem (the beginning of the spinal cord), and shoot.
  • Be careful to avoid injury from thrashing limbs when the animal collapses.
Target Site and Penetration Angle

The target site for euthanizing sheep and goats without horns is at a point on the forehead at the mid-line, just above the eyes, as shown in Figure 1. The shot must be directed at an angle down the line of the spine and into the bulk of the body (or where the body would be if the animal were to be standing normally).

Target site and penetration angle for sheep and goats without horns

Figure 1. Target site and penetration angle for sheep and goats without horns.

Heavily horned sheep and goats should be shot behind the poll, directing the shot in a path downward just behind the eyes and towards the nose, as shown in Figure 2.

Target site and penetration angle for sheep and goats with large horns

Figure 2. Target site and penetration angle for sheep and goats with large horns.

Graphics taken from Procedures for Humane Euthanasia, J.K. Shearer and P. Nicoletti

Confirmation of Death

It is essential that you confirm the animal's death directly following euthanasia. A standing animal should immediately collapse. Its muscles may involuntarily contract, usually for no longer than 20 seconds. After this, it may show some poorly coordinated kicking or paddling movements before the muscles completely relax.

Check the animal for breathing, heartbeat and blinking response (corneal reflex). There should be none. The eyes should be fixed and dilated. To check the blinking response, touch the surface of the animal's eye (the cornea). Any eye movement or blinking shows sustained or recovering brain activity. If there is any sign of breathing, heartbeat or blinking, repeat the euthanasia method or use an alternate procedure.

Disposal of Mortalities

The proper disposal of livestock mortalities is critical in preventing environmental contamination and the spread of disease. In Ontario, the Nutrient Management Act, 2002, O.Reg 106/09 Disposal of Dead Farm Animals regulates the disposal of dead cattle, swine, sheep, goats and horses, and any parts, including blood on-farm.

Under Regulation 106/09, producers are required to properly dispose of on-farm mortalities in a safe and environmentally friendly manner within 48 hours of death. When euthanizing an animal, it is a good idea to choose a location where you can easily reach the mortality and to quickly dispose of it.

Regulation 106/09 permits the following disposal methods:

  • using the services of a collector
  • on-farm burial
  • on-farm incineration
  • on-farm composting
  • on-farm disposal vessel
  • delivery to an approved anaerobic digester
  • delivery to an approved waste disposal site (i.e. landfill)
  • delivery to a licensed disposal facility under the Food Safety Quality Act (FSQA)
  • delivery to a licensed veterinarian for purposes of a post mortem

Conclusion

Human safety and animal welfare must over-ride economic considerations when deciding if, how, when and where an animal must be humanely destroyed.

Euthanasia, although an unpleasant task, is an inevitable component of animal husbandry. Careful planning and training can help to minimize a person's stress associated with carrying out this necessary act, and prevent the unnecessary suffering of animals. Discuss euthanasia options for your farm operation with your veterinarian, then develop an action plan and update it annually as part of your flock or herd health program.

Notice and Disclaimer

The Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs does not recommend any specific one of the methods described above. Producers must determine which method is appropriate for their individual circumstances. Possession and use of firearms are governed by federal legislation; producers should ensure compliance with all legislative requirements and ensure adequate safety precautions are used. The Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs are not liable for injuries or damages resulting from the use of the above methods.

References

Humane Slaughter Association and Council of Justice to Animals. 2001. Captive Bolt Stunning of Livestock - Guidance Notes No. 2, 3rd Edition. United Kingdom.

Humane Slaughter Association and Council of Justice to Animals. 2001. Humane Killing of Livestock Using Firearms - Guidance Notes No. 3. United Kingdom.

Ontario Pork. On-Farm Euthanasia of Swine: Options for the Producer.

Shearer, J.K. and P. Nicoletti. 2002. Procedures for Humane Euthanasia. University of Florida, College of Veterinary Medicine.

Stull, C. and P. Hullinger. 1999. The Emergency Euthanasia of Sheep and Goats. California Department of Food and Agriculture, Animal Care Program.

Dairy Workgroup. 1998. "Section 7: Care and Handling of Animals Destined For Sale or Slaughter," Animal Care Series: Dairy Care Practices, 2nd Edition. University of California, Cooperative Extension.

Dairy Workgroup. 1998. "Section 8: Euthanasia of Animals on the Dairy," Animal Care Series: Dairy Care Practices, 2nd Edition. University of California, Cooperative Extension.

Related Links


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Gerrit Rietveld - Animal Care Specialist/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 30 October 2003
Last Reviewed: 24 May 2010

Euthanasie à la ferme des moutons et des chèvres

Table des matières

  1. Méthodes d'euthanasie
  2. Confirmation du décès
  3. Élimination des carcasses
  4. Conclusion
  5. Avis et déni de responsabilité
  6. Références
  7. Liens connexes

La décision de mettre un terme avec compassion à la vie d'un animal peut être nécessaire en cas de blessure grave, ou de maladie ou à la suite d'un désastre comme un incendie ou une inondation. L'euthanasie à la ferme peut être la façon la plus pratique et la plus respectueuse pour un éleveur de bétail qui désire mettre un terme aux souffrances d'un animal s'il est incapable de se déplacer, ou pour empêcher que des résidus de médicaments ne pénètrent dans la chaîne alimentaire.

Dans la mesure du possible, les producteurs de bétail devraient consulter un vétérinaire avant de procéder à l'euthanasie d'un animal. Une patte brisée avec un os exposé ou encore des organes internes exposés sont des exemples de conditions graves qui peuvent nécessiter l'euthanasie. On doit se poser les questions suivantes pour décider si on doit traiter, abattre ou euthanasier un animal blessé, extrêmement faible ou handicapé :

  • L'animal est-il en souffrance? Si oui, envisagez un traitement.
  • L'animal a-t-il des chances de récupérer? Si oui, envisagez un traitement.
  • L'animal peut-il accéder aux aliments et à l'eau? Si oui, envisagez un traitement.
  • A-t-on administré des médicaments à l'animal? Si oui, vérifiez la période de retrait des médicaments.
  • La période de retrait des médicaments est-elle passée? Si oui, envisagez l'abattage.
  • Peut-on transporter l'animal sans qu'il ne souffre? Si oui, envisagez l'abattage. Vous aurez besoin du certificat d'un vétérinaire pour transporter l'animal.
  • L'animal présente-t-il des symptômes cliniques que vous ne reconnaissez pas ou que vous reconnaissez comme étant une maladie à déclaration obligatoire? Si oui, vous devez communiquer avec votre vétérinaire.

Méthodes d'euthanasie

L'euthanasie doit être effectuée d'une manière qui réduise au minimum la peur et l'anxiété chez l'animal. Selon les bonnes pratiques d'élevage, les producteurs ont la responsabilité éthique et morale d'assurer une mort respectueuse aux animaux dont ils ont le soin, sans leur causer de souffrances additionnelles.

Il y a trois méthodes principales appropriées d'euthanasie à la ferme : la surdose de barbiturique; l'étourdissement par un pistolet à cheville percutante, suivi d'une exsanguination, et l'abattage par balle. Chaque méthode a ses avantages et ses inconvénients. L'euthanasie par une surdose de barbiturique doit être effectuée par un vétérinaire. Les producteurs qui choisissent le pistolet à cheville percutante ou l'abattage par balle doivent prendre des précautions pour ne pas se blesser gravement, ni les autres personnes.

Pour choisir la méthode convenant le mieux à votre exploitation, tenez compte de la sécurité des personnes, du bien-être de l'animal, des compétences requises, des coûts et d'autres facteurs.

Il faut toujours confirmer le décès de l'animal, quelle que soit la méthode utilisée.

Tableau 1. Trois principales méthodes d'euthanasie à la ferme et facteurs à considérer

  Méthode Sécurité pour les humains Cote de bien-être de l'animal Compétences requises Coût Autre
Surdose de barbiturique Administration intraveineuse d'un barbiturique. Retenir l'animal Excellente. Technique d'injection intraveineuse. Frais de vétérinaire Peut seulement être administré par un vétérinaire autorisé / restrictions concernant l'élimination de la carcasse
Pistolet à cheville percutante Pénétration du crâne et du cerveau par cheville percutante, suivi d'une exsanguination par la section de toutes les principales artères et veines du cou. Retenir l'animal. On doit se méfier de l'animal qui peut tomber ou s'emballer. Bonne.Il est essentiel d'utiliser le bon calibre de cheville, de choisir correctement l'endroit et l'angle de pénétration sur l'animal. Utilisation sûre et correcte du pistolet à cheville percutante. Utilisation correcte et sûre d'un couteau bien aiguisé. Faible - après l'achat du pistolet à cheville percutante. Peut provoquer de brusques mouvements du corps. Peut produit des quantités importantes de sang qu'il faut éliminer correctement.
Abattage par balle Pénétration du crâne et du cerveau par un projectile. Retenir l'animal. On doit se méfier de l'animal qui peut tomber ou s'emballer. On doit se protéger contre les possibles ricochets de projectiles. Bon.Il est essentiel d'utiliser le bon calibre de cartouche, de choisir correctement l'endroit et l'angle de pénétration sur l'animal. Utilisation correcte et sûre d'une arme à feu. Faible - après l'achat de l'arme à feu. Peut provoquer des mouvements brusques du corps et des épanchements de sang.Requiert un certificat d'acquisition d'arme à feu. Les règlements locaux peuvent interdire l'utilisation des armes à feu.

Pistolet à cheville percutante et abattage par balle

Une personne expérimentée peut étourdir rapidement un animal en utilisant un pistolet à cheville percutante ou une arme à feu dont le projectile vise le bon endroit, avec le bon angle de pénétration, compte tenu de l'espèce de l'animal et de son âge. On utilise les mêmes cibles anatomiques et les mêmes angles de pénétration pour le pistolet à cheville percutante et pour une arme à feu (voir les figures 1 et 2).

Pistolet à cheville percutante

  • Assurez-vous que l'animal est bien retenu.
  • Utilisez une cartouche de force appropriée pour l'animal (consultez le manuel du fabricant).
  • Placez la pointe du pistolet à cheville percutante fermement contre la tête de l'animal, à l'endroit de pénétration, et tirez.
  • Prenez garde aux blessures que peuvent provoquer l'emballement des membres quand l'animal s'effondre.
  • Coupez les deux artères carotides et les veines jugulaires dans le cou à l'aide d'un couteau bien aiguisé, pour faire saigner l'animal après l'avoir étourdi. Ces artères et ces veines se trouvent de chaque côté de la gorge.

Arme à feu

  • Assurez-vous que l'animal est bien retenu.
  • Si possible, effectuez vos tirs à l'extérieur.
  • Placez un écran pare-balles (p. ex. un talus de terre, un tas de fumier, ou un objet qui arrêtera la balle si vous manquez l'animal ou si elle le traverse), derrière l'endroit que vous visez.
  • Utilisez une arme à feu et des munitions appropriées, compte tenu de la taille, de l'âge et du type de l'animal. Les munitions utilisées pour euthanasier l'animal doivent être suffisamment puissantes pour que l'animal devienne inconscient sur-le-champ et pour pénétrer suffisamment la tête pour détruire les parties du cerveau qui contrôlent la respiration et la circulation.
  • On peut utiliser une carabine de calibre .22, de type « long-rifle » avec munitions à bout creux, ou encore une arme de calibre .38 pour euthanasier correctement les moutons et les chèvres.
  • Tenez l'arme à feu de 5 à 25 cm (2 à 10 po) de l'endroit visé. Pour éviter de vous blesser, NE PLACEZ PAS la bouche de l'arme à feu contre le crâne de l'animal. Dirigez l'arme vers la colonne vertébrale de sorte que la balle entrera dans le tronc cérébral (le début de la colonne vertébrale), puis tirez.
  • Prenez garde aux blessures que peuvent provoquer l'emballement des membres quand l'animal s'effondre.

Endroit et angle de pénétration

L'endroit de pénétration pour euthanasier les moutons et chèvres sans cornes est le point situé sur le front, au milieu de celui-ci, juste au-dessus des yeux, comme l'illustre la figure 1. Le coup doit être dirigé avec un angle, vers la ligne de la colonne vertébrale et la masse du corps (ou vers l'endroit où le corps se trouverait si l'animal pouvait se tenir normalement).

Endroit et angle de pénétration pour les moutons et chèvres sans cornes

Figure 1. Endroit et angle de pénétration pour les moutons et chèvres sans cornes.

Dans le cas des moutons et chèvres avec des cornes épaisses, on devrait tirer derrière la nuque, diriger le tir vers le bas juste sous les yeux et vers le nez, comme l'illustre la figure 2.

Endroit et angle de pénétration pour les moutons et chèvres avec cornes épaisses

Figure 2. Endroit et angle de pénétration pour les moutons et chèvres avec cornes épaisses

Les graphiques sont tirés de Procedures for Humane Euthanasia, J. K. Shearer et P. Nicoleitti, 2002.

Confirmation du décès

Il est essentiel de confirmer le décès de l'animal juste après l'euthanasie. Si l'animal est debout, il devrait s'effondrer sur-le-champ. Ses muscles peuvent se contracter involontairement, mais habituellement pas plus de 20 secondes. Après quoi, il peut présenter des mouvements erratiques ou des mouvements de pédalage avant que les muscles ne se relaxent complètement.

Vérifiez la respiration de l'animal, son pouls et le clignotement de ses yeux (réflexe cornéen). Il ne devrait y en avoir aucun. Les yeux devraient être fixes et dilatés. Pour vérifier le réflexe de clignotement, touchez la surface de l'œil de l'animal (la cornée). Tout mouvement ou clignotement indique une activité soutenue du cerveau ou une reprise de celle-ci. S'il y a signe de respiration, de pouls ou de clignotement, répétez la procédure d'euthanasie ou utilisez une autre méthode.

Élimination des carcasses

L'élimination appropriée des carcasses de bétail est cruciale pour empêcher la contamination de l'environnement et la propagation des maladies. En Ontario, la Loi de 2002 sur la gestion des éléments nutritifs, Règl. de l'Ont. 106/09 - Élimination des cadavres d'animaux d'élevage, régit l'élimination des carcasses d'animaux de ferme, notamment le bétail, les porcs, les moutons, les chèvres et les chevaux, et toutes leurs parties, dont le sang.

En vertu du Règlement 106/09, les producteurs sont tenus d'éliminer les carcasses d'animaux de ferme d'une manière appropriée, sécuritaire et respectueuse de l'environnement, dans les 48 heures suivant le décès. Quand on euthanasie un animal, on devrait choisir un emplacement où l'on peut aisément accéder à la carcasse et l'éliminer.

Le Règlement 106/09 permet les méthodes d'élimination suivantes des carcasses :

  • en faisant appel aux services d'un ramasseur;
  • en les enfouissant sur la ferme;
  • en les incinérant sur la ferme;
  • en les compostant sur la ferme;
  • en les plaçant dans un conteneur d'élimination sur la ferme;
  • en les livrant à un digesteur anaérobie;
  • en les livrant à un lieu d'élimination des déchets autorisé;
  • en les livrant à une installation d'élimination pour laquelle un permis a été délivré au sens de la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments;
  • en les livrant à un titulaire de permis de vétérinaire aux fins d'une activité post mortem.

Conclusion

La sécurité des humains et le bien-être des animaux doivent avoir préséance sur tout facteur économique quand doit décider si oui ou non un animal sera éliminé, et comment, quand et où il sera détruit et ce, avec compassion.

L'euthanasie, une tâche évidemment désagréable, est une composante inévitable de l'élevage des animaux. La planification soignée et la formation permettent de réduire le stress de la personne qui doit exécuter cet acte nécessaire, et d'empêcher la souffrance inutile des animaux. Discutez avec votre vétérinaire des options en matière d'euthanasie pour votre exploitation agricole, puis élaborez un plan d'action et mettez-le à jour chaque année dans le cadre de votre programme de santé de votre troupeau.

Avis et déni de responsabilité

Le ministère de l'Agriculture et de l'Alimentation de l'Ontario ne privilégie aucune des méthodes décrites ci-dessus. Les producteurs doivent déterminer laquelle convient à leurs circonstances particulières. La possession et l'utilisation des armes à feu sont régies par les lois fédérales; les producteurs doivent s'assurer qu'ils respectent toutes les exigences juridiques, et ils doivent prendre les mesures appropriées de sécurité. Le ministère de l'Agriculture et de l'Alimentation de l'Ontario n'est aucunement responsable de blessures ou des dommages résultant de l'utilisation de l'une ou l'autre des méthodes ci-dessus.

Références

Humane Slaughter Association et Council of Justice to Animals. 2001. Captive Bolt Stunning of Livestock - Guidance Notes No. 2, 3e édition. Royaume-Uni.

Humane Slaughter Association et Council of Justice to Animals. 2001. Humane Killing of Livestock Using Firearms - Guidance Notes No. 3. Royaume-Uni.

Ontario Pork. On-Farm Euthanasia of Swine: Options for the Producer.

Shearer, J.K. et P. Nicoletti. 2002. Procedures for Humane Euthanasia. University of Florida, College of Veterinary Medicine.

Stull, C. et P. Hullinger. 1999. The Emergency Euthanasia of Sheep and Goats. California Department of Food and Agriculture, Animal Care Program.

Dairy Workgroup. 1998. "Section 7: Care and Handling of Animals Destined For Sale or Slaughter," Animal Care Series: Dairy Care Practices, 2e édition. University of California, Cooperative Extension.

Dairy Workgroup. 1998. "Section 8: Euthanasia of Animals on the Dairy," Animal Care Series: Dairy Care Practices, 2nd Edition. University of California, Cooperative Extension.

Liens connexes


Auteur : Gerrit Rietveld - spécialiste des soins animaux/MAAARO
Date de création : 30 octobre 2003
Dernière révision : 14 mai 2010

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca