Ministers' Statement on Release of Kemptville and Alfred Reports

December 18, 2014

Today, Jeff Leal, Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs, Reza Moridi, Minister of Training, Colleges and Universities, and Madeleine Meilleur, Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs released the following statement:

"On July 11, 2014, our government appointed two facilitators, Lyle Vanclief and Marc Godbout, to consult and provide advice on the path forward for Kemptville and Alfred campuses, respectively.

Reports have now been submitted by both facilitators and we thank them for their efforts and for their thoughtful advice. Each report has generated specific options for the respective student bodies and communities. We appreciate the hard work and extensive consultation that has informed these reports.

Working collaboratively, our ministries are evaluating each report and fully considering the recommendations. We intend to report back with regards to the next steps for each institution by the end of January, 2015. We are working to ensure that all impacted students who are currently enrolled will have an opportunity to complete their program and that their studies will not be interrupted.

To meet our commitment to transparency and to allow for stakeholders and community members to review the reports, we are releasing them publicly today.

First and foremost, we understand the significance of both Kemptville and Alfred campuses to the agricultural and francophone communities they serve, not only in eastern Ontario, but across the province.

Our review of the reports will be guided by four principles. First, the path forward must take into consideration the needs of both current as well as prospective students at each campus. Second, it should consider the economic and fiscal impact on the communities and the province. Third, it should create an environment that encourages agricultural education and continues to support French-language students. And fourth, although next steps for each campus may be different, each institution will be treated with equal importance in government decision making going forward.

Again, we thank both facilitators for their work. The government will expeditiously review and consider both reports' findings and we encourage stakeholders to read and review them over the coming weeks."

For more information:

Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs:
Bryan Bossin, Minister's Office, 416-326-3069
Susin Micallef, Communications Branch, 519-826-3145

Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities:
Zak Paget, Minister's Office, 416-326-9513
May Nazar, Communications Branch, 416-325-2746

Office of Francophone Affairs:
Christine Michaud , Minister's Office, 416-473-5226
Charles Jean Sucsan, Communications Branch 416-325-4968

ontario.ca/agriculture-news



Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 18 December 2014
Last Reviewed: 18 December 2014

Publication par des ministres des rapports des facilitateurs de Kemptville et d'Alfred

Le jeudi 18 décembre 2014

Jeff Leal, ministre de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales, Reza Moridi, ministre de la Formation, des Collèges et Universités, et Madeleine Meilleur, ministre déléguée aux affaires francophones, ont publié, aujourd'hui, la déclaration suivante:

« Le 11 juillet 2014, notre gouvernement a nommé deux facilitateurs, Lyle Vanclief et Marc Godbout, afin qu'ils mènent des consultations et prodiguent des conseils sur la voie à suivre pour les campus de Kemptville et d'Alfred, respectivement.

Les rapports ont maintenant été présentés par ces deux facilitateurs, et nous les remercions de leurs efforts et de leurs judicieux conseils. Chacun de ces rapports nous a procuré des options précises pour les associations et les communautés d'étudiants respectives. Nous apprécions le dur labeur et les consultations poussées qui ont contribué à ces rapports.

Nos ministères collaborent afin d'évaluer chaque rapport et de prendre pleinement les recommandations en considération. Nous avons l'intention de présenter un rapport concernant les prochaines étapes de chaque établissement d'ici la fin de janvier 2015. Nous travaillons en vue d'assurer à tous les étudiants concernés qui sont actuellement inscrits qu'ils auront la possibilité de terminer leur programme et que leurs études ne seront pas interrompues.

Afin de respecter notre engagement en matière de transparence et de permettre aux intervenants et aux membres des communautés d'examiner les rapports, nous les rendons publics aujourd'hui.

D'abord et avant tout, nous comprenons l'importance des campus de Kemptville et d'Alfred pour les communautés agricoles et francophones qu'ils desservent, non seulement dans l'Est de l'Ontario, mais dans toute la province.

L'examen que nous ferons de ces rapports sera orienté par quatre principes. Premièrement, les options d'avenir doivent tenir compte des besoins actuels et prospectifs des étudiants de chaque campus. Deuxièmement, notre examen doit évaluer les répercussions économiques et fiscales sur les collectivités et la province. Troisièmement, il doit créer un environnement qui encourage la formation agricole et qui continue à soutenir les étudiants francophones. Et quatrièmement, bien que les prochaines étapes puissent différer d'un campus à l'autre, chaque établissement sera traité avec une égale importance, dans le processus décisionnel du gouvernement.

Une fois de plus, nous remercions les deux facilitateurs de leur travail. Le gouvernement révisera promptement et tiendra compte des constatations des deux rapports, et nous encourageons les intervenants à les lire et à les étudier au cours des prochaines semaines. »

Lire le rapport d'Alfred

Lire le rapport de Kemptville

Pour plus de renseignements :

Ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales :
Bryan Bossin, Bureau du ministre, 416-326-3069
Pascale Demers, Direction des communications 416-314-1041

Ministère de la Formation, des Collèges et Universités :
Zak Paget, Bureau du ministre, 416-326-9513
May Nazar, Direction des communications, 416-325-2746

Office des affaires francophones :
Christine Michaud, Bureau du ministre, 416-473-5226
Charles Jean Sucsan, Directions des communications, 416-325-4968

ontario.ca/agriculture-nouvelles



Auteur : MAAARO Staff
Date de création : 18 décembre 2014
Dernière révision : 18 décembre 2014