Guidelines on Permitted Uses in Ontario's Prime Agricultural Areas

Ontario's prime agricultural areas are the province's most fertile areas where most of our crops are produced. Prime agricultural areas are the foundation of local food production, agri-food exports and the growing bio economy, and make a significant contribution to Ontario's jobs and economic prosperity. This land is finite and non-renewable - great care must be taken to make sure we have this resource for generations of farmers to come.

The Provincial Policy Statement, 2014 (PPS) protects prime agricultural areas for long-term agricultural use, and supports a thriving agricultural industry and rural economy by permitting a range of different uses on agricultural land.

We developed the document, "Guidelines on Permitted Uses in Ontario's Prime Agricultural Areas," to clearly outline the range of uses that are allowed in prime agricultural areas.

Summary of the Guidelines on Permitted Uses in Ontario's Prime Agricultural Areas

The PPS permits a range of uses in Ontario's prime agricultural areas: agricultural uses, agriculture-related uses and on-farm diversified uses. OMAFRA's Guidelines on Permitted Uses in Ontario's Prime Agricultural Areas are intended to help municipalities, decision-makers and farmers interpret PPS policies on permitted uses.

Image of Guidelines on Permitted Uses in Ontario's Prime Agricultural Areas

Prime agricultural areas are a finite resource. Ensuring many economic opportunities are available in our prime agricultural areas will help protect the resource while also strengthening the rural economy.

You can order a free copy of the Guidelines on Permitted Uses in Ontario's Prime Agricultural Areas, Publication 851, through ServiceOntario, or download the digital version.

ServiceOntario

Online: ontario.ca/publications
By phone:
Monday to Friday, 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM
416-326-5300
416-325-3408 (TTY)
1-800-668-9938 toll-free across Canada
1-800-268-7095 TTY toll-free across Ontario

For more information about PPS agricultural policies and the Guidelines on Permitted Uses in Ontario's Prime Agricultural Areas document, contact an OMAFRA rural planner in your area or the Agricultural Information Contact Centre at 1-811-424-1300 or ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 05 January 2015
Last Reviewed: 18 October 2016

Lignes directrices sur les utilisations permises dans les zones agricoles à fort rendement de l'Ontario

Les zones agricoles à fort rendement de l'Ontario sont les zones les plus fertiles de la province où nous produisons la plus grosse partie de nos cultures. C'est sur ces zones que reposent la production alimentaire locale, les exportations agroalimentaires et une bio économie en pleine croissance. Ces zones contribuent considérablement à la création d'emplois et à la prospérité économique de la province. Les zones agricoles à fort rendement de l'Ontario sont des ressources limitées et non renouvelables; nous devons en prendre soin pour préserver ces ressources pour les prochaines générations d'agriculteurs.

La Déclaration de principes provinciale de 2014 (DPP) protège les zones agricoles à fort rendement pour assurer leur utilisation agricole à long terme et soutient la prospérité de l'industrie agricole et de l'économie rurale en permettant une gamme d'utilisations différentes sur les terres agricoles.

Nous avons élaboré le document Lignes directrices sur les utilisations permises dans les zones agricoles à fort rendement de l'Ontario pour identifier clairement les types d'utilisations qui sont permises dans les zones agricoles à fort rendement.

Résumé des Lignes directrices sur les utilisations permises dans les zones agricoles à fort rendement de l'Ontario

La DPP permet une gamme d'utilisations dans les zones agricoles à fort rendement : les utilisations agricoles, les utilisations liées à l'agriculture et les utilisations diversifiées à la ferme. Les Lignes directrices sur les utilisations permises dans les zones agricoles à fort rendement de l'Ontario du MAAARO visent à aider les municipalités, les responsables de la prise de décisions et les agriculteurs à interpréter les politiques de la DPP sur les utilisations permises.

Lignes directrices sur les utilisations permises dans les zones agricoles à fort rendement de l'Ontario

Les zones agricoles à fort rendement sont des ressources limitées. En veillant à ce qu'un bon nombre de possibilités économiques soient disponibles dans ces zones, nous aiderons à protéger ces ressources tout en consolidant l'économie rurale.

Vous pouvez commander un exemplaire gratuit de la publication 851F intitulée Lignes directrices sur les utilisations permises dans les zones agricoles à fort rendement de l'Ontario auprès de ServiceOntario, ou télécharger la version numérique.

ServiceOntario

En ligne : ontario.ca/publications
Par téléphone :
Du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h 30 à 17 h
416 326-5300
416 325-3408 - ATS
1 800 668-9938 - Sans frais en Canada
1 800 268-7095 - ATS sans frais en Ontario

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les politiques agricoles de la DPP et sur le document Lignes directrices sur les utilisations permises dans les zones agricoles à fort rendement de l'Ontario, communiquez avec un des planificateurs de l'aménagement rural du MAAARO de votre région, ou avec le Centre d'information agricole au 1 811 424-1300 ou ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 05 janvier 2015
Dernière révision : 18octobre 2016