Drainage Conflict - Natural Watercourses

When responding to issues involving a natural watercourse, the courts often take the position that "water flows naturally and should be permitted thus to flow". If you own land on one or both sides of a natural watercourse, you are considered to be a riparian landowner. A non-riparian land owner does not have land abutting a natural watercourse. The following questions are addressed in this section:

What is a natural watercourse?

A natural watercourse is a natural channel where water flows between banks that are more or less defined. The flow of water does not need to be constant, but the channel must be a permanent landmark. The watercourse may also, at some point, spread over a level area without defined banks, before flowing again as a defined channel.

A natural watercourse

How do I know whether the area on my land would be considered a natural watercourse?

Only a judge can conclusively determine whether, under the law, a specific flow of water is a natural watercourse or not. Many people have opinions, and here are some guides or suggestions for evaluating the watercourse on your land:

  1. The channel must be a permanent, natural feature on the land. A man-made ditch is not a natural watercourse. The courts may or may not consider a natural watercourse that has been modified in the past to still be considered a natural watercourse;
  2. Water flows through a channel that has a bed and banks. If the water spreads out from the banks at some point, it must eventually flow back into a defined channel with banks and a bed;
  3. The water flow in a natural watercourse does not have to be continuous, but must be significant. If water only flows after a heavy rain, it may not be a natural watercourse even if it has defined banks.

What are the rights and responsibilities of a riparian landowner?

The following is a general summary of the rights and responsibilities of riparian landowners.

The law concerning riparian rights and responsibilities is complex, and cannot be easily summarized. Please consult your lawyer where these rights and responsibilities affect your property or a neighbouring property.

Right of drainage

Riparian landowners have the right to drain their land into the natural watercourse, even if it causes damage to downstream property owners. Non-riparian property owners do not have the right to drain into natural watercourses, and the connecting non-riparian landowner could be liable for damages if downstream damages result.

Right to use water for domestic purposes

Riparian landowners have the right to use the water in a natural watercourse for domestic purposes, provided they only use a reasonable amount. They must not take all the water in the watercourse, depriving downstream riparian property owners of their right to use the water for their purposes. The Permit to Take Water process under the Ontario Water Resources Act may override this common law principle.

Can't interfere with the channel to the detriment of others

Riparian landowners can modify the channel of a natural watercourse provided it doesn't interfere with the general principle that "water flows naturally and should be permitted thus to flow". Any interference with this principle may be grounds for a lawsuit. However, there may also be legislation that regulates work in the channel of a natural watercourse. The local conservation authority and the Ministry of Natural Resources' offices are good starting places to find out what laws may apply.

Can't dam a natural watercourse

Blocking a natural watercourse is in direct conflict with the general principle for natural watercourses that "water flows naturally and should be permitted thus to flow".

Must accept the water

If water overflows a natural watercourse and floods your property, you must accept the results. If damage is caused by the actions of upstream non-riparian landowners, you don't have to accept the water and may have grounds for legal action. Rejecting water could involve an impervious wall, berm or dyke along the boundary of your land, and effectively dam the water back on the higher lands of the non-riparian owner.

What are some common problems or disputes involving natural watercourses?

  1. Natural blockage
  2. Artificial blockage
  3. Increased flow

Natural Blockage

Naturally-occurring blockages in natural watercourses occur for a variety of reasons, including beaver dams, fallen timber, debris or sediment buildup. These blockages hold back water, flooding the adjoining land and even upstream land.

My land is being flooded because of a natural blockage on my property. What am I allowed to do?

You may be able to remove the blockage yourself, but consider the following cautions.

  • Check the environmental regulations that may apply – permits or authorizations may be required.
  • If the blockage has been there for some time, your riparian neighbours may have come to rely on that blockage in the watercourse. If removing the blockage changes the amount or speed of water in the watercourse – and that causes damage to another riparian owner's property – that owner could take legal action against you for the property damage. Make certain these neighbours are consulted and involved in the process.

You have the right to petition your municipality to legally change the watercourse into a municipal drain.

  • The Drainage Act process must be followed and the municipality has to comply with environmental regulations – changing a natural watercourse to a municipal drain may take some time.
  • Once the natural watercourse becomes a municipal drain, the Drainage Act governs the management of the watercourse. The municipality has the responsibility to keep the drain maintained and free from blockages.

There is a natural blockage along my edge of the watercourse that I want to remove. What can I do?

There are a few options open to you.

  • Remove the blockage yourself. Contact the Ministry of Natural Resources first to obtain proper permits for removing the obstruction from a watercourse. There may be a fee for these permits.
  • Get the municipality to turn the watercourse into a municipal drain by petitioning under Section 4 of the Drainage Act. Once the watercourse is a municipal drain, the municipality has the duty to keep it clear from obstructions.

My land is being flooded because of a beaver dam or other natural blockage on my neighbour's property. Isn't it the municipality's job to remove it? What about the conservation authority or the Ministry of Natural Resources?

If the watercourse was a municipal drain, your municipality has the authority and responsibility to maintain the drain. But municipalities have no authority to remove blockages from a natural watercourse.

The conservation authority or Ministry of Natural Resources also has no authority to go onto private land to remove naturally-occurring blockages.

My upstream neighbor has advised me that there is flooding on their land because of blockages on the natural watercourse located on my land. They want to do some work on the natural watercourse. I am afraid that the extra water will hurt my land. Do I have to let them do the work?

If this is a natural blockage on a natural watercourse, you do not have to give your neighbour permission to perform the work. Talk to your neighbour to negotiate a solution. They may need to contact the Ministry of Natural Resources to find out whether a permit is necessary to remove the artificial blockage.

Please remember, if your neighbour is frustrated that they cannot resolve their flooding problem, they have the right to petition the municipality for a municipal drain.

What options are available to me?

If the blockage occurs on your neighbour's property, talk to them about getting permission to remove the blockage. Remember your neighbour does not necessarily have a responsibility to remove the blockage on your behalf. If your neighbour grants permission, you have to comply with all environmental regulations.

If negotiation fails, you have the right to petition your municipality under the Drainage Act to turn the watercourse into a municipal drain. The Drainage Act process must be followed and the municipality has to comply with environmental regulations. Changing a natural watercourse to a municipal drain may take some time.


Artificial blockage

A variety of actions could be considered an artificial blockage or dam on a natural watercourse, including small dams, undersized culverts or fences that run through a natural watercourse and collect branches and other debris which hold back water.

My land is being flooded by an artificial blockage on a natural watercourse on my neighbour's property. What can I do?

Talk to your neighbour to negotiate a solution. Your neighbour may need to contact the Ministry of Natural Resources to determine if a permit is necessary to remove the artificial blockage.

Contact the Ministry of Natural Resources to see if your neighbour has built the artificial blockage in compliance with environmental regulations.

  • As a riparian neighbour, you should have been consulted during your neighbour's process of obtaining a permit. If you were not consulted before they built the artificial blockage, your neighbour may not have gone through the proper legal channels;
  • If your neighbour did not obtain the proper permits, the Ministry of Natural Resources may be able to enforce environmental regulations to resolve your problem;

Consult your lawyer and see what legal options are available to you. This may include initiating a legal action.

Petition your municipality to turn the watercourse into a municipal drain under the Drainage Act.

  • If a blockage causes drainage problems, you can petition your local municipality to turn the watercourse into a drain, as set out by Section 4 of the Drainage Act;
  • If the municipality determines a municipal drain is required, they have the right and duty to keep the drain maintained and free from blockages;
  • The project has to comply with environmental regulations, and may take some time to reach completion.

I want to build a dam on a natural watercourse on my property. What do I have to do?

You may not alter a watercourse by building an artificial blockage. If you do, any affected owner along the watercourse can sue you for damages, or ask a judge for an injunction to force you to remove the dam.

Building a dam on a natural watercourse can interfere with the riparian rights of property owners both upstream and downstream.

I am being deprived of water because of upstream blockage. What can I do?

If the blockage is artificial, and the neighbour who built it refuses to remove it, you can apply to the courts for damages or an injunction. An injunction forces the person responsible for the blockage to remove it.

Contact the Ministry of Natural Resources for assistance. If a person wants to build a blockage in a watercourse, they must get Ministry of National Resources' permits. During the permitting process, before your neighbour built the blockage, you and other landowners should have been consulted. If you were not, your neighbour may not have obtained proper permits.


Increased flow

My upstream neighbour removed a beaver dam and now my field is being flooded. What can I do?

A person removing a beaver dam must comply with environmental regulations. Check with environmental agencies to see if this approval was received.

Consult your lawyer to see what legal options are available to you. This may include initiating a legal action.

The flow of the creek going through my property has increased due to land use change (e.g. new subdivision or quarry operation) in the upper part of the watershed and now my land floods. What do I do?

Petition your municipality to turn the watercourse into a municipal drain under the Drainage Act. The project will have to comply with environmental regulations.

Only riparian landowners have the right to drain into a natural watercourse. You could initiate legal action if your flooding is caused by non-riparian lands draining into the natural watercourse.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 28 April 2011
Last Reviewed: 28 April 2011

Conflit portant sur une question de drainage - Cours d'eau naturels

Lorsqu'ils doivent rendre une décision concernant un cours d'eau naturel, les tribunaux se fondent souvent sur le principe que « l'eau s'écoule naturellement et ne doit pas être entravée dans sa course ». Si vous êtes propriétaire d'un terrain situé d'un côté ou des deux côtés d'un cours d'eau naturel, vous êtes un propriétaire riverain. Le propriétaire non riverain ne possède pas de terres contiguës à un cours d'eau naturel. Dans la présente section, vous trouverez les réponses aux questions suivantes :

Qu'est‑ce qu'un cours d'eau naturel?

Un cours d'eau naturel est un chenal naturel où l'eau s'écoule entre des berges plus ou moins définies. Le débit de l'eau ne doit pas nécessairement être constant, mais doit atteindre un chenal bien défini et à caractère permanent. Un cours d'eau naturel peut, à un certain point, s'étendre sur une surface plane et s'écouler sur une certaine distance sans berges définies, avant de reprendre son cours et constituer de nouveau un chenal défini.

Cours d’eau naturel

Comment puis-je savoir si une section de mes terres est considérée comme un cours d'eau naturel?

Seul un juge peut établir hors de tout doute que, en vertu de la loi, un cours d'eau donné est naturel ou non. Les opinions divergent à ce sujet, et voici quelques suggestions ou directives pour vous aider à définir le cours d'eau sur votre propriété :

  1. Le chenal doit être une caractéristique naturelle et permanente de votre terrain. Un fossé artificiel n'est pas un cours d'eau naturel. Les tribunaux peuvent établir ou non qu'un cours d'eau naturel qui a été modifié par le passé est toujours considéré comme un cours d'eau naturel;
  2. L'eau s'écoule le long d'un chenal constitué d'un lit et de berges. Si l'eau s'étend, à un certain point, en dehors des berges, elle doit éventuellement reprendre son cours dans un chenal défini constitué d'un lit et de berges;
  3. Il n'est pas essentiel que le débit d'eau soit continu, mais il doit être important. Si l'eau s'écoule uniquement après de fortes pluies, il ne s'agit peut‑être pas d'un cours d'eau naturel, même s'il y a des berges définies.

Quels sont les droits et les responsabilités d'un propriétaire riverain?

Voici un sommaire des droits et responsabilités des propriétaires riverains.

La législation concernant les droits et responsabilités des riverains est complexe et ne peut être résumée facilement. Veuillez consulter un avocat pour connaître les droits et responsabilités qui touchent votre propriété en tant que propriété contiguë.

Droit de drainage

Les propriétaires riverains ont le droit de drainer leurs terres dans le cours d'eau naturel, même si cela cause des dommages aux propriétaires fonciers en aval. Les propriétaires fonciers non riverains n'ont pas le droit de drainer l'eau de leurs terres dans les cours d'eau naturels; auquel cas, le propriétaire non riverain pourrait être tenu responsable des dommages causés en aval.

Droit d'utiliser l'eau à des fins domestiques

Les propriétaires riverains ont le droit d'utiliser l'eau d'un cours d'eau naturel à des fins domestiques, pourvu qu'ils en utilisent seulement une quantité raisonnable. Ils ne doivent pas prendre toute l'eau du cours d'eau, privant ainsi les propriétaires riverains en aval de leur droit d'utiliser l'eau à leurs fins personnelles. L'obtention d'un permis de prélèvement d'eau en vertu de la Loi sur les ressources en eau de l'Ontario peut prévaloir contre ce principe de common law.

Interdiction de perturber le chenal au détriment des autres

Les propriétaires riverains peuvent modifier le chenal d'un cours d'eau naturel pourvu que cela ne contrevienne pas au principe général selon lequel « l'eau s'écoule naturellement et ne doit pas être entravée dans sa course ». Toute atteinte à ce principe peut constituer un motif de poursuite judiciaire. Toutefois, certaines lois peuvent régir les travaux réalisés dans le chenal d'un cours d'eau naturel. L'office de protection de la nature et le ministère des Richesses naturelles sont un bon point de départ pour connaître les lois applicables.

Interdiction de construire un barrage sur un cours d'eau naturel

Obstruer un cours d'eau naturel va directement à l'encontre du principe général concernant les cours d'eau naturels selon lequel « l'eau s'écoule naturellement et ne doit pas être entravée dans sa course ».

Obligation d'accepter l'eau

Si l'eau sort du lit d'un cours d'eau naturel et inonde votre propriété, vous devez accepter les résultats. Si les dommages sont causés par les actions posées par des propriétaires non riverains en amont, vous n'êtes pas tenus d'accepter l'eau et pourriez avoir des motifs pour entreprendre une action légale. Il est possible de refuser l'eau en érigeant une paroi imperméable, une risberme ou une digue le long des limites de propriété et, ce faisant, endiguer l'eau sur les terres plus élevées du propriétaire non riverain.

Nommer quelques problèmes ou litiges courants mettant en cause des cours d'eau naturels?

  1. Obstruction artificielle
  2. Augmentation du débit d'eau

Obstruction naturelle

Divers éléments naturels peuvent obstruer les cours d'eau, notamment les barrages de castors, des troncs d'arbres qui sont tombés, des accumulations de débris ou de sédiments. Ces obstructions retiennent l'eau, inondant les terres voisines et même celles en amont.

Mes terres sont inondées à cause d'une obstruction naturelle sur ma propriété. Quels sont mes recours?

Vous pourriez enlever vous‑même ce qui cause l'obstruction, mais prenez les précautions suivantes.

  • Vérifiez les règlements environnementaux qui s'appliquent – vous pourriez devoir obtenir un permis ou une autorisation.
  • Si ce qui cause l'obstruction est là depuis un certain temps, vos voisins riverains comptent peut‑être sur cette obstruction pour assurer le débit. Si en retirant ce qui cause l'obstruction, le débit du cours d'eau est modifié – et que cela cause des dommages à un autre propriétaire riverain – ce propriétaire pourrait entamer des poursuites contre vous. Assurez‑vous de consulter vos voisins et que ces derniers participent au processus.
Vous avez le droit de présenter une pétition à votre municipalité pour convertir légalement le cours d'eau en drain municipal.
  • Le processus prévu dans la Loi sur le drainage doit être suivi et la municipalité doit respecter les règlements environnementaux – changer le statut légal d'un cours d'eau naturel pour celui d'un drain municipal peut prendre un certain temps.
  • Dès que le cours d'eau naturel devient un drain municipal, la Loi sur le drainage régit la gestion du cours d'eau. Il incombe à la municipalité d'entretenir le drain et de s'assurer que rien n'obstrue son débit.

Une obstruction naturelle se trouve le long de mon cours d'eau naturel et j'aimerais l'enlever. Que puis je faire?

Vous avez diverses options.

  • Enlever l'obstacle vous‑même. Communiquer en premier lieu avec le ministère des Richesses naturelles pour obtenir les permis requis pour enlever l'obstacle d'un cours d'eau. Vous pourriez devoir acquitter des frais pour l'obtention de ces permis.
  • Demander à la municipalité de changer le statut du cours d'eau afin qu'il soit considéré comme un drain municipal en présentant une pétition en vertu de l'article 4 de la Loi sur le drainage. Une fois que le cours d'eau est considéré un drain municipal, il incombe à la municipalité de veiller à ce qu'il ne soit pas obstrué.

Mes terres sont inondées à cause d'un barrage de castor ou d'une obstruction naturelle sur la propriété de mon voisin. Ma municipalité n'a‑t‑elle pas le devoir de l'enlever? Qu'en est-il de l'Office de protection de la nature ou du ministère des Richesses naturelles?

Si le cours d'eau est un drain municipal, votre municipalité est responsable de son entretien. Toutefois, les municipalités n'ont pas les pouvoirs d'enlever ce qui cause l'obstruction d'un cours d'eau naturel.

L'Office de protection de la nature ou le ministère des Richesses naturelles sont aussi investis des pouvoirs d'entrer sur un terrain privé pour retirer les obstacles naturels.

Mon voisin en amont m'a informé que ses terres étaient inondées parce que le cours d'eau situé sur mon terrain était bloqué. Il me demande l'autorisation d'effectuer certains travaux sur le cours d'eau naturel. Je crains que l'eau supplémentaire ne cause des dommages à mes terres. Dois-je accepter qu'il effectue les travaux?

S'il s'agit d'un obstacle naturel qui bloque un cours d'eau naturel, vous n'êtes pas obligé d'autoriser votre voisin à effectuer les travaux. Discutez avec votre voisin afin de trouver une solution. Dans le cas d'une obstruction artificielle, votre voisin pourrait devoir communiquer avec le ministère des Richesses naturelles pour savoir s'il doit obtenir un permis pour enlever cette dernière.

Rappelez-vous que si votre voisin est déçu de ne pouvoir résoudre le problème d'inondation, il peut présenter une pétition à la municipalité pour la mise en oeuvre d'un drain municipal.

Quelles sont mes options?

Si l'obstruction se trouve sur la propriété de votre voisin, discutez avec lui afin qu'il vous autorise à enlever ce qui cause l'obstruction. Il n'incombe pas nécessairement à votre voisin d'enlever l'obstacle à votre place. Si votre voisin vous donne l'autorisation, vous devrez respecter tous les règlements en matière d'environnement.

Si vous n'arrivez pas à vous entendre, vous avez le droit de présenter une pétition à votre municipalité en vertu de la Loi sur le drainage afin que le cours d'eau soit converti en drain municipal. Le processus prescrit dans la Loi sur le drainage doit être suivi et la municipalité doit respecter les règlements en matière d'environnement. Convertir un cours d'eau naturel en drain municipal peut prendre un certain temps.

Obstruction artificielle

Diverses oeuvres peuvent être considérées comme une obstruction artificielle ou un barrage sur un cours d'eau naturel, notamment, les petits barrages, les ponceaux sous‑dimensionnés ou les clôtures qui longent un cours d'eau naturel et accumulent les branches et autres débris qui retiennent l'eau.

L'obstruction artificielle du cours d'eau naturel situé sur la propriété de mon voisin cause l'inondation de mes terres. Quels sont mes recours?

Discutez avec votre voisin pour trouver une solution. Votre voisin pourrait devoir communiquer avec le ministère des Richesses naturelles afin de savoir s'il doit obtenir un permis avant d'enlever ce qui cause l'obstruction.

Communiquez avec le ministère des Richesses naturelles afin de déterminer si l'obstruction artificielle construite par votre voisin respecte les règlements en matière d'environnement.

  • En tant que voisin riverain, votre voisin aurait dû vous consulter dans le cadre de sa demande de permis. S'il ne vous a pas consulté avant de construire le blocage artificiel, votre voisin n'a peut‑être pas suivi le processus légal établi;
  • Si votre voisin n'a pas obtenu les permis requis, le ministère des Richesses naturelles peut faire appliquer les règlements en matière d'environnement pour résoudre votre problème;

Consultez votre avocat afin d'examiner les options légales, notamment la possibilité d'entamer une poursuite.

Présenter une pétition à votre municipalité afin que le cours d'eau soit converti en drain municipal en vertu de la Loi sur le drainage.

  • Si des problèmes de drainage sont occasionnés par une obstruction du cours d'eau, vous pouvez présenter une pétition à votre municipalité locale afin que le cours d'eau soit converti en drain, tel qu'il est prévu à l'article 4 de la Loi sur le drainage;
  • Si la municipalité établit qu'un drain municipal est requis, elle a le droit et l'obligation de veiller à l'entretien adéquat du drain et de s'assurer que rien ne l'obstrue;
  • Le projet doit respecter les règlements en matière d'environnement et pourrait prendre un certain temps avant d'être achevé.

Je souhaite construire un barrage sur le cours d'eau naturel sur mon terrain. Que dois‑je faire?

Vous ne pouvez pas modifier un cours d'eau en construisant une obstruction artificielle. Si vous le faites, tous les propriétaires touchés le long du cours d'eau peuvent entamer des poursuites en dommages‑intérêts contre vous, ou demander à un juge une injonction pour vous obliger à enlever le barrage.

Construire un barrage sur un cours d'eau naturel peut entraver les droits des propriétaires fonciers riverains en amont et en aval.

Je suis privé d'eau, car le cours d'eau est obstrué en amont. Quels sont mes recours?

Si l'obstruction est artificielle et que le voisin qui l'a construite refuse de l'enlever, vous pouvez vous adresser au tribunal pour obtenir une injonction enjoignant la personne responsable de l'obstruction à l'enlever.

Communiquez avec le ministère des Richesses naturelles pour obtenir de l'aide. Si une personne envisage d'entreprendre des travaux pour bloquer le débit d'un cours d'eau, elle doit obtenir les permis requis auprès du ministère des Richesses naturelles. Pendant le processus d'obtention du permis, votre voisin doit vous consulter, ainsi que les autres propriétaires fonciers avant de commencer les travaux d'obstruction. S'il ne vous a pas consulté, votre voisin n'a peut‑être pas obtenu les permis.

Augmentation du débit d'eau

Mon voisin en amont a enlevé un barrage de castors et maintenant mon champ est inondé. Qu'est‑ce que je peux faire?

Toute personne qui enlève un barrage de castors doit se conformer aux règlements en matière d'environnement. Vérifiez auprès des agences environnementales si l'autorisation a été donnée.

Consultez votre avocat pour connaître les options légales, notamment la possibilité d'entamer des poursuites.

Le débit de la rivière qui passe par ma propriété a augmenté en raison d'un changement de l'utilisation du terrain (p. ex., nouvelle subdivision ou exploitation de carrière) dans la partie supérieure du bassin hydrographique et maintenant mon terrain est inondé. Que dois-je faire?

Présentez une pétition à votre municipalité afin de convertir le cours d'eau en drain municipal en vertu de la Loi sur le drainage. Le projet devra respecter les règlements en matière d'environnement.

Seuls les propriétaires riverains ont le droit de drainer l'eau dans un cours d'eau naturel. Vous pouvez entamer des poursuites si l'inondation de vos terres est causée par des propriétaires non riverains qui drainent l'eau dans le cours d'eau naturel.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 03 mai 2011
Dernière révision : 03 mai 2011