Soils Ontario

Table of Contents

  1. Background
  2. Objective
  3. Application
  4. Canada Land Inventory
  5. Links

Background

The Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs is recognized Provincially as the data custodian for soil information. The custody of the digital soils layer is shared with Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC) through a Memorandum of Understanding. OMAFRA, and Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, in cooperation with the Ministry of Natural Resources, are compiling a high quality, detailed, geospatial soils database for Ontario.

The digital soils data was automated from soil survey reports and maps that were produced over the past few decades. The current soil database of Ontario is based upon a set of 44 soil reports, and their accompanying maps for Southern Ontario, and a further 12 areas of soil mapping for Northern Ontario. All of these soil maps, and their classifications of soil and land attributes, have been digitized and electronically "stitched" together to produce a single digital coverage. This is available from Land Information Ontario under the name Soil Survey Complex.

Objective

The soils data will evolve into a digital database that is spatially accurate throughout Ontario, consistent, and easily accessible in digital and paper format. Using GIS and NRVIS (Natural Resource Values Information System), staff are updating soil attribute information and correlating soil polygons that cross administrative boundaries.

Scientists from OMAFRA and AAFC are developing automated processes for resolving correlation issues across these administrative boundaries. Efforts are made to take advantage of recent developments in geographic information science, artificial intelligence, and the availability of high resolution data layers. These developments have given rise to new approaches and methods to mapping soils.

The coverage of digital and paper soil maps is visible in Figure 1.

Digital soil coverage and ongoing projects

Figure 1. Digital soil coverage and ongoing projects.

Text Equivalent

Application

The provincial soil database is primarily used for land use planning and to support programs of extension and environmental protection. As such, the soil database supports the agricultural land protection provisos of the Provincial Policy Statement. The database contains descriptive attribute information including slope classes, Canada Land Inventory (CLI) rankings, stoniness, drainage class, and texture for all soil components. This information, as part of the Soils Ontario project, can be applied to many applications, with the following to list a few:

  • Source Water Protection
  • Land Use Planning
  • Nutrient Management
  • Soil Erosion Modelling
  • Specialty Crop Mapping
  • Non-Agricultural Source Material
  • Feed-In Tariff Program of the Ontario Power Generation

Canada Land Inventory

The CLI indicates the capability of the land to sustain agriculture. There are seven classes used to rate agricultural land capability. Class 1 lands have the highest capability and Class 7 lands have the lowest capability to support agricultural land use activities. Organic soil is labelled separately and is not classified with a CLI rating. Subclasses are used to identify specific limiting factors for each class.

The Canada Land Inventory Maps have been digitally compiled for Southern Ontario and parts of Northern Ontario. Updates are being made to the remaining areas of Northern Ontario from hard copy maps. These are now available as either paper or digital copies of a map or the digital data (shapefiles). Digital information is currently available at no charge.

For areas where editing and compilation have not been done in Northern Ontario, continue to use the original Canada Land Inventory - Agricultural Capability Rating Maps.

Use the NTS index to download or view the most current Canada Land Inventory pdfs.

Links

Please visit the Land Information Ontario (LIO) website to download the Soil Survey Complex dataset.

For more information, see also the metadata details and the Warehouse Data Class Description Report in Standard NRVIS Interface Format (SNIF).

Also See

For information on the status of this project and map currency, please call the OMAFRA Geomatics Unit. Visit the Geomatic Service Centre Staff for contact information or email omafra.gis@ontario.ca.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 10 May 2010
Last Reviewed: 20 November 2012

Sols Ontario

Table de matières

  1. Généralités
  2. Objectif
  3. Application
  4. Inventaire des terres du Canada (ITC)
  5. Liens

Généralités

Le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario (MAAARO), est reconnu dans la province comme étant le dépositaire de l'information sur les sols. Il partage la responsabilité des couches de données numériques sur les sols avec Agroalimentaire Canada (AAC) en vertu d'un protocole d'entente. Le MAAARO et AAC, en coopération avec le ministère des Richesses naturelles, constituent actuellement une base de données géospatiale détaillée et de haute qualité des sols de l'Ontario.

Les données numériques sur les sols proviennent d'études et de cartes pédologiques qui ont été produites depuis quelques décennies. La base de données actuelle des sols de l'Ontario se fonde sur un ensemble de 44 études et cartes connexes pour le Sud de la province, et la cartographie des sols de 12 autres zones pour le Nord. Toutes ces cartes ainsi que les classifications des sols et les caractéristiques des terres qui y figurent ont été numérisées et « assemblées » informatiquement en une couverture numérique unique. On peut les trouver dans Information sur les terres de l'Ontario sous le nom de Soil Survey Complex.

Objectif

Les données sur les sols seront intégrées en une base de données numériques d'une grande précision spatiale pour tout l'Ontario, uniforme et facilement accessible sous format numérique et sur papier. À partir du Système d'information géographique et du Système de données intégrées sur la nature et la géographie de l'Ontario (NRVIS), le personnel met à jour les renseignements sur les sols et établit les corrélations entre les polygones qui chevauchent les limites administratives.

Les scientifiques du MAAARO et d'AAC travaillent à la création d'outils automatisés de résolution des problèmes de corrélation de part et d'autre de ces limites administratives. Ils s'efforcent de mettre à profit les derniers développements dans les domaines de la science de l'information géographique et de l'intelligence artificielle, et d'exploiter les couches de données à haute résolution. Ces avancées ont donné lieu à de nouvelles approches et méthodes de cartographie des sols.

La Figure 1 montre la couverture des cartes numériques et sur papier.

Couverture numérique des sols et projets en cours.

Figure 1. Couverture numérique des sols et projets en cours.

Texte

Application

La base de données provinciale sur les sols sert principalement à des fins d'aménagement du territoire et de soutien aux programmes de communication de l'information et de protection de l'environnement. À ce titre, elle va dans le sens des dispositions sur la protection des terres agricoles qui figurent dans l'énoncé de politique provincial. La base de données contient des renseignements descriptifs, notamment les classes de pente, le classement de l'Inventaire des terres du Canada, la pierrosité, la classe de drainage, la texture et toutes les composantes de sol. Ces renseignements, dans le cadre du projet Sols Ontario, pourront trouver des applications dans les domaines suivants :

  • protection des sources d'eau;
  • planification de l'utilisation des terres;
  • gestion des éléments nutritifs;
  • modélisation de l'érosion du sol;
  • cartographie des cultures spéciales;
  • matières de source non agricole;
  • Programme de tarifs de rachat garantis d'Ontario Power Generation.

Inventaire des terres du Canada (ITC)

L'ITC indique les possibilités d'utilisation des terres pour l'agriculture. Les terres y sont regroupées en sept classes, la classe 1 correspondant au potentiel le plus élevé et la classe 7 au plus faible. Les sols organiques sont caractérisés séparément et n'entrent pas dans le système de cotes de l'ITC. Des sous-classes définissent des facteurs de limitation précis à l'intérieur de chaque classe.

La compilation numérique des cartes de l'ITC a été effectuée pour le Sud de l'Ontario et une partie du Nord. On procède actuellement à la mise à jour des régions restantes du Nord de la province à partir de cartes sur papier. Ces mises à jour sont maintenant offertes sous forme de cartes imprimées ou numériques, ou de données numériques (fichiers de formes). Les documents numériques sont offerts gratuitement.

Pour les régions du Nord de l'Ontario où la révision et la compilation n'ont pas encore été effectuées, continuer d'utiliser les cartes originales de l'ITC indiquant le potentiel agricole.

Pour télécharger ou consulter les documents PDF les plus récents de l'ITC, servez-vous du Système national de référence cartographique.

Liens

Pour télécharger l'ensemble de données du Soil Survey Complex, voir le site d'Information sur les terres de l'Ontario (ITO).

Pour plus d'information, voir aussi la page de détail des métadonnées et le rapport Warehouse Data Class Drescription Report en Standard NRVIS Interface Format (SNIF).

Voir également

Pour tout renseignement sur l'état du projet et sur la date des cartes, appeler l'Unité de géomatique du MAAARO. Pour obtenir les coordonnées, s'adresser au Centre des services de géomatique ou envoyer un courriel à omafra.gis@ontario.ca.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 17 mai 2010
Dernière révision : 20 novembre 2012