Tile Drainage Project

Table of Contents

  1. Background
  2. Objective
  3. Application
  4. Links

Background

Licensed agricultural tile drainage contractors create plans for numerous agricultural tile drainage systems and install thousands of feet of agricultural drainage tile each year. As a requirement of their license, each contractor must report to OMAFRA the location of the area that has been tiled. The information collected each year is submitted as a small hand sketch or digital file of the drained area (Figure 1). In cooperation with the Ministry of Natural Resources (MNR) and Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC), OMAFRA is compiling a high quality, detailed, geo-spatial tile drain database that consolidates existing tile drain information with Global Positioning System (GPS) collected data. Many drainage contractors are now using GPS to map tile drainage installations to a high level of accuracy and precision.

Tile Drainage Record.

Figure 1. Tile Drainage Record.

Objective

The objective of the Tile Drainage Project is to apply GPS and Geographic Information System (GIS) technology to support the standardized collection of drainage information from the drainage contractors. The tile drain data is incorporated into a current and spatially accurate digital database. The data is easily accessible in digital and paper formats (Figure 2 and 3).

Agricultural Field Tile Drainage Available in Digital GIS Data Format, Southern Ontario

Figure 2. Agricultural Field Tile Drainage Available in Digital GIS Data Format, Southern Ontario.

Text Equivalent

Agricultural Field Tile Drainage Available in Digital GIS Data Format, Northern Ontario

Figure 3. Agricultural Field Tile Drainage Available in Digital GIS Data Format, Northern Ontario.

Text Equivalent

Application

As OMAFRA enters contractor's records, they become immediately available to the public on the Rural Drainage Mapping website. Contractors are encouraged to use the website to create site-specific PDF maps that can be saved or printed. Contractors may then simply draw in the tiled area using the included air photo as reference (Figure 4). Good tile drainage information allows for more knowledgeable decision making. Improved decision making can increase agricultural profitability, assist in future drainage planning, and aid in the siting of agricultural facilities.

Digitally Created Tile Drainage Record.

Figure 4. Digitally Created Tile Drainage Record.

Links

Please visit the Land Information Ontario (LIO) website to download the Tile Drainage Area dataset.

For more information, see also the metadata details and the Warehouse Data Class Description Report in Standard NRVIS Interface Format (SNIF).

Also See


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 10 May 2010
Last Reviewed: 11 July 2011

Projet de drainage souterrain au moyen de tuyaux

Table de matières

  1. Généralités
  2. Objectif
  3. Application
  4. Liens

 Généralités

Chaque année, des entrepreneurs autorisés en drainage agricole souterrain dressent des plans et installent des milliers de pieds de tuyaux souterrains pour le drainage agricole. Conformément à son permis, chaque entrepreneur doit signaler au MAAARO l'emplacement du secteur où il a installé des tuyaux. Chaque année, l'information est ainsi recueillie sous forme de croquis des secteurs canalisés ou de fichiers numériques (Figure 1). En coopération avec le ministère des Richesses naturelles et Agroalimentaire Canada, le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario (MAAARO) constitue actuellement une base de données géospatiale détaillée de haute qualité qui regroupe des informations existantes sur les drains de tuyaux et des données recueillies à l'aide du système GPS. De nombreux entrepreneurs en systèmes de drainage par tuyaux se servent maintenant du GPS pour cartographier ces installations avec une très grande précision.

Fiche de drainage.

Figure 1. Fiche de drainage.

Objectif

L'objectif du Projet de drainage au moyen de tuyaux est d'exploiter la technologie du GPS et du Système d'information géographique (SIG) pour appuyer la collecte normalisée de l'information sur le drainage auprès des entrepreneurs. Ces données sont ajoutées à une base de données numérique à jour et d'une grande précision spatiale. Elles sont facilement accessibles en format numérique et sur papier (Figures 2 et 3).

Drainage agricole au moyen de tuyaux, données disponibles en format numérique SIG, Sud de l'Ontario.

Figure 2. Drainage agricole au moyen de tuyaux, données disponibles en format numérique SIG, Sud de l'Ontario.

Texte

Drainage agricole au moyen de tuyaux, données disponibles en format numérique SIG, Nord de l'Ontario.

Figure 3. Drainage agricole au moyen de tuyaux, données disponibles en format numérique SIG, Nord de l'Ontario.

Texte

Application

Dès que le MAAARO saisit les données fournies par un entrepreneur, elles deviennent immédiatement accessibles au public sur le site Web consacré au drainage en milieu rural. Les entrepreneurs sont invités à se servir de ce site pour créer des cartes PDF qui peuvent être enregistrées ou imprimées (Figure 4). Ils peuvent simplement dessiner la zone drainée en se servant de la photo aérienne incluse comme référence (Figure 4). De bonnes données sur les canalisations souterraines permettent de prendre des décisions plus éclairées; ce faisant elles permettent aussi d'accroître la rentabilité de l'activité agricole ainsi que de faciliter la planification future de systèmes de drainage ainsi que le choix de l'emplacement des installations agricoles.

Fichier généré numériquement, drainage par tuyaux.

Figure 4. Fichier généré numériquement, drainage par tuyaux.

Liens

Pour télécharger l'ensemble de données sur le drainage par tuyaux, voir le site Web d'Information sur les terres de l'Ontario (ITO).

Pour plus d'information, voir la page de détail des métadonnées et le rapport Warehouse Data Class Drescription Report en Standard NRVIS Interface Format (SNIF).

Voir également


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 17 mai 2010
Dernière révision : 11 juillet 2011