Guidelines for Detailed Soil Surveys for Agricultural Land Use Planning

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Components of the Detailed Soil Survey
  3. References
  4. Qualifications

Introduction

More detailed, property specific soil surveys are sometimes needed when a land use change (e.g., an official plan amendment) is being sought that would permanently remove the land from agriculture. The Planning Act establishes that decision makers such as municipalities and the Ontario Municipal Board must have regard for the Provincial Policy Statement of 1997. This statement provides direction on the protection of prime agricultural areas, and establishes criteria to be considered when prime agricultural lands are to be designated for non-agricultural land uses.

The following guidelines provide direction for land resource consultants and their clients undertaking detailed soil surveys for the assessment of agricultural crop capabilities and suitabilities. For these guidelines a "detailed" soil survey is one compiled at a working map scale of 1:10,000 or greater. These guidelines, or terms of reference, are a set of basic requirements to ensure that planners, landowners and consultants have the necessary detailed agricultural land resource information presented and reported in a standard form in order to make planning decisions or to advocate for changes to planning decisions.

The need for detailed soil information for some local decisions often arises from concerns with

  1. the accuracy of the published soil information mapping, classification, and agricultural interpretations.
  2. situations where the published information is too general for decisions about a specific area.

"Published soil information" refers to the county and municipal soil reports and maps, and also the Agricultural Capability maps. These map and report documents are all available from OMAFRA.

Soil Survey Components

  1. The soil survey should be done according to generally accepted soil survey procedures and be based on an adequate density and distribution of soil profile and landscape inspections. A general guideline is one ground inspection per two square centimetres on the final map (Soil Mapping System for Canada, Agriculture Canada, 1981). At a scale of 1:10,000 this is one inspection per two hectares. Inspection locations and data should be included with the soil map and report.
    The "Field Manual for Describing Soils in Ontario" (Ontario Centre for Soil Resource Evaluation, 1993) provides guidelines for classifying soils and the landscapes in which they occur.
  2. Soils of the subject area should be correlated with the soils classified in the published soil survey map and report for that county or municipality.
  3. Agricultural capability for common field crops (corn, soybeans, small grains, forages) should be interpreted using the document "Classifying Prime and Marginal Agricultural Soils and Landscapes: Guidelines for the Application of the Canada Land Inventory in Ontario". As explained in this document, land and soils which are classified as "prime agricultural land" (CLI classes 1 to 3) have necessary capital improvements in place or it is physically feasible for the landowner/manager/farmer to make the necessary improvements. If it is not feasible to make improvements that would enable mechanized row cropping, then the land may be considered as less than "prime" (CLI class 4 or 5). The question of "feasibility" often arises about land with wetness limitations for which more drainage improvement is required for productivity to be optimized. Each case must be considered individually. The Agricultural Drainage System Mapping (OMAF) for the subject area is a necessary reference to help argue and answer the question of drainage improvement feasibility.
  4. If the subject area lies within or adjacent to a larger area of specialty crop production, then its soil suitability for specialty crops needs to be evaluated. (Provincial Policy Statement, 1996). "Specialty crops" refer to fruit, vegetable and other crops grown commercially in Ontario and which cannot be grouped with the general "common field crop" types listed above. A definition of "Specialty crop land" is given in the Provincial Policy Statement. The following publications and guidelines are useful for evaluating land and soil quality for specialty crops:
    1. More recent soil survey reports (Brant, Elgin, Haldimand-Norfolk, Middlesex, and Niagara) include ratings of soil suitability for some specialty crops. The ratings published in these reports may also guide the interpretation of reasonably correlated soils in adjacent counties whose soil reports contain no such specialty crop interpretations.
    2. The publication "A Compilation of Soil, Water and Climatic Requirements for Selected Horticultural Crops in Southern Ontario" (Ontario Institute of Pedology Publication, 1989) outlines general landscape and moisture needs for more than 40 different tree fruit, small fruit and vegetable crops. It comprises many of the soil principles used to arrive at the soil suitability ratings given in soil survey publications cited in (a).
    3. Irrigation and/or artificial drainage are often necessary, depending on the site and crop. Climatic regime needs consideration. The longer the frost free period and the greater the heat units available, the greater the range and productivity of crops land tends to support.
    4. In general, soils which are interpreted to be "prime" (Class 1-3) for the common field crop types of corn, soybeans, small grains and forages will have viable suitability for a range of specialty crops. This is most true of sandy and loamy soils. Clayey soils are suitable for a lesser range of specialty crops but may still be well suited for some crops.

References

Provincial Policy Statement, 1997.

The Canadian System of Soil Classification; Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, 1998

Field Manual for Describing Soils in Ontario; Ontario Centre for Soil Resource Evaluation, 1993.

Classifying Prime and Marginal Agricultural Soils and Landscapes: Guidelines for Application of the Canada Land Inventory in Ontario; Ontario Ministry of Agriculture and Food, 2004

A Soil Mapping System for Canada: Revised; Agriculture Canada, 1981

Agricultural Drainage Systems Mapping, OMAFRA, 1983

A Compilation of Soil, Water and Climatic Requirements for Selected Horticultural Crops in Southern Ontario, Ontario Institute of Pedology, 1993

Qualifications

In order to ensure that all of the components for the detailed soil survey are completed properly, an experienced pedologist should be retained for any survey work.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Eric Wilson - Land Resources Specialist/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 31 May 2004
Last Reviewed: 11 July 2012

Lignes directrices relatives aux levés pédologiques détaillés destinés à l'aménagement du territoire agricole

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Éléments des levés pédologiques
  3. Documents de référence
  4. Compétences
  5. Liens connexes

Introduction

Il peut arriver que des levés pédologiques détaillés soient exigés relativement à un bien-fonds en particulier, à l'occasion d'une demande de changement de l'utilisation des sols (p. ex. lors d'une modification du plan officiel) qui aurait pour effet de retirer à jamais à un bien-fonds sa vocation agricole. La Loi sur l'aménagement du territoire (Ontario) dispose que les décideurs, comme les municipalités et la Commission des affaires municipales de l'Ontario, doivent tenir compte de la Déclaration de principes provinciale de 1997. Cette déclaration de principes fournit une orientation quant à la protection des zones agricoles à fort rendement et établit les critères à considérer avant que de telles zones agricoles ne soient désignées à des utilisations autres qu'agricoles.

Les lignes directrices qui suivent ont pour but de guider les consultants en ressources en terres et leurs clients lorsqu'ils entreprennent d'effectuer des levés pédologiques détaillés pour voir si une terre se prête à la culture et en évaluer, le cas échéant, le potentiel cultural. Aux fins des présentes lignes directrices, un levé pédologique " détaillé " s'entend d'un levé effectué selon une échelle cartographique de 1:10 000 ou plus. Ces lignes directrices sont un cadre de référence qui précise une série d'exigences de base dans le but de garantir que les planificateurs de l'utilisation du sol, les propriétaires fonciers et les consultants disposent de l'information détaillée sur les ressources en terres agricoles dont ils ont besoin pour prendre des décisions d'aménagement du territoire ou justifier des modifications aux décisions d'aménagement, et que ces données soient présentées et produites de manière uniforme.

Souvent, le besoin d'information détaillée se fait sentir au moment où une décision doit être prise localement, lorsque :

  1. l'on doute de la fiabilité des données publiées sur les sols (cartes pédologiques, classification des sols et interprétations agricoles) ou
  2. les données publiées sur les sols ne sont pas suffisamment précises pour les décisions à prendre concernant une zone en particulier.

« Données publiées sur les sols » s'entend des cartes et des rapports pédologiques d'un comté ou d'une municipalité, ainsi que des cartes sur le potentiel cultural. On peut se procurer ces cartes et rapports auprès du MAAARO.

Éléments des levés pédologiques

  1. Le levé pédologique doit être réalisé conformément aux méthodes de prospection pédologique généralement acceptées et doit reposer sur une densité et une distribution convenables du profil pédologique et sur des inspections suffisantes du paysage. En règle générale, il est de mise de faire une bonne inspection par 2 cm2 de surface sur la carte finale (Système de cartographie des sols pour le Canada, Agriculture Canada, 1981). Si l'échelle est de 1:10 000, cela revient à faire une inspection tous les deux hectares. Le lieu et les données d'inspection doivent figurer sur le rapport d'étude de sols et sur la carte des sols.
    Le « Field Manual for Describing Soils in Ontario » (Ontario Centre for Soil Resource Evaluation, 1993) fournit des lignes directrices relativement au classement des sols et au classement des paysages où on les trouve.
  2. Une corrélation doit être établie entre les sols de la zone à l'étude et le classement des sols dans la carte des sols et le rapport pédologique publiés pour ce comté ou cette municipalité.
  3. Le potentiel cultural pour les grandes cultures courantes (maïs, soya, céréales à paille, cultures fourragères) doit être interprété à l'aide du document « Classification des sols et des paysages agricoles de premier choix et marginaux : Lignes directrices pour l'application à l'Ontario de l'Inventaire des terres du Canada ». Comme ce document l'explique, dans le cas des terres et des sols qui sont classés comme étant des « ressources foncières agricoles de premier choix » (c.-à-d. des terres agricoles à fort rendement ou des terres de classes 1, 2 et 3 selon l'Inventaire des terres du Canada), les améliorations nécessaires ont déjà été apportées ou sont réalisables par le propriétaire foncier, l'exploitant ou l'agriculteur. Si les améliorations qui sont nécessaires pour permettre la récolte mécanisée ne sont pas réalisables, la terre n'est pas considérée comme une terre agricole à fort rendement; elle fera partie des classes 4 ou 5 selon l'Inventaire des terres du Canada. La question du « caractère réalisable » des améliorations à apporter surgit souvent quand il est question de sols dont les aptitudes sont limitées par un excès d'eau et qui, pour être plus productifs, nécessiteraient des travaux de drainage. Chaque cas doit être évalué individuellement. Le document « Agricultural Drainage System Mapping » (MAAARO) est un document de référence nécessaire pour déterminer et justifier si les travaux de drainage sont réalisables ou non dans la zone à l'étude.
  4. Si la zone à l'étude se situe à l'intérieur d'une zone plus vaste de cultures spéciales ou qu'elle y est adjacente, il faut en évaluer le potentiel cultural pour des cultures spéciales. (Déclaration de principes provinciale, 1996). « Cultures spéciales » s'entend des cultures de fruits et de légumes et d'autres cultures commerciales pratiquées en Ontario qui ne font pas partie des « grandes cultures courantes » énumérées plus haut. On trouve une définition de « zone de cultures spéciales » dans la Déclaration de principes provinciale. Voici des publications et des lignes directrices utiles pour déterminer si des terres ou des qualités de sol se prêtent à des cultures spéciales:
    1. Les études de sol récentes (Brant, Elgin, Haldimand-Norfolk, Middlesex et Niagara) comprennent des évaluations du potentiel cultural pour certaines cultures spéciales. Les cotes publiées dans ces rapports peuvent aussi guider l'interprétation faite pour des sols qu'il est raisonnable de mettre en corrélation avec ceux de comtés adjacents et pour lesquels les études de sol ne renferment aucune interprétation visant des cultures spéciales.
    2. La publication « A Compilation of Soil, Water and Climatic Requirements for Selected Horticultural Crops in Southern Ontario » (Ontario Institute of Pedology [devenu Ontario Centre for Soil Resource Evaluation], 1989) décrit les exigences générales liées aux besoins en eau et à l'emplacement de plus de 40 espèces différentes d'arbres fruitiers, de petits fruits et de légumes. Cette publication utilise bon nombre des mêmes principes que ceux qui sont utilisés pour arriver aux cotes de potentiel cultural fournies dans les études de sol mentionnées en (a).
    3. L'Irrigation et/ou le drainage artificiel sont souvent nécessaires, selon l'emplacement et la culture. Le régime climatique doit être pris en compte. Plus la période sans gel est longue et plus le nombre d'unités thermiques est grand, plus large devrait être la fourchette des cultures praticables et plus grand devrait être le rendement de ces cultures.
    4. En général, les sols qui sont considérés comme étant à fort rendement (classes 1 à 3) pour la production des grandes cultures courantes que sont le maïs, le soya, les céréales à paille et les cultures fourragères se prêtent aussi à une gamme de cultures spéciales, et cela, d'autant plus si les sols sont sableux ou loameux. Les sols argileux se prêtent à un moins large éventail de cultures spéciales, mais peuvent quand même se prêter à certaines d'entre elles.

Documents de référence

Déclaration de principes provinciale, 1997. Pour ce qui touche à l'agriculture.

Le système canadien de classification des sols. Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, 1998

Field Manual for Describing Soils in Ontario. Ontario Centre for Soil Resource Evaluation, 1993

Classification des sols et des paysages agricoles de premier choix et marginaux : Lignes directrices pour l'application à l'Ontario de l'Inventaire des terres du Canada. Ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario, 2004

Système de cartographie des sols pour le Canada (révisé). Agriculture Canada, 1981

Agricultural Drainage Systems Mapping, MAAARO, 1983

A Compilation of Soil, Water and Climatic Requirements for Selected Horticultural Crops in Southern Ontario, Ontario Institute of Pedology [devenu Ontario Centre for Soil Resource Evaluation], 1993

Compétences

Afin de garantir que le levé pédologique renferme tous les éléments d'un levé pédologique détaillé, tout travail de prospection pédologique devrait être confié à un pédologue d'expérience.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca