Drainage eReference Tool

Introduction to Drainage in Ontario

Drainage is the movement of water. Drainage occurs naturally through rivers, creeks, streams and other natural watercourses. Drainage is also enhanced through the construction of ditches, pipes and pumping systems, commonly referred to as "drains".

If you have a drainage question, concern or problem, this website may be able to direct you to a solution. To find the best solution for your specific situation, identify the type of drain you have and what type of concern you have.

This website includes information on:

  • What is a Municipal drain?
  • What is a Mutual agreement drain?
  • What is an Award drain?
  • What is a private drainage system and roadside ditch?
  • How do I find information on drainage options?
  • How to avoid them
  • How to handle them

The information contained in OMAFRA's eReference Tool is not authoritative. It was prepared for educational purposes only, and deals with complex matters in summary form. It is derived in part from the Drainage Act and its regulations and is subject to change. It is not meant to constitute legal advice, but merely summarizes select parts of legislation and the common law. Efforts have been made to make it as accurate as possible, but in the event of a conflict or inconsistency or an error or omission, take notice that the Act and its regulations prevail. Please refer to www.e-laws.gov.on.ca or the official volumes of the Act and its regulations printed by Publications Ontario in this regard.

The Government of Ontario assumes no liability for any inaccurate, delayed or incomplete information, or for any actions taken in direct or indirect reliance thereon. Prior to implementing any drainage changes to your property or operations, it is recommended that you seek advice from a lawyer or other professional advisor experienced in drainage matters as to your duties, requirements and obligations.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 27 April 2011
Last Reviewed: 27 April 2011

Outil de référence en ligne sur le drainage

Introduction aux systèmes de drainage en Ontario

Le mot drainage désigne le mouvement de l'eau. Le drainage se produit de façon naturelle par les rivières, les ruisseaux, et les autres cours d'eau naturels. On peut aussi améliorer le drainage en construisant des fossés, des tuyaux, et des systèmes de pompage, appelés communément « drains ».

Si vous avez des problèmes, des inquiétudes ou des questions relativement au drainage, ce site Web pourrait vous aider à trouver une solution. Afin de trouver la solution la mieux adaptée à votre situation, vous devez d'abord déterminer le type de drain et le type de problème.

Ce site Web inclut des informations sur :

Les différents types de drains

  • Qu'est‑ce qu'un drain municipal?
  • Qu'est‑ce qu'un drain sous entente mutuelle?
  • Qu'est-ce qu'un drain sous adjudication?
  • Qu'est-ce qu'un système de drainage privé et un fossé en bordure de route?

Information concernant le drainage des terres cultivables

  • Où puis-je trouver des informations sur les options de drainage?

Conflits concernant le drainage

  • Comment les éviter
  • Comment les gérer

L'information contenue dans l'outil de référence en ligne du MAAARO ne fait pas autorité. Le présent document a été préparé à des fins d'information seulement, et aborde des sujets complexes de façon sommaire. L'information provient en partie de la Loi sur le drainage et de ses règlements et est susceptible d'être modifiée. Il ne vise pas à donner de conseils juridiques, mais résume simplement certaines parties de la loi et de la common law. Nous avons fait tout notre possible pour présenter de l'information précise, mais dans le cas d'un conflit, d'une discordance, d'une erreur ou d'une omission, la Loi et ses règlements ont préséance. Veuillez consulter le site Lois‑en‑ligne ou les volumes officiels de la Loi et de ses règlements imprimés par Publications Ontario à ce sujet.

Le gouvernement de l'Ontario n'accepte aucune responsabilité pour toute information incorrecte ou incomplète ou pour toute action en découlant directement ou indirectement. Avant d'effectuer toute modification au système de drainage sur votre propriété ou votre exploitation, nous recommandons fortement que vous demandiez des conseils à un avocat ou tout autre conseiller professionnel qui possède une expertise en matière de drainage, en ce qui concerne vos tâches, exigences et obligations.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca