Agricultural System for the Greater Golden Horseshoe (GGH)


The Province recognizes the importance of protecting agricultural land, supporting economic viability and managing growth. Recently, the government released updated provincial land use plans which were the result of extensive public consultation.

The updated plans contain new policies on developing an Agricultural System that supports the viability of the agri-food sector and consistently protects farmland across the GGH. OMAFRA is consulting on three Agricultural System products:

  1. Draft Implementation Procedures for the Agricultural System in Ontario's Greater Golden Horseshoe;
  2. Draft Agricultural System Portal;
  3. Draft Agricultural Land Base Map.

This figure shows the Draft Agricultural Land Base mapping for the area of the Greater Golden Horseshoe. Settlement areas are also shown on the map.

The Agricultural System Implementation Procedures will help municipalities make informed land use planning and economic development decisions that implement provincial land use plan policies and strengthen the agri-food sector across the Greater Golden Horseshoe.

Input is welcome from July 6 - October 4, 2017. The Environmental Registry posting (EBR# 013-0968) describes how to provide comments at www.ebr.gov.on.ca.

Comments received during the 90-day period will be considered for the development of the final Agricultural System and mapping, to be released later this year.

While OMAFRA's methodology for mapping the Agricultural Land Base is described in the draft Implementation Procedures document, additional technical detail is provided in the Agricultural System Mapping Method. This is available via email on request to omafra-guidelines@ontario.ca. Please confirm in your email if you prefer a French or English version.

Public Open Houses

Public Open Houses hosted by the province will provide opportunities to learn more and provide input on the proposed Agricultural System (EBR# 013-0968) and the Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry's Natural Heritage System (EBR# 013-1014).

Three public open houses will be held at the following times and locations. Pre-registration is not required.

FAQs on the Agricultural System

1. What is an Agricultural System?

  • The Province is developing an Agricultural System for the Greater Golden Horseshoe, which aims to identify and protect a continuous, productive land base for agriculture across municipalities, as well as provide support for the agri-food supply chain the sector depends on.
  • The development of an Agricultural System for the Greater Golden Horseshoe is one of the recommendations that came out of the Coordinated Plan Review for the four provincial land use plans.
  • The system is comprised of two components, the agricultural land base and the agri-food network.
  • The agricultural land base consists of prime agricultural areas, including specialty crop areas and rural lands that together create a continuous productive land base. This mapping can be refined when municipalities update their official plans.
  • The agri-food network includes regional infrastructure and transportation networks, on-farm buildings and infrastructure, agricultural services, farm markets, distributors and primary processing, and vibrant, agriculture-supportive communities that are important to the viability of the agri-food sector.

The Agricultural System approach recognizes that land use planning alone cannot address all of the challenges facing agriculture, and that protecting the agricultural land base must be linked to economic development considerations to support the needs of the agri-food sector such as key infrastructure, services and assets (e.g. cold storage facilities, abattoirs, food processors, grain dryers, distribution centres, food hubs/coops).

2. Who is OMAFRA consulting with?

  • OMAFRA will consult with stakeholders in the GGH, including municipalities, Indigenous communities, agricultural organizations, development sectors, and environmental groups.
  • The public will also be able to provide feedback on the Agricultural System guidelines through open houses and the 90 day environmental registry (ER) consultation period. Details on how to provide input are available at the Environmental Registry at www.ebr.gov.on.ca.

3. When will the Agricultural System be released?

  • The province is looking to release the Agricultural System Implementation Procedures, Agricultural System Portal, and Agricultural Land Base map later this year, after the engagement process.

4. How does the Agricultural System tie in with the overall goal to protect farmland in the Greater Golden Horseshoe?

  • The province, municipalities and other stakeholders will collaborate to implement Agricultural System policies, including identifying and protecting a continuous, productive land base for agriculture across municipalities and supporting the agri-food supply chain the sector depends on.
  • The Agricultural System approach is being implemented across the GGH covered by the Growth Plan for the GGH and the Greenbelt Plan.

5. Are there plans to expand the Agricultural System into other areas of the province?

  • At this time, the Agricultural System is being implemented in the GGH. In the future, other areas of the province could adopt a similar approach.

Agricultural System Portal

The Agricultural System Portal shows approximately 30 maps across Ontario's Greater Golden Horseshoe (GGH).

The maps show both parts of the Agricultural System:

  • the agricultural land base and
  • the agri-food network

Click to Launch the Agricultural System Portal. Tips on using the Portal are provided below.

The maps in the Portal show agricultural production, land use, infrastructure, agri-food assets and services. These maps can be used to identify agri-food clusters and promote economic growth of the sector.

The Portal enables users to assess and avoid negative impacts from new development on the Agricultural System.

Check the Portal periodically as new information will be added.

To receive an emailed copy of the Agricultural System Mapping Method, which explains how Agricultural System mapping was created, contact omafra-guidelines@ontario.ca. Please confirm in your email if you prefer a French or English version.

Quick Tips for Using the Agricultural System Portal

What is the Agricultural System Portal?

  • The Agricultural System Portal contains about 60 mapping layers from different data sources to illustrate the Agricultural System in the Greater Golden Horseshoe. The Agricultural System Portal shows aspects of both the agricultural land base and the agri-food network the sector depends on.
  • The use of different layers in the portal is explained in the "Implementation Procedures for the Agricultural System in Ontario's Greater Golden Horseshoe."

What information does this portal contain?

  • The portal displays crop production and livestock production densities, plus a wide range of infrastructure such as transportation infrastructure and drainage, as well as services such as meat processors. Agri-food infrastructure and assets are mapped such as grain elevators. The origin of the data for each mapping layer is stated in parentheses in the legend. The main sources of data are: the Golden Horseshoe Food and Farming Alliance (GHFFA), Statistics Canada (Census of Agriculture), OMAFRA, and Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada.

What can this portal be used for?

  • This Agricultural System Portal is a mapping tool that will make it easy to understand and promote the agri-food sector in your community and across the GGH.
  • Maps in the portal may be used to identify clusters of agri-food activity (e.g. production, processing, distribution) and may feed into economic development studies and strategies to help the sector prosper.
  • Information can be used in Agricultural Impact Assessments that identify how to avoid, minimize and mitigate impacts on the Agricultural System from settlement area expansions, aggregate applications and infrastructure projects.
  • The agricultural land base mapping in the portal is provided for illustrative purposes and to promote integration of land use planning and economic development. Please note that when municipalities update their Official Plan mapping based on the Implementation Procedures, the official provincial Agricultural Land Base map should be used.

How can users of the portal explore the information they are interested in?

  • The Google Chrome internet browser is recommended for viewing the portal.
  • The portal and layers may take several minutes to load so please be patient.
  • The portal contains additional user tips on the left side of the screen.

Is it possible to print maps and legends from the portal?

  • Yes, all map layers and combinations of layers can be printed or saved as a PDF.
  • Legends can be viewed by clicking on the legend button (looks like a bulleted list). A snipping tool can be taken to capture the legend and add it to maps.

How do I obtain data from the portal?

  • Municipalities may obtain detailed asset mapping data from the GHFFA.
  • Some of the data used is open data and specific requests can be made to OMAFRA.
  • Other requests may be made to Statistics Canada and Agriculture and Agri-food Canada

For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 14 June 2017
Last Reviewed: 06 July 2017

Système agricole de la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe (REGH)


La province reconnaît qu'il est important de protéger les terres agricoles, de soutenir la viabilité économique et de gérer la croissance. Récemment, le gouvernement a publié la mise à jour des plans provinciaux d'aménagement du territoire, réalisée à la suite d'une vaste consultation publique.

La mise à jour des plans contient de nouvelles politiques pour le développement d'un système agricole qui soutient la viabilité du secteur agroalimentaire et qui protège constamment les terres agricoles de l'ensemble de la REGH.

Le MAAARO effectue une consultation au sujet de trois produits du système agricole :

  1. L'ébauche des Procédures de mise en œuvre pour le système agricole de la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe, en Ontario;
  2. L'ébauche du Portail pour le système agricole;
  3. L'ébauche de la carte du territoire agricole.

Cette figure montre l'ébauche d'une cartographie du territoire agricole pour la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe. Les zones de peuplement sont également indiquées sur la carte.

Les Procédures de mise en œuvre pour le système agricole aideront les municipalités à prendre des décisions éclairées quant à l'aménagement du territoire et au développement économique qui mettent en œuvre les politiques sur les plans provinciaux d'aménagement du territoire et renforcent le secteur agroalimentaire dans l'ensemble de la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe.

Du 6 juillet au 4 octobre 2017, vos commentaires sont les bienvenus. L'affichage du Registre environnemental (RE# 013-0968) explique de quelle façon vous pouvez nous soumettre vos commentaires à www.ebr.gov.on.ca.

Nous tiendrons compte des commentaires reçus au cours de cette période de 90 jours pour l'élaboration de la cartographie et du système agricole finals, qui seront publiés cette année.

Bien que la méthode qu'utilise le MAAARO pour cartographier le territoire agricole soit décrite dans l'ébauche des Procédures de mise en œuvre, des détails techniques supplémentaires se trouvent dans la Méthode de cartographie du système agricole. Vous pouvez l'obtenir par courriel, en en faisant la demande à omafra-guidelines@ontario.ca. Veuillez préciser dans votre courriel si vous préférez une version française ou anglaise.

Des journées portes ouvertes

Des journées portes ouvertes organisées par la province vous donneront l'occasion d'en apprendre davantage et de formuler des commentaires au sujet des systèmes d'agriculture (RE# 013-0968) et de le Ministère des Richesses naturelles et des Forêts (RE# 013-1014) patrimoine naturel qui sont proposés.

Trois journées portes ouvertes auront lieu aux dates, heures et emplacements ci-dessous. Il n'est pas nécessaire de s'y inscrire à l'avance.

FAQ sur le système agricole

1. Qu'est-ce qu'un système agricole?

  • La province est en train de développer un système agricole pour la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe, dans le but de définir et de protéger un territoire agricole continu et productif pour l'agriculture dans l'ensemble des municipalités, ainsi que d'offrir de l'aide à la chaîne d'approvisionnement agroalimentaire sur laquelle repose le secteur.
  • Le développement d'un système agricole pour la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe est l'une des recommandations formulées à la suite de l'examen coordonné des quatre plans provinciaux d'aménagement du territoire.
  • Le système est formé de deux composantes, le territoire agricole et le réseau agroalimentaire.
  • Le territoire agricole consiste en zones agricoles à fort rendement, dont des zones de cultures spéciales, et en terres rurales qui, ensemble, forment un territoire agricole continu et productif. Les municipalités peuvent peaufiner cette cartographie lorsqu'elles mettent leurs plans officiels à jour.
  • Le réseau agroalimentaire comprend une infrastructure régionale et des réseaux de transport, des bâtiments et des infrastructures à la ferme, des services agricoles, des marchés agricoles, des distributeurs, de la transformation primaire et des communautés dynamiques qui soutiennent l'agriculture et qui sont importantes pour la viabilité du secteur agroalimentaire.

Par la méthode du système agricole, on reconnaît que l'aménagement du territoire seul ne peut relever tous les défis auxquels l'agriculture est confrontée, et que la protection du territoire agricole doit être liée à des critères de développement économique, pour répondre aux besoins du secteur agroalimentaire, notamment à l'égard des services, des biens et des infrastructures clés (p. ex., installations d'entreposage sous froid, abattoirs, établissements de transformation d'aliments, séchoirs à grains, centres de distribution, carrefours alimentaires ou coopératives alimentaires).

2. Qui le MAAARO consultera-t-il?

  • Le MAAARO consultera des intervenants dans la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe, dont des municipalités, des communautés autochtones, des organismes agricoles, des secteurs du développement et des groupes environnementaux.
  • La population pourra également formuler des commentaires sur les lignes directrices du système agricole lors de journées portes ouvertes et pendant la période de consultation de 90 jours du Registre environnemental. Vous trouverez des renseignements détaillés sur la façon de formuler des commentaires sur le Registre environnemental, à l'adresse www.ebr.gov.on.ca.

3. Quand le système agricole sera-t-il inauguré?

  • La province souhaite inaugurer les procédures de mise en œuvre du système agricole, le Portail pour le système agricole et la carte du territoire agricole cette année, après le processus de participation.

4. En quoi le système agricole est-il lié à l'objectif global de protection des terres agricoles dans la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe?

  • La province, les municipalités et les autres intervenants collaboreront en vue de mettre en œuvre des politiques sur le système agricole visant notamment à définir et protéger un territoire agricole continu et productif pour l'agriculture dans l'ensemble des municipalités ainsi qu'à offrir de l'aide à la chaîne d'approvisionnement agroalimentaire sur laquelle repose le secteur.
  • La méthode du système agricole est mise en œuvre dans l'ensemble de la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe, qui est couverte par le Plan de croissance de la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe et par le Plan de la ceinture de verdure.

5. Envisage-t-on d'étendre le système agricole à d'autres régions de la province?

  • En ce moment, le système agricole est mis en œuvre dans la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe. À l'avenir, d'autres régions de la province pourraient adopter une approche similaire

Portail pour le système agricole

Le Portail pour le système agricole présente environ 30 cartes de l'ensemble de la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe (REGH), en Ontario.

Les cartes montrent les deux parties du système agricole :

  • Le territoire agricole;
  • Le réseau agroalimentaire.

Cliquez pour lancer le Portail pour le système agricole. Vous trouverez ci-dessous des conseils pour l'utilisation du Portail.

Les cartes du Portail montrent la production agricole, l'utilisation des terres, les infrastructures ainsi que les biens et services agroalimentaires. Vous pouvez utiliser ces cartes pour déterminer les pôles agroalimentaires et promouvoir la croissance économique du secteur.

Le Portail permet aux utilisateurs d'évaluer et d'éviter les répercussions négatives des nouveaux aménagements sur le système agricole.

Consultez le Portail périodiquement, car de nouveaux renseignements y seront ajoutés.

Pour recevoir par courriel un exemplaire de la Méthode de cartographie du système agricole, qui explique de quelle façon la cartographie du système agricole a été créée, écrivez à omafra-guidelines@ontario.ca. Veuillez préciser dans votre courriel si vous préférez recevoir une version française ou anglaise.

Conseils pour l'utilisation du Portail pour le système agricole

Qu'est-ce que le Portail pour le système agricole?

  • Le Portail pour le système agricole contient environ 60 couches de cartographie provenant de différentes sources de données et visant à illustrer le système agricole dans la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe. Le Portail pour le système agricole montre des aspects du territoire agricole et du réseau agroalimentaire sur lesquels repose le secteur.
  • L'utilisation de différentes couches dans le Portail est expliquée dans les « Procédures de mise en œuvre pour le système agricole de la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe, en Ontario ».

Quels renseignements ce Portail contient-il?

  • Le Portail affiche les densités de la production de cultures et de l'élevage du bétail, ainsi qu'un vaste éventail d'infrastructures comme les infrastructures de transport et le drainage, ainsi que des services comme les établissements de transformation de la viande. Les infrastructures et les actifs agroalimentaires sont cartographiés (par exemple, les élévateurs à grains). L'origine des données de chaque couche de cartographie est indiquée entre parenthèses, dans la légende. Les principales sources de données sont la Golden Horseshoe Food and Farming Alliance (GHFFA), Statistique Canada (le Recensement de l'agriculture), le MAAARO et Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada.

À quoi peut servir ce Portail?

  • Ce Portail pour le système agricole est un outil de cartographie grâce auquel il sera facile de comprendre et de promouvoir le secteur agroalimentaire dans votre collectivité et dans l'ensemble de la REGH.
  • On peut utiliser les cartes du Portail pour déterminer les pôles agroalimentaires (p. ex., production, transformation, distribution) et pour enrichir des études et des stratégies de développement économique visant à aider le secteur à prospérer.
  • On peut utiliser les renseignements dans des évaluations des répercussions sur l'agriculture qui précisent comment éviter, minimiser et atténuer les répercussions sur le système agricole de l'expansion des limites des zones de peuplement, de l'application d'agrégats et des projets d'infrastructure.
  • Dans le Portail, la cartographie du territoire agricole est fournie à titre d'illustration et pour promouvoir l'intégration de l'aménagement du territoire et du développement économique. Quand les municipalités mettent à jour la cartographie de leurs plans officiels en fonction des procédures de mise en œuvre, elles doivent utiliser la carte provinciale officielle du territoire agricole.

Comment les utilisateurs du Portail peuvent-ils accéder aux renseignements qui les intéressent?

  • Nous recommandons le navigateur Internet Google Chrome, pour l'utilisation du Portail.
  • Le Portail et les couches peuvent mettre plusieurs minutes à se charger, alors veuillez faire preuve de patience.
  • Le Portail contient des conseils supplémentaires destinés aux utilisateurs, du côté gauche de l'écran.

Est-il possible d'imprimer les cartes et les légendes du Portail?

  • Oui, vous pouvez imprimer ou enregistrer sous forme de fichiers PDF toutes les couches de cartographie et combinaisons de couches.
  • Vous pouvez afficher les légendes en cliquant sur le bouton « Légende », dont l'icône ressemble à une liste à puces. Vous disposez d'un outil pour capturer la légende et l'ajouter aux cartes.
  • Comment puis-je obtenir des données du Portail?
  • Les municipalités peuvent obtenir des données de cartographie détaillées de la GHFFA.
  • Certaines des données utilisées sont des données ouvertes; vous pouvez faire des demandes spécifiques au MAAARO.
  • Vous pouvez faire d'autres demandes à Statistique Canada et Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada.

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 14 juin 2017
Dernière révision : 06 juillet 2017