Federally Registered Establishment

What are the relevant laws that I should be aware of?

  1. The following federal legislation:
    • Food and Drugs Act
      • Food and Drug Regulations
    • Consumer Packaging and Labelling Act
      • Consumer Packaging and Labelling Regulations
    • Canada Agricultural Products Act and:
      • Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Regulations
      • Organic Products Regulations, 2009
  2. The following provincial legislation:
    • Food Safety and Quality Act, 2001
      • Ontario Regulation 119/11 - Produce, Honey and Maple Products
    • Health Protection and Promotion Act
      • Regulation 562 - Food Premises
  3. Local municipal by-laws

What are the requirements that I need to know about?

"Federally registered establishment" refers to an establishment that is registered with the Canadian Food Inspection Agency in accordance with the Canada Agricultural Products Act and its regulations. Where an establishment meets the conditions for registration set out in the regulations and pays the applicable fee, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency will assign the establishment a registration number and issue the operator of the establishment a certificate of registration.

The following requirements apply to fresh produce that is grown and marketed in Ontario by a federally registered establishment. This tool does not include requirements that apply to fresh produce that is brought into Ontario by a federally registered establishment either by import or through interprovincial trade, repacked and sold in Ontario. It is your responsibility to ensure that you are aware of and comply with all legal requirements (federal, provincial or municipal) that apply to your situation. If you have questions about registering or operating a federally registered establishment, contact the Canadian Food Inspection Agency for more information.

Federal

Regulatory Oversight - Canadian Food Inspection Agency

The Canadian Food Inspection Agency is responsible for the administration and enforcement of the:

  • Food and Drugs Act,
    • Food and Drug Regulations
  • Consumer Packaging and Labelling Act
    • Consumer Packaging and Labelling Regulations
  • Canada Agricultural Products Act
    • Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Regulations
    • Organic Products Regulations, 2009

and the only government organization that can issue a food recall.

  • Food and Drugs Act
    All food sold in Canada must meet the requirements in the Food and Drugs Act regardless of where the food is produced or sold. The Act covers food, drugs, cosmetics and therapeutic devices. Sections 3 to 7 of the Act set out the key requirements related to food and address the following topics: advertising (Section 3), food safety (Section 4), misrepresentation (Section 5), standards (Section 6) and sanitation (Section 7).
  • Consumer Packaging and Labelling Act
    The Consumer Packaging and Labelling Act sets out a scheme for labelling and packaging of prepackaged products. Under the Act, a prepackaged product means "any product that is packaged in a container in such a manner that it is ordinarily sold to or used or purchased by a consumer without being re-packaged".

    Where you sell fresh produce that meets the definition of a prepackaged product, the Consumer Packaging and Labelling Act will apply. Key sections to note include: application of the Act (Section 3), labelling (Sections 4 and 10), advertising (Section 5), packaging (Section 11) and misrepresentation (Section 7).

    • Consumer Packaging and Labelling Regulations
      Fresh produce that meets the definition of a prepackaged product will also be subject to the Consumer Packaging and Labelling Regulations. Note that under these regulations, certain fresh fruits or vegetables may be exempt from certain parts of the Act. In particular, see Section 4 and Section 32.
  • Canada Agricultural Products Act
    The Canada Agricultural Products Act regulates agricultural products including fresh produce that are marketed in import, export and interprovincial trade. The Act provides for national standards and grades of agricultural products including standards and grades for specified fruits and vegetables under the Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Regulations. It also provides for inspection and grading of these products and registration requirements and standards for federally registered establishments.

More information on federal legislation and other resources e.g. the Guide to Food Labelling and Advertising can be found on the Canadian Food Inspection Agency website.

Provincial - Ontario

Regulatory Oversight - Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
The Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA) is responsible for the administration and enforcement of

Food Safety and Quality Act, 2001

Ontario Regulation 119/11 Produce, Honey and Maple Products

  • Food Safety and Quality Act, 2001

The purposes of the Food Safety and Quality Act are to provide for:

      • the quality and safety of food, agricultural or aquatic commodities and agricultural inputs;
      • the management of food safety risks; and
      • the control and regulation of activities determined by the Act and its regulations such as the growing of fresh fruits and vegetables.
    • Ontario Regulation 119/11 Produce, Honey and Maple Products
      O. Reg. 119/11 covers food safety matters, grading, packaging, labelling, transporting, advertising and sale for fresh produce whether the produce is produced in Ontario or produced outside Ontario and imported into Ontario.

      In the regulation, produce means:

          • fruits and vegetables
          • sprouts
          • culinary herbs
          • in-shell nuts (including peanuts)
          • edible fungi

      Produce includes:

        • the above listed foods whether or not the produce is wrapped or packaged; and
        • the above listed foods where they are cut into pieces for the purpose of selling the pieces individually (e.g. ½ melon).

      The same rules apply whether the produce is grown conventionally or organically. Ontario does not have separate legislation to regulate organic produce.

      Produce that is produced in Ontario and packed at a place in Ontario that is a federally registered establishment; and/or produce that is imported into Ontario and repacked at a federally registered establishment is exempt from O. Reg. 119/11 (see section 2). Despite these exemptions, this produce is still subject to the advertising and retail display sign requirements in O. Reg. 119/11.

More detailed information, tools and resources can be found on the Foods of Plant Origin website.

Regulatory Oversight - Public Health Units
A Public Health Unit is an official health agency established by a group of municipalities to provide a community health program, carried out by full-time, specially qualified staff. Health units administer several health promotion and disease prevention programs including food premises inspection.

Each health unit is governed by a board of health, which is an autonomous corporation under the Health Protection and Promotion Act, and is administered by the medical officer of health.

  • Health Protection and Promotion Act
    One of the purposes of the Health Protection and Promotion Act is to promote and protect the health of the people of Ontario. Section 17 of the Act prohibits any person from selling any food that is unfit for human consumption by reason of disease, adulteration, impurity or other cause.
    • Regulation 562 Food Premises

      Regulation 562 sets out requirements for the operation of a food premise and the safe handling of food. "Food premise" is defined broadly in the Act to mean a premises where food or milk is manufactured, processed, prepared, stored, handled, displayed, distributed, transported, sold, or offered for sale, but does not include a private residence.

      Regulation 562 contains specific requirements for building maintenance, equipment, food handling, maintenance and sanitation in relation to food premises. Farmers' market food vendors are excluded from the application of the regulation (Section. 2(1)(d)) and farms selling only their own farm products in the form of honey, maple syrup, or unprocessed fruits, vegetables and grains are exempt from certain requirements under this regulation (Section 3(1) paragraph 4).

    More specific information can be obtained by contacting your local health unit or the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care.

Municipal

Municipal governments are responsible for local services and each municipality has by-laws specific to the services offered within their area. Check with your municipality for specifics on by-laws that may affect the marketing of fresh produce in your area.

Do I need a permit or licence to market my fresh produce?

Federally registered establishments must meet requirements under the Canada Agricultural Products Act and its regulations. You can find out more information about registering or operating a federally registered establishment through the Canadian Food Inspection Agency website.

Produce grown in Ontario may be marketed through a provincial marketing board or an association e.g. Ontario Greenhouse Vegetable Growers or Ontario Tender Fruit Producers' Marketing Board. Marketing boards and associations represent producers in the coordination of marketing and selling commodities. Some marketing boards or associations may require a licence or fees to cover the cost of activities such as research and promotion. More information can be obtained through the marketing board or association for the applicable commodity.

A licence from OMAFRA is not required.

Some municipalities may have local by-laws for business permits. More information can be obtained from your municipality.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Suzete Moniz, Regulatory and Standards Coordinator/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 7 June 2013
Last Reviewed: 15 Mars 2016

Établissement agrée au palier fédéral

Quelles sont les mesures législatives pertinentes dont je devrais être au courant?

  1. Les mesures législatives fédérales suivantes :
    • Loi sur les aliments et drogues
      • Règlement sur les aliments et drogues
    • Loi sur l'emballage et l'étiquetage des produits de consommation
      • Règlement sur l'emballage et l'étiquetage des produits de consommation
    • Loi sur les produits agricoles au Canada et :
      • Règlement sur les fruits et les légumes frais
      • Règlement sur les produits biologiques (2009)
  2. Les mesures législatives provinciales suivantes :
    • Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments
      • Règlement de l'Ontario 119/11 - produits agricoles, miel et produits de l'érable
    • Loi sur la promotion et la protection de la santé
      • Règlement 562 - dépôts d'aliments
  3. Règlements municipaux locaux

Quelles sont les exigences que je dois connaître?

Un « établissement agréé au palier fédéral » s'entend d'un établissement agréé par l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments aux termes de la Loi sur les produits agricoles au Canada et de ses règlements. Lorsqu'un établissement remplit les conditions de l'agrément établies dans les règlements et verse les droits exigibles, l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments lui attribue un numéro d'agrément et délivre à l'exploitant de l'établissement un certificat d'agrément.

Les exigences suivantes s'appliquent à des produits agricoles frais cultivés et commercialisés en Ontario par un établissement agréé au palier fédéral. On ne traite pas ici des exigences s'appliquant aux produits agricoles frais apportés en Ontario par un établissement agréé au palier fédéral, soit par importation soit par une commercialisation interprovinciale, et qui sont réemballés et vendus en Ontario. Il vous incombe de connaître toutes les exigences légales (fédérales, provinciales ou municipales) qui s'appliquent à votre situation et de les respecter. Si vous avez des questions au sujet de l'agrément ou de l'exploitation d'un établissement agréé au palier fédéral, veuillez communiquer avec l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments.

Palier fédéral

Surveillance réglementaire - Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments

L'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments est chargée de l'application et de l'exécution des mesures législatives suivantes :

  • Loi sur les aliments et drogues
    • Règlement sur les aliments et drogues
  • Loi sur l'emballage et l'étiquetage des produits de consommation
    • Règlement sur l'emballage et l'étiquetage des produits de consommation
  • Loi sur les produits agricoles au Canada
    • Règlement sur les fruits et les légumes frais
    • Règlement sur les produits biologiques (2009)

et est le seul organisme gouvernemental qui peut publier un rappel d'aliments.

  • Loi sur les aliments et drogues
    Tous les aliments vendus au Canada doivent respecter les exigences de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues peu importe l'endroit où les aliments sont produits ou vendus. La Loi porte sur les aliments, les drogues, les cosmétiques et les instruments thérapeutiques. Les articles 3 à 7 de la Loi renferment les principales exigences concernant les aliments et portent sur les sujets suivants : publicité (article 3), salubrité des aliments (article 4), information trompeuse (article 5), normes (article 6) et hygiène (article 7).
  • Loi sur l'emballage et l'étiquetage des produits de consommation
    La Loi sur l'emballage et l'étiquetage des produits de consommation établit des règles pour l'étiquetage et l'emballage des produits préemballés. En vertu de la Loi, un produit préemballé s'entend de « tout produit conditionné de telle manière qu'il est ordinairement vendu au consommateur, ou utilisé ou acheté par lui, dans son contenant d'origine ».

    Si vous vendez des produits agricoles frais qui correspondent à la définition d'un produit préemballé, la Loi sur l'emballage et l'étiquetage des produits de consommation s'applique. Les principaux articles à connaître comportent les suivants : champ d'application (article 3), étiquetage (articles 4 et 10), publicité (article 5), emballage (article 11) et information trompeuse (article 7).

    • Règlement sur l'emballage et l'étiquetage des produits de consommation
      Les produits agricoles frais qui correspondant à la définition d'un produit préemballé sont aussi assujettis au Règlement sur l'emballage et l'étiquetage des produits de consommation. Il est à noter qu'en vertu de ce règlement, certains fruits ou légumes frais peuvent être exemptés de certaines parties de la Loi. Veuillez vous reporter en particulier à l'article 4 et à l'article 32.
  • Loi sur les produits agricoles au Canada
    La Loi sur les produits agricoles au Canada régit les produits agricoles, dont les produits agricoles frais faisant l'objet d'une commercialisation soit interprovinciale, soit liée à l'importation ou l'exportation. La Loi prévoit des normes nationales et des catégories de produits agricoles, dont des normes et des catégories pour des fruits et des légumes précis en vertu du Règlement sur les fruits et les légumes frais. Elle prévoit aussi l'inspection et le classement de ces produits, ainsi que les exigences relatives à l'agrément et les normes pour les établissements agréés au palier fédéral.

On peut obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les mesures législatives fédérales et d'autres ressources, p. ex., le Guide d'étiquetage et de publicité sur les aliments, sur le site Web de l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments.

Palier provincial - Ontario

Surveillance réglementaire - Le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario

Le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario (MAAARO) sont chargés de l'application et de l'exécution des mesures législatives suivantes :

  • Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments
    Règlement de l'Ontario 119/11 - produits agricoles, miel et produits de l'érable

    Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments
    La Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments a pour objet de prévoir ce qui suit :

    • la qualité et la salubrité des aliments, des denrées agricoles ou aquatiques et des facteurs de production agricole;
    • la gestion des risques relatifs à la salubrité des aliments;
    • le contrôle et la réglementation des activités déterminées par la Loi et ses règlements, telles que la culture des fruits et des légumes frais.

      Dans le règlement, produit agricole s'entend :

      • de fruits et de légumes
      • de pousses
      • d'herbes culinaires
      • de noix dans leur coque (y compris les arachides)
      • de champignons comestibles

Les produits agricoles englobent :

      • les aliments énumérés ci-dessus qu'ils soient enveloppés ou emballés ou non;
      • les aliments énumérés ci-dessus qui sont coupés en morceaux pour vente individuelle (p. ex., ½ melon).

Les mêmes règles s'appliquent que les produits agricoles aient été cultivés de façon traditionnelle ou biologique. L'Ontario n'a pas de mesures législatives distinctes pour la réglementation des produits biologiques.

Les aliments qui sont produits en Ontario et qui y sont emballés dans un lieu qui est un établissement agréé au palier fédéral en Ontario ou les produits agricoles qui sont importés en Ontario et réemballés dans un établissement agréé au palier fédéral sont soustraits au Règl. de l'Ont. 119/11 (voir l'article 2). Malgré ces exemptions, ces produits sont toujours assujettis aux exigences sur la publicité et l'affichage du Règl. de l'Ont. 119/11.

On peut obtenir des détails, des outils et des ressources sur le site Web des Aliments d’origine végétale.

Surveillance réglementaire - Bureaux de santé publique

Un bureau de santé publique est un organisme de santé officiel établi par un groupe de municipalités pour la prestation d'un programme de santé communautaire par un personnel qualifié à temps plein. Les bureaux de santé administrent plusieurs programmes de promotion de la santé et de prévention des maladies, dont les programmes d'inspection des dépôts d'aliments.

Chaque bureau de santé est régi par un conseil de santé, qui est un organisme autonome aux termes de la Loi sur la protection et la promotion de la santé, et est administré par le médecin-hygiéniste.

  • Loi sur la protection et la promotion de la santé
    Un des objets de la Loi sur la protection et la promotion de la santé est d'assurer la protection de la santé des habitants de l'Ontario. L'article 17 de la Loi interdit la vente et la mise en vente d'un aliment impropre à l'alimentation humaine pour cause notamment de maladie, de falsification ou d'impureté.
    • Règlement 562 - dépôts d'aliments (en anglais seulement)

      Le Règlement 562 établit les exigences relatives à l'exploitation d'un dépôt d'aliments et à la manipulation sécuritaire des aliments. En vertu de la Loi, « dépôt d'aliments » s'entend du lieu où du lait ou des aliments sont fabriqués, traités, préparés, entreposés, manipulés, étalés, distribués, transportés, vendus ou mis en vente, à l'exclusion d'une résidence privée.

      Le Règlement 562 renferme des exigences précises relativement à l'entretien des bâtiments, l'équipement, la manipulation des aliments, l'entretien et la salubrité en ce qui a trait aux dépôts d'aliments. Les vendeurs d'aliments dans les marchés de producteurs sont soustraits à l'application de ce règlement (alinéa 2 (1) (d)) et les exploitations agricoles vendant seulement leurs propres produits agricoles, soit du miel, du sirop d'érable ou des fruits, des légumes et des grains non transformés, sont soustraites à certaines exigences de ce règlement (disposition 3(1) 4).

Vous pouvez obtenir des renseignements plus précis auprès de votre bureau de santé local ou du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée.

Palier municipal

Les administrations municipales sont responsables des services locaux et chaque municipalité a des règlements portant sur les services offerts dans son territoire. Veuillez vérifier auprès de votre municipalité les règlements pouvant avoir une incidence sur la commercialisation de produits agricoles frais dans votre région.

Ai-je besoin d'un permis ou d'une licence pour commercialiser mes produits agricoles?

Les établissements agréés au palier fédéral doivent respecter les exigences de la Loi sur les produits agricoles au Canada et de ses règlements. Vous trouverez d'autres renseignements sur l'agrément et l'exploitation d'un établissement sur le site Web de l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments.

Les produits agricoles cultivés en Ontario peuvent être commercialisés par l'entremise d'une commission de commercialisation ou d'une association provinciale, telles que l'Ontario Greenhouse Vegetable Growers ou l'Ontario Tender Fruit Producers' Marketing Board. Les commissions de commercialisation et les associations représentent les producteurs pour la coordination des activités de commercialisation et de vente des denrées. Certaines de ces commissions ou associations peuvent exiger l'obtention d'une licence ou le versement de droits pour couvrir le coût d'activités telles que la recherche et la promotion. Vous pouvez obtenir plus de renseignements sur une denrée en particulier auprès des commissions de commercialisation ou associations.

Les MAAARO n'exigent pas de licence.

Certaines municipalités peuvent avoir des règlements exigeant l'obtention d'un permis d'exploitation d'entreprise. Vous pouvez obtenir des renseignements à ce sujet auprès de votre municipalité.

Renseignements :


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Suzete Moniz, Coordonnatrice des règlements et des normes/MAAARO
Date de création : 7 juin 2013
Dernière révision : 15 Mars 16